Sky Broadband

★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
24% of users recommend this
  • Reliability

  • Customer Service

  • Speed Consistency

  • Value For Money

Summary

Are you looking for Sky Broadband reviews? At Review Centre we have hundreds of them written by unbiased consumer so you can see whether they are recommended or not. We also have reviews of the markets main broadband suppliers so you can compare them to the competition.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sky Broadband - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband
Sky Broadband
Sky Broadband
Sky Broadband
Sky Broadband

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

Written on: 11/03/2022 by 1unsatisfiedcustomer (1 review written)

I’ve had a problem with my ultra fast broadband with sky. I’ve had it for 6 months and had nothing but problems with it. It keeps disconnecting and the signal keeps dropping. This is so annoying when you’re half way through something and it disconnects. I’ve contacted Sky who keep making excuses saying I’ve got too many appliances running off it, I’ve only 6!!!!!. Then I was told it was in the wrong place but it was Openreach and Sky that put it where it is. He was just making excuses so I ended the call saying there was no point carrying on as it was just waffling on. My problem has not been sorted so as soon as my contract is up it’s bye bye Sky

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sky Broadband be Aware”

Written on: 19/02/2021 by harrijames (6 reviews written)

Having been with Sky broadband which i pay for superfast fibre, for the last 12 months i have had nothing but trouble, keeps going slow then stops altogether for maybe a couple of hours then comes back, so complained to Sky who said they would send an engineer out who surprise surprise couldnt find anything wrong, so i thought i will leave and find another supplier, only to be told by Sky that my contract has another 12 months to run ???? WHAT as far as i was aware my contract with Sky had expired, it turns out that they said as i was a good customer they auto-renewed with no authorisation from myself at all this cannot be right who the hell do Sky think they are, so have lodged the strongest complaint and if the fail to rip this contract up my next port of call is OFCOM so be aware and as an aside to this did you know all Sky prices are being increased by £72 a year if you have the full package from April ? As revealed on the Martin Lewis website a couple of days ago. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Think again before joining”

Written on: 21/12/2019 by 266Moody (1 review written)

Was with these muppets for several years. Arranged a home move and a new package, great you think a smooth transition. The move fell through, I telephoned to arrange for the new package on new property. Initially told line to be checked by an engineer, no nee to be at home until the day before when I was told I had to be in. Inconvenience as had to reschedule and take time off. The day after, a text to confirm broadband engineer will attend. NO show, cannot get hold of anyone, and then despite threatening to leave, they said they will look onto and get back several days later. Still waiting, and they have now charged for the two packages, none of which can be used. Christmas with no sky tv Gone to BT, a lot cheaper also!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“awful”

Written on: 11/09/2019 by Alondraw252 (1 review written)

The engineer visit is cancelled the last minute, the broadband is on and off all the time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Atrocious company - avoid like the plague”

Written on: 06/09/2019 by Lopezxt285 (1 review written)

Sky Broadband are an atrocious broadband service. Keeps hiking the prices up. Locks you in for another 12 months so you can't leave. Service keeps dropping, I keep calling up to get engineers to come fix the problem, the engineers can't find a problem but then miraculously the service is fine for a month after the engineer visit and then starts dropping again the month after. I call up again, they say there are no faults on the line, and the cycle repeats. Last time I called up yesterday they blamed ME for poor service because I was doing things on the internet that would make it break like WATCHING NETFLIX?! C'mon guys, EVERYONE who has internet streams TV. If your poor excuse of a broadband cannot cope with TV streaming then clearly something is terribly wrong with your service! The rude lady then said I needed to upgrade to fibre to get a better service at an extra £15/month! I said no way so she said she'd send an engineer out to fix the problem at a £15 cost!!! To fix SKY'S problem!!! When I questioned this, she said it was because the engineer was coming on a Saturday (a "premium" day) and the lady was doing me a favour so I didn't have to take time off work. I said I work from home so am happy to have the engineer come during the week. She was clearly just trying to make an extra £15 for Sky. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst internet provider ”

Written on: 02/06/2019 by skyuserunfortunately (1 review written)

Sky. What a failure of an internet provider. Many times my internet has been shut off for several days. The connection gets poor as soon as you step three metres away from the router. Many friends couldn't use the wifi when they came round and told me to switch to Virgin Media. Now I am using my neighbours wifi which is further away yet still FASTER. I have to wait for four days till the guy come to fix it. Laughable.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“price not guaranteed”

Written on: 15/04/2019 by Perkinsbs290 (1 review written)

I recently renewed my sky broadband subscription. When I renewed, the Sky representative assured me that the monthly price quoted would not be increased for the duration of my contract so I went ahead and renewed. Sky then went ahead an INCREASED my subscription. When I complained stating that I was assured the price would not increase they pointed out the small print in the contract which allows them to increase my payments. I have therefor been miss-sold the contract as there would have been Sky competitors with a much higher review rating and at a cheaper price especially taking into account cash-back offers. But am unable to get the price quoted because of the small print in the contracts. Buyer Beware that Sky Can-and-Will increase the subscription price once the cancellation period has expired irrespective of the price originally offered! This goes some way to explaining the terrible review rating received from existing Sky customers.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

Written on: 04/10/2018 by imnotapheasantplucker (1 review written)

We had Sky broadband for a year. The connection was OK within the room that contained the router but the signal constantly cut off in all other rooms of the house. I bought two Sky boosters to try to improve the signal but they were completely useless. I live in a modest semi-detached house, so it's not as if I have a large mansion. I phoned Sky to complain, and they were helpful enough to send me a new router but this was just as useless. In the end, I terminated the service a few weeks before the end of the 12-month tie-in, and they had the audacity to keep charging me for the remainder of the contract and stated that the signal issue would be the same with any other broadband provider. WRONG! We moved to BT Infinity, and it has been an excellent product - fast and with a reliable connection all around the house. I bought a BT mini-Hub as a booster for the rear of the house, and it works perfectly. My understanding is that the hardware within the Sky routers is a decade out of date.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service in the world”

Written on: 21/09/2018 by Lopezlq29 (1 review written)

Sky broadband in several words cuts of regular, freezes, cuts in and out, have had engineer's call out many times there useless. Gave me what he said was new router. Turns out it was second hand and broken two out of the 4 ports had faults useless. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES GO WITH SKY BROADBAND may be fibre would be better

Imnotapheasantplucker's Comment

Written on: 04/10/2018

I completely agree with you. We had Sky broadband for a year. The connection was OK within the room that contained the router but the signal constantly cut off in all other rooms of the house. I bought two Sky boosters to try to improve the signal but they were completely useless.
I live in a modest semi-detached house, so it's not as if I have a large mansion.
I phoned Sky to complain, and they were helpful enough to send me a new router but this was just as useless.
In the end, I terminated the service a few weeks before the end of the 12-month tie-in, and they had the audacity to keep charging me for the remainder of the contract and stated that the signal issue would be the same with any other broadband provider. WRONG!
We moved to BT Infinity, and it has been an excellent product - fast and with a reliable connection all around the house. I bought a BT mini-Hub as a booster for the rear of the house, and it works perfectly.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting service”

Written on: 12/09/2018 by 1947Dickey (1 review written)

I would never recommend Sky to any person, WHATSOEVER! It takes me 2 and a half hours just to ask them how to place 2 routers.  If you want good internet, go elsewhere, because even for a gamer like me and others, Ethernet won't get you no where.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“service and systems run by sky a shambles”

Written on: 15/08/2018 by fgardiner (2 reviews written)

I have been with sky more than 12 years. Over the past two years I have never experience the attitude " a sale as more than important than the expected quality" they all speak nice but many are geared to being useless with regard to performance. The automated service is terrible and a risk to your health trying to get into their system In addition I was informed that sky finance management ( accounts section ) refuse to speak to a customer. In my opinion gone from very good to an absolute joke. Last year I decided to take 2 sims for a mobile one for my wife . They sent 13 sims over 3 weeks none could be activated in our two new phones . they sent over 30 emails to me and I spent just under 14 hours in the above period trying to resolve the issue. Finally I call it a day and went back to EE. This past week although having broadband and phone I called to discuss tv and sports . I was asked to enter my debit card details via the phone and I was asked to redo the details as it did not go through which I did, again t did not go through. I was advised they would check it out and call me back the next day which they did. I was advised it still did not go through £20 to install the tv and sports package. They asked if I had a credit card and could I put these details in as it may be the debit card. On completion again it would not go through and I was advised that it would take about three days for an internal investigation as it appears to be a GLITCH in their system tomorrow will be 5 days since this farce and today both of my backs indicated that sky requested £20 twice from Santander and 1 x £20 from my credit card company. I am left again sorting out a mess and poor communication from sky and to resolve if the money is removed from my account £60 instead of £20. I am becoming angry and seriously will not accept this standard of internal issues and the usual sell and forget attitude by sky staff. Also during the recent upgrade requested my internet and phone be upgraded for another year. I will cancel ALL tomorrow if I find I am in the same position waiting for sky to sort this out. It seems looking at the performance of sky this will end up ugly and I may need a positive outcome or I may need to consider legal action

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible”

Written on: 31/07/2018 by TrystanNeal462 (1 review written)

Despite a large advertising campaign saying how good the signal strength is, it doesn’t even reach upstairs. It is awful. Unless you do all your internet browsing stood next to the router, then don’t use sky. To make matters worse, I have a wired in network with four Ethernet cables running to different parts of the house. The Sky Router only has 2 external ports. I have had to install a mini switch to overcome the issue. To sum up the Sky router is terrible, whilst I hate to say it, the BT router that I had previously was far superior.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute trash.”

Written on: 25/05/2018 by ByteArrays (1 review written)

I cannot do anything with this internet, I'm currently on the highest plan but yet I still 2 - 3 bar. I would never recommend Sky to nobody, they just don't care and honestly they don't deserve any respect or anything like the sorts. Every "game" I try to play, I cannot do so, any video I try to watch, I cannot do so, anything just ends up lagging and just not working on me. For the final time, I would not recommend sky to anybody, it's trash, trash, trash!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“GO ELSEWHERE”

Written on: 21/04/2018 by Judey245 (1 review written)

Truly appalling service from Sky Tv over several months culminating in virtually no tv access - on-screen, on catch-up and the planner. An inordinate amount of time spent refreshing, following instructions, waiting for live chat and other responses. In desperation, I rang yesterday to cancel my subscription. Was promised an engineer visit, new box and discounts if I agreed to new 18 months'contract (31 day cooling off period). Engineer arrived today without new box - repaired old one instead and stated that he could only fit new one in exchange; however, I was later informed by a manager that the agent who promised the new box, did not have authority to do so. I have been misled. My advice to intending customers is to obtain offers in writing before agreement. Based on my experience, I definitely would not recommend Sky.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service. The woman I spoke to was completely...”

Written on: 22/03/2018 by Claytonph429 (1 review written)

Terrible service. The woman I spoke to was completely incapable and left me waiting on the line for ages when all I wanted to do was move the address of the broadband. I am only moving temporarily but with sky it is cheaper to leave the account open as the cancellation fees are so large. When I was told that I did not need a cable laid as I was not planning to use the broadband I was told that the plan would be cancelled and then that I would have to pay the cancellation fee. Absolute no common sense used at all.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“I really thought the service was fantastic I would...”

Written on: 10/03/2018

I really thought the service was fantastic I would recommend it to a friend. They were fast, polite and ensure I was happy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★★☆☆☆

“False advertising ”

Written on: 10/03/2018

They stated online that they were offering a £75 Mastercard award with their broadband package, and then only sent a £50 award. They refused to provide the amount advertised and told me they never provide £75, it's always £50. I provided them with a screenshot of the £75 deal I signed up for. They then changed their excuse stating that they do offer £75, but I signed up to the £50 deal instead! (I didn't) They also stated that my broadband costs wouldn't increase for 12 months, but then increased the cost three months into the contract.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★☆☆☆

“wifi”

Written on: 10/03/2018

m very disappointed with Sky services. My WiFi is not working after two weeks of activation. Its been two mouths connection drop hundreds times in a day. I am not getting anywhere and it is very anoyying. Their representatives on the phone not helpful at all they keep going over the same thing over and over again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not the best ”

Written on: 03/02/2018 by DLM1259 (0 reviews written)

Tried everything that was suggested by Sky buying plug in boosters new router speaking to the tech team time after time and after months finally getting a result and that was to cancel my package. In my opinion Sky need to review their policies.if you have a problem with equipment its chargeable need an engineer its chargeable . Promised fibre optic at a great sped .....ha ha 15 meg down line ! . thanks but no thanks

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I am very disappointed with Sky services. My WiFi is...”

Written on: 28/12/2017 by sunnyhumasun (1 review written)

I am very disappointed with Sky services. My WiFi is not working after two weeks of activation. Its been two mouths connection drop hundreds times in a day. I am not getting anywhere and it is very anoyying. Their representatives on the phone not helpful at all they keep going over the same thing over and over again.

Onlyguest's Response to sunnyhumasun's Review

Written on: 12/03/2018

same happend to me !!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
overview