55 Degrees North, Portrush Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
48% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
55 Degrees North, Portrush - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“I'm quite bemused by some of the more positive reviews...”

Written on: 17/03/2011

I'm quite bemused by some of the more positive reviews on here.
I visited last summer and as it was an unusually nice day for Portrush, we decided to go for a cup of tea.
As this establishment boasts sea views,we decided to pay it a visit and enjoy the scenery etc.

Admittedly, it was rather busy in the cafe but we waited for a while to get a seat outside.
At no time did anyone mention that obtaining such a seat would depend on what you were ordering?,

We went to the counter and after some… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After a recent visit to Portrush N.Ireland with my...”

Written on: 04/09/2010 by joannapianna (1 review written)

After a recent visit to Portrush N.Ireland with my family, we decided to eat @ Cafe55 as it was the perfect location over looking the sea.

However the food/service did not reflect this.

After a very long wait for our food, which arrived after 45 min+ and to be honest with a toddler its not acceptable. When our food did arrive, we all looked at it with total with disgust, my meal looked like someone had barfed on my plate, my daughters meal was not much different. My Fathers meal was an… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“having read other reviews on 55 i was a little worried...”

Written on: 19/08/2010

having read other reviews on 55 i was a little worried about taking my family for a meal but i decided to go and try it for myself,, as we hadnt booked we were told to go down to the cafe below for the same menu, we were seated outside with a fantastic veiw , then were told to go and order our food at the till this took quite some time as the place was very busy but when the food arrived it was exelent the staff were very polite,my only complaint is we had to wait 40 mins between mains and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ate in the cafe downstairs as upstairs was a long wait. ”

Written on: 30/06/2010 by Terryff (5 reviews written)

Ate in the cafe downstairs as upstairs was a long wait.
From the very first the service was superb,
friendly and quick without being in your face.
Food was great value, I had the steak cooked rare
And it was lovely, just right. Really would recommend this
Place for great staff, good value and nice food… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Looked forward to pancakes, bacon and maple syrup...”

Written on: 23/05/2010

Looked forward to pancakes, bacon and maple syrup which were advertised as "cooked from fresh". They were cooked from fresh..fresh from a packet. Not homeamde and very small on a large plate. This coupled with the poor service layout resulting in a long wait means my last visit to this establishment. On my last visit a member of the public had to start clearing tables as nothing was being done… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Terryff's Comment

Written on: 08/07/2010

I found this review not helpful because...It moans about having food out of a packet (did the inspect the kitchens?) and paid less than £10 a head, what did they expect? Cordon Bleu?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Having eaten in an array of restaurants including...”

Written on: 17/03/2010

Having eaten in an array of restaurants including Michelin star, winners of F Word challenges or your local pub down the road. I can say 55 degrees offers good gastro style food. There is room for improve on the presentation/quality aspect, but all in all this doesnt effect the taste.
Wine list is reasonable with a fine selection of world wines to suit the dish you have chosen.
Service is excellent, staff are friendly, approachable and offer great realiable advice on the food being served as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“where do i start, 55 north, is a shambles, went there...”

Written on: 02/03/2010

where do i start, 55 north, is a shambles, went there last year just before christmas, nearly boaked on the food that was sent out its was absoulate disgrace, ur chef must be a bubble head, my girlfriend got food posioning, i was to embarrased to make a fuss while carrying my near dead gf out of the place, 2/10 over all View excelent Staff Cheeky and harrassed me and the food was over priced!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Terryff's Comment

Written on: 12/08/2010

I found this review not helpful because it was almost hysterical (nearly dead girlfriend???). Can only think this was a grudge review, doubt they ate there at all, just does not sound like the same place.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“this is the best restauant eva was very friendly loved...”

Written on: 13/02/2010

this is the best restauant eva was very friendly loved da food chef nd staf very pleasing i wanna work ere
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Went here for ther first time tonight 11 th February ....”

Written on: 12/02/2010

Went here for ther first time tonight 11 th February . Arrived on time as booked and were taken immediately to our table. Waiter was attentive but not intrusive and looked after us very well . the food was pretty good for the price ..not brilliant but tasty, well presented and speedily served...no long waits. The staff were excellent, helpful and polite and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This largely does, and costs, what it says on the tin.
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Menu was very limited. We had a considerable wait....”

Written on: 20/01/2010

Menu was very limited. We had a considerable wait. When the food eventually arrived it was horrible. My husband had steak - poor cut, badly cooked. I had sesame chicken - very soggy with what can only be described as jam for a sauce. It was vile. Not edible. I didn't want to pay but was too embarrassed to make a fuss. I would not recommend this place. Nice interior and beautiful views however the food was some of the worst I have tasted (at this kind of restaurant and the service was not good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My husband and I went to the coffee shop on Saturday...”

Written on: 19/10/2009

My husband and I went to the coffee shop on Saturday 17 October for the first time. The trays were dirty and broken. The plates were dirty. The foor was dirty. The only thing it had going for it was the view. We will not be back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Was at 55 degrees north Sunday after calling up if...”

Written on: 12/08/2009

Was at 55 degrees north Sunday after calling up if they are still doing the set menu on a Sunday, which is normally very good. The person i spoke to said yes that it was still a set menu. When we arrived we first had to wait even though we had booked a table and then it was only an overpriced carvery. We were there around 2 and it was to finish at half two. Even though they only had beef left and the Yorkshire puddings were gone as well. we still had to pay the normal price. But on top of that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“55 Degrees North - choice on menu not good ”

Written on: 07/07/2009

55 Degrees North - choice on menu not good
overpriced
food bad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My partner and I visited 55 degrees north on Wednesday...”

Written on: 19/06/2009 by whirlingd (1 review written)

My partner and I visited 55 degrees north on Wednesday 17th June 09. We had not made a reservation and expected to be turned away, however we were told that we could be accomodated if we were prepared to wait 10 minutes. We sat and chilled out by the bar with a drink until a table was available, we didn't wait long. We seen the menu from outside earlier in the day and thought the prices were maybe a little on the high side but I was prepared to pay more as I was going to propose to my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i like everything about 55 degrees north in portrush...”

Written on: 13/05/2009

i like everything about 55 degrees north in portrush it is a great place to eat the the food is lovely everything was good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“55 Degrees North is a modern restaurant with fabulous...”

Written on: 27/04/2009

55 Degrees North is a modern restaurant with fabulous views out over the ocean. Our extended family dined in this restaurant over the Easter 2009 period… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good food, gorgeous view, staff efficient but not over...”

Written on: 28/02/2009 by rcn (1 review written)

Good food, gorgeous view, staff efficient but not over the top in terms of attentiveness (in another local restaurant I was asked on 6 separate occasions if my main course was to my satisfaction). Have been coming to 55 Degrees North, Portrush since it opened and it just gets better. As a fussy vegetarian I know I will always get something good here. Teething problems such as the glacial air conditioning have been sorted. Always provides a memorable meal and dining experience. Even when… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“After a long, windy rainy and grey day we were greeted...”

Written on: 10/08/2008 by Ron Broderick (1 review written)

After a long, windy rainy and grey day we were greeted with warmth and a real Irish smile. It was the first ray of sunshine that day. The welcome was warm, friendly and made us (4) feel we were somebody special. In all fairness to the other negative comments - we arrived early and were served promptly. The meals were served quickly and as ordered. The ladies Mexican dish was delicious, and the meat for the men superb. Perhaps the first impression was the helping looked a little small for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“55 Degrees North is the first restaurant I've ever...”

Written on: 17/07/2008

55 Degrees North is the first restaurant I've ever walked out of without paying. We waited 45 minutes for two rare steaks, some fries and garlic mushrooms. My rare steak was medium at best, a hint of pink in the middle. It was returned, but only after a member of staff asked me to cut it in front of her to verify how it was cooked (oh dear). She mentioned that chef had had a few steaks returned, maybe this should have indicated something to her. Meanwhile, my wife's steak (also overcooked, but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have dined here quite often an get annoyed to read...”

Written on: 12/06/2008

I have dined here quite often an get annoyed to read such bad reviews for starters I wouldn't compare 55 to the winebar etc its a different dinning experience completely (for the better) the food is alwys good and yes portions may look small on arival but quite sufficient to eat. Who wants to leave so stuffed that you can't move. Keep up the good work an see you soon… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview