Germanwings Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
28% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Flight on time?

  • Customer service

  • Comfort on flight

  • Quality of Entertainment

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Germanwings - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“5 MONTHS AND STILL NO REFUND RECEIVED!!”

written by JustinaB on 30/06/2016

THE WORST CUSTOMER CARE EVER. Myself and my partner we had a connecting flight from Milan to Glasgow (transfer in Dusseldorf) on the 4th of February 2016 (FLIGHT EW1821). Our flight Milan-Dusseldorf was delayed and thus we missed our connecting flight at Dusseldorf. We were offered an alternative flight to Manchester instead of Glasgow (214 miles away from our original destination). We were guaranteed by the 'assuring and lovely' staff at Dusseldorf that we will get a refund from Germanwings for our alternative transportation to our final destination. We paid 150 pounds to get from Manchester airport to Glasgow by train. We were assured that we will be refunded within 2 weeks. After contacting German wings customer service for infinite times during the last 5 months - NO MONEY REFUND RECEIVED. When on the phone, the only information they can give is 'THE PROCESS does take time'. DO THEY EVEN CHECK THE DETAILS OF THE CUSTOMERS OR THEY JUST AUTOMATICALLY ANSWER TO EVERYTHING THAT IT TAKES TIME WITHOUT EVEN BEING BOTHERED LOOKING INTO THE SITUATION?! IS THIS A CUSTOMER CARE? DON'T TAKE A RISK AND NEVER USE THIS AIRLINE IF YOU HAVE CONNECTING FLIGHT!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Einfach schlecht und unverschämt...”

written by Eckhard on 25/06/2016

Ich fliege ziemlich oft mit Germanwings/Eurowings da ich von Köln/Bonn fliege und dort leider kaum Alternative zu Germanwings gibt...Und ich kann sagen dass es immer schlechter wird. Ich kann mich nicht an den letzten Flug ohne Verspätung errinern...Sie haben IMMER Verspätung und man wird erst nach 30 Minuten Verspätung informiert dass der Flug verspätet ist und eventuelle eine neue Uhrzeit gegeben. Dabei sind die Tickets gar nichr so günstig. Ich hoffe es gibt bald eine gute Alternative von Köln/Bonn aus, denn bis dahin nehme fliege von Düsseldorf oder Frankfurt und bestimmt nicht mit Germanwings mehr.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Checked in luggage force opened and items missing from it”

written by NathaliaTownsend353 on 19/10/2015

I flew with Germanwings from Budapest to Cologne on 12th August 2015. On my arrival at the airport in Cologne I noticed that the lock of my suitcase was broken and the content of my luggage was searched. At first I didn't realize something was missing from my suitcase, it only dawned on me when I arrived at my hotel and wanted to pay for some services with Euros. I realized then that I left the Euros I had in the side pocket of my handbag that I was requested to put into my checked in luggage. Back then, of course, I removed everything from my handbag, including my purse, but I completely forget about 100 Euro+ 10 GBP+ 5000 HUF left in the side pocket. It just escaped my mind, I was so much hurried at the check in counter. All this money was missing from my handbag, nothing else. I reported the case at Cologne Airport police (they didn't show any interest in my complaint), and also contacted Germanwings with the following request: I wanted them to reimburse me for the luggage check in fee, because I did not get my suitcase back in the condition I checked it in. The lock was broken, it was searched, and the proof of mishandling was that the money I accidentally left in it was all missing. I didn't ask for the stolen money to be reimbursed, I asked for paying me back the the check in fee only. Of course Germanwings did not want to do it. They kept pretending it was about to reimburse for the stolen money which they don't take responsibility for, because it was my fault. After a number of emails exchanged, when I again and again explained that I wanted the check in fee back, a staff member of customer service called me... That was the most hilarious telephone conversation I've ever had. This staff member was obviously trained to handle customers as complete idiots who additionally need a smoothing intonation to calm them down. He explained to me that all the problems with my checked in luggage was my fault, because it was as if I had left a coat at a restaurant and then I would go back and find it missing. Then I would blame the restaurant for my coat being stolen. He suggested that Germanwings was the restaurant and I the careless, neglectful customer! I tried to explain him that this example was a most unsuitable one he could have come up with. I explained that the contract between me, the customer, and Germanwings, the provider, was not fulfilled, because Germanwings did not deliver my suitcase safely, I did not receive it in the same condition as it was checked in. At this point the personnel cried in the phone: 'But we delivered it, you got it!' Then I asked: 'But how?? I didn't get any warning from Germanwings that my luggage, en route from Budapest to Cologne, might be opened and looted by strangers, but that should not be a ground for complaints.' This conversation was absolutely useless. Obviously, Germanwings didn't want to create a precedent to reimburse me for the luggage check in fee. Their unwillingness to handle passengers' complaints seems to be reinforced by the employment of unsuitable staff who themselves are not knowledgeable enough to conduct customer relations. I am very disappointed with Germanwings, and don't intend to fly with them in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ No Terminal Info on Ticket , Baggage Loss & ...”

written by on 09/08/2015

We booked a London Heathrow to Dusseldorf flight for 06/08/15, ticket and Bording Pass had no Terminal Number. Our Booking Code started with T4. We went to London Heathrow Terminal 4. We were there informed Germanwings flies from Terminal 2. When we got to T2, they said we were late and we must purchase another ticket which was very expensive. Instead of 1hour 25 min journey, it now took us 15 hours to get to our destination because this plane will go to Berlin before coming down to Cologne If they had all information on the ticket, we would not have suffered waste of money, time, suffering and frustration especially our children 2 We got to Cologne Bonn airport and our 2 Luggages did not come. This flight was on 6th August but today 9th August 5pm I am writing, our luggage has not been brought to us or found. 3 With Germanwings, it is frustration all the way. It is our first with Germanwings and should be the last. We never suffered like this before and this is just a regional flight. The management is absolutely poor. 4 If Germanwings is a branch of Lufthansa, then I will also consider boycotting Lufthansa.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Operated by bullies!!”

written by xqDoyle211 on 23/03/2015

After 2.5 hours of delay and waiting for boarding on German wings plan, male steward used force against my pulling my bag of my hands first and then pushing me out of his way shouting at me at the same time that people like me delay planes from scheduled takes off. Customer service came back with most embarrassing and childish respond to my official complain I have ever read. Planes are operated by bullies and customer service is run by children.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking customer service ”

written by mark.godbold.9 on 23/01/2015

I left a kindle hdx accidently on a Germanwings plane. I reported to their staff within 5 mins. They said they found it and would take it the Stuttgart lost luggage office at the airport terminal. It never arrived. Germanwings refused to take responsibility for the loss. They wouldn't even take my name or address. They knew I was alone and in a foreign country and just took my property. The German police would not investigate due to the low value and I guess that Germanwings know this when they select which items not to return.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service ever”

written by Greenwood309 on 14/11/2014

We flew from Stockholm to Dusseldorf in BASIC fare. Previously the flight was operated by Eurowings (also a daughter of Lufthansa but with good standards). Now it is Eurowings operated by Germanwings and just chaos. Even if we booked our flight together, we got the seats 12A and 14F. During the online check-in we could not change the seats. Finally at the airport we were told that the Germanwings system is still not compatible with the Lufthansa Eurowings system and this is why seat selection is not possible online with Germanwings ... what a bad excuse ... The trip itself was 5 minutes late but ok. After arrival we found out at the car that my wifes suitcase had a crack. So we contacted the hotline and this is normally when you really get to know the company. The telephone hotline was not able to answer any question regarding damaged luggage except provide us with an email address or postal address in Germany. There is no telephone number for luggage problems with Germanwings. The hotline was even not able to tell us our rights and usual procedures if you encounter damaged luggage. Worst hotline ever ... So we send an email to the provided address with a picture of the crack and our flight tickets. Furthermore, when we were flying back 3 days later, we did not have any answer. So we went to the service luggage desk at Dusseldorf airport. The lady there was nice and tried to help us. However, she explained that Germanwings is not Lufthansa when it comes to service issues and damaged luggage. If it would have been a Lufthansa flight, we could have directly got a new suitcase there. However, for Germanwings she can only give us the email address because Germanwings does not offer more service. She is also not allowed to file a case of broken luggage directly at arrival. The most funny thing was that she offered us to sign a petition against outsourcing all Lufthansa services over Germanwings to 3rd party companies in eastern Europe ... what the hell Lufthansa is doing here?? Anyhow, after 6 days we got an answer per email from Germanwings that they cannot take any responsibility of the crack since we did not directly claim it at arrival and due to the Montreal Agreement later issued damages cannot be handled. I protest that the damage was only visible after opening the topcase of the suitcase. but did not get any answer. So I wrote two more emails after 20 and a final very angry one after 41 days. Finally after 48 days I got an unexpected email from Germanwings saying sorry for the delayed answer but that they cannot give any compensation because the crack from the picture must have been visible at the airport. What an idiotic lie ... So my conclusions: This airline may bring you from A to B but if there is the smallest service issue or any other problem, you are lost and dammed. Never again Germanwings and Lufthansa!!! With this service I hope they are soon replaced by more service oriented companies on the market.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“baggage lost”

written by marco1000 on 23/07/2014

Flew 19th july with 2 children from london heatrow to southern italy with a stop to cologne germany. For a month holiday to see my family.Well germanwings supposrd to send my bagagge to my final destination in italy. The bag never got there i reported it miising and still after 6 days no bag yet. Nobody know where the bag is. Never received a call from germanwings sent numerous email never got an answer. Call the premiun number just to ear that they can do nothing very bad customer service. In the bag i had a portable hhd with the backup of my computer ,photocopies of my passport documents and lifetime video and photos of my family plus other priceless family'memories .also my sky satellite bos and card that every summer i take it with me. Germanwings ruined my familys holiday.im here in italy with 2 children a no clothes and we have to stay for a month. Unfortunatly i need to fly back with this horrible company. However i will never use germanwings ever again they dont even care about my bagagge is lost that my problem. It is my fault because to save £150 i chose germanwings over alitalia. What a mistake,now i ended up paying more money,paying clothes and the stuff i have lost. Please before you fly eith germanwings thing 2 times because if something goes wrong you are on your own. 2 years ago alitalia lost my bag but within 2 days my bag eas deliveref to me and the company call to inform me about the search even other companies found my bag in the past withing hours. Germaneings dont even bother to search for it. Very diappointed.the EU should not allow bad companies such as germanwings to operate. Very diappointed in getmanwings but more with lufthansa which owns germanwings. Lufthanse told me that is not there problem..people think before you choose germanwings. I hope that this review helps someone not to make my mistake in choosing to fly with a bad company such as germanwings.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mark.godbold.9's Response to marco1000's Review

Written on: 23/01/2015

I guess they sell the 'lost' items to make extra money. The Germans are also treated a lot better. I have spoken to 2 Germans who left items on a plane and they said Germanwings were very prompt at tracing and then returning them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Good travel experiance, bad customer service”

written by DillanEnglish414 on 18/06/2014

The travel itself is good. like with the normal airline, including a simple refreshment if travelling on the Smart fare. However, I got a bad experience with my baggage claim. My baggage got damaged on flight 4U 9773, I submitted the claim upon my arrival in DUS and was told I have to email it also to [email protected] within 7 days which I did, but they never responded. I tried twice. Also tried to call the customer phone line, but they told me they can only handle reservation requests... so I guess this is how they deal with claims - ignoring them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“amazing”

written by Shieldshd13 on 13/06/2014

doesnt get better than this, germanwings always on time, excellent fares, lounge access, good beverages

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Markusschn's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

sorry but GW usually does not have any lounge access. Such a short rating looks really like a paid one!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Refusal to get a glass of water by flight attendant”

written by DanielFrey on 13/06/2014

I was refused a glass of water by the flight attendant. this is against international conventions, but not only, the response was rude and no apology given nor by the responsible person of the flight - he was briefed. I suggest to anybody not to use this airline, it has never happened to me before, any low cost airline offers that service, even if reluctantly, but to be told off in a rude way is a very different matter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No answer to simple questions”

written by AryanDolan on 20/05/2014

I've been trying to get in touch with GermanWings for a week now! No answer to the terrible expensive phone call and I've written 4 messages with a very simple question. No answer. Terrible! What is one to do?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“best lcc”

written by Clark483 on 16/03/2014

germanwings 4U. We flew to cologne and had suitcases to check in which you paid for, but everything was really good. You know what to expect and everything is clearly explained! Much better then dreadful ryanair ! You fly with a budget airline so you cant expect first class service. But we have nothing negative to say. Smart fare is great.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“contacting germanwings by email”

written by on 14/12/2013

Flight from Birmingham to Berlin was cancelled put on flight to Frankfurt OK took train to Berlin told to claim train fare back from germanwings but this seems impossible as the email address given me at the check ins comes up with no help last year l lost 2 days of my break to Berlin because of cancelled flight by the parent company like everything in life if goes well great when they have your money try and get it back coming back flight great

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID THIS AIRLINE AT ALL COSTS!”

written by on 06/12/2013

My flight with Germanwings from Helsinki to Berlin was cancelled this morning. Over the years, I have had plenty of cancellations with various carriers, but this is my worst experience by far. The airline never attempted to contact me - no SMS, no email, nothing (I had checked in in advance, so they knew I was on that flight, and they had my email and my phone number). There was nobody in the security area to help - only the departure info that said "cancelled". Nor was anybody at the Germanwings check-in counter. Apparently they saved a few Euros by sending home their staff... Lufthansa staff then handed my a printout that asked me to call a German number (at my own expense). Of course they let me wait forever. And then the lady on the other side claimed that Germanwings would never rebook passengers on to other carriers, not even Lufthansa. The only thing she offered was either to wait for the next Germanwings flight two (!) days later, or to get my money back. This turned out to be a false claim: thanks to mediation from the helpful people from swissport, Germanwings in the end did book me on a (much later) Lufthansa flight that day. Had I not had their help, Germanwings would have let me sit in Helsinki for two days or pay about €600 for a different carrier ticket that day. Now, my ticket was neither cheap (ca. €250, rather standard for that route) nor the "Basic" fare. I booked it because they had more convenient times than Finnair and because Lufthansa does not fly directly to Helsinki anymore (they handed that route to Germanwings). Given this experience, I can only recommend to AVOID THIS AIRLINE AT ALL COSTS!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Julle's Comment

Written on: 06/12/2013

I was about to take this same flight and my experiences are identical, although we didn't get new tickets. We were also told by Lufthansa(?) ground staff, that we can't be re-routed by Lufthansa, because our ticket was bought from Germanwings website, not Lufthansa (even though they belong to the same company group). So, now I'm waiting my money back from Germanwings and after that I have to check if my travel insurance pays the prepaid hotel rooms, train tickets etc. I really can't understand that Lufthansa co-operates with this kind of "Ryanair of Germany". AVOID!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Muzlim4574575's Comment

Written on: 07/12/2013

ryanair, easyjet and vueling do this EXACTLY the same....so whats the fuzz about? You are not the only pax/flight that was cancelled...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“well done 4U”

written by on 25/11/2013

Knowing that germanwings is a no frills, additional charge for everything airline, I have had nothing but positive experiences. The flights went smoothly, there were no delays and it was good value, all in all i would fly with them again. The staff was friendly and pleasant, the flights departed and arrived on time, the aircraft was in excellent condition. I would recommend germanwings to anyone looking to get from point to point efficiently for a great price. Overall, well done germanwings. btw, i recommend the SMART fare over BASIC fare

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“expensive on Brussel-Stuttgart”

written by on 01/03/2013

check on flight Brussel-Stuttgart the alternatives: Swiss, Lufthansa even KLM are often cheaper via Zurich, Munich or Amsterdam. You easily pay 250 Euro and you even do not get access to the lounch with a frequent traveller card.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant for their prices”

written by SuMao on 29/08/2012

The prices are mostly low and great, you get so much more out of it compared to ryanair and they not only fly from far away from the centre airports. You can really see its a Lufthansa daughter, they have decent design and great sale newsletters where I often catch really cheap flights! Will always prefer Germanwings to other "cheap" airlines!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ignore the negatives”

written by on 26/08/2012

Please ignore these negative reviews. I happened to read these reviews and I was extremely worried about flying with them! I flew from London to Germany and then Germany Rome. I then also went did a connecting flight when going back to London, so again Rome>Germany>London. You can check in online 72 hours before you fly and I did this and was very easy and because I had hand luggage I didn't have to line up at the checkin desk and when I got to Germany I was able to just go straight to the Germany gate, nice and simple! On the way back to London I wasn't able to check in online as was not near a computer and so had to check in at the airport, staff were very friendly but I did have to check in again at Germany, but again so easy as you find the Germanwings connected flight desk which is situated all over the airports. The plane is average size with leather seats, I'm 5ft2 and I had plenty of leg space as well as the man sitting next to me who was roughly 5ft8. I didn't choose the 'best seats' but as I walked past I noticed mostly very tall men where sitting in them. The staff were extremely polite and smiling all the time, offering duty free products as well as food and drinks (none of this is free as it's a low budget airline). Our flights were only 1hour each way. All 4 pilots I had were very informative, told us about weather, what country we were flying over, and what time we were approx landing, we were also informed we could use our phones if switched onto airplane mode. Every single one of the take offs and landings were just amazing the best ive experienced . I am scared of flying so I shut my eyes for our first take off and no word of a lie I didn't even realise we had go so far up it wasn't until I heard the seatbelt sign turn off. My belly didn't go and my ears didn't pop, just so so so good!! Germanwings deserve more credit and I will be using them much more. If any questions please do ask, as I did fly with them four times in one weekend!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude staff and delayed flights!”

written by maheshkakde on 07/11/2011

I work in London and my wife studies in Hannover. So we have to frequently TAKE (there is no option) the Germanwings flight between Stansted and Hannover. Firstly the staff is very rude and at times even uncooperative, especially the German staff on the flights. Secondly, the evening flights are delayed all the time. One hour delay is normal and we have had up to 4 hours of delays very often. We have missed the last train/bus so many times and had to take the very expensive taxis instead. And germanwings is not cheap either. But this is the kind of racket the big companies run- there are no other options to fly from London to Hannover- So much for competition.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview