Dulux Once Emulsion Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Dulux Once Emulsion
★☆☆☆☆
1.3
6.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Dulux Once Emulsion - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Dulux Once Emulsion

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Best Quality And Genuine Products”

★★★★★

written by maansia991 on 02/03/2023

This product is really genuine and original. This is very useful. it enhances the overall look of the house.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst paint ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Katherine104 on 30/10/2022

I have never used this paint before, and I never will again. It’s beyond awful. It has ruined my walls which are now a patchy , shoddy looking mess. Coverage is RUBBISH. On the 2nd coat & after 5 hours, I could cry. Applying for a refund. And it was £32!! AVOID!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Low Quality”

★★☆☆☆

written by AnjaMartin on 01/11/2021

Emulsion paint looks great, but according to quality, it is very low. It vanishes off quickly, just keeping a hand on it, spoils the wall.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do not buy ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 307Terry on 21/09/2021

I bought this Dulux once matt emulsion, got professional decorators in to do my full house, paint went on walls fine. But trying to get marks off walls has become a nightmare, when wiped lightly with a damp cloth all the paint comes off the walls, when we tried to touch it up we ended up having to go over the full wall again with the paint, Would not recommend this paint to anyone, even the professionals I had to do the whole house said it was awful, Dulux need to sort this out, I have never had a problem wiping marks from walls with any other matt emulsion. Would never buy this emulsion again, and can I also add it wasn't cheap to buy, stay away from this emulsion, paint shops own brands are far superior to this stuff

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't buy this”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KassidyWalton220 on 23/04/2019

This was absolute waste of money - paid £25 for one tin of Raspberry Diva and had to go and buy another tin as did not cover a very pale yellow in one coat. Should have purchased 5 litres of another make for less money !!! Only good thing is I love the colour !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful! Awful! Awful!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Martin7788 on 28/02/2018

Omg I wish I'd read the reviews before I bought this paint! Two coats later and my walls look awful, roller marks all over. The finish looks more like suede. Please don't buy this paint it's a total waste of money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Afemale's Response to Martin7788's Review

Written on: 17/03/2018

wish i'd have read these reviews before choosing the colour caramel latte in this " once " love the colour (and since discovered its also available in the easycare range which is amazing and washable) My decorator almost lost the will to live trying to go over roller marks on my stairs and landing, this paint should be taken off the market

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Should be called “Twice or Three Times””

★★☆☆☆

written by DrewMyers53 on 04/02/2018

I’m using Dulux Once Matt for walls and ceilings. The colour is lovely but it’s definitely NOT “once”! I’ve had to buy more paint and faff about far more than if I just used normal paint! Definitely it worth the time/money!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dulux Once Emulsion Intense Truffle”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Baker124 on 18/11/2017

Save yourself the emotional torture and lost hours and DON'T BUY THIS PAINT!!! It certainly DOES NOT need just one coat. We tried to touch up the parts of the walls that it hadn't covered and they dried a different shade which looked TERRIBLE! The can states clearly that you can touch up any missed bits and the colour will match. It didn't. Resigned to doing the walls again, we bought yet another can and redid all the walls. The colour in this tin was a slightly different shade and again the finish was diabolical. So, on to the third can. Never one to be beaten... AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has been an absolute NIGHTMARE using this paint. The walls look as if a two year old has been let loose with a roller. DON'T BUY THIS PAINT EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Removed With damp cloth 3 weeks after paint dried !!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ladywestsussex on 21/09/2017

I am returning 2 pots to Homebase today as i went to wash a mark off a wall painted with Dulux Once about 3 weeks ago and all the paint came off ! thankfully i had not painted the whole area with it yet .Wish me luck with returning it to store !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Waste of time and money ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LaneBlack on 17/08/2017

I have always used dulux products, but after using dulux once matt emulsion (urban obsession)i don't think I will be using it again. I bought this product so that,like it says on the tin saves time, but it took twice as long as it would have done using ordinary emulsion Very poor coverage had to apply 2 coats very disappointed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Waste of time, effort and money.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by hfOrr204 on 15/07/2017

We always use Dulux products and decided that the Once emulsion was a good choice. How wrong were we! The walls have now had two coats of Jurassic Stone emulsion and the finish is the worst I have ever seen. It seems we have wasted our time, effort and £40 on 2 tins. I can't talk about any key elements I liked about it because there are non apart from the tins are now resigned to the dustbin. Once is once too many Dulux!Never again.What a pity we didn't read the reviews fist.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“terrible beyond words”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 224Hurst on 15/05/2017

Hired professional painters and decorators and I feel incredibly apologetic after they were forced by us to re-paint the walls three times. Not their fault at all. Painted it myself for a forth time and results just as terrible!! Everybody on this review site is right. You can see roller marks... streaks, patches, uneven spread - it is without doubt not fit for purpose and a liability. I will be writing to Dulux for compensation and I am quite happy to join forces with anyone else who has had the misfortune to spend a fortune on this total utter rubbish. They should be taken to task under the trade description act and fined heavily. I really hope that happens. PLEASE read these reviews before you purchase. Unlike most of us here who unfortunately didn't. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Not once ,not twice, not again.”

★★☆☆☆

written by 491Howell on 09/12/2016

After one coat wall patchy,looked like watermarks,after 2 days repainted wall,patchy on other places,won't use DuluxOnce again.Staircase painted with Dulux Endurance no problems.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As solute rubbish ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 11/11/2016

Worst emulsion ever used the lifts paint up off wall leaving it all patchy will now have to sand wall down think deluxe should be paying compensation for wasted time and energy totally unusable

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A mess”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 149Kearns on 28/10/2016

In natural light, one can see wherever the roller went. It is streaky and patchy. Do not try take a scuff mark off it either..it takes all the paint with it. Now I have the task of doing it again and hope the new job covers the mess.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disappointed”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cazthom on 06/10/2016

I recently re-did my hall, stairs and landing, was previously painted in Roasted Pepper and I wanted to use Mellow Mocha, had expected to have to do 2 coats but no was very surprised to find it covered in the one coat, bearing in mind a strong red to a creamy colour. I was very pleased UNTIL I went to clean a mark with a damp cloth - the paint washes off!! So I had to go out and buy endurance paint and do the second coat in that. I think it is about time Dulux put warnings on the paint. I am a mid 50 year old woman and the hall, stairs and landing were hard enough. After reading the reviews it is a common problem and one that Dulux should be making us consumers aware of. So initially was over the moon with the colour and coverage quickly turned to disappointed and angry.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Be careful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BrennenPenn347 on 26/09/2016

Please avoid if you are using the emulsion to decorate in a period property on the ground floor with any kind of damp through the walls. Use the normal deluxe emulsion with suitable stain blocker ((e.g. BIN).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rubbish, waste of money and time! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 11/09/2016

Used dulux once timeless and fresh stem. We've experienced the same problem as most of the people here. Roller patches, wet stains after two weeks and paint is rubbing off when we tried to clean. Gave one star because we like the colour, shame about the paint itself!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dulux Once - Never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/04/2016

Bought 4 tins of this stuff now, and its diabolical. Every wall painted has got marks and is a patchy mess We have tried it with paint pads, and an expensive roller. This paint should be taken off the market, it is not for use by anyone who wants a nice painted wall. The product is the worst I have ever come across, save your money and buy a normal paint as the time, stress and cost of using this once paint is not worth the trouble. I wish I could give it 0 stars, even that would be too many.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Justjes's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2017

It should be taken off the market. Awful.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Dulux Once - Never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/04/2016

Bought 4 tins of this stuff now, and its diabolical. Every wall painted has got marks and is a patchy mess We have tried it with paint pads, and an expensive roller. This paint should be taken off the market, it is not for use by anyone who wants a nice painted wall. The product is the worst I have ever come across, save your money and buy a normal paint as the time, stress and cost of using this once paint is not worth the trouble. I wish I could give it 0 stars, even that would be too many.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by welwyn13 on 16th June 2014 Report this content
I painted the walls with it, once it did cover the walls but it also rubs off even when dry onto your hands or cloths if you brush up against the wall. I am desperate for a solution. What can I do? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview