CarShop, Northampton Reviews

Click here if this is your business
CarShop, Northampton
★★★☆☆
3.2
65.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
CarShop, Northampton - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for CarShop, Northampton

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Don't waste your time.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by rnPayne247 on 13/01/2024

Where shall I begin with this one….. please avoid at all costs!! Firstly, we were not fully informed of the price guarantee as were told on our initial visit if we found a car cheaper on Auto Trader it would be matched. After finding a cheaper deal we were then told it was out of a certain radius which was not presented to us on the first visit. We were not contacted when told we would be which is not great communication. I finally received a belated call to say the car was ready. When I asked if the paintwork on the door had been done and the seats had dried out where the window had been left open, I was told yes it had and was ready for collection. We therefore visited only to find the paintwork had not been done. They were apologetic and did arrange for this to be done the same day but this extended the length of time we were there. We asked for the one day's insurance we had paid extra for only to be told when going through the long process that they could not insure us and so we had to arrange our own insurance! One of the reasons for getting the advantage cover was that this was included. I therefore arranged my insurance on my phone and when I had completed this process was told there was no log book so the car could not be taxed online. We were told we would need to go to the post office which was a 20-minute drive and apply for a vehicle registration certificate. It was 5:20 by this point and the only offer given was that someone could drive us there to do it. I also noted there was a £25 fee for doing this which I am guessing would be payable by us even though we were not told at any time that there was no log book with the car. It was even suggested by one member of staff who worked there that we could take the car with us and go to the post office on the way home! So, they expected us to drive an untaxed car home with two young children, not impressed at all. I would like to point out that after I sent an email to them, I did get an apologetic response and my deposit back but this wasted a week of my time. I would not use this company again and would certainly not recommend them. I am glad to say I have since found a new car and the service received from that company was second to none so my faith has been restored but not with the Car Shop, Northampton.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Steer clear”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rachd08 on 22/02/2020

Would never, ever recommend. My husband purchased a car on finance for me just 4 weeks ago from Cardiff branch. The staff were very friendly and helpful on the day. But today a issue arose with the car and that’s when things have gone downhill fast. The person at customer support bad attitude, unsympathetic, unhelpful rude and didn’t have a clue (apparently the underneath of a car is cosmetic???). A person at Cardiff branch granted was a little better but nowhere near like the branch was previously (apparently 24 years experience and he mis diagnosed a fault on photos when a mechanic at reception at a well know chain garage without looking just by going from my description took seconds) and less than 5 minutes up on ramps the car was diagnosed (reception spot on correct) and fixed. Worst part not ONCE did car shop apologise NOT ONCE even if it was insincere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Car died in under a week - No customer Service - AVOID!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by richsimpson on 13/05/2019

Buy car. Within 2 hours the engine light is on. Book appointment to be looked at - within 6 days the car is total fail. Has to be dragged onto a flat bed and recovered, organised by them? No - by the customer!!! Seriously. Now wait for days to find out what they might do and in the meantime no courtesy car or offer to help. Unbelievably shocking service. Might repair, might not, might refund, might not..... either way it will all take 7 - 10 days! Need to make sure there is a problem first Its at times when there are problems that a company has the change to really shine. Not in this case though.They just get worse and worse.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Terrible, save yourself time & money!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by cliveg73 on 27/01/2019

Unlike other car buying websites Carshop advertise a Guaranteed amount for your car - Not the case, when I arrived they looked at the car and valued it less £300 + £50 admin fee due to damage - in this case the alloy wheels & stone chips - Please show me ANY car on the road without stone chips! However I accepted as I was there and already arranged a lift home only now there was an issue with ID even though on the booking sheet it wasn't specified under 3 months to be valid - They have small print that YOU as a customer don't. Long story short they expected me to drive home & come back again for 1 form of ID showing an address even though they had 4!!  They didn't apologise or empathise for such a waste of time & effort I wouldn't buy or sell to them - Poor customer service. They shouldn't be allowed to advertise a promise they don't keep or have small print not shown on booking sheets etc.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Quality of vehicles and after service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nicholsuw109 on 14/04/2018

I would NEVER buy a car form them again. Sales guys are OK now that they no longer swoop on you when you enter the premises. However, quality of cars is awful and quality of after service is awful. In fact, I’ve been told various stories by various individuals within the team about what work has, hasn’t been done on my car. I bought an E type Merc, and on day one of driving it any distance I identified there were electrical problem, steering issues and engine problems. Not what you expect from best part of £12K. The swapping piece was relatively easy right up to the point of them identifying I had driven c300 miles. They then tried to invoke their petrol terms which essentially meant that the first 99 miles were free. One you hit 100 miles, you were hit with a charge of £50, and for every mile thereafter, it’s 1.50 per mile……..yep £1.50!. They tried to charge me best part of £400 for driving 300 miles v’s a the reality it being c£40 for the ½ tank of fuel! After quite a struggle, they waived all but the £50, and I identified another car and ended up purchasing an A6. Again, on day one of driving any distance, I noticed a dull thudding noise in 5th and 6th gears while accelerating. Since then my car has been in the garage for 6 days and I’ve been fobbed off with stories, incompetence, and bluff just so they don’t admit there is a fault and have to fix it. In fact, on one exchange I was told the car was fixed as ‘they couldn’t find the fault’ so they ‘can’t fix what they don’t see’ – they admitted there was an issue, couldn’t find it, and suggested I drive it around until it gets worse, then they may be able to spot the problem more easily. I have to do all the chasing, and I think I’ve received 2 calls over the 6 days, one of which was trying to tell me it was merely a ‘tyre noise’! The level of incompetence is frightening, the after service is awful, and I would NEVER buy from them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Shocking”

★★☆☆☆

written by KennediColeman132 on 07/02/2018

Initially, as to be expected, first point of contact helpful, courteous and polite. Car chosen, finance agreed three month guarantee?! Collections, went to collect car, no log book, no service? Had to pay £25 for v62 which would be 'reimbursed within 7-10 days' filled in form and taxed at post office, proof sent straight away. Nothing received within 28 days, email sent, advising would be there the following day. Cheque received. Cheque had incorrect title??? Mrs instead of Mr. Bank will not deal with. Back to carshop, apologise, will be dealt with first thing in 24 hours??? Left cheque and complaint, Called 3 days later, they ask me for the cheque??? Went to carshop sat there and waited for cheque until I left. In all over 30 day turn around. Call made to advise brakes grinding, tapping from rear, clunk when Sharp breaking and whine from steering, car booked in for two days, courtesy car provided. On collection advised grinding was rust on brakes, clunking was a rear seat belt that was fastened, tapping was a heat shield, and no noise from steering. Asked for technician on pick up, asked him to rub fingers against brake discs, front and rear, agreed all pitted and scored with lip, undid rear seat belt and went for drive, sudden brake, clunk! Said would pop on ramp and have a look. Came back to advise rear pads and discs need changing? This was the grinding and clucking noise. So after an initial fob or try to fob me off with rust and seat belt, work needed doing? Car rebooked with automatic courtesy car 2 weeks later. Call received 3 days prior to appointment to advise that the car booked was "not available, we are trying to contact the customer" advised rebooked for week later and guarantee car will be available. Called this evening, for peace of mind, advised car was booked in but no courtesy car had been booked?? Passed from pillar to post, until opening hours had arrived! Not one bit happy with this company, quick to take money but dodge obligatory rights. Will be pushing for all brakes front and rear, discs and pads to be changed, ingress now to passenger brake light with water. The poorest service I have received having committed to the most expensive commitment following a house. Be warned and extremely wary

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No service book provided”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ECoskun on 28/01/2017

I purchased a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2014 and was told that the car has full service history and first time I need to service the car would be 10 months time. Since the purchase I have been chasing CarShop to provide me the service book showing the service history but 1 month passed and they failed to do so. They have sent me a word document saying when the car was serviced which is useless worth nothing. I have also purchased RAC 3 Warranty which requires you to have service history in order to be valid and I have paid over £900 for that just to find out that the car have no valid service history which makes warranty invalid. Totally unacceptable service for a purchase costed over £25k from a company with multi sites across the UK. CarShop? Never again... Well I am pursuing my options, legal if required. This is like a joke. Not a shopping from your corner shop which you would not mind. This should not have happened for a vehicle purchase from a large retail group. Shame!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“avoid like the plague”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ReaganO'Neill on 26/10/2016

this company will promise you anything to get a sale but deliver nothing if anything goes wrong they wont return your calls they just fead me lie after lie i was only given one key on collection my px was seriously devalued and after all docs were signed i was told i had no log book mot or service book whaaaat my advise is to look elsewere or if you are seriously tempted look at there feed back guess a lot of simlararity there

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Top service ”

★★★★★

written by jnRuiz385 on 31/10/2015

I was recommended to go to Carshop to get my car serviced. I called and them and was booked in, a good start as the process was quick and easy. When I took the car in I was really surprised at the welcome and the service as it was just like a main dealer. The best part though, the cost was less than half that of bmw, and on top of that all the parts are to bmw standard. They even provided a courtesy car like the dealer too. Overall a very good experience, And one I am happy to repeat.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Exceptional Service and Customer Care”

★★★★★

written by DaveStuttle on 04/09/2015

Our visit to the Car Shop at Northampton was very pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was expecting to be given the hard sell which car salespeople are notorious for but this was far from the real experience. All the staff were very helpful and tried to meet all of our needs. The whole experience far exceeded my expectations. We were given a lot of help and assistance in choosing our new car, the test drive was well conducted and the care taken over helping us source the right finance deal was exceptional. When we collected the car the help and assistance was exemplary. The car was in tip top condition and ready for us to drive away in. The price was very reasonable and and the trade in price on our previous car was very good. I have nothing but praise for the Car Shop in Northampton and would certainly go there again if I was thinking of changing my car again. However, the quality of the vehicle I purchased is still so good that changing is probably a long time in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful, DO NOT BUY A CAR FROM THESE CON-ARTISTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Figueroa225 on 13/05/2015

Before you buy a car you are subjected to constant pressure to buy extended warranties, guardex £300 to protect the seats, GAP insurance, RAC cover. When you decline these services they become aggressive and incredibly patronising. After buying a car within minutes we realised it was not fit for purpose as you could not fill up with Diesel for more than a few seconds at a time. They will do anything in their power not to return the car or give you a refund. We ended up being charged £500 for buying a broken car and trying to return it 2 days later. Their 7 day return policy is a joke. Also 1 previous owner means it has been owned by europcar for 2 years and hired out to hundreds of people. These are the worst kind of used car salesmen. DO NOT BUY A CAR FROM HERE.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear Figueroa225

I am sorry to hear that you have been left less that happy with your recent experience at CarShop.

Our Sales team and Business Specialists are able to offer an excellent range of products to complement your purchase. Whilst we highly recommend them, the purchase decision is always with the customer and I am sorry to hear that you feel your decision was not accepted with the grace that it should have been.

With reference to our 7 Day Return policy, this is subject to terms and conditions that include mileage and administration costs. If you had felt the vehicle to be faulty, CarShop would have been more than happy to have arranged with you for it to have been fully repaired.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pbroo's Comment

Written on: 12/01/2018

Having the same problem with this company. Don't pay them a penny for returning the car, it illegal for them to charge if you've had problems and or the car wasn't as sold to you. Report them to TS. If you have used finance to buy the car you are covered by the company providing the finance, contact them and tell them the issues.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Skinnyfatboy's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2016

i totally agree wanted to charge me £2 per mile plus admin charges and wont pay for the broken stereo after they agree to reimburse me now in the hands of trading standards also they had my neg feedback removed

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ top blokes”

★★★★★

written by Carverrq1991 on 10/05/2015

From finding the car we wanted to leaving with our new car was a 1 st class service from the lads in showroom 2. Keep up the good work and a big thank you

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear Carverrq1991

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great service!”

★★★★★

written by STACEYW123 on 29/04/2015

Bought my last three cars from Carshop Northampton. The choice and prices are great and the service I received was quick and professional. Will deffinately keep purchasing from them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to STACEYW123's Review

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear STACEYW123

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Couple hours search”

★★★★☆

written by 327Dillon on 06/04/2015

We had searched the web site and decided between 2 cars. Travelled down and was greeted by friendly staff. We went for test drive in both cars. We explained that this car was the second car in the household. Main purpose for the wife to commute to work and drive locally. He was very informative and explained economics of cars and this enabled us to make a final decision. We were then introduced to finance assistant. Who was very thorough and precise on all documents. Very knowledgable and professional with a friendly manner. It was then time to transfer to collection point. Yes we were driving home in our new car after a couple hours! Well considering we were all excited and it had been a long day, travelling down, deciding on car, making it legal,to get to the final stage and our new car was being valeted. What a bombshell ...miserable staff at desk. No eye contact. Asked if we had been given an envelope???what envelope but all paperwork was on desk(they couldn't see it).Heard the female call a member of staff "a tat". I am very liberal just kept thinking if it had been an elderly couple/ young family.Went from one extreme of excellent customer service and very attentive staff to the complete opposite. Would have thought it was another company. Luckily we drove off in our new car home Happy!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear 327Dillon

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was overall a positive one and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

We will feedback on your comments with regards collection of the vehicle to ensure that this is not repeated, apologies that you witness this and were dissappointed.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great car, great team”

★★★★★

written by LPap10010 on 30/03/2015

Made an appointment to see a Corsa, when went to their site the car was ready and had been cleaned and they had assigned a salesman - Romeo to me. We went out in the car and I liked it (I had driven one elsewhere before) so I proceeded. I did not need much convincing but I felt that Romeo got the right balanced between attentiveness and backing off to allow me to decide myself. I was waiting for some money to come through so I just paid a £300 deposit to secure it and agreed that I would come and get it a week later. When I came back the car was ready at the agreed time and it was just a case of paying the balance, completing the paperwork and driving away. I liked the way you pass through their process easily, it was all very organised.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to LPap10010's Review

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear LPap10010

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great choice”

★★★★★

written by Badgersmum on 30/03/2015

We chose this dealership as it was close to us and having looked on their website we new there was a wide variety of vehicles. Open minded and not sure what we wanted, upon arrival we were greeted at the entrance by a charming young lady who explained everything and showed us where to park our car. We were the introduced to a young guy, looked after us from there on. He found us the exact car that met all our needs, let us both my husband and I drive it, nothing was to much bother, would recommend anyone to take a visit, even if you have no idea what sort of car you are after, they have most brands and models and will help you as long as you want until you have found what you want. They even gave my husband and I time to discuss things alone. Not like most dealerships. Came away impressed and with a new car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to Badgersmum's Review

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear Badgersmum

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very satisfied”

★★★★★

written by Lewisthomas on 30/03/2015

Purchased a Audi A3 last week from the showroom at northampton, All the staff were friendly and polite, once we purchased the A3, we were given a date to collect it and when we arrived we there less than 30 minutes before we were driving home.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to Lewisthomas's Review

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear Lewisthomas

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Outstanding, Relaxed Service”

★★★★★

written by arsenalgunner on 30/03/2015

The service we received from the sales team was outstanding, from the moment we arrived there was no pressure, I will be reccomending Car Shop to my Family and will be back to change the wifes car soon. The process is in sections, you choose your car with the sales team and then get introduced to the Business manager and then finally to the collection department from where you collect your car, but the whole thing runs smoothly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to arsenalgunner's Review

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear arsenalgunner

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Much better than I expected”

★★★★★

written by sarahwelham on 24/03/2015

Called in to the Northampton branch last week to find a new car. All the staff seemed friendly and we ended up spending most of our time with a guy. As i had no clear idea about what i wanted he had to help me narrow down my selection. After much discussion and many test drives i chose a mini. Next we were passed on to another guy to sort through the finance options and paperwork. This is normally a very lengthy process but he managed to get through it in less than hour. Finally we were off to the collection point where a lady went through the final paperwork (V5 and tax) and made sure i was familiar and comfortable with all the controls before driving off.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to sarahwelham's Review

Written on: 02/06/2015

Dear Shellyo85

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fantastic showroom, helpful staff”

★★★★★

written by Shellyo85 on 24/02/2015

I first went to the Carshop in October 2014. I brought a BMW 120 diesel 60 plate 70,000 miles. I had only had the car a week before I heard a noise coming from under the bonnet. I rang the Carshop and informed them and they sent the car to a BMW specialist and supplied me with a courtesy car for 2 weeks whilst the car was being looked at. Sadly the car wasn't economical for them to repair as the timing chain was on its way out, so they asked for the car back and we choose a Golf. No issues with this car. I was so impressed with their help I went back in February 2015. We brought a Seat and wanted to exchange our car. The salesman was very helpful and the finance guy I saw was fantastic. He went over and beyond to help me out. He kept me informed of all the details and what was happening. I would definitely return again. The only slight negative was trying to get hold of someone from customer services when the BMW was in the garage. Other than that fantastic showroom and very helpful staff.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carshop Northampton's Response to Shellyo85's Review

Written on: 07/03/2015

Dear Shellyo85

We are delighted that your recent experience with us was so positive and appreciate you taking the time to feedback on it.

We hope that you are enjoying your new car, don't forget to recommend us to friends and family!

You know where to come for your when its time for a change and we look forward to seeing you then.

CarShop Northampton

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview