The Ruffwell Inn, Thorverton Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Ruffwell Inn, Thorverton - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Evening meal”

Written on: 09/07/2015 by JosieVanhorn (5 reviews written)

Enjoyed a Roast at this place,the meat was tender and, as usual, there was a wide choice of delicious vegetables.Staff were efficient but friendly and helpful, despite it being very busy! Price was a little high we thought .We would recommend this venue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The staff & owner are very friendly the cariverys...”

Written on: 15/04/2014 by Salvador351 (1 review written)

The staff & owner are very friendly the cariverys are excellent & such good value for money. I have not found a restaurant to match !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Why all the bad reviews, are we talking about the same...”

Written on: 26/08/2012

Why all the negative comments? Could it have anything to do with the way you approach the staff? My wife and I have eaten at the Rufwell on countless occasions over the past couple of years. Rarely have we had a meal we have not been entirely happy with, and the staff are mostly pretty friendly and helpful, but on occasions over worked. The carvery 99% of the time is excellent although nearly always the same. It would be nice to occasionally see lamb on the menu and a better choice of vegetables. This has been mentioned but falls on deaf ears. Prices are reasonable but like most places creeping up, sweet portions are far too big, which if smaller could also be cheaper. Mentioned, but again falls on deaf ears! Nice choice of beers and generally pleasant surroundings with occasional live music entertainment. We would recommend The Rufwell to anybody, and the place is usually very busy which surely speaks for its self. People are too quick to run a place down but the majority who are fully satisfied rarely say so on this type of website. Mr & Mrs Satisfied Customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“not good food”

Written on: 04/07/2012

we went into the ruffwell just after lunch time the carvery was still on it all looked very drynot many potatoes hardley any veg not enough for one leave alone two so we decided to have lasange my lasange was so runny ineeded a spoon to eat it im sure it was left over bolonaise there was one layer of pasta with cheese on the top a very poor i can do much better myself i am not a trained chef we would not go there again the service was very slow

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant”

Written on: 12/04/2012

Don't listen to the other reviews. Ruffwell is the best restaurant around by far, the interior is very cosy and pub like, the staff are helpful and friendly and asked if we enjoyed our food which we replyed 'deffintly'.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Avoid This One”

Written on: 24/03/2012 by aaron.evans93 (2 reviews written)

The Ruffwell Inn didn’t live up to my expectations. Frankly speaking, I was disappointed. I didn’t enjoy the food at all. Moreover, their staff didn’t serve us well.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shambles From The Moment We Arrived”

Written on: 19/03/2012 by bmrcsr (2 reviews written)

We were booked as a party of 18 for Mothers Day. When we arrived we were told they weren't quite ready for us but to have a drink at the bar and they would call us in which wasn't a problem however, when our table was ready we found that they had only set places for 14 people but this was sorted out by the chef who dragged another table along and placed on the end of our seats. All of us except a couple people had the carvery although one of the people who didn't have carvery found the menu to be very poor and limited after being to be told we ain't got no gammon. No sooner had we all gone up and got our carvery the chef may as well of pushed the last person along as he was clearing everything away and then turned some of the lights out so we sat trying to eat our food with barely any light. After eating our main course a young lad came and asked if we wanted sweets and told us the choices. My niece decided on strawberry cheesecake but when it arrived it clearly wasn't what she ordered so she politely said can she change it for something else to which she was told yes of course. She went out to the bar area to look at the sweets board only to find that the lad who had said it was fine to change the sweet was running her down to another member of staff. When confronted over this he denied saying anything although another member of our party was not happy with this and complained to the manager who said that the lad had told her he had apologised which was a lie. After the manager was told about the culmination of things that had happened that night she did knock the price of the sweets off our bill although the apology from that rude boy never happened. We will Never go the the Ruffwell again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Booking service very poor”

Written on: 04/09/2011

Rang to book. Very unfriendly and quite rude. Food was quite good last time but they've just lost our custom. Again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointing - after two really good meals”

Written on: 17/08/2011

We took some Maltese friends to eat there recently for a celebration. Three of us had the Carvery and one a steak............ sadly the meal was extremely pedestrian and our friends commented that it was the worst meal they had eaten in England: not exactly a glowing testimonial! We based our visit on our two previous meals there when the service was excellent and the food well cooked and well presented. We left, feeling somewhat sad that what had been anticipated as a happy occasion had become a reason for apology. We will be eating elsewhere in the future. It is hard to say under what category our food should be listed; it is also difficult to say how often we have eaten there on a regular basis since our three visits have not been at regular intervals.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“mothers day family get together, what a disaster,...”

Written on: 04/04/2011

mothers day family get together, what a disaster, seating was arranged next to carvery table so ques of people all round use, meal was basic no verity of vegetables, would never waste my time and money again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“we visited here on spur of the moment as wanted to...”

Written on: 22/03/2011

we visited here on spur of the moment as wanted to see if it was as good as the owners previous establishment near sidford. The place was packed but they still found us a table within 3 mins on a very busy sunday lunchtime. We had the carvery and this was an excellent choice. cooked to perfection only wish that they had lamb as well that day. The barstaff that served us was a young chap and made us feel welcome and special straight away, nothing was too much for him. This visit was on the 13th march and I was that pleased with the service and quality of food that I am returning this week to take my mum there as a treat . many thanks to the staff and chefs at the ruffwell.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent food to our table within 10 minutes, good...”

Written on: 23/01/2011

Excellent food to our table within 10 minutes, good value, happy staff, could not ask for anything else to be better. Will return for sure !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Visited this place for a 50 th birthday nice decor,...”

Written on: 21/01/2011

Visited this place for a 50 th birthday nice decor, but when I went to order steak for myself and crispty belly pork for my wife which where 2 of the menu meals was told they had run out of both? This was on a Saturday evening, I then asked for a different steak to only be told that was sold out to! I find it unbelievable that a restaurant can run out of not just steak on a Saturday night but 3 of a fairly short menu meal, chefs specials I can understand but not menu meals.when I asked the manager what was going on his only answer was.......we have been hit hard today? HELLO it's a Saturday you should be busy. I gave up and brought chicken on the way home. No one said sorry and found this level of services outrageous needless to say will never go there again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Went for lunch couple of weeks ago with a friend. Very...”

Written on: 02/11/2010

Went for lunch couple of weeks ago with a friend. Very clean, very tidy, food was lovely - homemade lamb curry and a scampi & chips. Nice salad with the scampi which was wholetail and good portion sizes. All together a really nice pub lunch. Going for the carvery today. Good luck guys!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Congratulations on a fabulous Halloween party!! This...”

Written on: 01/11/2010

Congratulations on a fabulous Halloween party!! This pub is getting better every week. We bring more friends and relatives along each time who also love it. There is always going to be an odd customer who does not like something but everyone I bring along goes back! Staff great, food good and a great atmosphere with cosy fireside sofa etc. Love it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID THIS PUB! ”

Written on: 31/10/2010

AVOID THIS PUB!
The ruffwell inn in thornverton had advertised a kids halloween party we went as did maybe 30 other families with children all dressed up and excited.
We asked a member of staff where the party was she had no idea.
We asked the owner and she shrugged and walked off

it was all false just to get people to turn up and spend money

the food was poor left for too long under the heat lamp i gauge a pub on the quality of the chip and these were rubber

and the wait at the bar once the smelly regular had pushed to the front of the wait because he knew the barmans name the glass had lipstick on it AVOID THIS PUB

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Second time going since the new management. Hard to...”

Written on: 31/10/2010

Second time going since the new management. Hard to rise from the disasterous previous owners, but new management friendly, accommodating and a massive improvement. Food excellent, good variety, well cooked and delicious. Went on a very busy night, but still had good service. Only criticism, wine a bit on the pricey side, but meals good value. We will be going again and recommending to friends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“First time visit to The Ruffwell at Thorverton last...”

Written on: 16/10/2010

First time visit to The Ruffwell at Thorverton last evening since the reopening. I had the carvery - meat was good but had obviously been there sometime as top pieces were dry which they tried to hide by putting the dry side down on the plate - the roast potatoes had probably been out all day and were dreadful and the yorkshire puddings were very dry. The veggies had obviously been out all day as well. Another party member had the gammon steak which he said was good and was obviously cooked fresh but it was a small piece both meals were over £8 which was expensive for what we had.
If you go do not have carvery unless you go when it has been first put out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Visited the Ruffwell Inn the other day and found it to...”

Written on: 28/09/2010 by Victoriab (1 review written)

Visited the Ruffwell Inn the other day and found it to be a great place. The staff were really friendly and the food was good too. Well worth a visit and i will definitely be going back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Wonderful. Nothing more to add, the new management and...”

Written on: 27/09/2010

Wonderful. Nothing more to add, the new management and staff have really worked hard to make the place a friendly well kept establishment. I had a wonderful meal and could not fault the food at all. A nice selection, from a newly created menu. Lets hope the curse of The Ruffwell has finally been lifted and the good service and food continues.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview