Green Flag Breakdown Cover Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.5 / 5
37% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Green Flag Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Green Flag Breakdown Cover

Green Flag Breakdown Cover
Green Flag Breakdown Cover
Green Flag Breakdown Cover
Green Flag Breakdown Cover
Green Flag Breakdown Cover
Green Flag Breakdown Cover
Green Flag Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“I don’t think this a recover or rescue company ”

Written on: 10/09/2022 by Bhav26 (1 review written)

I wish there was a minus one star On a weekend if your motorcycle gets puncture and if you have Green Flag breakdown you do not expect anything They said they need a tow truck to take the motorcycle to garage and fix puncture I thought the whole point of breakdown service to inspect and try to fix simple puncture on site then recommend to go garage if not possible Please do not use green flag as they have staff without any supervisor and the staff both breakdown team or customer service have basic knowledge how to provide service This is not breakdown company. Please don’t buy policy use AAA OR RAC Date of experience: 10 September 2022

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Still Waiting ”

Written on: 04/09/2022 by Tiredandhungry (1 review written)

We are currently (13.00) stuck in a service station off the A55 in North Wales. We broke down 7.30 this morning and a tow truck turned up at 8.30 and took our car away and left us here saying a taxi would be here any minute to take us home to Scotland. We have been here ever since with our luggage and no taxi or anything other than people telling us they are working on it. This is completely unacceptable and every time we speak to them they have a different story. We were told at 10.45 a taxi was on its way to pick us up and should be here by 11am, still waiting. We have just had a text to inform us that our car is being relayed at 4pm which is of no relevance to us as we haven't seen it since 8.30 this morning. We have just had a call telling us they are still working on it!! They are trying to get a car hire now but say as its a Sunday places are not open. When I paid for my breakdown cover they didn't tell me that Sundays would be any different from any other day. This is not a nice experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“More Traumatising Than the Breakdown Itself!”

Written on: 02/08/2022 by Aquarian (2 reviews written)

Car wouldn’t start, their app didn’t work - I called and spent 52 minutes on the phone before they could establish that yes, I did have a current policy with them, let alone think about sending out help. The call staff seemed poorly trained and disinterested: there was giggling and messing around in the background, I kept being put on hold or forwarded to someone who made little more progress than the previous person. I’m so grateful I was at home and not in distress or in trouble on the hard shoulder somewhere with no charge left on my phone. I’ll never trust them again - they were absolutely dreadful - shouldn’t actually be allowed to operate.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They clearly hate disabled people ”

Written on: 30/04/2022 by Garzadg149 (1 review written)

This awful organisation left a disabled person for over 30 hours on the side of the road, they ended up being taken away in an ambulance. LJ Transportation employed a rude girl who clearly hates disabled people and put the phone down on them as they asked for reasonable adjustments to help.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“5 hours and still waiting!!!”

Written on: 26/01/2022 by 100wordsamin (1 review written)

My husband has been waiting for you since 3.30pm today it's now 8pm!!!!!! You knew he was in a van and the make and model of it plus the clutch had gone and you sent out a tiny van that was unable to tow him and the van driver told you so before he came!!!!!! My husband was then informed another vehicle will come between 8.30and 9pm tonight?????? 5 hours that is a disgraceful service!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetence”

Written on: 10/01/2022 by Claire182 (1 review written)

Truly the worst, most incompetent and dangerous company we've ever had the misfortune of dealing with. We broke down in light snow with 3 young children in the back of the car (including a tiny toddler). Immediately called Green Flag who checked our account and confirmed they would get someone out to us within the hour, and a text would follow within 5-10 minutes to give a better ETA - great. Waited over half an hour and called back - was told the first people they'd tried "hadn't got the right type of vehicles to rescue us" (from less than 1cm of snow, just a few miles from several large towns). However they'd absolutely get someone else to come out very soon - no problem. Called back 45 mins later as still had heard nothing, and the kids were getting anxious. Told the call was now with their "technical team" though they couldn't explain why, and they didn't have any contact with that team so couldn't get an update. Waited another 30 mins and called back, now nearly 2 hours after the first call - assured someone would call us back shortly. Waited 20 mins more and called back as now going dark and temperatures about to drop - told they "couldn't rescue us because their terms and conditions stated this was a safety hazard for their employees because of the <1cm snow, and therefore they were never able to come and help us." This after nearly 3 hours of waiting with young children. No solution offered, so I demanded to speak to a manager - several days later STILL waiting for that manager to call me. Had to rescue ourselves, at our own expense and with 3 little ones in tow. Utterly incompetent, disgustingly uncaring and indifferent to their own customers, and worst of all with zero effort or any attempt to help. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, GO WITH LITERALLY ANY OTHER COMPANY - you'd even be better off on your own.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

Written on: 13/12/2021 by Mitchell360 (1 review written)

You can only call out once for the same reason. Customer service 8s quite rude and says straight how their policy runs. I'm cancelling mine. Rubbish service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Failed to turn up. Auto renewed despite being told not to.”

Written on: 04/08/2021 by fairshot01 (1 review written)

Green Flag failed to turn up when I had a ripped tyre in the middle of nowhere. Fortunately a local farmer helped. I advised I would not be renewing, when I complained but because I did not specifically tell the agent (Nor did they ask) that I did not want automatic renewal, they took money from my account for renewal this year. When I said I wished a refund and cancellation I was advised that they would charge me a £10 fee. In my view auto renewals for whatever insurance should be opt-in, not opt out. Their Auto renewal policy was NOT made clear to me on joining.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“over 5 hours wait NOT GOOD ENOUGH”

Written on: 02/03/2021 by SILVERSURFERKENT (1 review written)

We called the service to report our car not working but it was parked at home fortunately as we waited over 5 hours to get a mechanic out to look at it. Once he arrived his diagnosis was speedy and he told us that it would have to go to main dealer for diagnostic service and we would need a tow. so, next morning we called green flag to arrange for the tow to the dealers and were told with no discussion that they had received feedback that it was driveable. Well we had a car that the engine would not turn over so we explained that several times. with no imagination, it was not driveable. When we told them it was not, and gave them details of the issue they just did not listen. They just said they were not coming out again. It was left to us to liaise with the garage who had sent the mechanic and they had to sort it out on our behalf. The person on the end of the phone at green flag was in NO WAY going off script when all he had to do was make a call to the garage used in our call. Get your act together Green flag or you will lose more customers. We are just very diss-heartened at our treatment.. What's more..... the app just did not work so it was call after call, when we kept getting cut off...... NOT HAPPY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs”

Written on: 18/02/2021 by hilaryg (14 reviews written)

This company must be the worst. Today I was left stranded on a B road with a tyre written off by a pothole. When I called, I found out that I needed an App on my phone to get a callout unless I was on a motorway. I was never advised of this, Or -ask them for a return call. They have NEVER called back 6 hrs later. Thankfully a nearby farm helped me contact an emergency tyre callout firm who told me they often heard how bad this company was. Even allowing for Covid problems, this is disgusting. They should not sell a service they are clearly incapable of providing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Car breakdown cover from the home”

Written on: 01/02/2021 by Mrsdriver123 (1 review written)

Very poor. The garage took seven hours to come. I rang Green Flag before 12 noon the mechanic appeared at 7.20 in the evening then was very rushed. He said he had not been notified before about five o'clock. By this time it was dark and freezing and he told me I had to drive around for forty minutes to charge the battery. The three agents said they would inform the garage it was probably a battery issue and that they would ask the mechanic to have a battery with him he told me they had said nothing. They were all quite polite but hopeless service and I don't know quite who was telling the truth. Don't use them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“an terrible service”

Written on: 18/10/2020 by Jayleeg432 (1 review written)

my car of 2 years bokedown on an 18 registration plate called greenflag technician turned up 3 hours later stayed for 5 minutes and said i dont know whats wrong with your car,despite not using his own diagnostic machine ,he rang an friend of his and was told it was an thermostat again diagnostic machine was not used,they took my car to an vauxhall dealership leaving me and my family stranded over 35 miles away for over 3 weeks,at the time the garage had no idea the 18 plate car was being delivered to them this was solely greenflags decision alone,2 days later the garage contacted myself saying we cant look at your car for another 3 weeks so icould not go to work as i live out in the countryside and theres no transport out there i was not given an hire car the garage contacted me theyve done an full diagnostic check and the fault was diagnosed as an burst expansion tank not an thermostat and later found out greenflag could of taken my car to an local garage,i have taken legal advice and my solicitors are taking action against greenflag for loss of earnings and negligence if i had to carry on driving the car it would have done the headgasket and destroyed the cars engine ,well done green flag for being incompetant and so calledmechanics who dont know how to use equipment from your employer and havent got an clue about car mechanics and leaving people stranded, my solicitors will see you in courtgreenflag good luck and you will be shown up for what you are shameful and useless and incompetant , im sure other drivers have had the same treatment,it seems to me that they are another money grabbing organiseation with no consience

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Service by Green Flag!”

Written on: 05/06/2020 by Martink1989 (1 review written)

I called Green Flag and they came out to me quickly, the man was very polite and most helpful with his advice. I was very pleased with the service provided on this occasion and can't recommend them enough.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unreliable and second class service.”

Written on: 18/10/2019 by choc999 (11 reviews written)

Said my car didn't have an MOT and they would not recover it. Until I proved otherwise of which I did. Left me stranded and cold for hours. Use at your peril.make you jump through hoops to complain, don't except their liable when it's obvious they use second class contractors like Egerton recovery Stockport.who also cover their incompetence.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 1
★☆☆☆☆

“I had emergency break down for my car, actually not a...”

Written on: 11/09/2019 by Michaelah300 (1 review written)

I had emergency break down for my car, actually not a big work just slightly battery charge gone. I told them daughter not feel very well . They did takes to come whole day. Just not work done very well. Against charge gone locally sone one had battery charger bring and help not take any money. Nexf day my daugter forget fo off the car light charge gone next i called them i told themy daughter not fell very well needs take ti doctor. I said them to come to do it they asked 24 hour noticed then Next day call them and next day reject as well. my friend work in a garage in london and came to pull the ar to his home on night and charged with his battery . Its worked few hours then battery gone. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 5
★★★★★

“Excellent service ”

Written on: 04/08/2019 by Stevenford (1 review written)

Engine shut down with engine fault showing on dashboard. Contacted greenflag via smart app..within seconds I knew how long it would be until someone would get to me. Few moments later was contacted by control centre wanting a few extra details of fault. The lady was excellent and seemed very knowledgable and would keep me updated on rescue process. Every few minutes I received updates and also who the technician was who was making his way to me. With the app I could track his journey and actually arrived sooner than scheduled. Gave quick explanation of what happened prior to breakdown and he quickly put diagnostics onto vehicle but unfortunately had to be taken to dealership which he more than efficiently did as I had already booked it in just in case the car could not be repaired at the roadside. The technician had said where the fault was within minutes. It took the Peugeot dealership a full day to confirm what he had already diagnosed. All I can say is thank you greenflag for an excellent service especially the people involved at my time of need..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE”

Written on: 29/07/2019 by eddiemarsden (24 reviews written)

If you've joined Green Flag's Recovery or Recovery Plus expecting that you will be taken anywhere in the country if you've broken down, BEWARE, this may not be the case. I've recently discovered to my horror that I have only 25 miles of free transport, despite the breakdown cover information telling me otherwise. I was not informed of this when I renewed and so have believed that I had the total piece of mind which I thought that I'd paid for. This means that you will have to pay for any transport costs over 25 miles. This did not used to be the case - I have been with Green Flag for some years and have had long distance recovery free of charge on a couple of occasions in the past. CHECK THIS OUT 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Eddiemarsden's Response to eddiemarsden's Review

Written on: 03/09/2019

I'd like to revise this review as the problem has now been resolved and it has been determined that a mix-up has caused it. Neither myself nor Green Flag can be blamed as the problem was caused by a glitch in the system. I would however hope that the circumstances which did cause it are acknowledged by Green Flag so that others are not caught out the same way, which they could be.

In this case the information relating to my cover was in fact correct.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing service”

Written on: 23/05/2019 by TracieM (1 review written)

my car broke down this morning, 23rd May, called them and I was updated every 10 mins or so as the ETA what van was attending etc, the person I dealt with arrived at the exact estimated time and within minutes had found the problem and then towed me to my local garage. I cannot thank him enough for reassuring me and the company for the prompt response. 5 star award as far as I'm concerned!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“unfair cancellation fee”

Written on: 10/05/2019 by nobbyburley (1 review written)

I cancelled my cover for a year to learn that I had to pay a cancellation fee. which I was never told about. I had bought a new Toyota and it had free cover for 12 months. I rang and told them I would start again in 12 months along with my wifes car also. The AA never did this in the many years I was with them. GREEN FLAG you may have cheated me out of £13 77 "Clever" But you have lost 2 customers for perhaps the next 20 years. and some one who will never recommend your company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“lousy breakdown service”

Written on: 27/04/2019 by ReyLamb (1 review written)

My partner (female) broke down, called green flag, left 2hrs alone in the dark before they turned up, this is unacceptable to leave a female alone in the dark while they continually make excuses about traffic? sent the breakdown service from east London to West London on a Friday evening what the hell do they expect??of course there will be traffic!!this happened Friday 26/04/19, will never renew with Green Flag again, be warned

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by carolgraham165 on 2nd May 2017 Report this content
can a automatic be flat towed with gear stick in a neutral

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content AOS_2016 Written on: 04/05/2017
No is not advisable to tow automatic car flat, unless the towing doesn’t exceed 15 MPH in a very short journey, there is a risk of damaging gearbox?
Asked by 03092007dann on 5th March 2017 Report this content
I have rescue cover and my back tyre keeps going down and can not change as can not get locking nut off. Would they come out and get them off for me?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by mm021247 on 30th August 2016 Report this content
I also own a 1970 classic vehicle, can I add it to my existing policy? I do less than 1000 miles per year in this vehicle.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content barnaclebillbellman Written on: 31/08/2016
try the comparison sites they will probably get you a quote for Green Flag which is cheaper than GF own site.Why go with GF, my experience with them wasn't very good, .Some of the Auto mags reccomend GEM, recovery, I,m with them!, and so far they've been excellent.
Report this content transit21 Written on: 31/08/2016
HI I UNDERSTAND THAT THESE OLDER VEHICLES ARE TOO OLD TO BE COVERED BY THEIR BREAKDOWN COVER IAM COVERED WITH GREEN FLAG WITH MY OTHER VAN AND FOUND THEM EXCELLANT TRY ONE WHO COVERS OLDER CLASSICS
Asked by mummybow on 18th July 2015 Report this content
Has anyone ever had green flag out for misfuelling, if so do they deal with it where you are or do they take you to a garage for them to do it? Also do they charge you? Many thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by DAZASTER on 9th May 2014 Report this content
What happens when your cover is due for renewal?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Blessy Written on: 12/05/2014
You will receive a letter with the new price and your direct debit will change accordingly. You won't have to do anything unless you want to change something.
Asked by pilki1234 on 11th February 2014 Report this content
Ford fiesta on start up its telling me that the, eac fail. Can I get greenflag out and get a free diagnosis or do I call my garage and pay for it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content ECWoodman Written on: 11/02/2014
You can call greenflag out for free if you are covered with them for home starts, which i was luckily, however i did have to pay for the brake switch which i got for trade price anyway thanks to the kind green flag man. Its upto you if you are definitely covered then give green flag a call its a lot easier but if not then pop to your garage just not sure how much they would cost?
Report this content Blessy Written on: 12/02/2014
I am a member of greenflag and if you have a problem of that type, its garage time. Green flag may be able to tow you to the garage if its in your policy to do so.
Report this content Blessy Written on: 12/05/2014
Just take it to a garage and get the throttle assy cleaned. Easy.
See All Answers
Asked by Kiki1234 on 30th December 2013 Report this content
How soon can I call for assistance once joining green flag?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview