Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel
★★★☆☆
2.7
38.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Fox FS stratos 10000e”

★★★☆☆

written by Troxxt on 24/01/2023

I originally purchased this product more as a backup for my then reels of choice ( daiwa regal freespools) than for a replacement and I also purchased a stratos FS 70000e for the specific use on my fox controller rod. Inevitably the smaller reel developed serious faults finally ending up with the occilation system stopping and this took out the freespool mechanism, I also found that the after market service was dire. I wasn't having the same problems with the 10000 but I only use it sparingly but fox used to claim that all the stratos reels were built identically regardless of their size ( 10000, 70000, and 40000) so I am expecting it to go " bang" one day thus I have zero confidence using it. A footnote: a fishing friend purchased the update series of reels - fox Eos 10000 and one of them has failed with the anti reverse packing up whilst playing a carp, contacting fox was a complete waste of time for him. Incidentally my pair of daiwa reels are still going strong, just saying!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Spares for Fox reels”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Mdow1 on 17/07/2016

I have a lot of Fox gear among my fishing tackle, all of which is good value, well made items with one exception - a pair of Stratos 10000 FS reels. At separate times, both have suffered broken free-spool levers. Neither have been handled roughly and have sustained damage at different times and without just cause. That wouldn't have been so bad if I'd been able to get replacements from Fox, but not only are they unable to supply spares, their Customer Services will not even reply to a polite enquiry about replacements. A big thumbs-down for Fox reels and Fox Customer Services. I wish I'd known in advance how poor the after-sales service was. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 0

“*Worst customer service I have ever experienced* ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by jjhmartin411 on 10/07/2015

I've been using these reels for around 7 years now, on the first 5 years I thought they were quite good value for money, but then basically everything started going wrong. The clutch on all 3 of my fs10 000 seized, and the anti reverse just broke off. I have tried to get them repaired at FOX on numerous occasions with some sort of excuse each time. The latest being that these reels have been discontinued and they can no longer help me. In the 12 years that I have been specimen angling I have sworn by FOX and would generally only buy FOX products, now I refuse to ever buy anything FOX again.... The least one could expect from the so called "Giants" in specimen products would be good customer service. "Shame on you FOX"

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“fox strattos fs 10000”

★★★★☆

written by on 29/01/2014

hi guys ,firstly sorry to hear about all your problems with your strattos 10000 ,but i purchased 4 about 8 year ago when they first came out and the only problem ive had was a handle breaking on one, other than that they had a good field test

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“stratos reels”

★★★★★

written by on 18/03/2013

had a pair of these reels maybe 4 years can not fault them and they have had loads of use. all good

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Spares for FS10000”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 31/07/2012

Good looking reels and they look the part! I have purchased 3 of these and 2 are now dead. Free spool lever will not operate on one. another the rachet lever did'nt do anything? made the mistake of taking the latter apart and as with the second - only now good for spares! Third one working Ok and also my FS 12000E is working OK - at the moment! Would i have them again? not if they were given to me!! Shimano all the time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Worst reels I have ever bought”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/04/2012

I have had these reels for four years and they have been back to Fox at least four times(TWICE OF WHICH I HAVE HAD TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRES). The spools would just pop off while casting, bait runners get stuck on, clucth wouldnt tighten enough. I have fished for 17 years these reels are the worst reels Ive ever owned. Would like to sell them but would feel guilty to whoever bought them. My advice is stick with diawa or shimanno still have reels by both of them from when i started and they all work. !!!!DO NOT BUY FOX!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomzanetti's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2012

iv got fox 7000 and 10000, and tbh iv never had a problem with any of them. my brother and friend also use the fox stratos range and again they have never had any problems with them. i recommend any person who loves fishing to buy the fox reels. 10000 are the best imo, longer casts and handle bigger fish better :)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“NASTY FRAGILE REEL, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE ,CHEAP PARTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by craiglucas on 14/02/2012

I have two of these , both handles had to be replaced due to plastic teeth shredding off, i aint a genius but i know not to mix plastic and metal when it comes to gears and teeth , the same happened to my replaced handles but fox would not replace because they said i was over tightening them, they said they have never heard of this problem before even , not realising my mate has 4 and had the same problem twice ,which they replaced twice, nothing but liars and cheats. avoid at all costs. Not worth the hassle. Have purchased two new handles , only so i can auction off on ebay. SORRY FOX NICE TRY BUT NOT EVEN CLOSE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Fox Stratos FS 10000 Reels”

★☆☆☆☆

written by fazwah100 on 02/10/2011

I bought these reels after a recommendation from a friend, i originally had the shimano baitrunners and had no problems in the 10 years or so i used them for. After using the Fox reels for just over a year i can conclude that these are positively the worst reels in my opinion on the market ! They are unnecessarily heavy as they obviously contain nothing more than plastic clutch fittings. I looked after these reels as i do with all my fishing gear and disappointingly the baitrunner clip decided to shear off while clipping back into place. The clutch totally seized shortly after this for no apparent reason. After reading terrible reviews of Fox's aftercare service i decided to find this out for myself and confirmed how bad this was after 8 weeks waiting for a replacement baitrunner clip to arrive. All 3 reels have deteriorated in some form due to poor quality and cheap fittings and not to any mis treatment or over use as i will unfortunately be using these again. If anyone is thinking about buying these reels first or second hand then please avoid them like the plague, all they will do is make you forget what a pleasure it is to have a proper reel which does the job.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“Affordable reels with good line lay but awful reliabilty. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/04/2010

Affordable reels with good line lay but awful reliabilty.

Sent them back time and time again, bail arm stayed open after casting, freespool tensioner seized solid, clutch siezed solid, bits fell off them etc, the list went on and on.

There are much more reliable reels on the market for similar money or even less

**AVOID**

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“I bought two Fox Stratos FS10000's earlier this year....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 03/11/2009

I bought two Fox Stratos FS10000's earlier this year. Initially they were a fantastic reel. Smooth, quick retrieve, excellent line lay, beautiful casting, the list goes on. I was exceptionally pleased with them. However after a few weeks use the spools kept coming off of the main shaft, during use. After much complaining and an 8 week wait, I finally received 2 new spools which worked for a few times and then the same problem and also the free spool tensioner just broke off in my hand..!! After sending both reels back to Fox and after a wait of 9 weeks this time and many angry phone calls to them I finally got my money refunded...
To sum up great reels but unreliable and absolutely appalling customer service from Fox, they should be ashamed.. I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy these reels, they have serious quality issues and the customer service is just not good enough.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“the fox stratos reel is spot on,cant fault it.”

★★★★★

written by on 10/09/2009

the fox stratos reel is spot on,cant fault it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Really not sure about the quality of the stratoss....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by saintlysimon on 11/07/2009

Really not sure about the quality of the stratoss. Looks good out the box, feels heavy, and chunky.

But, the handle of my reel bent randomly whilst being transported - ok this could have been a freak accident, my fault. but its never happened to another reel of mine in 20 years.

Then, last week, the reverse drag stop working.

going to send back to fox now and see what they say.

Very disapointed - AVOID is my advice.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“While using my brand new `Fox Stratos FS 10000` about...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by P J Davies on 04/07/2009

While using my brand new `Fox Stratos FS 10000` about the twentieth time, the `free spool lever` just fell apart. On examination I noticed the top screw in the free spool lever was missing, this was either missing on purchase or has worked its way out on its own, now I can`t find a place to purchase a replacement.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel is smooth castin...”

★★★★★

written by on 09/06/2009

Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel is smooth castin ,looks great on the bank cant fault the reel really

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ The Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel is well made....”

★★★★☆

written by on 07/05/2009

The Fox Stratos FS 10000 Fishing Reel is well made. Good line lay. Very smooth

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It really is an excellent reel 10 out of 10. The fox...”

★★★★★

written by on 26/10/2008

It really is an excellent reel 10 out of 10. The fox stratos 1000 reel is really smooth and the line lay is excellent. Casting is very easy and smooth and can handle big fish as i have caught many cats 40lb plus and the reel has provided me with a lot of help playing the fish. I am always one up on these fish as the bait runner is great and the smoothness of the reel really makes you feel in control i use to use alot of the okuma range until my friend said i should try the fox stratos reel and was he right i will be using the fox range for may years to come now I think that maybe the Fox Strator FS 10000 fishing reel is a bit heavy but you get used to it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“All of the above would suggest on paper that this real...”

★★☆☆☆

written by atkins79 on 05/10/2008

All of the above would suggest on paper that this real is one very smooth operator, but sadly all these gimicks come at a price. These are by far the most tempramental reels I have ever owned, and in the space of one year have had all three reels replaced for varying failing parts and although fox can not be faulted for there service I just cant work with tackle that I can neither trust or rely on. The worst incidence I experienced was the bait runner facilty completley failed on me and wouldnt disengage whilst attached to the other end was very angry 34lb linear carp (for me this was my uk PB) that I had to handline in from 80 yards out not good sorry.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“The fox Stratos reel performed extremely well. It was...”

★★★★★

written by on 03/08/2008

The fox Stratos reel performed extremely well. It was smooth and felt great when casting out and reeling in. I have used many different reels ove rthe years but this one is up there with the best.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“When you spend £130 per reel and you have five like...”

★★☆☆☆

written by shotgun11 on 13/07/2008

When you spend £130 per reel and you have five like me, you expect high quality components but then find parts are fitted to possibly make more money out of you. i think i will use another manufacturer in future. fox to me has always meant quality until now. All my gear is fox but just how many other things have they cut corners on. how long will the other 4 reels last?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview