GUR Sewing Machines Ltd www.gur.co.uk

★★★★★
4.8
95.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GUR Sewing Machines Ltd www.gur.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Faulty machine, appalling service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Harryt442 on 27/04/2023

Appalling service. Sold me an electronic sewing machine that only sews backwards and none of the additional stitches work. Sent with no manual. Requested pictures and videos which I sent. Even asked me to post them my own sewing thread. Eventually admitted that the machine was faulty and arranged a collection. Promised to send out a packing box but didn't. I packaged the machine in a box with polystyrene and bubble wrap and the company claim that it was broken in transit and charged me for the damage. IF there was damage this was caused by their failure to send a proper packing box. Took two weeks to issue a partial refund, tried to charge me for the non-existent manual, charged me for damage and charged me £45 for packing - which is contrary to the Sale of Goods Act. Avoid this company like the plague. I'm taking them to the small claims court for the outstanding refund.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Outstanding Customer Service”

★★★★★

written by on 16/08/2018

I purchased a Brother Overlocker from GUR which was delivered promptly. Unfortunately, there was a problem with changing a needle and I was unable to fit new needle as the grub screw had come out and would not go back into place. The team tried to resolve this by email and over the phone but without success. They arranged for it to be collected by courier for the tech team to look at it. When I rang to ask about progress, they told me that it had been sent back to Brother and they were sending a replacement machine out for next day delivery. This arrived but the plastic piece that covers the needle threading guide had fallen off in transit. I tried to put it back but couldn't. I rang them again and Palma talked me through the process and even sent me a Whats Ap video. I still managed to break the part despite his clear instructions! He immediately said that he would post out a replacement part which arrived within 48 hours. This company offers excellent service and I would highly recommend them, particularly Palma. Sorry I did not get the names of the other guys I spoke to but they were all extremely pleasant and helpful. 10 out of 10!!!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“The Best in the Sewing Trade”

★★★★★

written by IsaiHunt173 on 14/06/2017

Love the people, no matter what problems or advice you need the guys are out to help you. Have been a customer of GUR Sewing Machines for 30 years and cannot fault them. Had a problem with my machine a few weeks ago, phoned GUR Sewing, they tried to sort problem out over the phone and was unable to therefore they arranged collection at no cost to me and have had my machine back repaired/ serviced. Checked my machine and its beautiful again......because the machine was under warranty i have paid nothing to get it sorted. Service has been excellent as i have experienced before in the past. Will keep using GUR Sewing till the end. Thank You GUR for all the help

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Excellent service”

★★★★★

written by TheSewingLady on 10/03/2017

I have ordered from GUR Sewing Machines many times before. The service I receive each time is second to none. From giving a 15% discount for life, to keeping me updated with the expected delivery date for items ordered is excellent. Would highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“GUR SEWING MACHINES THE SUPERSTARS”

★★★★★

written by ykWagner183 on 20/05/2016

I treated myself to the Jaguar DQS 405 sewing machine and its been an absolute dream to use for my patchwork classes and around the home. I had a Frister Rossmann machine which was bought for me as gift last year and had nothing but hassle, the machine kept on breaking down me and had it replied 4 times under warranty, it was useless. I would recommend GUR Sewing Machines as they took my machine in part exchange and gave me £100 trade in ( I was lucky as it was a scrap machine in my opinion).......GUR help me with lessons on my new Jaguar sewing machine and loads of advice, I will not be shopping anywhere else Thank You GUR Sewing

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“First class service and product - highly recommend”

★★★★★

written by Petersilver on 07/12/2013

Not only was this sewing machine a good price but also came with FREE next day delivery and additional useful accessories. The order was dealt with very promptly and I was kept fully informed about delivery status, it arrived the next morning as promised. The sewing machine Janome MC5900 will be perfect as my 'take to sewing group' machine. This will be my 5th upgrade from GUR and have been dealing with them for 25 Year, no complaints Yet.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic company, very helpful, good prices”

★★★★★

written by on 05/12/2013

Strongly recommend this company very helpful on the phone and after taking advice ordered my new machine. Received the machine at 8 the next morning. Comparing with other websites,machine was well priced and the free sewing kit is a bonus,

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Brilliant Service from a friendly team.”

★★★★★

written by PNUT18 on 18/10/2013

I was over the moon with service i recieved on purchasing my new sewing machine, i originally ordered a different model, but had message to say it was no longer available and would i like to choose a different one , The staff were very helpful and i decided on the the Janome 2200xt . All i can say that it is superb , so easy to set up and sews lovely, i had the gold package deal with it, which is 5 years parts , labour and also received beautiful cottons, pins, scissors needles , tape measure bobbins, just wonderful. So glad i found you on google and have recommended you to family colleagues. Now thats how a company should be run . regards

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“brother sewing machine”

★★★★★

written by on 19/06/2013

chuffed to bits with my new Brother sewing machine, it is years since I last used a sewing machine so did not want one which was to complicated.It is of very good quality, I purchased the carry bag at the same time, so very good value. The delivery service was spot on, the machine was delivered during the quoted time slot. All round very happy.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“pfaff experts”

★★★★★

written by on 18/06/2013

I bought a Pfaff ambition 1. Brilliant machine and excellent service. A free lesson was very infomative. All the staff are friendly, professional and well trained. Items ordered on line are delivered quickly.An excellent one stop sewing shop.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“service is excellent”

★★★★★

written by on 13/06/2013

Ordered this in May but it was out of stock. I was told mid June at the earliest. Yesterday I was phoned to say it would be delivered today and I would be given an hour slot for delivery. It arrived in that time. I am delighted with the machine and. your service is excellent. I cannot fault you and it is a pleasure to have dealings with a company with such considerate communications.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Experience ”

★★★★★

written by on 02/06/2013

I found my experience with GUR most helpful, the advert was true in its information on the stich master quilters delight. The delivery was the best service I have ever received by your company. I have been using the machine and I can not fault it in any way, in fact I have informed all my sewing friends about it. They were keen to know the details of your Webb site for future purchase.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fast, Friendly, No Quibble Service - You can't ask for...”

★★★★★

written by on 02/06/2013

I bought a couple of sewing machines from GUR - a Janome Coverlock machine, and a Budget ex-Demo Pfaff Hobbylock 2.0. As it happens, GUR had run our of their ex-demo machines, so they sent me a brand new one without hesitation!I ordered a number of attachments at the same time and I was really impressed that every single item was in stock ( not one item had to remain on back order ) and everything was delivered safe and sound in very short order!The Janome worked brilliantly straight from the box as you would expect from such a highly respected company. I could not be happier with this purchase!Unfortunately, I had a number of problems with the Pfaff that appeared to stem from unusual issues with the tension devices on the machine. I ran a number of tests with the machine, cleaned out the tension controls, but it still exhibited significant problems. This is a great shame, as the machine is quite pretty and, when it works properly, produces nice pretty stitches - for an overlocker. The sales manager from GUR rang me personally and we talked through the specific problems I had in great detail. As a result of that conversation, he agreed to swap the problem machine out, and I upgraded instead to a Janome 6234XL, paying only the difference in price.Within days, the new machine was with me and worked brilliantly - even on the factory supplied threads with which the machine was supplied. The result is ... one very happy and satisfied customer.On the evidence of this experience, I would say that GUR take customer service and satisfaction very seriously indeed. I will be going back to them fairly soon for my next purchase - a Janome 6600P!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“sewing machine heaven”

★★★★★

written by valerie007 on 22/05/2013

I bought my first machine on-line from GUR in December, a great little sewing machine for beginners but I found I had very quickly out-grown it. However I decided to contact GUR and ask if they would be prepared to part ex this on another model. I had a short list of 4 machines and rather than buy on-line, I decided that I really wanted to 'test-drive' to make sure that this time I bought the 'dream machine'. We traveled from East Yorkshire to Birmingham were GUR are based. I have to say that Palma and his team made us very welcome and the machine's that I had short-listed where waiting to be test driven! Wow! It was as good as being a child in a toy shop and there was a lot of 'toys' in that showroom! I eventually decided on a Pfaff Ambition 1.5 and the machine is fantastic. But what I liked most of all was that I was treated with good old fashioned customer service not often seen these days. Palma was knowledgeable, helpful and very patient. I have no doubt about recommending GUR Sewing to anyone they are a fantastic team of people to do business with.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great Service and Machine”

★★★★★

written by iknowsewing on 23/04/2012

I brought a Pfaff Expression 4.0 Sewing Machine so far I’ve had it a week, I can say its A1, a lot better than I thought it would be, I had looked a many on the net, and GUR came out with the great price, the service was EXCELLENT when I had 1st made a phone call to GUR, the man was very helpful on the phone, and after placing my order, I received it in less than 24 hrs. It’s what I call EXCELLENT SERVICE. And when I had a problem they sorted the problem out over the phone.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very impressed with GUR. Ordered online and sewing...”

★★★★★

written by on 04/10/2010

Very impressed with GUR. Ordered online and sewing machine delivered next day - a number of emails to keep me updated on where the order was up to, including an email on the morning of delivery telling me in what hour of the day the delivery would happen - and it did arrive in that hour. Not come across this with any other online retailer! Price seemed average for online retailers - I could not find it cheaper elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I am continuously shopping online and received one of...”

★★★★★

written by on 02/09/2010

I am continuously shopping online and received one of the best possible services from GUR. I called up the helpline and spoke to a most delightful man called Billy. He talked me through a range of machines and found me the perfect machine which sew's a dream. Once ordered the machine came the very next day before 12 noon along with a free gift. Cannot fault the service I have received in the slightest, if only all online purchase were as perfect as this.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After an initial look at the GUR website, I called and...”

★★★★★

written by LeeAnnS on 28/06/2010

After an initial look at the GUR website, I called and spoke to a very helpful and well-informed member of staff with a few questions I had about a sewing machine that I had seen. I ordered my sewing machine later that afternoon and received it the following day. I cannot fault their customer service, nor the speed and efficiency in which they delivered my order.

I would whole-heartedly recommend using GUR.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I can't fault GUR Sewing Machines for good service. ...”

★★★★★

written by Marian Brown on 30/09/2006

I can't fault GUR Sewing Machines for good service. Phone calls were answered virtually by the third ring. As I ordered my goods over the phone I cannot comment about online ordering, but the service I received was extremely good, and I thought I got value for my hard earned cash. By the way, I am extremely pleased with my new Janome sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview