London & Country www.landc.co.uk

★★★★☆
4.5 / 5
90% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
London & Country www.landc.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for London & Country www.landc.co.uk

London & Country www.landc.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“They aren't a brokerage, they are barely able to sent...”

Written on: 06/09/2022 by Harrym88 (1 review written)

They use the word broker extremely generously. This is a clown show. I am a first time buyer and so rely more than perhaps any customer on the advice a broker could offer. But my experience has been beyond awful. I had a total of 6 case managers (and counting) and 11 months (and counting) to buy a house that neither the vendor nor myself have a chain. They will sell you on the fact they don't charge you a fee. Don't fall for it, find an independent who charges and will actually work for you. Don't not take their recommendation for O'Neill patients solicitors either, they will tell you they have a partnership with them and this allows them to speed up the process. O'Neill are useless too and will not represent your concerns to the vendor or act on your behalf. The lenders survey threw up some knotweed in the area. Rather than the broker or solicitor approaching the vendor to raise my concerns I had to liaise with the estate agent and arrange for the vendor to provide knotweed survey. I initially raised it with the solicitor (which I had to do myself as L&C did not do it and actually told me I had to) which I stupidly thought was being taken care of. Several months later I discover the vendor had no idea I even needed this. After sorting it with the estate agent it was done inside of a month. The knotweed survey came back fine and no issues. I then get a call to say mortgage had been rejected because of the knotweed. The L&C colleague told me it was not policy to lend on a house with it. When I (angrily) reminded them that the survey advised it was not an issue and they they should probably do their bloody job and push back on the lender, they did so and as if by magic the underwriter did their job properly and the mortgage progressed. They then tell me the lender needed a damp survey (which I just arranged through the estate agent because the clowns wouldn't know their backside from their elbow) however this was 8 months in. The lender had had the house on their books for 8 months (and 2 mortgage applications at this point) so I was beyond frustrated to have this extended further and could not understand why they would raise it now AND NOT AT THE SAME TIME AS THE KNOTWEED SURVEY ?! During this time L&C had not bother to progress the mortgage in any other way. So as soon as this had been completed instill needed to do the most basic parts of the mortgage application like proof of address and resubmit my bank statements because they had taken so long the lender would not accept the first TWO sets I had submitted. All the while I get to send messages on their portal, see that they are viewed but have no response.these guys clearly lie, mismanage your expectations just to keep you trapped in a mortgage purgatory until it's not worth going to a decent broker. I went through two full mortgage applications because of the time it took to do anything.its been a living hell. They clearly take on far more clients than they can actually look after. Their staff are under equipped to do anything but the most basic of tasks which involves mainly sending emails. I had a house that needed some actual brokering and they went to absolute pieces. They shouldn't be allowed to call themselves this as there is absolutely no advising going on. For the love of god, all buyers avoid.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional and indifferent ”

Written on: 10/09/2021 by abhattacha (1 review written)

They messed around my case for over 2 months, repeatedly changing their ask for different documents, never being clear as to what exactly the lender needed. The guy who first handled the case disappeared for weeks and then it was always a new person handling the case. Long and short of it is that after 2 months, they told me the lender is not taking my application further. In other words, my application was unsuccessful. One would have expected the broker to know the requirements and criteria of the lender, and not waste over two months of a client's time - totally hopeless and unprofessional. it appears that they never checked with the lender as to the progress of the application until after about 4-6 weeks of submitting it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“finding a new lender”

Written on: 28/07/2021 by 1960Drew (1 review written)

my credit rating is excellent but they could only find me a rate of 3.8 %..very vague with replying to emails or returning calls.demanded wage slips and bank statements numerous times then after nearly four months they tell me i was rejected because id used my £200 overdraft too often and the lender didnt like the way i ran my bank accounts?.funny that since ive never missed a mortgage payment in thirteen years and my credit rating is excellent.the feeble advise was if i didnt use my overdraft for three months then theyd look at it agaib?.i said is included on that another four months on top for you to get your act together.i said they dont make me feel like a swan on the water like in their adverts.more like a scuva diver.USELESS

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this company”

Written on: 18/03/2019 by Popebi170 (1 review written)

Started off ok with an advisor who then left the company without telling us. Our case was then passed to another advisor, this set us back quite a bit and had to have the same conversations again. This advisor then did not contact us for weeks, we rang up to find he had gone off for over a month and not told us. We were then passed to another advisor who was helpful and promised to send the application the next morning and said he would call us in the afternoon once done, have still not heard from him a week later despite calling 4 times for call backs and escalating to his supervisor. Absolutely left in limbo. Have now gone with another company hoping for a better experience hoping we have not missed our chance to buy the property. AVOID this company! Glad I didnt pay anything for this service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero communication. Non stop delaying.”

Written on: 06/03/2019 by Dylanc115 (1 review written)

Absolute shambles to deal with. They do not communicate. Mortgages or remortgages are stressful at the best of times this lot pile on a whole lot more. We need this need that etc please email. Hear nothing for weeks you contact and then they say oh we need it posted ! no mention of the fact they received by email as they asked and then changed their minds but don't bother telling you. Do not answer phones or emails. They sound young so im guessing they are unaware of time factors etc that come with mortgage offers and house purchases, definitely a case of piling the clients up and hoping a few will be sorted to make some decent money, not a client friendly company you sure as anything are not priority.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Advisor did not call me back on arranged day, time”

Written on: 10/04/2018 by Bowers304 (1 review written)

Wanted to remorgage, initially spoke to someone for about an hour. Asked about income, outgoings etc but a lot of time was spent looking into mortgage protection. That was not the reason I called them. Anyway a day and time was set for this person to call back and let me know what mortgage deals they had found. I waited and waited no call. The day after no call, so I have given up and sorted it out myself. I think it isn't very good customer service to arrange a phone call and not bother ringing. Even if they can't help you it's just courtesy to tell you. I would not try to use them again and would not recommend them. Just do your own research and apply direct to the lender.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible... More intersted in Selling Add ons ”

Written on: 18/12/2017 by plh007 (13 reviews written)

Poor service, failure to return calls, incorrect processing meaning that application was delayed, poor time frames, rude staff and me having to chase them at EVERY turn. I used them before and they were great but this time they are just beyond terrible. Def would NOT use again. I think they have gotten complacent and therefore don't seem to care about customers anymore. Seem more interested in selling me add ons than getting the mortgage right. I have had MORE calls from insurance and life cover teams than my account manager!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not good experience. Adviser was poor”

Written on: 24/08/2017 by ballycarbery (2 reviews written)

We used London & County a couple of years ago and they were very good. However we contacted them again recently and was disappointed with the response. They basically could do nothing for us, gave no real information on way forward. The guy who was our adviser was so uninspiring! In fact had an attitude of don't care. Overall useless. I contacted Skipton building society and got an excellent deal. Processing paper work now. So my advice is shop around and don't be led by recommendations for London and county. There are others out there.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Slow response times, Poor Communication”

Written on: 19/08/2017 by Beach1988 (1 review written)

Will not use in the future. Spent weeks speaking with a woman on the phone. Just when I needed her to speed things along she went AWOL. After 30 days of silence I get an email saying sorry she hadn't been in contact with me. By this time I had to go back to my existing lender and not take advantage of better deals that were available.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Glad I didn't pay them any money”

Written on: 22/05/2017

Wasted over 2 months trying to get a mortgage on a property with this company. Terrible customer service...they never ring back when they say they will or give you updates on how your case is progressing. They boast about their online tracking service but this tells you nothing other than your application has been submitted. Had 3 mortgages declined with these brokers which decimated my credit score that I had worked hard to build up - even though I had provided a copy of my credit report! This indicates to me that the advisor had no idea what he was doing. They got several details wrong on my first mortgage application...including the address of the property I was trying to buy. This took nearly a week to rectify. You are assigned an 'Advisor' and a Case Manager' for your mortgage application but I'm not sure what the point in this is as they both asked for copies of documentation which I had already sent in. When I pointed this out I was told that they 'needed it anyway'. After nearly 5 weeks of getting no updates from L & C on my 2nd application with a lender I went to the lender directly who told me that my application had been declined 2 days earlier and my brokers had already been told! When I rang L&C to ask why I had not been kept in the loop I could only get hold of the 'Case Manager'. She initially said they had still not heard anything back from the lender. When I said I had already spoken to the lender she was very quick to say she did not know what was going on with my case and I should speak to the advisor...who then proceeded to not pick up his phone for the next 6 times I tried ringing him. Ended up having to let the property go in the end as this process had taken so long with no mortgage offer the current owners were very impatient. My credit score had also taken a hit from being checked 3 times and I was concerned I would never get a decent rate. I lodged a complaint via the online feedback form they had the cheek to send me but over a month later I still have not heard anything back. Also they are not a 'whole of market broker' but they will not tell you this unless you ask directly. Different lenders pay them different amounts of commission and it is unsurprising that they go for lenders who pay more rather than finding products which are suited to the customer.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“You get what you pay for NOTHING!”

Written on: 07/04/2017 by GianaCole217 (1 review written)

It all sounds so good doesn't it, free independent mortgage advise. So I thought I would give it a try and made a huge mistake. Clearly they are too busy and when you eventually get to speak to someone just want to sell you add on's like conveyancing services. Save yourself time and hassle and go a pay for a decent broker that has your interests in mind. I would never recommended a fee free mortgage broker

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“You get what you pay for with mortgage advice”

Written on: 01/03/2017 by semintimus (4 reviews written)

Nothing in life is for free and that's definitely the case for mortgage advice. Firstly London and Country say they have got you a decision in principle when it's just a basic affordability check without credit profiling and scoring. You know they've tricked you when they don't give you a lender specific dip which to properly be one has to be from a lender likely to be used down the line. Do they advise you and provide sales progression down the line - no and who do you get to certify documentation for solicitors and lenders when not seeing an authorised person first to face. There is no substitute for face to face advice and good brokers will help with ID certification so you don't have to pay someone else to do it, advice on surveys and insurances. In short if you want to buy a mortgage debt on the cheap use them but it could cost you time and money in the long run If you want to buy a property and do everything you can to succeed in doing so, use a good face to face broker and pay them a fee of £450 to get the job done properly.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely useless!! ”

Written on: 01/02/2017

I wanted to buy a flat with my boyfriend and decided to contact L&C for mortgage advice. We both work full time and earn enough to afford to buy the flat and pay the mortgage and we also have a deposit. The only problem was that my boyfriend's Credit Score was Very Poor as there was a Default on it. We was told that we have to fix this Default which we did and then come back to them. I contacted L&C straight away after the Default was fixed, but I still haven't received any reply. It has been more than 3 months already since I contacted them. Very, very disappointed as I thought that this was a big and reputable company, but it turned out to be completely useless. I guess they are only dealing with easy cases, don't bother to contact them if your case is more complicated. We are buying the flat now with no mortgage advice after such an experience and everything is going well so far.

Pinx2007's Comment

Written on: 06/05/2017

My case sounds identical to yours. Would you mind be asking who you went through to get your mortgage? We are struggling, all over an £83 default :(

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Excellent in the past, now awful....”

Written on: 26/01/2017 by CYYau (1 review written)

Ive used L&C in the past for a remortgage and the process went really smoothly and I was really pleased with the service. This week I called twice and they hung up on me, the third time I managed to speak to someone, they then put me on hold on then hung up on me. The fourth time I called I spoke to someone who took some of my details and said they would call back the next day as they were about to close and no one called back. I called again the next day and managed to get through to a receptionist who i gave my details to again and she said she would get someone to call back and surprise surprise no one did... Very frustrating and a complete waste of time!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Save yourself the headache and don't touch L&C”

Written on: 29/10/2016

Words can't describe how awful L&C are - they've ruined the experience of the purchase of my first place. The only thing that would make the hell I've gone through a little worth it is if my experience saved someone else from using them. They quoted the wrong price and gave the solicitors the wrong information so that two months into the process, I had a increase of over 40% in legal fees. The guy who was responsible? Didn't even express an apology. What makes it worse is that I knew he was bad from the get go and I expressed my concern to L&C but they still kept him on my case. Fast forward two months later and he's cocked up remarkably without apologising once and I'm left to deal with the stress of the fallout including finding a new solicitor. The solicitor's they recommended? Criminal. So ridiculously criminal I can't help but laugh because they're so bad it has to be a joke. The solicitor's are Premier Property Lawyers by the way - AVOID AT ALL COSTS. And when I outlined very clearly to L&C everywhere that the solicitor had gone wrong , the very same solicitor that they themselves had recommend, they told me to take it up with the solicitor's not them. That's exactly the kind of support, accountability and responsibility you can expect from L&C. Oh and don't forget that however bad they or the solicitor's are, L&C are still going to get a cut of the legal fees you pay. Same for whichever mortgage lender they recommend. So if they stand behind the 'we're free!' banner to excuse their shoddy work, rest assured, they're getting paid. And what of quality? They incorrectly completed the HTB forms with the wrong address so that the simplelest valuation of the property didn't complete until two months after I'd put in the offer. Trust me - find a friend, family member or colleague who has bought a property and do it yourself. If you have to use a broker, don't use L&C. Find another who can search the market but take it from there yourself. As for solicitor's - it's unfortunate that they're compulsory. I actually had to download the contracts and all documents related to the purchase from my seller's solicitor's myself because my painful, completely useless solicitors couldn't get the files. And they were prepared to charge me £150+VAT if the seller's solicitor's had had to post them. I won't even get into the number of documents I had to chase and collect myself that both the solicitor's and L&C should have gotten. If I requested L&C get the document, my email would go unanswered for hours. If I managed to chase and get ahold of the document myself and email L&C to tell them to to worry about getting it, I would receive a reply immediately acknowledging that email. So I'll close off by reiterating what I said at the beginning - L&C have ruined the purchase of my property, but although I may have gotten the short end of the deal, it'll be worth it if my review here helps anyone else avoid falling into the trap I did. Happy purchasing x

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Did not deliver”

Written on: 01/10/2016

Submitted application online and over the telephone. Was told credit check need to be done. Didn't hear anything for 4 days then got a call saying I couldn't have the mortgage the had recommended. Suggested I completed another application and try for a different mortgage, Said no thank you. Especially since all my information was given. A waste of my hime!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading! ”

Written on: 28/06/2016 by KellenBain76 (1 review written)

We found a house we liked a few months ago and the estate agent recommended we get qualified by L&C their affiliated broker so we could put an offer in etc. They took full details of all our income/debt etc, told me over the phone they would have no problem securing us the amount we needed and sent us a formal document saying application in principle. The service was fantastic at this point, quick response and could not do enough for us! We had the offer accepted on the house and as L&C had been so good until that point we decided to proceed with them. BIG MISTAKE!! Turns out their 'application in principle' is not worth the paper its written on. My husband had two late credit card payments two years ago which I had told them about when I submitted all our information. All of a sudden we were transferred to their bad credit department where we told the amount we could borrow had now plummeted. We had to pull out of the sale on the house we wanted. Having been told we could get a mortgage but just a much lower amount, rather than give up hope we started to look at ways to make that work for us. Thats when all contact stopped, they stopped responding to emails, didn't answer the phone and basically lost complete interest. We went elsewhere and found another fantastic broker who could help us and got much closer to what we wanted to borrow and with a much lower rate!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!! Avoid!! Avoid!!!”

Written on: 08/06/2016 by h20nnnn (1 review written)

Contacted them to do my help to buy mortgage on a new build property, (purchasing with my son)made them aware I need to exchange with 28 days and they reassured me this will be no problem. From application to mortgage offer took 10 weeks!!!! What happened your asking? Well the initial application went well and they did the credit checks came back fine and then the full application was submitted. That went well too. However it went down hill from there. The case handler was very pleasant and well mannered but not sure if he knew what he was doing. I was asked to provide documents which I did, then I was asked for more and more and more, even documents that didn't apply to me. Example: I only have 1 year of trading accounts and the asked me for 3 years and they asked what qualification is required for my son to be a Maths tutor (which he does as a 2nd job) even though he works as a Maths Teacher. Then they ask for P60's for previous jobs going back 3 years but he has only been working for 2 years and was in full time education prior to that. I had to do a run down of my son's work history in the end. Prior to all this when we was going through the application the advisor just assumed my son was my partner, didn't asked just said your partner. So soon as the process started to take too long the advisor didn't call again even though I wanted to buy the protection policies from him. Now that the mortgage offer came through I have not heard from anyone. I made a complaint and got a reply which just blamed the lender, but its the brokers job to make it plain sailing. DO NOT USE THEM!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very Good”

Written on: 25/02/2016 by danman111 (1 review written)

I intially rang them flustered about a urgent mortgage requirement and was told it was not possible, frustrated I hung up then rung back later to be offered one of the few lenders on the market offering what I needed, they saved my bacon

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent, invaluable service”

Written on: 28/01/2016 by OasisM2059905 (1 review written)

The service I received was super excellent, the staff were honest from the beginning, they kept me well informed. I am a naturally anxious human being and they were able to reassure me and respond to my queries and requests in timely manner. They also seemed to have a good relationship with the lender as they were able to push things through and send queries which were responded to promptly navigating blockers/ barriers to progress. It took roughly 2weeks business days to get the mortgage offer, that excluding my delay to send supporting documents required by the lender. The staff I dealt with made me feel like I was their own customer and I liked the fact that I could see the staffs faces on my case tracking, it made me feel like I had actually met them. Guys, I especially like the photos with you smiling whilst working, it made me feel less guilty when pestering you for updates as those photos indicated that you were enjoying your work which you are fantastic at. I can't believe it was free to me :-)

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Saprava on 17th March 2016 Report this content
I am really confused to use them or not. They get paid by the lender. Hence, it is helpful especially when brokers who charge fee and misguide. However looking at 91 highly negative reviews, I am really confused, please help?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content MorganDaly Written on: 18/03/2016
1. They are free to use. If you don't enjoy using them, you can just stop and use someone else. There's no financial risk. 2. They are consistently ranked as best broker. 3. Moneysavingexpert site recommends them. 4. They are free (worth saying again!)
Asked by GrahameWood on 21st January 2014 Report this content
How does the company make its money? Why do well-known mortgage providers (eg HSBC, Yorkshire Bldg Soc) not feature in your website's best buy list?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview