Royal Bank of Scotland Car Insurance Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9
45.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Latest Reviews

“Dont bother with this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Malckeen on 26/03/2024

I wanted to change my vehicle mid contract ,but they said I needed to take out another policy at a greatly inflated price(renewal 390 pounds and new contrat 1400 pounds) I have been driving over 50 years and never encountered this. It seems to me just a money making scheme for them. Use a more reputable company. Nothing to like except renewal price ,customer service/satusfaction zero ,I hope I dont need to claim

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst insurance ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by vmKehoe122 on 31/08/2023

I simply requested them to change my DD date from 29th to 1st of every month. And guess what these smart people did deducted both on 29th and 1st as well. Either they have stupid staff or they make their customers fool so that they can get their money earlier without thinking about living crisis and how much this unfair deductions can impact on their customers monthly budgets. So I contacted their customer service and and they had this super rude agent name “Alvina” she was super rude and instead of resolving or at least acknowledging their mistake this person start blaming me that I was the one to confirm. No wonder this bank why customers are leaving bank of Scotland in large number. Finally I would not recommend this company to anyone and I myself is going to switch my bank account as well.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not to be trusted”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rainford61 on 29/11/2022

Took out car insurance in September, slightly complicated due to living and working away from the address the car is registered at, gave them the address of where the risk was and had then to supply them with additional documentation ,copies of driving licence, v5, utility bills, finally received a letter from then saying they had updated my details. Arrived home in late November to find letters telling me they were cancelling the policy on the 14th, I had driven around for 2 weeks with no insurance because they had taken upon themselves to change the addresse on the policy to where the vehicle was registered even though I had made it clear that was not the case. All sorts of excuses about underwriters etc, ended up with a full refund and a payment for inconvenience. If your policy isn't straight forward look somewhere else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great customer service”

★★★★★

written by 284Torres on 18/08/2020

They have great customer service . I liked the way they serve their customers. I recommend it to all. The lady talking on phone was also polite enough to deal with a customer’s query. Pretty much satisfied with the service . Highly recommended to all . Value for money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Changed agreed amount aftre lengthy discussion on...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GraemeLumsden on 11/07/2020

After receiving a renewal price I compared other insurers as the quote was £110 more expensive than last years. I had the chance to accept other companies but phone the royal to give them a chance, after a discussion it was agreed that they would drop the price to the same as the year before. One month later the have taken the full amount of the original quote from my account as I was paying in full. After I phoned the insurer again nothing could be done as they could not drop the amount taken. seriously angry but after looking back an email I hadn't fully taken in what was written. I should have double checked and asked for the persons name as I now have no proof of what was agreed. Really angry at being coned this way. Please beware of this companies tactics. very untrustworthy and I will not use them next year.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Great service ”

★★★★☆

written by Almerasg06 on 14/02/2018

After a slight misunderstanding on my first call to claims I was very impressed with the response from the claims team and my claim went through very quickly my own insurer not impressed with thanks RBS

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Not for students”

★★★☆☆

written by 96Merritt on 01/08/2016

We were given an online quote from the insurers having said that my daughter was a student. Spent almost 15 minutes trying to sort it out over the phone with a very pleasant woman who then said - we won't insure her because she's a student.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“My car was stationary when hit by a bus, I have two...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by splashmac on 02/03/2010

My car was stationary when hit by a bus, I have two witnesses and a letter from the bus's insurers admitting fault. My car was taken for repair and when I was asked RBS about excess I was told that another 'liability team' would contact me.No one did, my car is ready and the garage say they will not release it without a payment of £300 (the excess). They said to contact RBS and have a fax waiving excess. The claims department who are open 8 - 8 pass the buck to another department open 8 - 5pm.It seems they are only interested in new business. Very unhelpful operator. So claim made 17th Feb 2010 this is 2nd March 2010 I have provided witnesses and a letter from other company dealing for 'at fault' driver and RBS have been no help. I have suffered a great deal of frustration over this. I am raising a complaint tomorrow regarding their handling of this straightforward claim. So NO DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR BUSINESS. Her's the rub - I am a retired RBS employee !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“When I had to renew my car insurance earlier this year...”

★★★★★

written by on 21/12/2009

When I had to renew my car insurance earlier this year I changed to RBS because the premium was low and I also got extras due to my RBS bank account. When me & my car recently has an insident, it was written off but I got a very reasonable amount of money for it. I have just registered my new car under the old policy, paying only £18 extra to get it covered for the next three months until the policy is due to be renewed again. Claiming after the insident was really easy and their staff is ever so friendly and customer focused. Excellent! Well done & thanks very much Royal Bank Car Insurance!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Royal Bank of Scotland Car Insurance have very helpful...”

★★★★★

written by on 13/03/2009

Royal Bank of Scotland Car Insurance have very helpful staff, polite. all in all great service. i would definitely recommend you try them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I found that Royal Bank of Scotland car insurance was...”

★★★★★

written by paylott on 27/10/2006

I found that Royal Bank of Scotland car insurance was even cheaper than others, and the insurance cover had the added benefit of including breakdown cover.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview