Isle of Wight Blackgang Chine Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Isle of Wight Blackgang Chine
★★★☆☆
3.1
57.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Isle of Wight Blackgang Chine - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Isle of Wight Blackgang Chine

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Adult ticket price over 4! Visitors beware!”

★★★☆☆

written by DisappointedIslander on 30/07/2015

£106 for four children aged 5, 7, and 14. All adult prices, this is the only attraction I have ever been to where a 5 year old is an adult. This is unacceptable, I am an Island resident, but will never recommend this venue to anyone again until an adult ticket is at least 16 and over, shame on your greed. Word of mouth is everything on our little island!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fine for unders 7's”

★☆☆☆☆

written by daz121rie on 15/07/2015

We visited on Saturday. We entered the site at 11:20 and left at 12:40! That was including a 30 min stop in the overpriced cafe! our children are 9 and 14! There was only two rides suitable for them. it really is a place for young children up to around 7 years old maximum. Complete waste of £60. We did email Blackgang. our response from the front of house manager is bellow! *********** Response from the so called front of house manager ********************* I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us, as the feedback we receive from our customers is generally very positive. Most visitors spend at least 3 or 4 hours in the Park and many come back for another visit later in the week. Obviously it wasn’t the sort of experience that suited your family although we do try to offer something for everyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disappointing ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Mumof3sussex on 31/03/2015

We took a group of seven here at the beginning of their season 29/3/2015 age ranging from 6 -17 admittedly it was a very windy day but we arrived at 2pm and according to the website it should have been open until 6pm but after having paid £107 to get in we were told they would be shutting at 5 and when we asked if all the rides were running only the. Were we told none of them were because if the wind, but we asked if the ticket price could be adjusted accordingly but were told no so tried to make the most of it but found it to be very underwhelming all the way round, all cafés/drink bars/snack places closed, gift shop extortionate prices all in all wish we had gone somewhere else!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My hopes had been raised by the glossy brochure which...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 03/09/2009

My hopes had been raised by the glossy brochure which described Blackgang Chine theme park as a brilliant day out for the whole family.If the 'whole family' had been under the age of five that might statement have some grain of truth in it, Three of the four rides were not in use due to 'adverse' weather conditions, which left only the water slide by way of a 'thrill' ride, Dinosaur World, Cowboy Town and Pets Corner comprised totally unrealistic models and proved to be truly underwhelming. However the real 'highlight' of the whole experience was Chimney Pot Walk which comprised 25 old chimney pots with no apparent reason for being there. After two hours we had all lost the will to live and the real highlight of the day was catching the bus home!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“blackgang chine has great views and overall it is a...”

★★★★★

written by on 17/06/2009

blackgang chine has great views and overall it is a great place to visit as a family or group of friends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A visit to the Isle of Wight would not be complete...”

★★★★★

written by Helen of Troy on 28/07/2007

A visit to the Isle of Wight would not be complete without a trip to Blackgang Chine!
The Chine is in a beautiful setting, on the Southern side of the Island near Chale. You can look out and see The Needles clearly from the entrance Cafe area, the views are breathtaking. Over the years some of the land has slipped away. As you walk around Blackgang Chine you will notice evidence of this where fences close of bygone paths, which once ran down the side of the Cliff. We visited Blackgang Chine back in 1994 when Frontierland was quite a way down. Since that, a land slide took it even further down and left the area unsafe. The owners rescued as many of the models as they could and brought them back up, situating them in another area. So on this trip the layout was slightly different! There is lots to see and do around Blackgang Chine, it is especially suitable for families with younger children, although people of all ages will enjoy themselves here. Kids will be wondering what is around the next corner! The models are very good, some of them the children (or adults!) can sit on them for photo's, there are lots of excellent photo spots here! So don't forget your camera with lots of film or memory!

The admission charges this year are:

Age under 4 - Free
Age 4-59 - £8.95
4 Person saver ticket - £33
Senior citizens - £6.50
Disabled Concession - £5.50
Plus there are special group rates for 15 or more persons.

Your ticket will enable you to have another visit within the next 7 days free of any further charges. You will probably make use of that as there is so much to see.

For the younger ones there is: Nurseryland: Favourite Nursery rhyme characters.

Dinosaurland: Life sized replicas amongst the bushes and trees.

Junglewalk: Life sized replicas of jungle creatures in a Jungle type setting.

Fantasyland: The Weather Wizard, the angry Dragon and much more.

Crooked House: You can walk through on the crooked floors and see the crooked rooms!

Triassic Club: Who's for supper?!

Jonah's Whale: Walk through and dodge the squirts of water.

Toddler's Play Area.

Smuggler's Ship: Climb aboard!

Music Factory: Make your own sounds.

Sleeping Beauty Castle.

Pet Shop. Very funny!

Pirate barrel ride.



For the older ones:

Cliff Hanger: Roller Coaster ride.

Waterforce: High speed family boat ride.

Giant Hedge maze

Water gardens

Pirate Fort: Adventure play area.

Snakes and Ladders: Giant version, not open when raining

Rumpus Mansion: Goblins and dragons in this haunted looking place! (May scare little ones).

Smugglers Cave: Story of a Shipwreck

Frontierland: Full sized Cowboy and Indian town. The Wild Wild West that you can be part of!

Myths And Legend: Film Show.

Funny Mirrors: Located at the entrance/exit. Great laugh!


There is also 2 award winning exhibitions to see:

St Catherine's Quay, the dramatic story of Blackgang Chine's disappearing coastline and Blackgang Sawmill. A museum type set up of displays featuring Sawyers, Coopers and the like.

So make good use of your entrance ticket and make the second visit, you may not manage to see everything in one visit. If you want to take a packed lunch, there are places you can picnic, otherwise the Cafe offer cooked food as well as snacks and drinks. There are a few places you can stop at for coffee and drinks, and not forgetting Ice-Cream! The bins will speak to the children if they put your rubbish in them. Therefore the entire site is litter free! We saw a few people with dogs so obviously they allow dogs in, providing the owners tidy up after any 'accidents'!

If you ever go to the Isle of Wight - Don't miss this attraction. Well worth a visit, or two!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Blackgang Chine is totally unlike any other attraction...”

★★★★★

written by theprovost on 02/09/2006

Blackgang Chine is totally unlike any other attraction I have ever visited, it is a theme park but not in the most popular sense; the attraction doesn't rely on fast rides to pull in the punters, instead it is so successful because of its atmosphere and quirky interactive features. The park is split into different sections (these include Fantasyland, Frontierland, Nurseryland, Dinosaurland etc. Each of these different zones offers something different for each member of the family. In Frontierland you get to pan for gold and ride on fake horses, they have also designed this zone so that it looks like a scene from a western and you can actually go into the saloon bar and the local jail.

The different features of the park are numerous (too many to count) and the variety on offer is one of the best things about it.

A fantastic day out - the kids loved it. Would recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview