O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit

O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit
O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit
O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit
O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit
O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Start good ends bad”

written by AustralianPom on 29/11/2016

Great wetsuit to start but for a $700 purchase, the quality has gone through the floor. The seams have just disintegrated leaving whole panels falling off. O'neill reckon they can't repair and offered a small discount on a new suit. Not good enough guys, not by a long stretch, so disappointed I really liked this brand until now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“psycho zen 4/3”

written by egbertswalue on 15/11/2015

Best wetsuit I have ever worn. For au $550 you would expect 3 to 4 yrs before shoulders perish . Less than two yrs. Suit material in perfect condition but wetsuit falling apart at seams. This is a manufacturing problem they have used faulty seam seal rubber. After conversing with oneill , out of warranty , bad luck pal. By consumer law when a faulty material has been used it has to be repaired or replaced no matter what length of warranty . I will keep at them . We need everybody with same problem to make as much noise as possible for O'Neil to honour their product.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vukmussel's Response to egbertswalue's Review

Written on: 29/01/2016

buy Patagonia,after 3 years4 cm. seal came off, new suit without discussion, awesome brand!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit 2 and 3 Twice Bitten”

written by AlissaAdams334 on 11/05/2015

I bought the Pyscho 2 3/2 after reading many reviews and deciding it, although expensive was a quality wetsuit that would last., When new it lived up to all the advertising hype. Soft, warm, flexible, pleasure to use. This unfortunately was very short lived. When i tuned it inside out to dry the welded seams stuck to the parts of the suit they came into contact with, tearing holes in the skin of the suit on separation. The suit continued to fall apart and stick to itself until it became necessary to say farewell and look at a new suit. New suit to ditched in less than one winter season. I should have known better, but at the insistence of the salesperson that the Psycho 3 had vastly improved, I purchased another O'Neil . Wrong Wrong Wrong! This one is continuing in the poor quality tradition The welded seams are splitting and leaking like a sieve and require constant applications of "Aquaseal" glue (a good product) to keep it in one piece. A very disappointing experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“poor seams and poor customer service”

written by bfMacDonald55 on 23/01/2015

i have had many wetsuits over the years and none have been as bad as the oniell psycho 3. i have had the welded seams fail on the latest psycho 3 and now oniell will not honour what is printed in black and white on the warranty information provided with the wetsuit. the old pshcho 2 seams are strong durable and with plenty of width. the wetsuit is comfortable but at what price? if i need to spend over $500.00 every 6 to 12 months on a wetsuit i will go with RIPCURL every time from now on as they seem to value there customers more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“O'Neill psycho 2 and 3 (4/3 - back zip) ”

written by on 07/06/2013

This review is for both O'Neill Psycho 2 and 3: Psycho 2 - the first one I bought in Nov 2011 and in the end of April I notice some failures in the front black panel.. several holes in the outside layer. I return it to the dealer. Only in Nov 2012, I had a final response from O'Neill with a brand-new Psycho 3. After so much time I was happy with the solution :-). Psycho 3 - I've been using it since then and a hole or two have appeared and I glued it.. no bid deal... But 2 weeks ago I notice the seams, in the front panel are failing apart AGAIN !!!! I take (very well) care of all my wetsuits, I wash them every time after my surf sessions and never fold it or hang, never leave it in the car or sun exposed... I'm 43 years old and I respect the money I spend. I have 2 other O,Neills with a few years, a Psyco 2 2/2mm (excellent) and Psychofreak 2,5/3,5mm (don't like the fitting) and they're still in use and good conditions. Now, I had enough, I'm into Patagonia! Hope it last.. tell you about it in one year...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“JUNK”

written by on 13/11/2012

I bought the phsycho 2 for my son in Aug. I am constantly repairing tears. which is no big deal, but now the seams are coming appart on the back pannel. My daughters phsycho is also having the same problem. but on hers the black coating that is over the seams has melted and stuck to other areas on the wetsuit. I will never recommend these wetsuits or buy another again. I am really sorry that I recommended the oneiil brand to 2 other friends who both got them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Having owned Billabongs, Rip Curls & Excel suits,...”

written by Waveslave on 17/04/2012

The O'Neil Pyscho 2 (specifically the physcho 2 5/3mm) is the best Winter surfing wetsuit on the market in my opinion because: It is easy the most flexible (very), easy the lightest and easy the warmest winter suit I have ever had in the water. Most importantly, it slips on and off easier than any other suit I have ever tried both wet and dry. The back entry is excellent so you can put it on & take it yourself without assistance. And it does not leak as much as any other back entry suit due to the extra internal neck seal system. Excel top end 5/3's despite being very warm are very heavy which impacts your fitness and ability in the water. They are also almost impossible to take off once you have them on without help. No use whatsoever if you ever plan to surf alone. Billabong Winter top ends are quite flexible but leak a heck of a lot, plus the arms get very cold for some reason. They don't get as heavy as an Excel when wet but are still no match for the Oneil P2. Rip Curls high enders are very warm don't leak but are inflexible and heavy. They are second best to the O'neil. Although haven't tried the new flashdry yet... I have wasted more dosh on winter wetsuit experimentation than you can shake a stick at and have learned my lesson through cost unfortunately. I am not reviewing Summer suits here, only Winter. I will never experiment with any other suit again. The O'Neil P2 is the absolute best on the market bar none. Its better than the O'neil psychofreak which is good also but slightly heavy when wet. Plus cheaper ! Expect your p2 to last two years if you surf a lot and are very heavy on suits. If you are a weekend warrior- four years. Theres a lot of rubbish reviews below from people who clearly haven't tried a lot of suits which is a pity if you are in the market for a p2. They are just the biz - aloha Phil

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

written by Miceypantera on 28/10/2011

bought this new expensive suit one week ago and wore once for a half hour swim, removed and washed as per instructions. After drying then noticed two small tears in front chest panel. Have done nothing at all imaginable to cause tears, surely this is an expensive endurance wear suit and should survive at least a swim.... Sent back to shop but o'neill consider it my fault and will only repair. Will never spend money on an o' neill wetsuit again. My £79 summer wetsuit has been fine for months. This cost £279!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought a O'Neil Heat 5/3 to replace an old gul winter...”

written by on 13/02/2011

Bought a O'Neil Heat 5/3 to replace an old gul winter suit. Within 12 months of not very much use, neoprene is cracking, taped seams coming apart - baggy legs - and only a 1 year limited warranty. My old suit is in better condition than this and a good few years old. Other wetsuit manufacturers offer longer warranties - i guess O'Neil realise that they would be replacing hundreds of suits if they provided a longer warranty.
My advice avoid - go for an Xcel or Gul - read the reviews before buying, i wish i had.
IN SUMMARY THE WORST SUIT I HAVE EVER OWNED - IN 30 YEARS OF SURFING AND WATERSPORTS

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Purchased my forth Oneill Mutant in the last three...”

written by 1juanito on 04/02/2011

Purchased my forth Oneill Mutant in the last three years in late November. I have loved this wetsuit for years in both the 3/2 and 4/3 version. This year they stopped making the 3/2 and are using the RG8 as a replacement (RG8 is a cold one they should call in a full 2mm). I used the suit through December and the first week of January the knee gave out and leaked water. Just like the previous mutant suits I had except this one lasted just under two months!! I took it to the warranty/shipping facility and they were very professional and replaced the suit right away. I have had the new one for less than a month and the Knee has a hole again!! Talking to friends at the beach it sounds like everyone is having the same issue and have switched other brands. I have to say other than the knee issue I have not put on a better wetsuit, warm, flexible and comfortable. However, spending over $300 for a product that gets a hole after such a short time is disturbing. I am not a knee border and dont use my knee to duck dive?? I would not recommend this suit until they fix the knee issues.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I just bought this wetsuit today so cannot make a...”

written by on 09/12/2010

I just bought this wetsuit today so cannot make a comment on durability, I'll try to write another review in a few months to comment on this. Having said that this suit so far is the BOMB! I bought the 4/3 version and it's not cheap ($470 with tax) but now I plan on surfing a ton this winter when previously I always seemed to find a reason not too. This is the warmest and most flexible suit I've ever owned. My hands and feet are now warm as well which is crazy, probably has to do with my body not shunting bloodflow from my extremities to keep my core warm. Previously was using a Bodyglove Fusion 4/3, the Psycho 2 is much warmer and very stretchy, almost feels like I have a 3/2 on. If you have the money, buy it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“ I bought an oniell 3/2 heat only used twice the...”

written by freezn1 on 22/09/2010

I bought an oniell 3/2 heat only used twice the material and neoprene at end of leg already tore didnt even stretch to much always roll on cause they fit tight. Live in san diego so I dropped off my self for repair told me be ready in a couple of weeks called after a week to see how its goin told me it would be 3 to 4 more weeks because they only work 4 days instead of 5. All I can say is I will not buy or recommend Oniell because of there service they say its about the service and if I dont get my suit in 2 weeks like they first said their service sucks. If the water was warmer I would use my spring but its been cold all summer!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hope no one has any warranty problems with O'Neil...”

written by on 05/07/2010

Hope no one has any warranty problems with O'Neil wetsuits, wether it is the Psycho model or any other. I had the 3-2 Heat and it developed 2 thin areas on the backside after less than 3 weeks and let cold water in. Sent back after a week,O'Neil said it was 'normal' wear and tear and refused to repair/replace it. Have had many wetsuits over a few decades and this is the worst customer experience by far. So if you have an O'Neil wetsuit and need customer service be worried, very worried.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ On June 14, 2010 I bought my first wetsuit. There...”

written by on 29/06/2010

On June 14, 2010 I bought my first wetsuit. There were different makes and the salesman was helpful.
After trying on about 5 I bought the Excel Infiniti. It fits perfect and the colors (dark blue, black and flourescent green) are striking and attention getters.
This suit cost $200.00 and to me it is worth it.
Note: I found it much easier to put on when you put those cheap plastic bags the supermarket puts your groceries in, on your feet and hands prior to putting on the suit. It slides on fast!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Got the 4/3 youth suit as im short and seemed the best...”

written by on 13/05/2010

Got the 4/3 youth suit as im short and seemed the best option. Bought in november it got me through the uk winter 3-4 degrees C. Real flexible suit that kept me warm enough for 2 hour sessions in january having to end sessions due to me hands getting cold. Cant complain about quality or durability so far, and as I said it got me surfing in the winter no problem. Great suit

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I just got this suit a week ago. (3/8/10) Put it on...”

written by on 16/03/2010

I just got this suit a week ago. (3/8/10) Put it on and it felt great, i stayed pretty warm in cool Sonoma County water until......My fin on my board grazed across my thighs at one point and it shredded the suit all the way through on both legs. I cannot believe the fragility of this wetsuit! I mean I just got this thing and the first time in the water it's shredded. I talked to Oneills customer service rep Joe, and he said it happens all the time. Heres a thought, fix it so it doesnt "happen all the time" I paid $550 for this wetsuit, so I am vry unhappy with it, so disappointed with Oneill. I would only recommend this suit if you can afford to keep a couple of of backups on hand, or if you really enjoy repairing neoprene, otherwise DO NOT BUY THIS WETSUIT! Its VERY FRAGILE and oneills customer service sucks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Yeaimcoolbro's Comment

Written on: 08/09/2014

You can't be serious. A fin slices your suit (which the oneill rep is right, this is totally normal) and you complain that the suit couldn't hold up??? Fins are dangerous and will slice neoprene and skin like hot butter. You should be thankful you dont have 20 stitches to go along with your shredded wetsuit.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Just bought the ladies Psycho 2010 model. First time...”

written by on 06/11/2009

Just bought the ladies Psycho 2010 model. First time on last weekend in Lake Windermere whilst learning to kneeboard. Did not feel any cold whatsoever and certainly didn't get wet in my body. Warm as toast and would recommend - not what I'm getting from the previous reviews.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I've had the 2008 model 4/3 suit for 5-months, and...”

written by on 13/10/2009

I've had the 2008 model 4/3 suit for 5-months, and have surfed almost every week-end. Love the fit, and it's nice and warmth for the N. CA 53-degree water. However, the neoprene in the knees, and the neck stitching, are failing. Will probably do repairs myself, since my friend had a warranty turn-around time of 6-weeks. He was happy with the repair job. The 2009 version reverted to stronger knee pads.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“the dolls o'neill pyhsco 2 this year is rubbish! mine...”

written by on 18/09/2009

the dolls o'neill pyhsco 2 this year is rubbish! mine got holes after a month where all the seams join. i sent it back it got a bad repair done that took forever and has come apart again and now has more holes forming!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“ive had this O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit since last summer...”

written by on 24/07/2009

ive had this O'Neill Psycho Wetsuit since last summer and i find it very cold. im pretty skinny and it doesnt fit me perfect.i cant last an hour unless im paddling alot. i had to buy another suit because of the cold which is super warm. maybe its the fit but poor wetsuit from my experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview