Crete Heraklion Airport Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.0 / 5
10% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Overall cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Crete Heraklion Airport - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Crete Heraklion Airport

Crete Heraklion Airport

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Worst airport ever!”

Written on: 30/07/2022 by mgreen22 (1 review written)

This airport has no air conditioning. The check in is super crowded and the ceilings are about 2m tall, it’s very small. The security is very small but fast and efficient which is the only good thing about the airport. The duty free is modern and large but there are little to no seats so everyone sits and lies on the floor. You are also not allowed to buy cigarettes or alcohol from here if you live in Northern Ireland because of brexit and EU issues. Food and drink super expensive There are only about 3 shops in the airport but they are all in terminal B, terminal A only has duty free. The staff aren’t very friendly either.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst airport I have ever been to”

Written on: 23/07/2022 by hgErickson79 (1 review written)

We had to wait 1.5 hours due to a “failing” with the computer systems at check in. We were only updated once during this time. It was infuriating as there were other check in desks not being used. There was also no air conditioning. We were then rushed through security and I can honestly say that I’ve never been treated so badly. I had my bag snatched from me by a rude woman working there who was controlling the flow of the trays going through the scanner. I was then searched by a woman who treated me like a piece of meat and searched me in such an undignified manner. Then my back was checked by another member of staff, he was a little more friendlier. It was a shame we had to deal with this on the last day of our holiday. There is absolutely no need for rudeness. It was absolute chaos, the whole place needs reorganising and staff need some training on how to treat people with respect and kindness.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst airport ecer”

Written on: 28/06/2022 by MaiM1403 (1 review written)

Very small, over crowded, filthy airport overall, disgusting toilets with no soap and toilet paper, hand dryer doesn’t work, very rude staff, food is ridiculously expensive, there are no signs for anything at all and no staff around to ask for help, you could easily miss your flight. Had a wonderful holiday but it was ruined at the very end because of this disgrace of an airport. I could give 0 stars I would

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“An embaressment to Crete and Greece!”

Written on: 18/12/2018

Long queues at departure with rude, unhelpful staff. Vile, filthy, overflowing toilets without paper, soap or towels. Expensive and poor food and drink. Overpriced (compared to general shopping on the island) duty free. All these terribly negative points for the main airport on Crete, a wonderful island that we have visited for over thirty years. Shame on you, Greece

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst airport I have ever been to!”

Written on: 01/10/2018 by NurseGladys (3 reviews written)

We arrived into Heraklion on a Friday evening on schedule. No problems with getting to the terminal as the bus was waiting on the tarmac for the short journey. Into baggage reclaim and this is where it started to be depressing. Grey and tired miserable place with virtually no staff to help passengers. Very few trolleys to load bags onto and almost 30 waiting for luggage. After a lovely holiday in Crete we returned to the airport for our return flight. The building is not air conditioned and was very hot and stuffy. We looked on the information board for our flight details but they weren't there so we asked a female member of staff where the Jet2 check in desk was however she was totally disinterested and muttered something we couldn't understand. Finding seats was impossible as there simply are not enough available. We ended up sitting on a table. The ladies toilet was disgusting - no toilet seats,urine all over the floor,filthy hand basin with no soap or hand towels and the hand dryers didn't work! We finally found out about our flight from overhearing another passenger talking about the Jet2 flights! We had to leave the building and queue outside in the oppressive heat. To be fair the Jet2 reps were helpful and apologised for the situation, saying it happens all the time! We made it to check in and then onto security. I picked up a plastic tray to put my belongings into and a fierce looking woman yelled at me to put it down shouting " I give! I give! " I doubt she ever had a day's fun in her life! Once through to duty free it was clear where millions of euros have been spent. Another seemingly pointless passport check and into the departure gate. Again limited seating and no air conditioning. Once the flight was called everyone just surged forward and it was chaotic. We were told to go down stairs and wait for the bus. The staff kept shouting at all of the passengers to move down the stairs but there was barely any room and there must have been 400 passengers! The bus arrived after we had been waiting for 20 minutes! Our flight surprisingly was only 10 minutes late in departing and I was very relieved when it did!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Most Appalling Airport Ever !!”

Written on: 25/10/2017 by Lozmeister (1 review written)

Heraklion Airport is the worst one that we have ever encountered. It was literally filthy with remains of half eaten food strewn around all of the tables. No attempt made to clear all the rubbish away and overflowing bins really stank. The toilets were a disgrace and the smell unbelievable. People were covering their faces with clothing to try to mask out the stench. A dreadful shame after a wonderful holiday with lovely local people. The airport really lets down this beautiful island. Surely the airlines could bear pressure upon them to make some drastic change here. We travelled October 2017.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse and VIP lounge are stress”

Written on: 09/08/2017 by rpMyrick242 (1 review written)

Got home today after holiday and glad be home after horrible hell at VIP lounge We have hotel check in at the morning and the luggages gone to airport, when we arrive to Airport then go straight to VIP with our broading ticket ( we booked the VIP lounge from TUI rep two days before) Wheh we arrive to VIP lounge and there a lady who work in the counter, she took our boarding ticket and say will give you in 2 mins We have been waitied for ages for boarding ticket then she gave us boarding ticket and found out she change the seat plan !!!! We was fuming and she was not listening at all. We paid extra space seat because of my health but she change it because it not safe for dead passengers who sit at extra space seat ahd she say we can't do that bc it not safe for disabled or deaf sir on extra space seat We have been argue with her and didn't enjoy at all, the reason why I booked VIP lounge because of my health who need relax and stress free but they destroyed us and I paid 40 euro ahd paid for extra space seat too On flight I was lot of pain bc of tight seat and my legs are swollen thanks to Crete staff at airport In the past I have been booked extra space seat with thomson airline there have no problem but only CRETE change my boarding ticket I am very fuming and angry, I will report ahd look for action against them It my worse horrible time at airport and the airport are so dirty To my friends be prepare for go airport

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Airport Experience Ever”

Written on: 01/06/2017 by Lanewq218 (1 review written)

I would give no stars if possible! Chaos on the way out, and even worse on the way back!!! Having arrived at the airport later than I would have liked due to our tour company we had to queue with hundreds of other people outside the airport before even being able to get into the check in queues. Once inside we still had further to queue and the queues weren't moving very quick. I wouldn't have minded this, but at this point I only had about an hour left before the plane left. When i eventually got to the check in desk, I had excess baggage, which I find difficult to believe given i was way under flying out, and hadn't bought much, but due to the time pressure I said I'd pay for it, which she didn't seem to understand or know what to do about. I then had my boarding pass confiscated while I had to go elsewhere to pay - they also didn't seem to know what to do! Eventually I managed to get my boarding pass back, my luggage x-rayed and headed to security- no guidance as to which gates I was to use. I actually queue jumped at this point, as my flight was starting to board, and as I was on my own, i couldn't risk waiting in the queue for someone to come by and help. Only 2 out of 4 security lanes were working, when there was at least 20 minutes of queue. They didn't seem overly bothered by the fact that my flight had had its last call - fortunately I wasn't the only one in this situation so the plane was held, but that didn't help stress levels as we had gone at least 40 minutes with no information at all. Finally got on the plane and left. Would prefer to pay slightly more and use Chania in future, last time I used this airport I put the chaos down to 9/11 as I was flying out that day, but it would appear to be par for the course! I've never encountered such chaos anywhere else in the world

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Arrival ok, departure disaster”

Written on: 06/09/2014

After spending a wonderful week in Crete (see Daios Cove resort, I can only recommend it), we unfortunately had to undergo or should I even use the word suffer the Heraklion airport experience to return home. I'm not a very complicated or demanding person but the check-in process was by far the worst I had to face in my entire life. To give a brief example, you've got about 10 meters of space between the entry doors and the check-in counters (at least for counters 1-7). How do you want to fit in queues of people of almost 50 meters or more and in addition to that for different flights? Absolutely nothing has been organized properly by the airport people, they simply don't seem to care. I mean, give at least the impression that you care, distribute some water, organize the queues and inform the people. Nothing at all, it was a disaster. I’m not even speaking about a business counter to check in, they probably never heard about something like that. Finally after the check-in process and to our great surprise, the body and hand luggage check went quite fast. At that point and as icing on the cake, all the passengers were finally gathered in some kind of henhouse, luckily the final step before boarding. As conclusion I would simply say (to have an objective view on the issue) that the Heraklion airport simply isn’t conceived to handle such masses of people and the problem is known since a long time. I'm going to return to Crete and to the Daios cove, that's for sure but I will definitely have to think about an alternative regarding the transportation. At least, all the hope is not lost. Have a nice day.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Utter chaos, ignorant and rude staff!!!”

Written on: 31/08/2014

Our first AND LAST visit to Heraklion airport. We holidayed in Crete from 22nd to 29th August 2014. Arrival at heraklion airport wasn't too bad, tho there was a long wait for luggage in a very hot room even at 10pm at night! No air conditioning! Departing from Heraklion on 29/8/14 was nothing short of a nightmare! The worst experience ever! While we were waiting to check-in we were right next to the X-ray scanners. We stood and watched for a good 5 minutes at the suitcases being xrayed. The X-ray operator (a lady) didn't look at one piece of luggage in those five minutes. Instead she felt it was far more important to check and pick her nails! I couldn't believe her lack of regard for security! We passed through check-in and luckily we were able to scan our cases at the X-ray desk next to where we'd checked in and weren't sent to the other side of the airport as some people in front of us had been! We then had to join the longest queue I've ever seen. It snaked around and pretty much blocked the whole departure check-in floor. This queue finally led us to TWO passport kiosks. A joke considering the hundreds of people arriving for flights! Finally our final queue was the walk through scanner and hand held luggage check! Every passenger was barked or screamed at "next" by airport staff conducting these procedures. When we were shouted at to approach the scanners I was about to take my phone out of my bag to put in the tray but the lady snatched my bag and threw it into a tray. I then tried to explain my 12 year old had a laptop in his rucksack to which she ignored me. He then went to lift his rucksack onto a tray to be scanned and the next thing I heard her screaming at my child "laptop, laptop, empty bag now"'!! He was in tears. The final and probably worst experience was here when my 10 year old and I set off the "walk-through" body scanners. We were dragged to the side and immediately frisked (understandable). That was all fine, until this very scary airport worker, another lady shouted at me to go over to her. She kept shouting at me and my 10 year old "control, control" and waving her hands in our faces. My 10 year old was holding back tears, he was petrified. I put my hand in my bag to start emptying it for her as she kept pointing at it and she then screamed in my face, "control, control"! I left her to it and she threw everything into different trays. She didn't care what or how she threw things. My husband came through the scanners having been told to put everything, watch, wedding ring, belt etc into a tray. At this point the "control" freak picked up my husbands bits and pieces and threw them at him! My husband dropped his wedding ring and only just managed to get his hand to it before it would've fallen through very tiny slats on the conveyor belt and would've been lost forever. He was fuming! We then proceeded to the departure lounge and to utter chaos, nothing was correct on the TV monitor. Our flight to East Midlands was destined for Leeds/Bradford. The waiting area upstairs by the duty free shop was hot, crowded and filthy! There was no excuse for the filth! Full cups of coffee/tea left in puddles on the floor, plates, tissues, sandwiches. The chairs were filthy. You had to kept Running downstairs to check on the only TV monitor in the airport to see if your flight was displayed correctly or even displayed at all!! Finally our flight came up, we went to the boarding gate and waited an hour before the guy would let people through. It was a relief to get on our Jet2 plane, air conditioned and calm. My husband has vowed never to set foot in Crete again. We had the most wonderful holiday, on a beautiful island and lovely lovely hotel and staff who are a credit to Crete. It's a crying shame that your last experience of Crete is the experience of Heraklion airport and it's incredibly rude and ignorant and physically rough staff. At the end of the day, if you hate your job that much and clearly all the staff here at the airport do, then find a job you will enjoy!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Suitcases weight heavier in Crete”

Written on: 17/06/2013 by Damitjanet (1 review written)

Watch when checking your bags in, ours were heavier than when we arrived and we hadn't brought anything also if your bag touches the sides of the belt the weight goes up! If you have hand luggage put items in there, you can swap them over again as you take your suitcases Back and then queue again to put your bags through security, they don't weigh them again .?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best Airport Best Car Rental”

Written on: 01/12/2012 by allanscarth (1 review written)

For me and my wife Heraklion Airport was very good despite it's a bit small. Luggage's on time, friendly people everywhere. We have managed to book a car in advance from annacars Reliable car rental company. Great service, friendly staff. Good condition cars, almost brand new. They were with our name on a board just outside arrivals. The Airport has two exits to Heraklion. You can find Taxi service and Bus just across.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“PLEASE don't let the airport put you off!”

Written on: 21/10/2012 by jbransby2406 (1 review written)

We have a house in Crete, which is actually only 30 minutes drive from the island's other airport, Chania; but with flights sometimes being almost DOUBLE the price, it makes so much more sense to fly in to Heraklion and pick up a car (usually clean and well maintained Hyundai i20) from our usual supplier, ANE car hire Crete. I URGE you to check their website: www.carhirecrete.net for the absolute best prices (trust me I've spent a long time researching!) and superb customer service. Always waiting there faithfully for us, despite many delayed flights! Anyway, back to Heraklion airport. I'm pretty sure you don't need me to say this, but it is AWFUL. When you fly out from England and it's highly efficient airports; it is a shock to experience such a bad airport! We have flown with easyJet before, and being a family of 3, elected to pay for speedy boarding. This just did not happen in Heraklion! And this time (July 29th to August 12th with Thomson flying from Birmingham) was the first time in a long time we have not had online check-in for a flight, and had to suffer the perils of Swissport's Heraklion check-in service. Utterly confused about which check-in desk we were supposed to be stood in, and took a random guess! Having been the first passengers in the queue to check-in, we were fortunate not to have to stand in a long queue to check-in - carrying hand baggage also so didn't have to suffer as much as the people stood next to us! Then there is security. In such a poorly-lit and ventilated airport; this was hurrendous. What kind of modern day building, especially in Crete where every building has air-con, does not have any air-conditioning! This made for a very un-pleasant experience. It was a very long experience, too. Anyway, feeling very hot & bothered we tried to find a place to sit. We found one, right by the gate we were supposedly boarding from. Here, there was one Greek man who seemed very flustered and angry, pacing. He also spent the whole hour we spent sat there shouting (in Greek) to the lady on the gate opposite. I am not joking; the whole hour. As I was about to go to the loo, (30 mins before scheduled boarding time) I noticed on the board our flight was ready to board, at a gate right the way at the opposite side of the airport! Thankfully, we were right at the front of that queue (I'm guessing this is because the other passengers were un-aware of the early there boarding because there was no announcement! So, now out into the blistering heat (which I love, to be fair!) to wait for the bus. We waited here for 15 mins with no information, as buses continuously drove past to the other gates. We could see our aircraft, waiting ready in the distance but with no bus! Eventually, the bus obviously arrived (or I wouldn't be writing this now!) and here was the nicest employee of the airport who kindly apologized for the delay and helped us (the first lot) onto the bus. We then boarded our Thomson Boeing 757-200, for the return flight home. Here we sat for another 10 mins until the next bus-load of passengers. Whether it was just because it was a Sunday or what, they were running exceptionally slowly. So, to summarise, yes the Heraklion experience is not fluent. And if I'd had a bad holiday, I'd be annoyed. But I never am, not in the slightest. Yes, I highly encourage any thought about a new airport, but for now; so what?! It's there. It does it's job. Why complain? We took off on time, with a 30 min early arrival into Birmingham. If you have that extra money, I encourage you to fly into Chania as the experience is a lot better. You also don't have to suffer that hard-landing as your great big plane touches down on this tiny runway! But, for people that go out for 2 holidays a year; it is never a problem. At the end of the day, it's Crete. What more could you want!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Having travelled around the world I can honestly say...”

Written on: 15/05/2009 by karenrenee (1 review written)

Having travelled around the world I can honestly say that, considering Crete is such a popular holiday destinaiton, it is one of the worst airports I have ever encountered.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Crete Heraklion Airport is a terrorists haven. Having...”

Written on: 14/05/2009 by ridad (1 review written)

Crete Heraklion Airport is a terrorists haven. Having worked in airport security myself I was shocked to see how lame the security was at this bus station, sorry airport. The entire system was dreadful and those "random" people that I actually saw stopped were subjected to a body search that my 1 year old daughter could have performed better. They couldn't find an AK-47 strapped in full view on the outside of a naked man.

Checking in was a nightmare too. We have 4 children (14, 12, 6 and 1) and the youngsters were hot, tired and very disorientated due to the stone age queueing "system" they used and then having to re-queue next to the check-in desk with your suitcases AGAIN to have them x-rayed. It felt a lot like I imagine cattle must feel when they are aimlessly guided and prodded into crates to be shipped off to the slaughter house.

Massive shame, because THAT is the only reason we wouldn't return to Crete, which was a great place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Miles of queues, not enough seats, smelly dirty...”

Written on: 21/10/2008 by G Griffin (1 review written)

Miles of queues, not enough seats, smelly dirty toilets, snack bar next to smoking area, people smoking in snack bar. The airport is long overdue for an update, it's too small and to old to be dealing with 21st century tourism. Crete is a beautiful island but Heraklion airport is something else!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Smallest and worst airport I've seen for a long time...”

Written on: 11/07/2008 by andrew1211 (1 review written)

Smallest and worst airport I've seen for a long time given the throughput on busy days, normally a Thursday. 50 minute queue to get through security, what seemed like a thousand people queuing to get through 2 metal detectors! Some people who didn't queue straight way almost missed their flights! Master of understatement from the rep who said it was a "bit" of a queue! Nice island, shame about the airport!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very shabby airport. Needs knocking down and...”

Written on: 09/06/2008

Very shabby airport. Needs knocking down and rebuilding. Filthy toilets. Very small snack bar (Was a larger restaurant upstairs, but closed despite departure hall full to capacity). No good points.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst aspect about Heraklion Airport in Crete is...”

Written on: 10/09/2006 by Basscymro (1 review written)

The worst aspect about Heraklion Airport in Crete is the non-existent security. For example, it was possible to leave the baggage reclaim hall by a side door, completely by-passing customs and immigration. Many people were leaving the room, probably to have a cigarette, then returning to pick up their luggage. It was incredible - anyone could have entered the airside of the airport, with no checks at all.
I did report this to my MEP. Who knows if anything has been done about it?

Also, there is the heavily smoke laden atmosphere. It seems that everyone smokes and everyone ignores the no smoking signs. The airport staff do not care. I asked one of them to tell a smoker to put out his cigarette in a restaurant and I was told to do it myself.

The airport is also filthy, very badly maintained and under staffed.

There are food outlets, but these have a very poor range, and cost 3 or 4 times as much as you would expect to pay.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nightmare”

Written on: 13/08/2006 by paulbrandt (1 review written)

Nightmare

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview