Suffolk Punch P17S Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4
17.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Suffolk Punch P17S - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Junk”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 78Pollock on 22/04/2023

My family have had suffolk punch mowers for 2 generations, so out of loyalty, I bought one. It is without a doubt the worst piece of garden machinery I have ever come across. It needs to be stripped and re-built at least once a year, so expect to pay for servicing every year and lose at least one weekend to cleaning the carburettor, draining the petrol, cleaning the sparkplug etc. The blade also needs to be re-set almost every time it is used and I can only get it to cut properly on one side (4 inches worth), despite having it sharpened professionally. It has removed any pleasure from gardening. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Utter junk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have only had my suffolk punch sk17 petrol mower for...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/08/2009

I have only had my suffolk punch sk17 petrol mower for 3 months. it miss fires all the time no matter where the choke is set or the throttle. its shaking its self to bits. i have been told that petrol over 30 days old is no good.
I cant believe that is the problem. can any body help?????.
The blade needs constant adjustment for no reason.
I would not advise anybody to buy this make of lawn mower with the kawasaki engine.
my old suffolk punch with the briggs and straton engine ran for 15 years without any engine problems what so ever. you have been warned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I think the Suffolk Punch P17S is poorly made, first 2...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by jan wagenaar on 25/05/2009

I think the Suffolk Punch P17S is poorly made, first 2 years it was ok, then it lost the drive to the rear cylinder and had to have some modified parts fitted. There are a large number of plastic parts fitted which are simply not up to the job. I have over the several years I have owned the machine spent a lot of time adjusting and replacing parts. It seems to me the machine has been priced at a premium for a poor quality. The parts for what they are quite expensive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to 462607_jan wagenaar's Review

Written on: 17/07/2011

Agree 100%, Replaced the drive shaft pinion to rear cylinder four times,and it has now gone again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The only classic cylinder machine on the market under ...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Roy Andrews on 11/02/2008

The only classic cylinder machine on the market under '£500.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The gear system badly lets this otherwise reliable...”

★★★☆☆

written by berry7alan7 on 22/09/2007

The gear system badly lets this otherwise reliable mower down. I did think of replacing the Suffolk Punch P17S Petrol Cylinder Lawn Mower with the dearer ATCO model, but the gear system appears to be identical. The old chain drives were far superior, but then again, the company would lose millions of pounds in sales of useless plastic gears. As it is, it is the consumer that loses out every time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Overall the Suffolk Punch P17S Petrol Cylinder Lawn...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by briantal on 27/03/2007

Overall the Suffolk Punch P17S Petrol Cylinder Lawn Mower is very poorly made but it is very difficult to find an alternative petrol cylinder mower in the price range. It would be better if it was slightly more expensive if the quality could be improved.

I have had two of these mowers and would not recommend them. Whilst the second one does start better (after electronic component replaced) they have both been constituently unreliable. Shame really because when it works I quite like it but frustration kicks in too frequently.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Sterlingman on 17th April 2015 Report this content
Started first time after last using it, but it was lumpy running as though it was choking itself. Had to alter revs to try and get it running less lumpy. Now it won't start, any ideas why? Thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview