Canon A1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.7 / 5
92% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Photograph Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Canon A1 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Canon A1

Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1
Canon A1

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Wonderful Experience”

written by benetocriss5 on 10/05/2019

The Canon A-1 is an advanced level single-lens reflex 35 mm film camera for use with interchangeable lenses. It was manufactured by Canon Camera K. K. in Japan.The A-1 is a historically significant camera. It was the first SLR to offer an electronically controlled programmed auto exposure mode. Instead of the photographer picking a shutter speed to freeze or blur motion and choosing a lens aperture f-stop to control depth of field (focus), the A-1 has a microprocessor programmed to automatically select a compromise exposure based on light meter input.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Nicest old School Camera I've Owned”

written by premis2 on 09/10/2016

Got mine new in 1984 in trade for a 1973 AMC Gremlin. Best trade I've made. Still have the A-1, I kinda doubt the Gremlin is still around. The 6 exposure modes are great. Includes stop down metering. Great addition. I love the analogue controls ( I guess I'm just old school.) The camera is still in full operational condition after 32 years of ownership. I went with a digital SLR in 2004 so this A-1 has seen little use since. I shot tens of thousands of color slides in the 20 years of ownership. Nearly all slides perfectly exposed. Like most A series camera from Canon, mine has developed "mirror box sqwauk" but it does not effect operation. I wont be returning to film any time soon, but still bring thje A-1 out for a Sunday stroll once in a while.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought my A1 in 1982, and it was a superb choice....”

written by on 03/01/2011

I bought my A1 in 1982, and it was a superb choice. The quality of my photos won me many a prize at our local Agricultural Show. Having my aperture and speed displayed in the viewfinder allowed me to compose without moving from the subject. Adding exchangeable lenses expanded my subject choice in natural history shots. I still use my A1, but have added a Rebel and a D60 (with Image Stabilizer on my bigger lenses) for added performance.
W Campbell Clarke

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Oldgooner's Comment

Written on: 12/02/2013

Hello. I still own the A1 Black from new, I refused to get rid of it even though the Digital age took over, like many, I purchased a digital camera (pocket edition) but over the years have found the downloading, sorting, filing, printing, etc a time consuming chore. The Digital is ok for immediate action when required for eg accident, proof of this or that, but I have gone back to Film, and have just purchased a Minolta Dynax 5 because of its excellent reviews. But the Canon A1 Black is a stunning and beautifully built Camera that still commands respect. Glad you still kept yours. Kind regards. Melvyn.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I started out with digital, but I picked this camera...”

written by on 07/12/2009

I started out with digital, but I picked this camera up recently and haven't stopped using it. There is just something about this camera - maybe an intangible quality - that makes me want to use it. It is very well built, feels sturdy in my hands, and is, in my opinion, the most aesthetically beautiful camera I've ever seen. If you don't have one, get one! Make sure you buy one that has been serviced. I got mine from eBay seller canaseries and it has performed flawlessly. I think he still sells them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought the first A-1 available in Houston Texas. ...”

written by on 12/09/2009

I bought the first A-1 available in Houston Texas. This camera was the first all electronic camera and caused a new generation of SLR cameras with features we all take for granted today like information in the viewfinder and an array of automatic modes -- Program, aperture priority, shutter priority, etc. I still have it and it still works great. I rarely shoot film anymore, but it does the job when I do.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This canon a1 camera is over 20 years old ! ”

written by on 21/07/2009

This canon a1 camera is over 20 years old !
I believe that it was the first truly automatic camera on the market.
It came with the 50mm 1:1.4 lens. It has served me well, and as a Marine Surveyor, of ships, oil rigs etc. etc. it has travelled the world. Including the Jungles of Borneo. What I still like about this camera is the simplicity of use in any condition. This is an old camera, I am an elderley man, I am a great fan of canon, but unfortunately the next camera I purchase will be the FUJI finepix S100fs, only because Canon do not make one the same.
I really rate Canon, and will never part with with my A1.

Thanks for a great camera

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i have had the Canon A1 camera since 1976 and i still...”

written by jjames1274 on 09/06/2009

i have had the Canon A1 camera since 1976 and i still have the camera with sppedlite 199a and also motor drive that lets the camera do five frames a second. also able to take a picture over a picture. also have 50mm and 135mm. have other cameras but i still prefer this because of flexability

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I, just last week, traded a framed, matted print from...”

written by PopsPhotos on 04/06/2009

I, just last week, traded a framed, matted print from my gallery for an A-1. I made the trade because I wanted something of quality which would take multiple exposures.

I have used Canon in the past, so assumed it would be a rugged, reliable camera. I'm not very disappointed. The lens is stuck, so I can't get it off.

I took a roll of film with it Thursday and I'm pleased with the results. I purposely pushed the macro and depth of field into marginal results and got exactly what I expected, Now I know the focus and exposure limits for future work.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I bought a Cannon A1 in 1982 brand new when I was 17...”

written by on 13/04/2009

I bought a Cannon A1 in 1982 brand new when I was 17 the price was £320.00.The best parts of the camera was viewfider which showed aperture and shutter flash reader and programmed modes.I also bought a cannon 166 speedlight for £99.00 which was dedicated.The camera was an absolute classic but when I bought a Cannon EOS RT
I realise how much the A1 Was Limited in features handling and quality.
For The time when the A1 came out it was an icon but the Cannon cameras available now 2009 are a lot more for the same money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought my Canon A1 in 1992 secondhand for £120 and...”

written by FD nut on 13/02/2009

I bought my Canon A1 in 1992 secondhand for £120 and it still works perfectly, and has never been repaired or serviced, nor let me down. With some TLC I expect it to last a good few more years yet. Some may say film is expensive, but if you surf the net good deals are out there. As good as any 35mm camera I've used. The only bad point is no mirror lock up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This was a ground breaker in its day, sort of like the...”

written by on 16/12/2008

This was a ground breaker in its day, sort of like the first EOS Rebel DSLR which broke the mold for entry DSLRs, the A-1 broke the mold for entry SLRs by introducing an affordable auto exposure.

I personally feel this is much more of a camera then the modern DSLR equivalent (say 450D) which are plastic replicas.

The A-1 evokes the days of the newspaper photographer.

I brought mine second hand a decade ago. In fact it was older than my Pentax SE which I also still have. The SE I brought new, but it is a true second to the A-1, which feels like a pro (though it is not of course).

If only I could buy an A-1 digital I would be a very happy photo geek.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I find this a very special stuff for me. Now I work...”

written by on 04/12/2008

I find this a very special stuff for me. Now I work with my eos 30d and 5D... but usually I pick up my old A1 with some black and white film and just enjoy it, I love it. Digital ones are awesome but A1 35 mm film camera has something very special, maybe romantic, and different. Anyway it works great. No problem after 25 years of use.
My father bought this camera when I was a child. At eleven years old I begun to use it and thanks to my father and this camera I felt in love with photography.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is actually one of my favourite 35mm cameras...”

written by on 30/11/2008

This is actually one of my favourite 35mm cameras because it allows many of the virtues of today's electronic cameras in a circa 1978 more well constructed body. The exposure is extremely accurate for most shooting situations and the ability to use a standard screw in shutter release is welcome.

I would recommend this camera with a few caveats. If the shutter squeaks, have the mirror lubricated. Many older cameras need shutter lubrication and new seals so a trip to a trusted repair shop is recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best over-all full mode 35 mm camera. Cameras like the...”

written by on 24/09/2008

Best over-all full mode 35 mm camera. Cameras like the F-1 are superior in quality construction, but not in features. In any case, after nearly 30 years, the A-1 speaks for itself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I Have recently bought the Canon A1 off ebay and in my...”

written by on 02/09/2008

I Have recently bought the Canon A1 off ebay and in my opinon the best slr around, and I frequently use it in program mode, great results! Fantastic camera! Easy to use!
great features!
wide range of lenses! A+++

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Sorry folks, just knowing how to pressing the shutter...”

written by thewood on 05/08/2008

Sorry folks, just knowing how to pressing the shutter doesn't make you a better photographer or gives you the ability to take any better photos. If this is you, don ' t waist your money on this quality camera, buy a disposable and be done with it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Desertpete01's Response to 388963_thewood's Review

Written on: 02/08/2010

I found this review not helpful because...the general comments segment does not address anything pertaining specifically to this camera. It's a commentary on certain people, not on any camera. Pointless.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The feel ,touch, looks, ease of use,and the results in...”

written by on 18/07/2008

The feel ,touch, looks, ease of use,and the results in the form of near perfect pictures on every shot !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I had the A1 CANON WITH 70 to 210 canon lens and 50m...”

written by on 12/07/2008

I had the A1 CANON WITH 70 to 210 canon lens and 50m lens suburb results........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I used an A1 until poor eyesight forced me to change...”

written by on 10/04/2008

I used an A1 until poor eyesight forced me to change to autofocus or i would still be using it today

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Berni7's Comment

Written on: 20/05/2008

I've still got my A1 and even after 9 years with little or no use it came out of the bag and worked fine. I have always been impressed with it and the cameras they make these days are certainly no match for the quality even if their picture taking capabilities are a match
<br/>
<br/>I couldn't believe that my Nikon D50 didn't have full Apature and Shutter Priority like my old A1.
<br/>
<br/>I'm looking forward to using it more for slides in the next few months.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The Canon A1 was my first 35mm SLR, I had the AE-1...”

written by beautybear on 09/04/2008

The Canon A1 was my first 35mm SLR, I had the AE-1 Program which meant all I had to do was focus and shoot. The camera was amazing, I wish now I had kept it. The controls were really easy to use and the pictures were the clearest sharpest images I've ever seen. The control wheel on the top of the camera allowed selection of Full Program, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority Or Full Manual.
The film advance lever worked smoothly and I could use ANY ASA Film from 12 to 3200. A 'Stop-Down' leaver allowed you to preview depth-of-field and a built-in 'Self-Timer' allowed you to get into your own pics. You could use any of the available "A" series lenses which allowed 'Automatic' Aperture control. and many different flash units for any budget or need.
A great camera!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by tompackham on 19th December 2013 Report this content
i have a canon a1 35mm film camera and it was exellent but now it is too expensive touse because because of film,developing and enlarging. i have numerous lenses that were interchangeable. can i use these same lenses on a new canon digital camara?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview