Macdonald Hotels Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
14% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Macdonald Hotels - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Poor cleaning”

Written on: 28/01/2019 by Jacobs372 (1 review written)

I stayed for a long time at the Botley Park. During that time, a false fingernail right by the door greeted my arrival. During that week, it stayed there until I picked it up and took it down to reception. In the last three weeks I was there, a long blonde hair was left on the drinks tray (I stayed in the same room). I wanted to see how long it would remain there, but relocated to another hotel. A month later, I'm sure it's still there. Three times I left something in my room and until I made a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Spa break disaster ”

Written on: 24/09/2017 by Spadisaster (1 review written)

We arrived at Macdonald Botley Park looking forward to a relaxing break which our daughter had paid for as a treat. My husband was booked for a massage and I choose a manicure both at 6pm. At 5.30 the spa rang to say we had missed our treatments I pointed out that our booking form clearly stated 6pm but was told this was not what was arranged with them. No manager was available to speak to do we decided to take dinner early and try and make the best of the day. The food was appalling I had to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible services – unwelcoming staff”

Written on: 08/07/2013 by ClareMiao (1 review written)

I am very disappointed with my stay with you this weekend, mainly because of your extremely unwelcoming receptionists! I arrived at the hotel with a friend of mine at around 4pm on 6th July 2013. We went to Birmingham for a weekend break. We had booked two single rooms online for that Saturday night 5 days in advance. For some reason the two bookings were not linked together although they were booked at once using my credit card. When I checked in with my friend, the staff simply asked my name… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Leeming House Hotel”

Written on: 09/09/2012

I stayed on 8 Sept 2012 at a cost of £130 b&b - the room ( 14) was shabby, tired & in need of a serious update. The grout and tiling around the bath was loose & grubby The bath handles were dirty There wasn't a fridge, tea bags or a radio Breakfast turned out to be a buffet, self serve Coffee in your room was £4.65 plus a £3 tray charge plus a 12.5% discretionary service charge A £3 charge was added to your bill if settled by credit card. Beautiful location but very underwhelming… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We planned a weekend break and chose the Roxburgh...”

Written on: 06/04/2011

We planned a weekend break and chose the Roxburgh after a lengthy search on the internet. It looked good on arrival and staff were pleasant enough. The lift to the room, a delux room!!, was the most painful sounding lift we had ever heard with wails and bearings screaming in distress. The room was small with a kingsize bed made up of two singles and as we discovered no cover over the join so the nights were uncomforttable. Room service was aweful and hard to connect with. The service in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 04/06/2011

Please use people who can spell to do your reviews

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“We were contacted 4 days prior to our arrival at The...”

Written on: 08/01/2007 by AndreaG (242 reviews written)

We were contacted 4 days prior to our arrival at The Old England Hotel on Lake Windermere to be advised that they could no longer accommodate us due to their current refurbishments, but that they were willing to move us to one of their other hotels in the Lake District at no extra cost to us. This was not ideal as we had originaly planned to spend our time looking around Lake Windermere and the surrounding areas as we have found in the past that Windermere is the best base when in the Lakes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jam13's Response to AndreaG's Review

Written on: 09/09/2012

I completely agree with your review of the Leeming House - I stayed there just last night as a guest of a wedding party - the room cost me £130 b&b - the room was shabby, the settee was dirty, the bathroom a disgrace - no fridge, no t bags, no radio - overall a real disappointment - to add insult to injury I had to pay a £3 surcharge on top of the £130 for paying by credit card - I would NOT recommend this hotel

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Macdonald's Highland Resort at Aviemore is a beautiful...”

Written on: 12/08/2006 by edward2910 (23 reviews written)

Macdonald's Highland Resort at Aviemore is a beautiful venue, with accommodation to suit several different budgets. The accommodation was very clean and spacious. The food was excellent, well-presented and very well served. The staff could not have been more helpful, and the resort offers many facilities, from swimming to night time entertainment. Aviemore is ideally located for the Cairngorms and Inverness, and it is a beautiful part of the country… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview