Scarborough, Britannia Grand Hotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Scarborough, Britannia Grand Hotel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Scarborough, Britannia Grand Hotel

Scarborough, Britannia Grand Hotel

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“BED BUGS”

Written on: 28/07/2015 by Ingram107 (1 review written)

The worst hotel I have had the misfortune of stopping in. The room was very dated with dirty cups and marked bed sheets. After 2 nights in this hell hole my husband and I had been bitten in excess of 150 times. You had to look through the pile of plates to find a reasonably clean one in the canteen style restaurant. Please think twice before booking… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“lounge and dining areas cold”

Written on: 18/02/2015 by Greer42 (1 review written)

Being a dog owner myself we strongly disagree with dogs being allowed in the hotel totally UN hygienic.Lounge and dining areas cold although this did not prevent us from having a good time… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 18/03/2014

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday was really excited to be there, well all I can say is what a total disappointment when we got there, the room was disgusting cobwebs everywhere the mattress did not fit the bed there was a hole in the valance which had seen better days the window had not been cleaned in what looked like years! Then to top that all off the room was freezing we were told the heating came on at 8 o'clock at night so when trying to get showered to go out it was so cold!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Minus one star. ”

Written on: 21/07/2012

All revues are of a standard that have been ignored. I would be suprised if the ' Hotel ' isn't closed on health & safety grounds very shortly, it does nothing for the reputation of Scarborough at home or abroad. With jobs so pleantiful, and no improvement, time is running out, its a shame no one is listening. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“why are so many things wrong with this place”

Written on: 01/04/2012 by periton (1 review written)

the grand hotel in scarborough is one of the most spectacular buildings both inside and out unfortunatly some things leave a bit to be desired we stayed premier room and dinning great room with sea view and little balcony to sit out on, the dinning had quite a number of choises but was never hot infact most were nowhere near hot enough, more care could have made meals far more enjoyable bacon at breakfast was steamed in stucktogether lumps and not very appetising fried eggs mostly cold evening… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“THIS IS VALUE”

Written on: 06/11/2011

I have stayed in the Grand in Scarborough twice, it is excellent value for money. My only criticisms are there is no Wi Fi connection in the rooms...even my Vodafone dongle wouldnt work in the room, Wi Fi is available in the main reception area but I had a problem finding a seat. This was a BIG no no for me as the purpose of my visit was business and needed access to the internet all evening and I didnt really want to sit in the reception area all evening. When I asked the reception if I could… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I will never go here again”

Written on: 28/06/2011

After spending over 3 hours driving to Scarborough, we thought we would stop at the Grand hotel and treat ourselves to a wonderful lunch of fish and chips, overlooking Scarborough Bay. It was the middle of the afternoon on a very hot day so we ordered drinks and food soon as we arrived. The service at the bar was very amature, as if the people hadn't worked there before or had any training on bar work. The person that served us couldn't find a clean glass and the bar area was clutted with dirty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After a 5 and a half hour drive, a colleague and...”

Written on: 06/02/2011

After a 5 and a half hour drive, a colleague and myself arrived, checked in, and went to our rooms, only to discover that we'd been put in tiny single rooms, instead of the double rooms that had been booked. Double checking the booking form twice, I decided to go down to reception and ask them to rectify the mistake. I'd paid for doubles, so wanted to stay in a double. The receptionist told us that there were no doubles, and we could either put up with the singles, or leave the hotel. At 9:30/… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“20 June 2010 ”

Written on: 20/06/2010

20 June 2010
Just returned from a stay in the grand very disapointed with experience.
Was given a basement room with no window, spa bath did not work. The room was on the same floor as the kitchens and most days there was an awful smell coming from somewhere that was like blocked drains, when I asked to be moved to another room offering to pay extra was told no other rooms available, then overheard member of staff telling another guest that there was a room free!! Food was of poor standard and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Our 2 night stay at The Grand Hotel, Scarborough, on...”

Written on: 11/06/2010 by notwen44 (2 reviews written)

Our 2 night stay at The Grand Hotel, Scarborough, on 3rd and 4th June, was our first and last visit. Apart from the wonderful building and the initial welcome from reception staff The Grand Hotel is one of the worst hotels that my wife and I have ever stayed in. There was absolutely no management or supervision in the hotel and whilst the staff were generally friendly most had not been trained and, with few exceptions, were totally demotivated.

A member of the bar staff didn't know what… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The "Grand" is certainly imposing. Sadly the Victorian...”

Written on: 19/04/2010

The "Grand" is certainly imposing. Sadly the Victorian splendor is virtually in tatters. I dont class grey tape as a suitable repair to the railings of a reception enterance! Our stay was complementary after a horrific room in Manchester Brittania, and the booking had been cocked up and when I asked if I could use the hotel's internet to show we were in the right the receptionist looked at me blankly and said "no". Room had a stunning view but was tatty and far from "grand". The grandure of the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Don't let the name fool you - the Brittania Grand...”

Written on: 13/07/2009 by Ness25 (1 review written)

Don't let the name fool you - the Brittania Grand Hotel was far from Grand. The room was dirty (the floor was not vacuumed before or during our stay). The food was of a very poor standard - toast pre-cooked and stacked together making the crusts really hard and the middle wet and soggy. Tea/coffee served in thermas flasks which are recycled until empty. I have never stayed in such a poor hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“At the Scarborough, The (Britannia) Grand Hotel we had...”

Written on: 13/04/2009 by patty2 (1 review written)

At the Scarborough, The (Britannia) Grand Hotel we had a dirty,dingy room.Staff not at all helpful.Restaurant very poorly run.Food very average.Was very disappointed with our stay and will not be going again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very grand building but rooms leave a lot to be...”

Written on: 27/09/2008 by p m jenkins (1 review written)

Very grand building but rooms leave a lot to be desired. Food of a very poor standard. Two lifts each accommodating 8 people max for the whole of floors 1-5. Level 6 had to be reached by another small lift which was situated around the corner and through two or three fire doors. This is no mean feat when dealing with luggage. Insufficient seating in the dining room for the amount of guests. The only redeeming feature was the position of the dining room, it did have a panoramic view of the sea… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Hotel has been taken over by Britannia, and I think...”

Written on: 16/08/2006 by alfitz (1 review written)

Hotel has been taken over by Britannia, and I think that the staff remaining have a 'chip' on their shoulder about being given extra jobs! (some jobs doubled-up) and took the resentment out on the paying Customers. I actually overheard a Receptionist tell a Customer 'not to shout at her', when she was shouting over the top of him and everyone around! The reception didn't even possess a Telephone Directory? and when I asked for one was asked if I looking for somewhere else to stay?! (The thought… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Grand Hotel in Scarborough is an amazing place....”

Written on: 25/07/2006 by The Hooded Claw (36 reviews written)

The Grand Hotel in Scarborough is an amazing place. They're doing a huge make-over, and some rooms have been refurbished, but mine looked like it hadn't been touched for 50 years, and it felt grimy. Those who had refurbished rooms were happy with them, and to be fair to Britannia Hotels, they have only had it for a few years and are spending £7 million (so they say) on it over a few years.

The Grand has much in common with a retirement home, complete with bingo and tea-dance. If you were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview