The Stag Inn, Falkland Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Stag Inn, Falkland - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Poor service.”

Written on: 08/09/2021 by Hawkinsfe337 (1 review written)

Over an hour to get a sandwich, garlic read and chicken dish. Good ok. Won't be back. Wouldn't recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Breakfast 20/08/21”

Written on: 20/08/2021 by Andrewbub15 (1 review written)

Really disappointing, after waiting for nearly an hour the food was just awful, cold fried egg, burnt to oblivion tatie scone, mushroom running with grease, burnt bacon, the cheapest of cheap sausages tasted terrible, I will never be back

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Slowest service ever”

Written on: 23/07/2021 by Daytriippers (1 review written)

Half things on menu not available, we ordered finally only to be told 4 things we ordered not available. Ordered simple sandwiches which when came out were basic but fine. They weren’t busy as was after lunch but from start to finish took over an hour to get served a plate of sandwiches. Shame as a really nice spot but seriously need to up their game.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Portions very small”

Written on: 06/07/2021 by Swann5 (1 review written)

Took friends visiting from North Wales for food this afternoon, always been very good there , not today , they had the lamb , the lamb was no bigger than a beer mat as was the mash. Veg was peppers, not enough for an 8 year old , will not be back , very poor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible service diabolical food”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by cavescot (1 review written)

red onion tart boil some onions make a rubbish base and fill it full of boiled onions chuck a couple of tatties on a plate changed tables oh that was a mistake got told of should have walked out then very very poor

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Great food & drink at good prices”

Written on: 05/02/2013

Went for a meal with my family, we all had the fish and chips- every single plate was brilliant! Good value for money on food and drink, malt selection was good as well. Staff very friendly, quite a homely pub!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fantastic”

Written on: 29/08/2012

would like to say from the starters to desserts our meals were great.serve was good and the staff made as more than welcome.credit to both chefs on saturday night 25/8/12 fantastic all round. would recommend to go back. Was there last year not too good but since change over what a difference. Well Done to you all

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent food and service”

Written on: 22/07/2012 by krazylady (1 review written)

Visited the Stag Inn on a very busy Friday evening(Big Tent Festival).All tables in sight were reserved but extra tables and chairs were quickly set up. We ordered and were promptly served a range of different meals to our group of 6. They were all delicious and totally faultless as were the deserts. Service was impeccable and the young waiter was extremely friendly to all members of the group (adults and children)! He is a credit to the inn. We would definately visit again if we were in the area

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“sunday afternoon food”

Written on: 06/05/2012 by olivermarshall (1 review written)

called in to the stagg inn sunday afternoon 4-30pm sunday 6th may2011 very cosy , we thought and very good service. we had [the partner & i] nice starters. i had pea&ham soup with nice fresh crusty bread.and for main couse i had, cajun chicken with home cooked real tattie chips.lovely. my partner had the fresh beer battered haddock. fisrt time ive had cajun chicken,have got to say it was very nice.different from the usual,may i say. we both enjoyed our meal. many thanks to the stagg inn staff........ ollie marshall rosyth.fife

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Definately worth a visit if your in the area! ;-)”

Written on: 20/02/2012 by OwenMcIntyre (1 review written)

Astonished at the other reviews on this site!! I'm not even sure if they refer to the same 'Stag Inn' my family visited as the service, quality of food and value for money were outstanding. Maybe other visitors were commenting on the previous management at this pub?? (or were left by jealous competitors! which would explain the 'anoymous'/ 'Guest'!!). We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in by the friendly staff. All the food was excellent and they adapted to our requests for our somewhat fussy 6 year old and even reduced the price for him! It was obvious that all the food was freshly cooked and maybe this explains the 'slow' comments elsewhere by the MacDonalds/KFC fans!! Personally I would prefer to wait a few mins more for the food to be freshly cooked to such a high standard. I will definately be returning to this family friendly pub. I would commend the chef, waiting staff and owner for providing us with such a memorable visit. I particularly liked the log fire and small pub atmosphere and friendly locals and their 'blether' ;-) The place was busy too - always a good sign. There was a choice of a quieter corner to eat too, so should suit the romantic couples as well! I would say its a 1st choice if visiting Falkland palace or walking the local Lomond hills or woodland walks as we did, although 'mountains' might be a better description! lol

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“First Time Back in a Long Time but Definitely Last...”

Written on: 20/11/2011

Went back there with a crowd of 5 of us for some food. The interior had been done up since the last time I was there and it's nicer than it was. Unfortunately, even though there were only 2 other couples in, it took forever for our food to be brought out to us. It turned out the food we had was overcooked and tasteless. The staff that served us seemed bored and very un-motivated. I was later told that the staff turnover is extremely high as they're not treated very well and their wages are sometimes not paid etc. which isn't a nice thing to hear about young people trying to earn an honest pay. Needless to say we did not leave a tip of any kind and we will not be returning. As others have said, a very dissapointing end to a great visit to Falkland.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We went to this pub last week for the first time in...”

Written on: 19/03/2011

We went to this pub last week for the first time in ages and the food was very good. The pub has been taken over by new people and it has a good atmosphere and was very child freindly when I took my kids in for lunch. Will definitly be going again, maybe for the music on Sat night without the kids. Well worth popping into this pub.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not a good service, staff extremely unmotivated. Later...”

Written on: 05/01/2011

Not a good service, staff extremely unmotivated. Later found out they have not been paying their staff due to financial difficulties. Maybe if they paid their staff they would provide a better service! The town is nice to visit and there are plenty places to eat other than here. Avoid it if you can!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME I'VE VISITED THIS INN BUT...”

Written on: 16/08/2010 by SPINKY (1 review written)

THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME I'VE VISITED THIS INN BUT IT WILL BE MY LAST. FIRST OF ALL WE WERE GIVEN THE WRONG FOOD AFTER A LONG WAIT DESPITE THE PLACE BEING FAIRLY QUIET. WHEN THE CORRECT FOOD WAS EVENTUALLY SERVED ONE SALMON STEAK WHICH WAS ACTUALLY A FILLET WAS COMPLETELY RAW. IT WAS RETURNED AND NOT PAID FOR. THE CHICKEN DISH WITH SALAD WAS NICE BUT THE OTHER SALMON WHICH WAS SERVED AS PER MENU, WITH "SEASONAL VEGETABLES" CONSISTED A SMALL PEICE OF SALMON WITH EIGHT CHIPS AND THE SEASONAL VEG TURNED OUT TO BE A SPOON FULL OF FROZEN CARROT WITH SEVERAL WHITE PEICES OF VEG WICH I DID NOT EAT. I PAID FOR BOTH MEALS BUT EXPLAINED THE SALMON WAS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. NEVER AGAIN!!!!
LASTLY THE BAR BECAME EXTREMELY NOISY WHICH FOR A PUB IS NOT UNUSUAL, BUT NOBODY ASKED THE PERSON CONCERNED TO QUIET DOWN OR COOL IT A WEE BIT SO WE LEFT. AFTER A PERFECT DAY VISITING FALKLAND AND CLIMBING THE HILLS IT WAS A DISAPPOINTING END.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The staff and management at The Stag Inn in Falkland...”

Written on: 17/12/2007 by johnnyandalan (1 review written)

The staff and management at The Stag Inn in Falkland are excellent. One particular guy is mister entertainment and makes you feel your business is important to them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview