Lite-On LVC-9016G Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Lite-On LVC-9016G
☆☆☆☆☆
0.3
0.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Image Quality

  • Sound Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Lite-On LVC-9016G - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Lite-On LVC-9016G

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“After contacting Lite On and receiving my second...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/06/2008

After contacting Lite On and receiving my second 9016G, it was just as bad. Slow response, won't work with any of the $80.00 worth of DVD's I've tried. Now it won't even play a DVD. The company was very difficult and would not replace the second one. Paid $200, biggest mistake I'v made. Stay away from this product.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I will never by another Lite On DVD anything. DVD's in...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 23/03/2008

I will never by another Lite On DVD anything. DVD's in general are horrible, and this device just makes the experience worse. It's the most basic system I have seen, and if you want to use it for simple tape to disc transfers then take the time to learn it's little attitude problems.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“If someone gave me this unit as a present for free or...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by thedeb41 on 30/09/2007

If someone gave me this unit as a present for free or for what ever reason, I WOULD NOT TAKE IT. Stay away from this unit. Cannot depend on this unit to do timer recording.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do not buy one!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by iamdalekendall on 06/07/2007

Do not buy one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After wasting a couple of weeks of my spare time...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by oberjim on 24/10/2006

After wasting a couple of weeks of my spare time dubbing VHS tapes to DVD's, I took the Lite-On LVC-9016G DVD/VCR Combi back to Costco, and got a Panasonic DMR-EH75VS, which I should have bought in the first place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

275759_Sanz's Response to 264404_oberjim's Review

Written on: 24/01/2007

I totally agree! I heard how great and easy "Lite On" was, so I bought one. I am taking it back today to Costco. I got it all set up under my flat panel, turned it on and notice this incredible clanking noise coming from the VHS side. I found out this is normal flaw - sheesh!
<br/>
<br/>Setting up: you press the "set up" button to start setting it up internally only to find out my communication with the unit never went past the word "Hello" written on the player&#039;s screen. This would have been funny, however after 45 minutes of web search, it appears this is a Normal problem - their website even says to send the machine back if this occurs. Whatever!
<br/>
<br/>The next morning I went to call Lite On&#039;s 800 number, but low and behold it is a Toll Call now. They do not even provide a free call from their new customers. This says a lot. I will never buy their product again - waste of time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Lite-On LVC-9016G is a VHS-DVD combo unit that can...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by hollidayp1 on 23/05/2006

The Lite-On LVC-9016G is a VHS-DVD combo unit that can record DVD's from VHS tapes and VHS tapes from DVD's. It has a very good user interface and is easy to use. However, the VHS tape functions are limited, and so are the DVD functions. Although the unit performs well as a copy device from one media to the other, it is not as good as having a separate VCR and a separate DVD recorder.

A major flaw with this unit's copy function (from VHS to DVD) is that you cannot use the OTR (One Touch Recording) function once you have started copying from VHS to DVD. The problem is that you have to stop the recording manually instead of, for example, setting the OTR to stop the recording automatically after 1 or 2 or 6 hours. This is a real pain if you want to transfer only 3 hours say, of a 6 hour VHS tape. You have to hang around for 3 hours to stop the thing when you want, which is a real pain in the neck.

You are much better of with a $50 VCR and a separate $150 (or less) DVD recorder and a simple A/V cable. At least you will have a full-featured VCR, and if one unit fails you can replace it easily.

Another, and perhaps more serious problem with the Lite-On LVC-9016G (and with other Lite-On DVD Recorder models) is that it records DVD's with a very strange and troublesome format. Basically, when you look at the DVD on a computer with Windows Explorer (and other programs) you will see more than 8Gb (yes, 8 Gigabytes) of files on a 4.7Gb single layer DVD. It appears that Lite-On records extra stuff for some unknown reason that fools most Windows programs. The bottom line about this crazy format is that you cannot ever re-author or edit the DVD! The only thing you can do is make an image copy (say from DVD RW to DVD R), but the copy still shows 8Gb of files that you cannot re-author. This is the main reason that I rate the Lite-On LVC-9016G as NOT ACCEPTABLE and it should be avoided.

By the way, the same unacceptable recording format was found on the Lite-On LVW-5005 and the Lite-On LVW-1101HC1 models, and these are also NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Paul Holliday (May 2006).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nicolashimself's Response to hollidayp1's Review

Written on: 05/02/2007

I should add that I had the same problem with my Sony RDR VX 420 DVD-Player.
<br/>I bought it to transfert my movies from my VCR to DVD but I can not watch them on my computer.
<br/>I tried many programs to try read the DVD but it&#039;s impossible. This is UNACCEPTABLE! AVOID THIS DEVICE TOO. or Probably all SONY DVD Recorders.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview