Post Office Travel Money Card Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Post Office Travel Money Card
★☆☆☆☆
1.4
8.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Post Office Travel Money Card - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Post Office Travel Money Card

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Avoid this card nightmare Post Office Travel Money Card”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 479Brown on 27/04/2024

Avoid this card nightmare of the Post Office Travel Money Card This card was suggested in the post office, unaware the staff had no understanding what they were “selling” they were in fact miss selling. It was explained that with the card I could load currency to the card for no charge, and use it when travelling anywhere, with no charge or commission and when back in the UK get your money back with no charge. Sounds great, so I agreed and got the card adding a large amount using my credit card (so it was protected) no the bank charge for that, but staff at the post office gave no warning so £12 cost so far. Next day trying to activate the card was another fiasco, reading other reviews sounds like I am not alone. Decide to travel to Spain, so returned to the post office to add more money, in cash this time, staff had no idea what they were doing, talked about commission but I had no idea they were reducing the amount I was adding to the card to cover commission!! This happened again, only when I visited my local Post office was I asked how I wanted to pay the commission!!! After paying another £7 commission I returned and contacted The post office only to be told yes there is a commission charge to add funds. I was told it was free to add euros, but the Post office says you cannot now add euros, the whole system is as clear as mud. The reading reviews from other users unable to use the card abroad and many other issues my advice is don’t get one, it is being miss sold and I will write to the FCA. The staff cannot sell these ecards as they don’t even understand what they are selling. On the wall at the post office a large poster saying win £5000 with the card, asked the staff even that they could not tell you how to enter let alone win. 310 people gave the card one star are the post office reading reviews or even listening, clearly they do not care.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“do not use”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Marilynp358 on 31/03/2024

So I loaded £500 on to this travel money card on Friday for euro post office never informed me that I needed to wait until 10.30 the following day to activate the card I tried to activate it the following day once I knew this only for the post office to block the card for trying to many times . I phoned customer services automated voice activated my card so I took £10 out from the cash machine in the uk to make sure it was working and it is telling me I have a balance of £462 left on the account from £500 that was an expensive coffee and I have never seen money disappear so fast never ever buy a post office money card be warned better off using your own bank I have been totally ripped off post office you should be ashamed of yourselves . I have no words except to say you are ripping people off in a cost of living crisis . People work very hard to earn money . I hate your service and I willl make sure everyone I know on this planet will never use untie travel pre loaded money card .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Poor App ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 474Dean on 21/03/2024

I have used the Post Office travel card for many years without any issues. Sadly the app has been updated and I can no longer log in from my phone despite deleting and reloading the app several times. I can however log in from my ipad but this is no good for travelling. As I am travelling soon I have ordered an alternative card.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Impressively Bad”

★☆☆☆☆

written by IcarusIgnite on 13/03/2024

It's hard to put into words how bad this money card & the accompanying app is. Just don't bother. It's honestly impressive how poorly it works/doesn't work in my case. Activation is an issue; needed to do it twice. But you don't know that until you call the customer service number, which isn't listed anywhere in their help&support page. All 3 Post Offices I tried to resolve the issue in had no idea either. The holiday passed & thus I had no use for it & subsequently forgot my pin which locked me out after 3 tries. Called CS again to unblock it. Yet again go to a Post Office to retrieve my money. Pin works but when trying to extract the money, declined even though he just told me I have money on there. He has no idea. I had no idea. Just don't bother... Turns out they charge you £1.50 to withdraw. Would've been a lot easier if this was stated ANYWHERE on the app. Useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Card worked well, accepted everywhere, but beware POOR...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 22/10/2023

I needed a currency travel card quickly, as a system update had caused issues, with my usual provider, which I have used for years. I collected the card from my local post office, and topped it up with the MINIMUM 50 euros, as the exchange rate in branch was very poor. Their advertised rates on compare websites for ordering travel money was quite competitive, so thought I would top it up from their APP I had dowloaded, at a better rate. It took 24 hrs for the card to be activated, which was now the day before I travelled. But here's is the bad news, and the reason for my 3 star review, the rates within the APP or the Travel Card website, are nowhere near the market rates, (and now you are locked in, no option - I'm sure thats the idea) And there are no better rates for the more you order, as with most companies, just one flat rate. The market when I travelled was around 1.13 (euros) with most companies, the APP was giving me just 1.10. and near the end of my holiday the rates had dropped to about 1.1259 my top ups were at 1.09. However, the card was accepted everywhere I went, restaurants, shops, car hire and even the Hotel. There were no horror stories to report (which I had read in advance) about the card not being accepted, it worked well, just be very AWARE you are being penalised on the rates.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst service ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by martinariva on 30/03/2022

I travel a lot for work so my manager and I decided to give this card a try, as we were looking for something quick and easy to use when I travel for work. The process is absolutely ridiculous, as they ask you for your billing address but not for your delivery address, and then proceed to ship your card to the billing address and there is no chance to change the address. The card never arrived, and there is no way of tracking it or checking if anyone received it. Also, they ship it with the activating instructions, so anyone can then activate it, and get the money inside. There is no shipping confirmation email or notification, it's seriously the worst service I've ever seen. I had to call them 5 times to get the order cancelled and refunded, but they can't do it on the card you used to pay for it, if it's a business account. Nothing they do makes any sense. NEVER TRUST THIS SERVICE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Worked maybe 30% of the time in France”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MadelineFry284 on 26/10/2019

Absolutely useless if travelling in France. It worked in the motorway tolls but not at the pay at the pump machines - I was travelling on a motorcycle so lots of tank fills / low value transactions. Also failed to work in some supermarkets. Each time it didn't work I was forced to use my normal uk debit card which charges me £1.50 as well a % for the currency conversion. Utter waste of time and money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Literally a non-starter”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/10/2019

Tried to buy one and load it with Euros at the PO. Although they were helpful, their system 'referred' my application. Apparently it could not verify my ID, despite entering passport details twice. I watched her do it, correctly. I am an average UK citizen and haven't moved house for 20 yrs, no convictions, no debts, full employment, what can the problem be ? PO were sorry, couldn't help further, but gave me the (empty) card, and said I'd receive an email with instructions. Next day, they came: either post or email a copy of my passport and one other document to Cumbernauld. Fortunately I have a scanner, so used email, but they still offer only 'up to 3 business days' response. Far too late. And it would be much longer by post. The passport copy has no extra detail that they could not have obtained at the PO counter, so what is the point of all this ? Completely useless. I'll be taking cash instead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by tps1 on 10/05/2019

was sold this card yesterday and have had such trouble getting it activated. followed instructions on letter, went back to the post office and considering she thought I was travelling that day she did not advise me that I could not activate until after 10.30 the following day. followed instructions again, still no activation so had to call up. staff member also put euros on card when my understanding is that when you use it abroad it automatically changes currency (that's the idea of it!). I paid £57 for E60....AND I was not advised that you pay a £5 cancellation charge for the card. NOT HAPPY AT ALL

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Nearly lost my £1529”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Arifkhan2018 on 21/09/2018

I brought this travel money card March 2018 to travel Italy. then I top up £1600 from my Bank of Scotland account. after one week post office block my account just before my holiday start. Now they saying I need to get this money from my bank and bank said this money is with post office account so they can not do anything. So I just had to cancel my holiday trip. Till today I didn't get this money from post office .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 9 0

“we used our travel money card in Turkey in an airport...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/09/2018

we used our travel money card in Turkey in an airport atm only to be charged the equivalent of £70 for a £400 withdrawal(in lire)despite clicking lire. The exchange rate was also not as good as our Halifax card so DONT USE THIS...Post office say they cannot do anything as this was the bank charge, nothing to do with them(AK Bank)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“incredibly complicated procedure”

★★☆☆☆

written by Jamesatmacs on 04/02/2018

I have a travel card just to use as a back up to my credit card when I want to get cash. The number of passwords, passcodes, memorable words etc are ridiculous. The bank is not as complicated. I can't even change my address on the website. I don't really want to send a copy of my drivers licence via email or post. I asked if this could be verified at the Post Office and they said no. Just spent the last 45 minutes on the phone to the Post Office trying to get my account unlocked because I could not remember my memorable word. When I told them I do not remember putting one in they said they would send it to me via email. But then they did not have one on file to send me. Does that not tell you I did not have one? After getting my account unlocked and a new access code then I could get into the memorable word. Seriously this is ridiculous! By the way the codes on the app are different!!!! When I use these funds I will be looking for another travel card.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Not fit for purpose. AVOID!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/12/2017

What a mistake to get this card. They give a poor exchange rate when you top up with the idea that the charges to use it will be less overseas. Not true. Got stung for a heap of charges and have had zero response from their customer services. I withdrew the same amount on my debit card 4 days later and it was £15 cheaper. Just use your debit card, don’t use this card it’s useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“lost money.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Abbey231 on 01/12/2017

£2000 put onto travel card to go to Australia...Activate card and checked balance following day...Now only worth £1798....Do the post office charge £202 for this terrible service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“DEDUCTIONS OF 27% MADE IN ERROR”

★☆☆☆☆

written by karenduffy on 25/10/2017

£600 DEDUCTED FROM CARD BY POST OFFICE AND DESPITE ADMITTING THEIR ERROR THEY ARGUED THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO BE 10 DAYS BEFORE THEY COULD PUT THE FUNDS BACK ON OUR CARD. WE ESCALATED THE PROBLEM AND RECEIVED NOTHING BUT INCOMPETENCE INEFFICIENCY AND COULDN'T CARE LESS ATTITUDE. wE PUT MONEY ON THIS CARD TO SPEND ON HOLIDAY AND CAN'T GET IT BACK UNTIL WE GET HOME APPARENTLY. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES EVEN CONSIDER USING THIS FACILITY JUST DON'T DO IT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Not good”

★★☆☆☆

written by Alexzandera394 on 18/10/2017

I have had terrible problems loading currency on to my card on-line. I would NOT suggest it to anyone.I had a Thomas Cook card previously & had no bother putting currency on to it. When you phone Post Office you can't even speak to someone who can be of any help. Not Happy with PO money card.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Don't touch it with a barge pole! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Estrellak157 on 30/09/2017

When on holiday errors from the bank need to be addressed instantly not a few days later. On using this card for three holidays two have Ben fraught with problems the PO were unable to deal with immediately Having had card cloned and rinsed at a motorway toll booth in France they closed the account with no notification and could then not get us a new card Several errors in working out how much we were owed and the exchange rate fell dramaticallly during all this time This year we had great difficulty Loading more money onto the card and were told tech dept would be in touch in 3-4 days Useless!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Rubbish card !!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Princessfiona55 on 19/09/2017

This card is total rubbish as I have had problems from day one of getting it in April ! First of all when I was abroad it did not recognise my PIN number then it locked and I was stuck abroad with no access to the money I had put on it ! I e mailed from abroad to customer services and was sent a computer generated message telling me they would be in touch within 10 days ! Not much good when your on holiday for 7 days stuck without any money !! On my return I tried to rectify the problem by going on line but like today when I have tried to change the currency on it the system asks me for "my memorable answer " well as the system didn't ask me the memorable question how the hell do I know what that is ! I'm totally frustrated and disappointed with this card as it does not work as it should ! I will be taking my money off of it and throwing it in the bin !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Post Office Multi Currency Card”

★★★★★

written by CharlieZH on 07/09/2017

Seen a few complaints from people on here who must be using the Post Office Multi-Currency Card wrong in shops and at the ATM. If you use this card or any debit card abroad you should always choose to settle in local currency. The majority of shops or ATMs will give you the first option of settling in sterling DON'T CHOOSE THIS OPTION as the banks charge you a dynamic currency conversion....its not the Post Office charge.The P.O. card has no charges in shops and restaurants and just equivalent of £1.50 for each ATM withdrawal as long as you choose to settle in local currency. I used it in Turkey and it was great as I chose to settle in Lira and NOT euro or sterling.Hope this helps as there's a great app that lets you top up on the go.Also you have 13 wallets on the card and can move funds from one to another. It's a great way to use your debit card abroad without all the usual charges as you can register your debit card on the app and transfer from it to the P.O. card.It saves you money and its really convenient.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Leave these holiday money post office cards well alone...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gregorys493 on 08/08/2017

Leave these holiday money post office cards well alone . Thought I'd with Drew money and left it in atm. Only to find days later that for every transaction I was being charged 30 euros. Rip off Britain well done post office wont be dealing with you again .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Scumbags60 on 4th August 2017 Report this content
how long does it take before i can activate my newly purchased card?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Chiggi87 on 28th September 2015 Report this content
I have lost the letter with the access code and I have not yet activated my card. Does anyone know what I can do? I can't get through on the phone as you need to input your access code.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content MawBaker Written on: 28/09/2015
This is on the website you can email them Contact us If you have any questions or queries regarding Travel Money Card Plus that you have been unable to answer by looking at the website please give us a call or send us an email.
Report this content AKH1003 Written on: 28/09/2015
Go to the post office website and find the travel section in cont act us. Choose travel money card and fill in the enquiry form asking them to contact you. Best I can do I'm afraid. I wish you luck as the post office seems to care little about its customers or how they rip them off.
Asked by jackieaitch14 on 30th May 2015 Report this content
Hi my daughter is going to tunisia for 6 months I thought this would be a safe way of sending money to her if needed as I could top it up from Scotland. She will have her own bank card but thought this could be used for emergency money. Thoughts please.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Moz54 Written on: 02/06/2015
In my opinion, that would be the best way of transferring funds but, if you want my advice, don't touch the Post Office travel money card with a barge pole. Both myself and my partner had nothing but trouble with ours on a three week trip to Europe in the summer of 2013. From initial set-up to accessing cash through ATMs to finding retailers who accepted them and topping them up whilst abroad. The whole experience was a nightmare and extremely stressful.......not what you need whilst on holiday. Their rating, on this site, of one and a half stars is generous.
Report this content MARKSINGLETON Written on: 03/06/2015
Took my family on a holiday to Canada, grown up children and my mother in law, between us we had 5 Post office travel cards after being advised by the post office the only fee in Canada would be a $2.50 ATM fee, we loaded our cards with Canadian dollars but three days before our return to the UK the machines wouldn't let us withdraw any money due to insufficient funds. We all new we hadn't over spent so found wifi and checked our balances online only to find that each ATM machine had charged us nearly $40.00 for each transaction After many calls from Canada to a UK call centre, at our cost, all the post office would say was " not there problem " we were left in Canada for three days with minimal funds, exept a credit card I had to use, more expencies. Our total excess charges neared $400 of which we got back around a tenth of it six months after our return. NEVER AGAIN WILL I TOUCH A PREPAY PREPAY POSTOFFICE CARD, and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone
Report this content AKH1003 Written on: 28/09/2015
Don't do it. It is a money making service for the post office and the buy back r gates are disgusting.
See All Answers
Asked by tiatowns on 26th July 2014 Report this content
Does the American Embassy accept the sterling travel card? I have tried to pay for my visa on their website but it has declined my card.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Fair-n-honest Written on: 28/07/2014
Hi, Travel Money cards are not accepted everywhere despite what the Post Office tell you. I suspect you will have to use a 'full' credit card for a visa application.
Report this content Moz54 Written on: 29/07/2014
Hi, I think the problem may be that you're using a sterling travel card and, maybe, you need a USDollars travel card for the visa. I only have experience of using a Euro travel card but can confirm the previous answer, they're not accepted everywhere. You could check with the Post Office but, good luck with that......their after-sales and customer service department is worse than useless.
Asked by vicky1010 on 15th June 2014 Report this content
Has anyone used this card in Turkey?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Royahelga on 10th February 2014 Report this content
I am a student in UK , I bought £300 travel cheques for a study trip to Netherlands "Amsterdam" with my university , I faced a problem when I wanted to exchange them at the bank about no matching signatures of mine. I got my passport & the receipt with the serial numbers, what should I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview