Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1
57.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Application

  • Ease of Removal

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo is a...”

★★★☆☆

written by bibblebobble on 09/03/2009

Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo is a lovely product but as a general lip-stain/gloss, as it just doesn't last at all! It recommends using Estee Launder 'take it away' make-up remover...theres no chance of that as it's gone as soon as you lick your lips. This is definately not worth £17!!! Beautiful cherry colour...a purple/pink shade. Nice taste. Easy to apply due to the light non-sticky sheer formula. Looks very natural without the gloss. Does not last....gone within a few hours. Quite a watery consistency which requires a few layers with a minute to dry between each one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Forget the clear gloss. I use CoverGirls top gloss...”

★★★★☆

written by on 26/06/2008

Forget the clear gloss. I use CoverGirls top gloss that comes with all their colors. You can buy it separate in the white tube. Tastes good and you can apply it blind all day to keep lipstick (all brands of this nature lipstick) in place. Leaves nice feeling, not gloppy like clear glosses. More like a slick chapstick.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I like the color of Estee Lauder Double Wear...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Dahling on 12/06/2008

I like the color of Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo Sparkling Berry because it matches a dress I'm wearing to my daughter's graduation next week, however....It's very expensive! $25.00 and I've decided that it's not worth the money. I'm going to return it today. Why does the clear gloss feel so gritty on my lips?? Shouldn't it feel smooth? It's driving me craaaazy!!! I applied the color at 8:00AM this morning and by noon it looked cracked and only on the outline of my lips. I'm very disappointed and will try the Max Factor Lipfinity. I'm unhappy with this product and will return it for a refund.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I tested this product today and loved its lasting...”

★★★★☆

written by shad29 on 14/03/2008

I tested this product today and loved its lasting effect. I am returning to buy tomorrow as I like it so much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Whilst I think these lipsticks are great and the...”

★★★★☆

written by suzy wyatt on 17/06/2007

Whilst I think these lipsticks are great and the result is always professional, they do dry my lips out. I guess frequent use isn't encouraged. I must say, a good lip-liner, used all over the lips gives a good result, and it doesn't dry the lips out as much as Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Generally, the colour stays on with Estee Lauder...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KdataM on 07/09/2006

Generally, the colour stays on with Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo, but gradually fades, usually leaving a line around the lips within 6 hours.

Unsure whether it is the fault of the product or my mouth; the colour doesn't stick on the whole area, showing deep lines, creating a very chapped/flaky look! I'm 25 and have never had this problem with any other lip products.

Flakes of colour do still end up on cups/glasses etc. - Max Factor Lipfinity works better than this!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Helen Of Troy's Response to KdataM's Review

Written on: 27/09/2006

Hi KdataM, just popped in from next door (the other Stay-in-Place review!) and decided to take your advice and try this Max Factor Lipfinity. As a confirmed Estee Lauder junkie, this was a big decision! I have just applied it, it is a bit different from Stay-in-Place lip duo, I feel another review coming on.......! Will wear it a few times first though! So far so good! Oh I love this Review Centre! Thanks for the tip!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kdatam's Response to KdataM's Review

Written on: 14/06/2007

Admittedly, I have not used Lipfinity for 8 years (since school) as I much prefer lip gloss - Dior Kiss and Ultra range are the best - but I do remember it being a lot better than this Estee Lauder alternative. The Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo was too dry and flaky after a few hours, but I don't recall having any of these problems with Lipfinity.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Helen Of Troy's Response to KdataM's Review

Written on: 14/11/2006

Have done comparison, fair trial! Can't agree that Lipfinity is better than the Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Lip Duo. It is different, but certainly not better. I'm sticking with this one!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Estee Lauder Stay-In-Place Lip Duo does just what it...”

★★★★★

written by Helen of Troy on 28/07/2006

Estee Lauder Stay-In-Place Lip Duo does just what it says! I have purchased this in several colours now, and I am so impressed by its staying power. My favourite is Rare Wine, which is a beautiful rich deep red, but it can be applied to look as subtle or as deep as you like, for day or evening. It can be applied easily with the applicator. Put the first coat on and allow it to dry for about a minute (best start before applying eyeshadow.) If a deeper tone is what you prefer, apply another coat and allow it to dry. When you have decided you have the depth of tone you like, use the brush on gloss at the other end. With the Rare Wine, the gloss is beautifully sparkling, and the finish looks absolutely gorgeous and very professional. The colour will stay on for a long long time, but you may need to touch up the gloss every couple of hours to keep the look.

There is no real taste to this product, so you won't get the urge to keep licking it off! It is pretty much kiss proof, although the gloss may come off a little, the colour will stay in place. It stays on very well through eating and drinking too. For special occasions it photographs very well, so it is great for looking gorgeous at weddings without that plastered on look!

Although I have put this review in the lipstick section, the product is classed by Estee Lauder as a lip gloss. I personally regard lip gloss as more of a subtle hint and lots of shine, whereas Double Wear lip duo has far more depth of colour if you want it to, with the option of gloss. Or if gloss is not applied, a subtle or deep matt finish. This is non-drying on the lips, and it can be removed easily with Gentle eye or lip cleanser when you want to remove it, and not when it decides to rub off!

The only reason I have given this an 8 for ease of removal is because you remove it when you want to, with a cleansing product I would put 9 or 10 for ease of removal. At £17 each, this may seem a bit expensive for some for a lipstick, but it looks fantastic. It does not dry lips, and it lasts exceptionally well, both in wear and in use. You really do get what you pay for with this product. It is well worth spending a little extra on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview