Cinema Paradiso www.cinemaparadiso.co.uk Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Cinema Paradiso www.cinemaparadiso.co.uk
★★★☆☆
2.6
42.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cinema Paradiso www.cinemaparadiso.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Cinema Paradiso www.cinemaparadiso.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“0 Stars ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by NesWarwick on 15/06/2021

If I could give 0 stars I would. Signed up for free trial, no DVD turned up until AFTER trial period finished and £10 been taken. Two further monthly payments were collected even though cancellation was immediately requested. Numerous emails have been completely ignored. Shirty company, shirty service, shirty attitude!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“tv series”

★★★☆☆

written by NormanLawn on 02/07/2020

I wouldn't recommend for tv series. I received and returned the first disc of 'the Tin Star' and am still waiting for the second 11 weeks later despite raising this delay with customer service. A good job it's not game of thrones, at this rate watching the complete set would take 7 years!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Far too slow”

★★☆☆☆

written by 310Schmidt on 19/01/2018

Good library and good website. But turnaround is far too slow. Makes a nonsense of getting the many-as-you-want rate as you wont get more than the budget level. Too bad.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“I have been using this company for several years and...”

★★★★★

written by on 06/01/2018

I have been using this company for several years and they are marvellous. The turn around is extremely fast and the choice of DVDs is incredible. Every time I have suggested a title, it has been bought (if it exists for use in the UK). When I have had queries, they have been answered promptly and efficiently. If I report a problem with a disc, an alternative disc is sent out on the same day. On the odd occasion when the postal service has been slow, then Cinema Paradiso have sent out my next disc anyway before they received the previous one. You can even freeze your account for up to 13 weeks in any year, and apparently you can cancel at any time - but I've never wanted to do that. All in all, it is an amazing service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Exellent alternative to lovefilm.com”

★★★★★

written by Alan1978 on 11/11/2017

I had a subscription with lovefilm.com but they recently closed down...I found this service by a google search. I am extremely impressed as i have a 3d tv and was finding it hard to find another service like lovefilm for 3d movies. I have nearly finished my trial but i will be signing up for monthly subscription. highly recommend!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Happy with their service”

★★★★★

written by Steelecf477 on 05/09/2017

I can say that I'm happy with Cinema Paradiso, I have been using them for the past year and I like their extensive selection of films. I pay £12 a month, I get two discs at a time, the discs are not scratched and arrive relatively quickly. Value for money is alright. Their website is fast and easy to navigate. It's very simple to create new lists and to add films to them. The only downside I see is there's no phone number on their website, in case I need to contact them. The only way to get through is via email and I personally prefer to pick up the phone and talk to someone, it's much quicker. Overall great experience, I would definitely recommend them to friends and family!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Only good news!”

★★★★★

written by on 17/08/2017

Anybody would think I'm being paid to write this, as it appears at odds with most other reviews. Pluses: Best collection of films available- Extremely important to me Not expensive Only had three duff dvd's in 3 years No delays in actioning changes Minuses: None Enjoy!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful Stay Clear”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 31/07/2017

Awful service. I signed up for Unlimited 2 Discs package and the following day I was sent 2 discs from my list, my list was 20+ titles and the bottom 2 was sent (pointless having priority list if they are not evening using it to send titles you want in order) I returned these 2 discs which the system showed as received but almost 2 weeks later they have not sent anymore out. (their own terms even state they send out next ones on same day they receive) I used the sites contact forms to message them twice yet no response at all. They have no phone contact so I even messaged via social media they just delete the posts. Other things i noticed is 20% of the titles they have listed on the site they do not even stock they just have SAVE or you add them and then status shows as Limited Stock pr long wait. I was a member few years ago back then they did hold off sending discs like they put a hidden limit on your account so you wont get more then 10 discs a month even when on unlimited package. Last thing they do not even work on Saturdays what is that about? this makes no sense at all the post runs on that day even if they only accepted discs coming in it's misleading calling it month service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Best choice and service on the market”

★★★★★

written by Graveswg448 on 15/02/2017

Having returned back to CP after many years with LoveFilm, it was a rhapsody! Cinema Paradiso have an amazing customer service, great choice of films and for me what was important was that they offer huge variety for 3 different generations in my family! Would highly recommend to everyone!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service”

★★★★★

written by Swambi on 05/02/2017

In view of some of the negative comment I have to say that I have been using Cinema Paradiso for years and the range of titles and level of service just gets better. Post and return is by Royal Mail first class so is fast and if you have problems such as defective disks or postal issues I have found their service impeccable. You can also list DVDs you would like them to obtain and they show forthcoming DVDs (& blu-rays) which you can add to your list ready for release.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“All the recommendation ”

★★★★☆

written by Hollisbb324 on 08/11/2016

After a few years of pause, I returned to Cinema. They increased the number of titles and their service is much much better. Website design is great. Shipping is better and also costumer service is improved. I definitely recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent selection of films”

★★★★★

written by johndurham on 08/03/2016

Was with LoveFilm for many years, but since Amazon took over the number of new film-releases on disc has reduced - Amazon are more interested in selling downloads. The choice of new films is far better on Cinema Paradiso and the turnaround for sending out discs is quick (dispatched on day of receipt).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No Problemo”

★★★★★

written by zjMoss343 on 17/10/2015

We have been a member of Cinema Paradiso for over 2 years and think there service is excellent. No problems to report.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“terrible service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alannahn81 on 19/01/2015

I have used love film and amazon for a while with no real problems but thought i would try this mob, i wish i hadn't. Disks take 2 days to be delivered and 2 days at least for them to receive so turn around is very slow compared to others. i also found i didn't get the disks i wanted most of the time. The crowning glory was when i cancelled they debited £20 saying that i hadn't signed a form for 2 disks that got lost, although the did fill in a form online. They will not refund this money so i will be reporting them. They just hide behind some term in their T&C's, Avoid at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely First Class English (UK)Based DVD Rental...”

★★★★★

written by mrcpudsey on 20/12/2014

I have been a member of this fine English DVD rental company after several years with a major rival who sold its ass to American faceless giant Amazon. There is simply nothing to beat the first class service and the amazing choice of films available at Cinema Paradiso. Especially but not exclusively for world cinema. I have been unable to find any other organisation that can rival its choice. The service is efficient and I feel the guys at Cinema Paradiso go that extra mile. I wrote to them earlier this year asking them to consider a specific title. They replied by saying it was ordered and that they had added it to my rental list. Delighted does not begin to describe it. They are slightly more expensive than Lovefilm but you pay your money and take your choice in this life. I highly recommend them as a very happy and satisified customer. Mr C Pudsey Yorkshire.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great Service”

★★★★★

written by MuddyFunker on 27/11/2014

From what I have experienced over the last few months I think the score for this service is very misleading. I have nothing but praise, there is a great selection of movies and box sets, I'm paying £12 a month for unlimited discs but 2 at a time. They arrive promptly in easy to open and reuse packaging. The website is clear and so simple to use, adding and moving list around is a doddle. Also good is the auto emails to tell you what they have received back and what is being sent out. Only a couple of times films have been substituted if they are new releases, my assumption is these go to customers that have been with the company longer which would be fair enough to me. I wouldn't normally write a review but I love the service and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends or family. I've not had a reason to contact anyone as discs have all been perfect so I can't comment on this. Way better than having to fork out 80 odd quid for an amazon prime account just to allow you to use lovefilm. These are the guys you want to be with!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Trilly's Response to MuddyFunker's Review

Written on: 15/12/2014

Thanks for the feedback as been looking for a replacement for Lovefilm and appreciated the positive feedback. Too often sites like this just find them selves reporting just the negative stuff.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service”

★★★★★

written by wdfan on 24/09/2014

Cinema Paradiso are a great DVD rental service. As soon as I send discs back new ones are sent the same day. I get through about 4 discs per week. You may have to wait a few weeks to get the most popular new release films but the way I see it if you really need to see a film as soon as it's out go to the cinema. There are so many films and TV series in their collection there is always something to watch. I hope this company keeps going for many years as they provide me with hours of entertainment at a fraction of the cost of say Sky Movies.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Contacting them a nightmare”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RorySnyder113 on 28/08/2014

Been a customer of the DVD by post system for a while and been trying to update my payment details, and their website doesn't work, not allowing you to update the card, even though I've tried five times so you cannot amend the details that you wish to maintain your payments on. Try to contact them, there is no phone number? This does make you wonder why and when you see the terrible customer service that you receive. You know why. I emailed somebody asking for help, and asking for a phone number so I could discuss this with somebody, and the only responses we only deal with by email, so why don't you email us. I sent five emails and haven't received the courtesy of a response. Nothing from them. Obviously not interested. So I've cancelled the account and go to another company who can be bothered to talk to me. I would suggest avoiding this company all costs is not interested in customer service just another one of those companies who give lip service to customer service, but have no intention of delivering it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“A satisfied customer!”

★★★★★

written by Sue456 on 16/07/2014

I thought I'd add my own experience to the rather sorry tale of reviews here. I joined Cinema Paradiso at the end of 2011 after the collapse of OutNow Entertainment - I was actually a customer of their white label service for the Lidl discount supermarket chain, known as Lidl Movies. Since then, some two-and-a-half years ago, I've been very satisfied with Cinema Paradiso. The free trial went well and I joined on the 3 disc unlimited service and I've had several hundred discs from them. The selection is comprehensive with many foreign language titles and an excellent choice, including new titles that seem to be available immediately on release. There has never been a problem with my billing. I have never received the wrong disc. Turnround is pretty good, almost always the same day the previous discs are received back. That's not to say that I haven't had a few minor niggles: - I've had a few scratched / unplayable discs (but not as many as with Outnow/Lidl) but these have always been promptly replaced. - The company only operates Monday-Friday so if you post something back on Friday you won't get a new film until the next Tuesday at the earliest. - They don't give a contact phone number - but then the few times I've emailed them I've got a prompt response, although some do seem just canned text. - If you're a heavy user, it's possible to get penalised and be forced to wait an extra day for the next film. I'm retired so can get through many discs - but this situation seems to have eased the longer I've been a member - Some films (mostly older ones on DVD or 'special editions') come on 2 discs. The company count each disc as a separate item, so it's possible to get a film spread across more than one mailing, which seems a bit silly. - As with any postal service, delivery at Christmas is subject to delay. I have now taken to 'freezing' my subscription over the Christmas / New Year period because otherwise I would be paying for the service but not receiving any discs. ...but these are all fairly minor points. Perhaps I'm a bit of a Luddite, but I prefer films on disc to a streaming service, and from what I've seem of Netflix at friends and relatives the choice, which at first glance seems wide, is only a fraction of what any decent rental service has especially in the case of foreign language films or anything slightly unusual. The price is fair - but on this plan you do need to make constant use of the service. Certainly compared to current cinema prices it's a bargain, but could work out more expensive that some of the streaming services. The company also offer a 'pay as you go' option but I've not tried that. As far as other users' unflattering comments about the service go, I honestly haven't experienced the same problems. If I had I'd most certainly say so! I'm a satisfied customer. Hope this info helps someone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not legit”

★☆☆☆☆

written by IzabellaHolden on 09/07/2014

We signed up for the two week trial and got to the credit card info... Put it in, and it just kept refreshing to asking for the info again and again... so far as we can tell they are storing our credit card info... (this is why we use a separate bank account for online transactions... easy to control money SUPPOSED to be going in and out they wont be taking a cent from us...) stay away... not legitimate... IDK where these people who are getting DVDs are saying they are getting them from when you cant even get past their sign up for trial page...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview