Hillman Pro Drive Golf Buggy Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0
43.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hillman Pro Drive Golf Buggy - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Hillman Warrior Golf Buggy”

★☆☆☆☆

written by IMConcerned on 15/08/2020

I would advise care when dealing with the franchise holders for this product. Mine was delivered damaged and unusable. They were informed immediately with photographic evidence. They have been reluctant to take any action to resolve this. They refuse to refund my money. They have all the relevant VAT exemption documents but have not credited the VAT payment. The Consumer Credit Laws will assure a satisfactory outcome - eventually. What are the chances of getting decent after sales on this product from a company which conducts business with this attitude?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Hillman Panther GT Sport Golf Buggy”

★★★★★

written by 1970Watson on 22/02/2018

Hillman Panther GT Sport Golf Buggy I have been looking at different Golf Buggys for some time and have decided to invest in one for the coming season. I am really impressed with the overall build quality. I have not been out on the course with it yet but have used it to go to the corner shop a couple of times to test it out and it is great. The seat being slightly larger I found more comfortable and I was able to fit it into my boot which was a great help. I will likely arrange to leave it in the lock up at the club in the summer as I will be going most days, but it is reassuring to know I can take it home if needed. Overall very happy, I was also able to claim the VAT back on my purchase which was also beneficial.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“hillman pro drive titan pro”

★★★★★

written by MarkusMacDonald on 31/05/2016

hi ive own a hillman pro drive titan pro for about 2 years now and i must admit i don't play golf but use it as a mobility scooter so i can go fishing and i am over the moon with it, it will brake apart and fit in my astra estate boot with my fishing gear in and there only two things ive found that it struggles with 1 very soft sand ( when i went to the beach) 2 marsh like conditions ( realy boggy grass) over than that it will get me any ware i want to go so longs as its not a very steep slope its total water proof ( from rain or shallow puddles) the only problem i had was i brought a 2nd hand one wich had an electric falt wich turned out to be a dry joint in one of the connections witch i changed to a normal block connector and sealed it with silicone and its been the most dependable scooter ive got and i love it saved me no end compared to a propper off road mobilty scooter BIG THUMPS UP

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“My powaglide single seat buggy as been a nightmare”

★☆☆☆☆

written by gazebos on 10/12/2014

hi all, I bought my powaglide single seat golf buggy in February 2013, I needed a buggy because of my breathing problems and dodgy knees, it looked the bees knees, I inquired what I thought I needed to know, warranty 12 months even on the batteries, it looked strong and did drive and go pretty good as well, one question I asked, and only because I,d done quite a bit of research was WILL the batteries be big enough for a guy my size, 15 stone ish, and my golf course is a bit demanding, four or five steepish hills, the answer was yes 55ah, two of them of course will be fine, ok I thought the price was good and I needed one k go for it, and I bought one. Great off we go it was a piece of cake and I mean it no more struggling on our last few hole not being able to breath and struggling with the knees, it was great honest I loved it. Then the seat split, ok I thought maybe like all stuff these days, so I phoned the guy up at powaglide and he said could I send a picture of the split which I did, he received the evidence and agreed it must be a fault and would order me a replacement padded seat FROM China, it would take a week or Three, ok it's a long way, a month later I phoned powaglide to see if it had arrived, not yet, ok no probs, oh by the way he told me to tape it up so it didn't split anymore which I did ?. A week later I phoned again, same answer no not arrived yet but he said he had one he could take off another seat, so we arranged a time and date to go and sort it, when I got there to his house he came to the door and said ok I'll sort it, he went to the garage got the complete seat and proceeded to unscrew the pad from the seat, he wasn't even ready for me arriving, I,d already taken mine off but took all of the seat with me, he got the pad off and we exchanged them, but I said can I just make sure the new pad matches the old seat, should do he said and potted around while I started to put it back together, guess what wouldn't match up, so I went and told him, he spent 10 minutes trying but it wouldn't fit, mmmmmmmmm, mmmmmmmmm, him not me, so I said give me the complete new seat, oh carnt do that its a dearer seat it's got armrests on it, ok do you really need the old pad, no not really, so I took the hole thing home stripped the staples out of both padded seats swopped them over, stapled mine back together, eeee rrrrrr, 5 weeks and 2 hours on the day job done. Then about June July my round started to get shorter, the buggy started to struggle on the last few holes, so I phoned up, mmmmm can you drop the batteries off and I'll test them, so I nipped 25 miles there and back again and dropped them off, a couple of days later he phoned and one of the batteries had failed so he would swop it, ok it happens, so off I nipped again to pick them up. Don't forget 25 miles ish. A few weeks later but don't hold me to a day or two click click click it started letting me down again, sooooooo I phoned him up again and explained the same thing was happening, mmmmmmmmmm cannot understand it, can YOU drop them off, OK, 25 miles return to drop them off, I think it was the day after he phoned and said its so strange when he checked then three weeks before the battery that as now gone down as failed, strange, anyway I'll give you two different ones than what I had, I did have yuasu, think that's how you spell it, anyway 25 miles later after going for them he gave me two brand new Lucas, are you sure it's not me and the terrain that could have something to do with it, you know are the batteries big enough, yeh course they are, ok. This was the beginning of October, WATCH THIS SPACE, I'm coming back to this problem later. Then a front mudguard dropped off, the metal cracked on the bend where it joins onto the front wheel axle , anyway my mate welded it up and put me a strengthened in, and did the other while he was doing the broken one, Magic good job and it save me arguing the toss AND 25 miles. Next the steering wheel started to flop about, it started to crack at the bottom of the steering wheel colmn, pole, whatever you want to call it, anyway my mate said he'd sort it, so I took the front for him with a templet and he welded a pièce either side of the crack, again a good job, and saved me 25 miles. Then one nice day the foot pedal flopped to the floor and away the buggy went but with me on it thank god, I just switched it off, doctored it with a bungee which worked ok, phoned up my dealer explaining what had happened because I couldn't find anything to fit, he asked me for my address and would send me one and because it was over 12 months and out of warranty he said it would be around £4 or £5, ok no probs. A week later wondering why it hadn't arrived I phone up and hi it's me @@@@, who he said, ohhhh i completely forgot sorry I'm on it straight away, what's your address again, mmmmmm lol, good job I had a bungee. Anyway received it put it on and low and behold guess what, errrrr yeh it didn't work , wasn't strong enough and it wouldn't quite stop with your foot off the pedal and kept creeping forward, so I was back to the trusty bungee. So I phoned him up, can you fetch it for me to check, no not 25 miles about 30 miles, he'd got new premises, when I got there he looked and mmmmmmmm,d, they are different ain't they, and I haven't got any I'll have to order some from China. Doh. Well look I said I asked you about changing the steering wheel for the handle bar system, and it would be better for me for getting in the car, saves me taking everything to bits all the time, so do away with the pedal,you did tell me it would be £120 over the phone, £100 for the handle bar and all the bits, plus £20 for re doing the electrics on your hand held computer, but I see you are selling the handle bars on line for £75, yeh he said but you need all the other bits as well, look he said I'll change it over for £80, ok thanks I said do it, NOW remember I've had the 2 new Lucas for one hole year and 3 weeks, and guess what they are letting me down again on the last few holes, but he said they are out of warranty, phewwww I've nearly had enough, he phoned the supplier and they said the same to him nothing they could do , out of warranty, so I asked him where he gets them from but he said his supplier get them from MANBAT, so I go their number and phoned them, they were brilliant, very helpful and said if you fetch them to Chesterfield, they would check them, so off I went, 60 mile round trip, they checked them, and off I went two days later 60 mile round trip, nothing really wrong with them, one was still like brand new, the other was about 70%, which was fine really, and they also checked the charger, which was ok.so I informed powaglide of my findings and said are you sure this size of battery was fit for my purpose, of course they are he said I,ve sold hundreds and no one else as complained, then he started blaming me for maybe not charging them correctly, and different terrains of courses and the size of people make a lot of difference to performance, well that's what I asked in the beginning, anyway after a bit of arguing and letters and he mails he said he was refusing to answer any more calls or e - mails, I got in touch with the citizens advice, tried that way but he said anymore letters and he would take it up with his solicitor and he would handle it, he wouldn't have anymore to do with me. Anyway the batteries went to a better home, I sold them for next to nothing so I didn't think it worth the effort anymore. Anyway I've bought two 85 ah batteries and a 8 amp charger, £275.hope these do the job. Three weeks ago the buggy stopped all together, the motor was running but it wouldn't run, anyway the green staff got me off the course and I got it home, I googled transaxle and moter on single seater golf buggies, yep I stripped it down and the axle had sheard, I was going to another made to save me spending £350 on a new transaxle and motor, but I got it repaired but it didn't work, I had it bored into both broken pieces a pin loc righted in and also pinned together £30, it lasted one round and eleven holes, but I managed to get it home and it's now stripped down again. I,m told it's going to be about £100 to £150 to have one made, or buy a new transaxle and motor£350, from guess who powaglide, and really don't want to do that, I will get it repaired and keep you informed. But all I,m say now is beware do your homework, but if need one like me what do you do, you need trust, thanks a lot, c u later, oh forgot he sells parts and says they fit powaglide , Hillman, powerhouse, and similar, again thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“dont go there ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Andrea385 on 30/08/2014

I have had my Hillman trolley 2 years,ok first few months then problems began.Connectors and chargers ! Main problems are handles cracking,I know another 2 guys with theirs strapped up with insulating tape ! When the 1st one went they were ok at sending spares but this shouldn't happen.Poor design fault and materials! Carry bag rotted,as did battery case. Had no problems with frame or motor etc. Take notice and pay extra £70 for a Powakaddy!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dickheart1's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2015

Didn't realise when i bought mine that it was environment friendly, started rotting after 1 year, on/off switch, frame snapped on the axle, rivet on the main chassis snapped and both wheels are cracked. No parts available from hillman, sounds like cheap imports sold on as their own. Wrong!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“poor spares”

★★☆☆☆

written by pbVaughn81 on 26/04/2014

My dads hillman lasted just over 3 months before we had to start welding the frame. Replaced batteries also, cuts out on hills now and UKIMPORTS a disaster to deal with, cannot find replacement brushes anywhere. Stay well away and read reviews before purchasing. PAY MORE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“my buggy”

★★★★★

written by bigals1948 on 17/09/2013

I bought mine in April 2013 and I'm very happy with it I have had 2 faults with it, 1 the coupling on the steering broke, it looked like a bad casting caused the problem. 2 the front chassis locating pin broke. both these items were posted to me quickly. no problems at all I was happy with the service. I have read other reviews on this page about unhappy buyers I cannot fault the service, in regards going bust is that just someone trying to blacken there name, how do they come to that conclusion they would only know that if they worked for them, carry on giving good service ignore the bad reports from wooden tops. regards alan

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“machine let down by agent”

★★★☆☆

written by coultish028 on 26/04/2012

purchased the unit from UK SPORTIMPORTS. have had the buggy for 11 months, the batteries failed in the 9th month. have had to wait a month for them to find some replacement batteries and the then they want to charge me 170 pounds to replace the batteries with a larger capacity ones. when asked the price of the original batteries the price was the same as the larger ones, but they refused to do a straight swap.they also expect me to pay for the us batteries to be sent back to the warehouse. despite telling me to have them checked at a cost of 15 pounds. they have refused to refund my outgoings, including the cost of returning the batteries. Despite being told they are in breach of the sale of goods act 1979, they just totally ignore it. UKSPORTS IMPORTS customer service is the worst I have ever come across.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“the battery chargers are a problem, chargingat 14.8amps ”

★★★☆☆

written by on 18/05/2011

the battery chargers are a problem, chargingat 14.8amps
should be 13.5 causing batteries cells ro dry up and
cases to buckle, my first batteries lasted 10 months
replaced free(after some arguments) tbe second set only
8 months(not usedduring 4months of the winter)otherwise
I am very happy, faulty charger being sent back for tests

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Unless Hillman find a decent agent, this buggy should...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 13/05/2011

Unless Hillman find a decent agent, this buggy should be avoided. I have had AWFUL service from them (sportsimports)and now think they may have gone bust as they dont answer the phones or emails. I am in desperate need of a part but cannot get it so the buggy is useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stanners's Comment

Written on: 05/12/2012

I think most of the parts on this are the same as the GTS trolley from The SportsHQ

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

“i have had a hillman golf buggy for 4 months now i...”

★★★★★

written by on 12/10/2010

i have had a hillman golf buggy for 4 months now i brought after being recommend through a friend. but mine was slightly different to he's i was told mine was the new design. it really is a great piece of equipment i cant get round a golf course now after i had my knees done and this has been a life saver. i would recommend to anyone. i had a slight problem where i broke the zip on the battery bag i rung up on a monday and they sent me a replacement bag i received by the wednesday. 10 out of 10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Me and my freinds all have the hillman golf buggy its...”

★★★★★

written by on 21/09/2010

Me and my freinds all have the hillman golf buggy its the cheapest you can buy on the internet but you can not tell. a freind of our has just purchased the new design one and boy does it look good. thanks hillman for helping me play golf again 10 out of 10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Regret purchase. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/08/2010

Regret purchase.
Several problems in first year but some of the replacement parts sent by
company under the warranty were clearly second hand and slightly damaged.
Company refused refund despite the various problems. Trolley now only fit for the bin. Waste of money but you get what you pay for!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“been using this everyweek for the last 1 and a half...”

★★★★★

written by on 03/06/2010

been using this everyweek for the last 1 and a half and i am very very happy with it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“fantastic piece of equipemt had 1 maybe 2 slight...”

★★★★★

written by on 03/06/2010

fantastic piece of equipemt had 1 maybe 2 slight problem but rung up customer sevices who were fantastic and sorted it out no problem. very comfy to drive and everyone at my golf course are all very impressed and a few there have also purchased and they are very happy to.
HIGHLY RECOMMENED - Compared to the buggy's this one is second to none

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Been ok for us, few niggles but nothing that could not...”

★★★★☆

written by on 15/03/2010

Been ok for us, few niggles but nothing that could not be sorted out with a bit of common sense. Buying second after 5 years of hard use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“HILLMAN PRO DRIVE GOLF BUGGY - UKSPORTS IMPORTS ”

★★☆☆☆

written by ikaros1972 on 09/03/2010

HILLMAN PRO DRIVE GOLF BUGGY - UKSPORTS IMPORTS

Summary

Good points - Price, looks, sturdy build for price (eg metal frame work, motor weather tight, wheels, hair handle bars)

Bad points - Use of some very cheap componets which lets overall reliability down.(esp cabling poor quality)

Note - Buggy is only suitable for short to Medium length course & flat to mild undulating.

Finally some golfers I have spoken 2 have had few problems. But most of these perhaps only play on a less regular basis (average use of 1 round ever 14 days at most). Those like me who play at least once a week, normal more) are the ones who seem 2 have the most problems. I have tried 2 be favour & honest in this review below!!

I was really pleased with it when I first got it. Quick delivery & was of reasonable build quality for the price paid esp. compared 2 better known makes. Worked well for 1st 6 months, only problem was the bit that held bag on very cheap & nasty broke within 3 weeks but that was ok as i knew that it was budget model!! 2nd 6 months have been terrible, broke down twice with same fault - speed control on handle-bar. Must be a regular fault as they knew right away on my description what was wrong! Now on talking 2 another owner definately a major weakness as he has had same fault 3x.

If the buggy brakes down don't tell them your handy as they ship the new parts 2 u 2 fix. Although credit 2 them on quickness 2 send replacement parts and information on how 2 install them. I suppose this is easier than having 2 come & pick buggy up & take it 2 W.Midlands. Now worried that I'm in last month of warranty & as from end of April I will have 2 pay for an replacement parts 2 keep it working(& just broken down again} esp as the speed control doesn't seem 2 last long.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I had a Hillman trolley it lasted 14 months.Needed new...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/10/2009

I had a Hillman trolley it lasted 14 months.Needed new brushes within weeks.In the 14th month the frame snapped. Not what i would call a product that lasts. The supplier was not interested unless i payed for it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Had problems with my Hillman Golf Buggy, they sent me...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 24/06/2009

Had problems with my Hillman Golf Buggy, they sent me new parts , that did not work , it went back rang loads of time to find out what was gooing on finaly they said they are refunding me , i will be now buying powercaddy

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My Hillman Pro Drive Golf Buggy buggy (2007) got into...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 11/03/2009

My Hillman Pro Drive Golf Buggy buggy (2007) got into trouble in the light rough when it found a pot hole. power had to be maintained to avoid the buggy falling over causing some heavy twisting moment on the steering column and some holes later the column fractured.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Golferbuddy on 8th April 2023 Report this content
I have a hilly course will the hillman pro hawk be OK

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by terryandi2122 on 11th June 2018 Report this content
Where can I find a phone number for ordering parts please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Chrisieboy1 on 3rd June 2018 Report this content
What type of gear box oil is required?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by DJLloyd on 16th March 2018 Report this content
How much oil should I put in the gearbox of my Hillman buggy?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by abby3960 on 20th August 2017 Report this content
can the Pro hawk golf buggy be put into a free wheel condition for moving around when the power is disconnected?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Chrisieboy1 Written on: 03/06/2018
Yes Small engadge / disengage stick on motor
Asked by maccam01 on 29th June 2015 Report this content
I'm looking at the buggy for an old pal. It is fine on the flat but after 9 holes it struggles up hills. Tested batteries, they are good. Brushes also good. Any suggestions? Please help.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview