Virgin Wines Reviews - www.virginwines.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of Selection

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Virgin Wines - www.virginwines.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Virgin Wines - www.virginwines.co.uk

Virgin Wines - www.virginwines.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin Wine ”

written by Sjmyland on 15/12/2022

Ordered a case via Donald Russel (online meat suppliers). Discovered that I had also signed up without my knowledge to paying £25 per month into wine bank account. DO NOT JOIN OR BUY ANY DISCOUNTED WINES FROM VIRGIN WINES. I realised and cancelled order and subscription I hope. Felt like a deliberated attempt to mislead customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Identical experience as the previous poster”

written by PaulinLondon on 05/11/2022

I had an identical experience as the previous poster. Virgin Wines created an 'automatic' ordering system so that apparently I am ordering cases until I die. No emails, no communication. No indication that they had done this until I received an email from Yodel. In fact, the only email they sent me was a 'please update your card details on our site.' It's really simple. If I order a shop from Waitrose, I do not want the identical shop to appear on a random, future date. It's not a difficult concept for companies to grasp unless the only thing they care about is emptying your bank account. And strangely, I was looking to order a couple of cases of wine for Xmas but now I will never buy from them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer service”

written by SamBrimson on 30/07/2022

Very disappointed and dissatisfied with my recent experience with Virgin Wines. Very poor customer service, lots of promises but no action! Also, one of their agents was quite unnecesserly rude. Have been waiting a week for my order, which was sent to the wrong address. Extremely frustrating customer experience. Would not recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE of this firm”

written by Eos007 on 07/04/2022

I had a £50 voucher used it to order a case.Wine was ok but now I find they have taken £25.00 out of my account for no reason and no explanation Disgusted with these people obviously trying to get money from people BEWARE of ordering from this firm. Will never use them again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY from Virgin wine , marking trap, poor quality”

written by CruzPollock on 13/03/2022

It's a marking trap , than anything else of good quality wine. I was excited for £50 voucher and spent £70 more to get 12 red wine bottles. The excitement vanished when I tasted the wine. It's even worse than any £5 bottle wine from super store. Forget about the quality of £12 wine bottle. I will advise to STAY AWAY from this marketing trap.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service - AVOID”

written by Samir1972 on 24/12/2020

A quite awful experience!! Ordered a significant amount of high quality wine on 14th Dec for father’s 75th birthday a few days later. Wine had still not been delivered by Christmas Day. Hence missing both birthday and Christmas!! This was inspite of claims all over the website of a very high record of ‘next day’ delivery. Don’t believe it... simply not true. Compounded by poor customer service - repeated chasers requesting prompt delivery given circumstances met with slow, unhelpful responses. All in all an exceedingly disappointing experience. I won’t be shopping with Virgin Wines again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unpleasant & rude driver”

written by GriffandBirt on 23/09/2020

He was rude in his manner & refused to lift heavy parcel over the doorstep even though I told him I had back problems. Not using this service again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

““..or your money back”. Totally misleading &...”

written by RichardDD on 06/08/2020

I had received a box of 12 worth £120 delivered and three were corked another one just not nice. The others were ok but no better than you can get in your local supermarket for a fraction of the cost. No problem I thought, their “or your money back” guarantee will see me ok. All they gave me was £4 towards another bottle (their bottles start at £8 a bottle and the popular varieties £12-15 plus. There was no “money back” whatsoever. Even when I cancelled my account they still retained this £4 “refund”. What a confidence trick, totallly misleading their customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★★★★★

“Postive Experience”

written by 454Power on 01/05/2020

I had been considering joining a wine club for a while and decided to give Virgin's Wine Bank ago. Fast delivery, wonderful customer service on the phone and from those I have enjoyed so far decent quality. You have total control on the amount your set a side each month (or take a break if you want), an extra 20% added by virgin on top, and you choose if and when to purchase. Obviously its important to read the small print so you know what to expect but my experience so far has been excellent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont give them your card details”

written by Jonkey991 on 16/12/2019

I received a voucher for £50 off a case of wine when purchasing a laptop. I thought I would give it a try in the run up for Christmas. The voucher was called "discovery club" I did not want to be tied into a repeat service so was very wary and cautious on the payment screens to avoid such a scheme. No where during payment did it state I was signing up to further purchases nor authorising further payments. The payments screen asked for card details for a one off purchase, which I provided as I was purchasing one case of wine. (I have screenshot evidence of this) The wine was delivered in good time however it was mediocre at best. I felt the discounted value of the wine was right, but it was definitely not worth the full price requested. I thought this was the end of the transaction. However three days ago they took from my account £115 and delivered another case. I did not request this transaction and complained online as I definitely would not pay full price for substandard wine. I was told it was my fault as I had signed up for future deliveries and should have read an email the sent me. They reluctantly agreed to collect the wine and issue a refund which could take up to two weeks. I asked for an immediate refund as I did not authorise the purchase or payment, they told me by using the initial voucher I had authorised future payments. I HAVE SCREENSHOT EVIDENCE OF THE PAYMENT PROCESS WHICH SHOWS YOU ARE MAKING A ONE OFF PURCHASE AND ARE NOT AUTHORISING ANY FUTURE PAYMENTS. Legislation for recurring card payments is: "When you set up a CPA, you enter into a contract with the retailer. The retailer must make this clear to you and you must explicitly agree to it. A retailer cannot assume you agree through the use of opt-out provisions or by a default pre-ticked box.For example, if you are offered a free trial after which payments will be taken, you should be clearly asked to agree to these future payments before money is taken. If this has not happened the contract could be considered unenforceable and you could be entitled to a refund.The retailer must make clear the following details about the CPA: The main features of the goods, services or digital content The total price (or how this will be calculated) All delivery charges or any other costs (or state that they are payable) The monthly, or billing period, costs of open-ended contracts or subscriptions Whether the contract is of a fixed duration or, if it is to be extended automatically, the conditions under which it can be terminated The minimum duration under the contract. Once you have agreed to the CPA, the retailer should send you details of the contract and the future payments that it will take from your card account.When you are setting up a CPA it is important to make sure you are provided with details of how much the payments are and when they will be taken." To top off the whole affair the wine was just collected by parcel for and the said "we have no idea where its going as it has not got a parcel force label". So I can only imagine how difficult it will be getting a refund from here I very rarely complain about anything but have reported this activity to both the police and trading standards however in the meantime should you receive a money off voucher DO NOT USE IT, as they will take your card details and keep taking money out of you account against your knowledge and against your will.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 15 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t bother”

written by GianaDodd224 on 03/05/2019

Don’t bother - nightmare customer service. I called to cancel the subscription but 2 weeks later they took money out my account £85 and delivered a case. Would only refund the money if the case was returned and for me to get the refund it would take up to 5 working days. I am still waiting. I had been a customer for the last year and had ordered regular but disgrace at lack of customer service. I will not be joining virgin wine club again and would state there are better wine clubs out there who value their customers

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Missing wine”

written by EllisMcPherson on 03/04/2018

I would really love to review this wine, however it was missing from my order (marked on the packing slip but no note or explanation or alternative) and as it was only a single bottle they refused to send it on to me as they only had packaging for 3 bottles! The alternative options were to refund (£4.99) or include in my next order. Really? would you trust them to do this, after a lengthy chat getting no where with a customer service person I just gave up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Changed the deal without notice”

written by ShyannCollier on 04/09/2016

I have been with Virgin wine for years and in addition to my monthly interest I, like other wine club members, received 20% interest on whatever wine I purchased along with free delivery - it was a really good arrangement and I enjoyed the wine. However, Virgin have changed the deal and no longer offer the additional 20% on the monthly purchase and they made with change without advising me, in fact I don't think they advised anyone. I talked with my wine adviser who got a little ratty with me and told me that the new arrangement had been in place for 18 months but I know that it only changed this month. I have decided to discontinue my arrangement with Virgin - I have lost trust in the company. Shame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★☆☆

“Winebank Free delivery”

written by Takethatsucks on 02/08/2016

I have been signed up to the winebank for a while and they recently announced "free deliver forever" But there is a catch. Previous to the free delivery offer any payment over and above your winebank balance attracted a 20% winebank interest credit to your account. This does not now apply. I made an overpayment of £92 on my last order and expected a 20% credit to my account which did not appear. I called them and expressed my dissatisfaction and they referred me to the T&Cs which I pointed out that nobody reads anyway and they should make it clear to winebank members how the change will affect them as I guess that many will not notice. Good news is that they put their hands up and gave me my credit but I will now only now buy wine when my credit balance covers it. The upshot of which is that I will probably buy less wine from them as I do now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Two excuses in two days!”

written by 313Cowan on 26/07/2016

I received a £50 off voucher so decided to give this company a try, i received an email yesterday saying my order had been sent to the wrong depot but it would be with me today. I emailed them this afternoon to ask which courier they use as the order hadn't arrived - today's excuse was the case had been damaged at 4pm today! This was my first order, terrible service so I haven't given them the chance to give me a third excuse tomorrow- I have cancelled my membership and the order and won't ever use this company again! I'll stick to Laithwaites- they deliver every time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Really good value and service”

written by Kirbyvp256 on 29/05/2016

I've been a member for a while - use their Winebank service and personal wine expert service. I've had very few bottles i didnt like, much more frequently have discovered some hidden gems that i reorder time and again. Their pricing is competitive and customer service excellent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

written by Cooley223 on 05/05/2016

Not impressed with the wines supplied and customer service is a disgrace.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ ”

written by hkHead21 on 04/04/2016

I'm discusted in virgin wines, i ordered once with a wowcher voucher to buy a case of wine for a birthday as i live abroad. I was never informed that they would take £25 a month out of my account without my knowing. The reason you get a voucher is because things are tight for alot of people. Then they go and take what little money you have and leave you with very little. I'm really angry right now, i would not recommend this company to anyone. They need to sort it out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Breaches Data Protection”

written by gsmith21048 on 26/02/2016

SIGNED UP TO AN ACCOUNT TO TAKE MONEY EACH MONTH EVEN THOUGH WAS NOT SHOWN ON THE VOUCHER I USED , THIS HAPPENS REGULARLY BECAUSE THEY DO NOT ADVISE OF THEIR MEMBERSHIPS CLEARLY AND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS ARE NON EXISTENT, THEY DISCUSSED MY ACCOUNT AND PERSONAL DETAILS WITH SOMEONE ELSE WITHOUT MY CONSENT, WHEN FINALLY DELIVERED WAS LEFT ON THE FLOOR IN THE MUD WEDGED BETWEEN A WALL AND THE CAR - DON'T OFFER ANY RESOLVES JUST LOTS OF UNFORTUNATELY THIS AND I'M SORRY TO HEAR THAT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AT ALL COST...”

written by BernadetteKav49 on 09/02/2016

My husband bought a product and received a voucher for Virgin wine, in good faith I placed an order, last month when I received my bank statement I did notice £25.00 debited from my account, thinking my husband had spent the money I let it go. Yesterday I received another bank statement again there was £25.00 to Virgin wines, I looked up there number up online and phoned. I was informed I had an account with this company and they had been debiting £25.00 a month since October last year!!!!! Than a customer service person phone and had the audacity to raise her voice and tell me off, she wanted me to thank her for depositing my money back in my account. Morally & ethical what Virgin wines or doing is wrong, I never gave any permission for them to take money from my bank account, legally how can this be right. Virgin wines shame on you, never again will I buy any Virgin products.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by shantanu12 on 16th January 2021 Report this content
I ordered 6x2 bottles of red wine from virgin wines but discovered upon delivery that they were alcohol free! I would like them replaced for proper red wine! How can I best manage this feat?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by luaysaleh on 28th November 2014 Report this content
I have a voucher. How can I use it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content TheAristocrat Written on: 02/12/2014
You can use it however note that you will automatically be enrolled in their wine club. Meaning regularly (3months or so) you will receive a case of wines which will be charged ~£100 each. So it's important if you don't want to be a member to contact them and let them know to remove you from the wine club after you've used the voucher.
Report this content FlyingDutchman2 Written on: 04/12/2014
I suggest you use it as kindling for a fire. The hassle of overcoming underhand and aggresive Virgin marketing tactics make it a waste. Trust me.
Asked by Hopehelp on 21st August 2014 Report this content
My mother used a money off voucher for a box of wine to be delivered to myself for my 40th birthday as she could not be with me to celebrate, due to battling cancer for the second time. I live in Scotland and she she lives in England.The other day a box of Virgin wine was delivered to me in Scotland, nearly three months after the last one, my mother in England who cannot drink, I assume has joined or ticked a box, and has been charged money which has been taken out of her account, but delivered to me. How do I return the unwanted unopened box of wine? Please help my mother is under a lot of stress and I live 500 miles away.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content FlyingDutchman2 Written on: 21/08/2014
Unfortunately you will need to call them and arrange for them to uplift it. Be prepared for a very hard sell unless they have changed their bad practices. They may not even speak to you as it was your mother that ordered the wine originally and "contracted" with them. I seem to recall they refused to uplift the wine and I ended up having to send it back & get stung for £20 postage. (You can get cheaper couriers to uplift online now). You may end up being best to write a letter on your mothers behalf returning wine. Ensure you cancel her membership (Which she wont know about as it is hidden). They will offer to exchange the wine, or give you £20 off - anything but take it back! Good luck!!
Asked by Angela17b on 4th January 2014 Report this content
I have one of your £50 Christmas 2013 Vouchers. Although I'm not encouraged by the customer feedback and reviews on this site I am interested to know what the next step is. Voucher says "Claim your £50" at the website address I am now using. But on the site there's nothing said about how to claim. Am I registering for something or ordering at this stage? I tried calling the phone number a few days ago but the line had closed for the day and of course it's another of those premium rate lines! Some advice would be welcome please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview