RAC Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
21% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
RAC Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for RAC Breakdown Cover

RAC Breakdown Cover
RAC Breakdown Cover
RAC Breakdown Cover
RAC Breakdown Cover
RAC Breakdown Cover

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling Service & Abnoxious Staff”

written by JamesTurner2022 on 21/01/2023

Broke down almost 100 miles from home with failed breaks at 8:30 pm, initially reported my breakdown online only to be given a 270 minute wait for recovery. Rang to explain I was on my own almost 100 miles from home in the freezing cold and was then given a 90 minute waiting time. Waited 90 minutes no one came. Called again to be told even though it says 90 minutes it could be any time, what's the point of an eta with no arrival time. Was then told it was my fault for not explaining the situation correctly, even though my explanation had been consistent through all dialog. Waited till 2:30 am the next day in the freezing cold to be recovered and was told I would be taken to a garage of my choice close to home, I thought great may be home by 4:00am. Recovery truck driver dumps me at services half way home telling me someone will be there to take me the rest of the way home. Gets to the half way point and guess what, no other recovery there to take me home and now told its not possible to get a recovery until later in the day. Was then promised that I could get a taxi paid home and they would arrange for the car to be collected from the services if I left the key at services reception. Eventually got home at 7:00am the next day with car still 50 miles away. Rang again 2 hours later at 9:00am to be told there was no way I could get my car back today and I was told that someone would even suggest that was possible. Rude, aweful, gross and inconsiderate staff who just fob you off with complete nonsense. Had to get my car recovered back the last 50 miles privately at a cost of £235 to myself. RAC To the rescue LOL

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic service ”

written by Kaedantiana1 on 15/01/2023

I got a puncture and as new cars don’t come with a spare, I was stuck. Called RAC, technician came and repaired the tyre. There was a huge screw stuck in the tyre, he advised me to get a new tyre, which I will do today. Mehmet was absolutely fantastic, polite and efficient, couldn’t praise him high enough.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Damaged my vehicle and denied all liability. Then...”

written by RACcrap on 11/01/2023

Damaged my vehicle and denied all liability. Then proceeded to charge me for another year. Then charged my £25 to cancel. Disgusting way to treat customers.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“You DO NOT get the cover you pay for and they don't care”

written by AlexisPurcell328 on 28/12/2022

I would never recommend RAC Breakdown Cover, not even to my worst enemy. Basically they take your money and when you need help they mess you around for days, hoping you'll give up and go away quietly. I had the top level of cover and had been a customer for 5 years. To say their service is shockingly bad, is an understatement. In June, I broke down 200 mile from home. It took 3 days for the RAC to get me and my vehicle home and involved being messed around terribly. There were dozens of phone calls, giving my contact details to a local garage without my consent and receiving irrelevant text updates every half an hour or so that were mis-communication anyway. I was left stranded in a dark lonely location for many hours, twice, because they insisted I went back to the vehicle (a single female with health problems) and was only given a hotel room at almost midnight after I broke down in tears on the phone to their staff members who obviously had customer services training provided by the gestapo. To top all that, I was told to drive my vehicle after their mechanic 'fixed' it, despite the oil warning light being on and me saying that I wasn't happy to drive it in this condition. This resulted in an almost immediate breakdown and caused further damage that they would not accept responsibility for. As if that wasn't bad enough, I had the misfortune to need help again on 20 December. I broke down in a remote location and requested recovery to my home only 8 mile away. Long story short, I have been messed around for 8 days, including being phoned at 4.30am to arrange recovery for that morning, which did not turn up. I was expected to remain with the vehicle or leave my keys with it. When I refused, eventually it was agreed that the recovery driver would phone me half an hour before arrival so I could get there with the keys. After numerous phone calls from me to them, recovery finally happened today. The driver had not been told to phone me beforehand so had to wait unnecessarily and he told me that he had only been booked two hours before. I really don't know how the RAC have the cheek to sell breakdown cover as they either can't or don't want to provide it. I made one phone call to a local company and they could have got the vehicle the next day. I didn't use them as I had already paid the RAC for this service so I wasn't going to pay again. However, it does prove that the RAC obviously don't try very hard to find companies to assist when they let their customers down. They also had to cheek to email me about my upcoming renewal while all this was going on. You can guess how the phone call about that went!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 11 Days And Still No Recovery !!!!”

written by johnwats on 20/12/2022

Broke down on 11/12/22 at 11am, called the RAC rescue guy turned up at 19:00 fair enough it was poor weather, said the turbo had gone and it needed recovery and someone would come that night to recover it . just for the case of point I have the maximum cover possible including onward travel and arrival. No one tuned up by 11pm so I managed to get a lift some 400 miles home. Monday still no recovery, Tuesday none, Wednesday none right the way through to the 20/12/22. in that time I've spoken to countless agents in the RAC call center, I have a daily promise that someone would come out to the car and recover it , even a call where the agent said that a recovery truck had set off but broke down on its way! I've logged complaints on the website, which today I received a response from by means of a phone call. This is probably the rudest person I've ever spoken to that's in "Customer Care", he did nothing other than quote that a recovery vehicle would attend and there had been a slight delay. SLIGHT !!! TEN days is a slight delay , makes you wonder what a real delay time scale would be. Not satisfied with the way that this person was dealing with the call , to be frank he was extremely rude, condescending I asked how I went about logging a formal complaint, his response was that he was the only person with the RAC that dealt with complaints , I asked to speak to his manager to which he refused. the only form of communication he was prepared to do was send an email to me. which was titled MRS and I'm quite clearly a MR , there's not a MRS on the account and a telephone number , which oddly tales you straight back to him. I've now arranged my own recovery and I will be cancelling my RAC membership, I've been with the RAC over 30 years, this is the 2nd time I've called them out , to be honest this is the most shoddy , un professional , waste of space , waste of time company I have ever dealt with , what ever you do DO NOT JOIN THE RAC .

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling service”

written by gpark2010 on 15/12/2022

Appalling Service My Complaint Initial call at around 14:00 went fine got an estimated time of around two 2hrs, I notified the call operator than this is a mobility vehicle and we have a disabled person on board and would need a wheelchair taxi to transport her home, I was told this gets arranged when the recovery arrives. I received a call around 15 minutes later asking were is the vehicle going to, to which I answered I don't know its a mobility vehicle and needs repairs as it is undrivable. Anticipating problems I called some taxi firms no wheelchair taxi's available. I then proceeded to arrange alternative transport as the weather conditions were freezing and light was failing.. At 16:00 I called RAC again asked for progress and was put on hold for around 2 minutes. The operator then said they were waiting for me to call them back with an address to where the vehicle will be taken, once again I said I don't know as it needs repairs,. At this point I was discussed as I was not told this in the initial call and follow up call (Please listen to you recording) the operation was rude and said I should know this. I was then told that the vehicle would not be recovered until I had a address to where the vehicle would be taken. (This is absolutely appalling as there was a disabled person in a wheelchair still in the vehicle in freezing conditions (this person is wheelchair bound has a swallowing disorder and needs specialized food and drink.. Your call operator would not listen and the alternatim stood if I don't give a address to where the vehicle will be taken no recovery. I said that they can take the vehicle to the owners home address and gave the operator the address. I then informed the operator that the vehicle was going to be left at this stage to which I got a rude reply that then he would close the job. At this point and before this point I was fed up with the operator's lack of knowledge or understanding and may have become somewhat agitated that this person would not listen and kept telling me to listen to him. I left the vehicle there and took the disabled person and her support staff (the driver) back to her home as all attempts to reason with your call handler had failed. I then complained RSA Motability and they then took the recovery further. I received a call from RAC at around 6pm letting me know that there was no RAC recovery vehicle and that this job had been outsourced. I was asked to return to the vehicle, I explained that this was not going to happen and once again explained the circumstance as to why we left the vehicle, this call operator seemed more understanding and said they would put a note on file. I then received a call around 9pm from the recovery company (who were professional and I cannot fault anything they spoke to me about) to get directions to the vehicle. RAC Response Thank you for taking the time to contact us. I'm xxxx and it's my job to look into your experience and let you know what happened. I understand you were unhappy with the attitude of our Breakdown Specialist on this occasion when you called during a breakdown on 13 December 2022. Whilst I'm sorry you've felt the need to raise concern, I can confirm my colleague was correct in their advice. RAC does not know where a vehicle needs to be taken and it is down to the customers to check with their insurance and let us know the tow destination. I apologise for any misunderstanding and I'm sorry you feel aggrieved by the situation. Our customer's satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and I'm very sorry you weren't happy with the way your call was handled. I'd like to thank you for contacting RAC and I assure you that in no way was any discourtesy intended towards you. Just so you know, I've passed on your feedback to the relevant team to make them aware. The RAC has been around for 125 years, and feedback from our members has always helped us improve our service. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. Yours sincerely

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY”

written by Fallon1987 on 09/12/2022

Worst company ever do not buy ur breakdown cover from RAC discrase of a company took 24+ to recover truck my car! You will regret buying like I have.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The RAC are PREDATORY AND PERFIDIOUS: AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

written by UnhappyRACcustomer on 21/11/2022

They refused to tow me to a garage after my brakes failed, despite the fact that I had paid for this level of brake down cover. They claimed it was a pre-existing fault so they wanted to charge me £150 to tow me! First, they said it was a known manufactures fault with the car, then when I challenged that they tried to justify it on the basis of my MOT paperwork. My car had passed its MOT two weeks before, but an advisory on the MOT mentioned that the brakes might need looking at during the cars next service. I showed them the paperwork, being naively trusting, thinking it would help them diagnose the problem! Instead they jumped on that in order to justify trying to charge me £!50 to tow me 2 miles. They were actively LOOKING for any opportunity to charge me extra for the recovery service I had already paid for. When I asked the young man to wait for a moment while I phoned my own garage to check if they would tow it more cheaply, he became quite abusive and stormed off leaving my bonnet up and filler caps strewn over the ground! They were VERY unprofessional and unreasonable. Their attitude to me when I was in distress was predatory and perfidious. I have been a member for years but got a very nasty shock when I actually needed their help! membership number: 200110002834307 Just an update: This happened on the 18.11.22 and despite the reply that you see from them on this website they have still NOT made ANY detailed reply to this complaint!! Further Update: They have still not bothered to respond to my complaint. I have had the car fixed by a well respect local mechanic and he assured me that the cause of the problem had nothing to do with the advisory notes on the MOT, and that there is no way the RAC mechanic could have correctly identified the problem with the equipment at this disposal, and that it was entirely unreasonable and completely unorthodox for the RAC mechanic to start diagnosing the problem by looking at advisory notes on my MOT paperwork. His view was that the RAC mechanic was simply trying to obtain money by deception, because he is probably paid a commission on everything that he charges for!!!!!!!! I have yet to hear any kind of response from the RAC, let alone an apology or offer of reimbursement or any serious intention to discipline this individual and hold him account for his disgusting attitude and behaviour. Anybody reading this can gauge how their own complaints are likely to be dealt with by the RAC should they find themselves in similar circumstances to myself.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Gave up on them after eight hours ”

written by Gibberished on 18/11/2022

When it went wrong, it went badly wrong. First (and last) time I called them out it was 11.30pm in November in a city centre multi storey car park. They didn't phone to check my details or location for 4.5 hours, then there was nobody available to come out. At 7am I was told someone MIGHT be out to me in the next 90 minutes. Lone female stuck in a freezing car park overnight and I wasn't a priority. After eight hours I gave up on these clowns and will be writing to find out why they can't meet a basic service. Avoid at all costs.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst service ever”

written by Corap146 on 14/11/2022

Worst service ever.. I called to report a breakdown, I was given 4 hours for the patrol to attend.. even hospital appointments won't be that long....that's pathetic!! I called again, I was told someone will around by 17:15.. Up to the time I am writing this review, no anyone has even bothered to call.. This was not the first time... Never ever get RAC breakdown cover.. that's my advice to anyone looking for a breakdown cover

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievably unprofessional and inept ”

written by Stuee6 on 11/11/2022

Trying to talk to a human is nye on impossible, everything has to be done through the app. Why do they not have a direct number that goes directly into the breakdown call centre, as opposed to having lots of options, it is just crazy. I was so irritated by these, I wanted to cancel and go elsewhere but they wanted to charge me for leaving, even though it was their fault! I would not recommend the RAC at all, totally useless. Get a direct number sorted out for those who have broken down as aposed to trying to sell us stuff.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service ”

written by MrSteveBow on 08/11/2022

Absolutely terrible service. They kept my wife and children waiting 4 hours on a busy road. We have now cancelled the membership and joined the AA. Not recommend whatsoever ever.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We've been waiting more than 10 hours”

written by Fleetmanager1 on 03/11/2022

Breakdown was reported to RAC at 08.54, but 10.5 hours(!) later no one has turned up. We've called repeatedly, they keep telling us the driver is on the way, tried to speak to a manager, was told we'd be called back, absolutely nothing. Dreadful service, dreadful customer care, avoid at all costs!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Atrocious Service.”

written by 182Barnett on 01/11/2022

Front tyre shredded and off rim. On a bend on a narrow country lane. Emailed RAC at 15:30 17:30 spoke to them too busy to get to us. Continually too busy. More phone calls. Still nothing happening. Dark. Cold. 21:00 still no recovery in sight. Flippant, unprofessional, unhelpful comments from a supposed senior person at Walsall office. Very helpful External Recovery firm arrive. 8 hours till help arrived.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful, avoid RAC”

written by Hendersonvl1961 on 08/10/2022

Awful service, they told me to just upgrade my policy and then they'll help, no problems at all but then a third person told me it didn't count and they charged me an extortionate amount to come and look at my car, which I had to pay because I had alreday lost a day's work sorting things out and couldn't risk missing another day at work. Intentional or not, I felt extorted to pay the £161 extra. My complaint was ignored and nobody ever got back to me. Avoid RAC!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Downhill for the RAC”

written by MarthaWalker290 on 04/10/2022

Member 40 years off and on, first two callouts arrived in 30 minutes and fixed at the roadside. 15 years later, two more callouts, told 4 hours, then texts lying abot a 30 minute ETA, then nothing until the next morning. Oh dear, please, please sort this out - you have screwed the RAC on your watch, please get it sorted or resign. It isn't WorldPay, its a rescue service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Truly terrible times”

written by MattStafford on 10/09/2022

Honestly sooooo bad. Firstly they kept lying about arrival times. Repeatedly. II rang the call centre 5 times and it was the same bloke who kept answering. I think he felt lonely. Every time I rang he just kept telling my he would give ‘them’ a quick ring. I presume he was using ‘them’ as a pronoun for the only RAC rescue driver who exists in the whole of Britain. Still no one has come. Even the highway cop who threatened us with a £170 fine has binned us off. It’s been four hours and we’re still waiting….AMGRY FACE, ANGRY FACE, AUBERGINE, WATER DROPLETS. My friend looks like he’s going to eat me like in that film with the plane crash. I’m afraid. Please someone make this stop. It’s 5am. Can someone at least bring me some shreddies so I can keep my mate at bay. And stop lying about arrival times I can sense it in you’re voice. You’ve probably got time to work on this feedback as it’s more than likely going to be another day before help arrives. Much love. Matter

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Run a mile”

written by Smurffmo on 01/09/2022

You only find out how good or bad a company is when you need them. Broke down near an airport when about to collect family. Given unbelievable 4.5 hour attendance time, they were not prepared to prioritise in any way. Had to arrange at considerable personal cost for family to get home. Predictably RAC don't want to know, they have no customer service ethic. They couldn't care less about me and just parrot terms and conditions. I wont be renewing and would advise prospective customers to steer well clear. Imagine if you were stranded in a dangerous place having to wait 4.5 hours for them to deign to arrive.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling service ”

written by dfKelly446 on 22/08/2022

The RAC failed to respond to a breakdown for 16 hours and 22 minutes. Their communication with me included multiple lies which resulted in me staying with my car from 7pm-1am and then getting a taxi home. I was then required to chase them at 5am for delivery of my vehicle home which also did not happen. This resulted in me having 2-3 hours sleep only, meant that I could not work the following day and then ruined my weekend away as I was still catching up with lost sleep. I tried to address this with the RAC but they refused to escalate my complaint to their management team or to compensate me for this appalling service and loss of earnings. I also received a parking ticket which they stated they would resolve and did not which meant I had to spend more of my time resolving.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dumped at the motorway services”

written by Welshlg459 on 05/08/2022

I broke down 11:45 am was picked up 3 1/2 hours later to be taken home on a truck then to be told it was out of the vans area so it took me 40 miles instead of 120 that I needed you just drop me off at service station six hours later no communication from RAC checked into a hotel now 7:30 am and still waiting truly shocking service I’ve been a customer for many years never expected anything like this

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview