New Covent Garden Soup Reviews

Click here if this is your business
New Covent Garden Soup
★★☆☆☆
1.6
6.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
New Covent Garden Soup - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for New Covent Garden Soup

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Carrot&Coriander ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Vitacura19 on 26/01/2024

We have tried some of the soups as they were on offer. I can honestly say this soup, carrot and coriander was awful. No flavour, nothing nice at all. Very disappointed, and was expecting it to taste so much better. The chicken, mushroom, and lentil ones, was not nice either, what has happened with the soups?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst mushroom soup ever!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 21/11/2023

I love mushroom soup and this was on offer. Far from a treat, it was just a brown tasteless liquid, with lumps of mushroom - honestly, nobody wants to chew their soup! A waste of money and I won't buy again. Other NCG soups are OK but why does the cartons have to be so difficult to open? I don't know how arthritis sufferers manage.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Chicken Soup dreadful”

★★☆☆☆

written by Glutenfreeceri on 02/10/2023

I have always enjoyed Covent Garden soups, and as I am a Coeliac and they are gluten free, they were great for lunchtime. My favourite was the chicken, which I haven't eaten for a while due to the weather. I our bought a carton from Tesco this week and it has changed out of all recognition. There used to be whole (identifiable) pieces of chicken and vegetables,not any more, it was like a grey slurry. I cannot believe how the quality of this product has declined. Will never buy again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“hated the carrots in the soup, why?”

★★☆☆☆

written by hxNeal83 on 25/06/2023

tasted the lentil and smoked bacon today, it was awful, why so much carrot????? needed extra salt, chilli and lemon, awful awful soup, sooooo disappointed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Upset my stomach ignored by complaints £1 carton tomato”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SophiaKent on 11/03/2023

Just moved into area. First visit to your super store love sainsburys. Delighted to spot my tomato basil soup covent garden in cute £1 one person carton. Not had it for ages, like it as simple tomato products no cream no chilli. So within 2 days had it with sainsburys wholemeal own bread, maybe had a yoghurt or couple bananas or fruit that day too all sainsburys as a simple vegetarian grazer, so my prime food. Next morning had dash of diarrhoea proceeded by exploding diarrhoea mainly brown red bits. Today 03-02-2023 still feel sick sensitive gut at time it has upset me and my concentration working from home, Before that healthy stable guts no issues. As highly qualified with some medical knowledge think it was this some bacterial or toxin type reaction to what is a simple product. I have my receipt still in drawer, used sainsburys many years plus waitrose. So yes applying for refund but £1 is not enough as suffered angst ill from it. I don't see as busy at home alone how I could have contracted this reaction from external sources. As only outing conact in spaces of days apart from fresh air walking was pop to sainsburys. Something was wrong with it that upset me also suffered more than a £1 replacement. No dont want another covent garden product as its likely as a little sensitive its upset imbalanced my system though trying to detox it out. This product is simple easy to eat absorb no issues nothing really in it, though seems not sure was tomato puree or garlic puree in past used to be all simple real ingredients. So not a success. Also as gut unsettled purchased sainsburys £1.50 own imodium and renee settle calcium carbonate magnesium carbonate as also produced smelly gas wind and I have fantastic normal regular smell free guts lol. What do you suggest to cheer up your loyal sainsburys customer as not fun in cost of living having gut ache trying to work hard at home?? i often spent 50 80 100 in sainsbury food habitat or clothes, attach receipt proof. Have been back shop today so reminded me. Product carton is in recycling now as consumed all on day 1 person carton size portion. still feel yuck gut trying to 100 per cent detox get rid of it unique smell it produced and red bits tomato. Copy of your email to us, I hope this helps and if you need further assaintace please don't hessiate to contact us and we will do our best to help you Once again thank you for contacting us. We rely on our customers to let us know when things like this happen and I hope you have a great day. Kind regards, Top super market Careline after purchase tomato basil new covent garden soup tiny carton one person £1 size Top super market Supermarkets Ltd website help end January 2023

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Sour bitter soup plus non existent customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Daughertyho180 on 04/02/2022

Purchased my favourite flavour soup, Leek and Potato from Sainsburys on 18 Dec 21. Best before was 5th Jan 22. We had it on 4th Jan 22. There must have been a rotten leek in the mix as tasted foul! Threw it away and phoned customer service line on 5th to make them aware. Got a recording saying they would get in touch in 24 hours, nothing. Phoned again on the 10 Jan. Same message, still no response. Phoned again on 25th. Same message, still no response. They obviously don't care about customers or their wellbeing. The soup could have made us ill. Will never buy their products again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slimy lumpy texture !!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Fox451 on 01/12/2021

What a disappointment,I often make this soup and it's delicious,this was a very poor quality soup for the price.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Too watery, just too much water and too little vegetable”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HarrisonMcMahon323 on 28/04/2020

I’ve tried a couple of these soups lately, remembering them from years ago to be good. I cannot abide any of them, they are so watery now. The chicken one is too thin. The mushroom one is like tiny grated mushroom in boiling hot water. Not good value at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Horrible Covent Garden Mushroom Soup”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Emilio1982 on 12/01/2020

I used to buy this years ago, in the '90s, and it was good. It looked good and tasted wholesome and rich. I bought some today because it was on special offer at Waitrose. First thought - it doesn't look as it used to. The texture isn't nearly as appealing and there's something rather artificial about it. Then, upon serving, my husband and son both asked how much water I'd added. Answer - none. It's so so bland and unsatisfying. Really horrible and not a patch on its former self. I'll never buy a Covent Garden soup again. Not even if it's ten for the price of one. Yuk!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 6 0

“unwanted protein”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RhysAnderson258 on 15/04/2018

I purchased a carton of Covent Garden tomato soup from Asda store in Cardiff sometime in February of this year. When tiding up the fridge today (13th April) I noticed that the use by date on the carton was the 8th March so proceeded to dispose of the contents to enable me to recycle the cardboard container. On emptying the soup in the sink I noticed a black stringy object that I initially thought was part of a plant but on closer examination found it to be a spider of quite some size. I realise that these things do happen from time to time but I do feel that it needs to be brought to your attention so that appropriate actions can be taken to help prevent it from happening again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Not good”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/02/2016

Bought root vegetable variety, unpleasant look and flavour, could only manage one spoonful and that was enough. Shame as packaging and marketing and price I was expecting something delicious.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“1.2 inch bone and a ridiculous £10 voucher to...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 1956Williams on 14/05/2015

Purchased the chicken and black pepper 700 ml carton from Tesco. Upon eating suddenly felt immense pain on the side of my mouth and on my back tooth, reached in before the offending item could be swallowed and found a 1.2 inch bone in my mouth, sharp and jagged and it had scratch my inside cheek. Let the company know via Twitter, got a response of "crikey...sorry to hear that" then sent a £10 voucher as compensation and a tough luck but we don't care letter. Awaiting a response from them now after I pointed out the human throat is less an inch wide....smaller than the bone which could have torn my oesophegaus. Considering I don't even give my dog chicken bones due to their dangerous nature, I certainly do not expect such a blasé attitude when it comes to human consumption... Rubbish customer service, they admitted they only check 2 boxes out of a production line when it comes to chicken, so eat at your peril and certain,y don't give to your kids!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not what they used to be”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 22/01/2015

New Covent Garden Soups were consistently good for many years - it seems that is not the case anymore: One a few occasions now, I have bought Minestrone and Tomato Soup respectively - each time I was very disappointed by both. Since when does Minestrone include smoked bacon bits? - it is meant to be a vegetable soup with pasta! Both lacked seasoning and flavour, were poorly prepared and unpleasant to look at and of a disagreeable texture - other reviewers seem to have had similar experiences with other flavours so there's a theme!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Dont let the nice packaging fool you!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Adrianna1966 on 14/01/2015

Poor excuse for vegetable soup from the Covent Garden Soup company. Looked like chunky vomit when poured out of the packet & didn't taste much better than it looked.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“surprisingly disappointing soup from this company”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 11/02/2014

new covent garden broccoli and stilton soup is unfortunately too watery.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Yuck they are nasty”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Malcolm1965 on 09/02/2014

I purchase three different soups to try from The Covent Garden Soup Company this weekend 07/01/2014. I really enjoy soup and expected them to taste like the very best of home made but better. How wrong was I!? Potato and Leak Soup. It was course, looked like it had been roughly blended and resembled vomit when served in a bowl. My wife makes much better soup than this and she has no training! Lentil and Bacon Soup, couldn't even face trying this despite the fact that this is my number 1 choice in purchasing soup,I would rather eat this than any other. I have eaten loads of different brands over the years and really enjoyed them all. Covent Garden Soup looked like a really sloppy number 2 and went straight down the sink without passing my lips!! Need I say more. The last soup, can't remember now as having tried it it went in the bin, it was something with butternut; and carrot I think but am not sure.It tasted purely of curry which was so overpowering I could not bring myself to finish a small bowl. These soups cost me £2:80 each from my local Tesco and had I kept the receipt would have taken them back for a refund. My advice if you want the best home made soup buy your own veg etc and make your own however it turns out it will be better than Covent Garden Soup. If ever there was a company that deserved to go out of business this is it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Minestrone Soup”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 31/10/2011

Sorry to say that this one does not tick many boxes with me. The product was so heavily herbed that it might be re named Miniherbs. Not up to their usual standard at all !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“All Covent Garden Soups taste very natural and fresh....”

★★★★★

written by on 16/11/2010

All Covent Garden Soups taste very natural and fresh. They seem to use the best freshest ingredients and make lovely tasting soup. They have 23 soup flavours in there 600g cartons and also do Big and Bold soups and smaller 300g cartons of soups. They are sold in all supermarkets with Sainsbury taking all of them and Asda taking very few. The carton can be tricky to open, it being a milk carton, but i have the knack now. I have been eating these for 10 years and they are consistently good and low in salt, sugar and other stuff the tins seem to contain

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview