Sorrento - A Taste of Italy, Stratford-upon-Avon Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Sorrento - A Taste of Italy, Stratford-upon-Avon
★★★★★
4.8
100.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sorrento - A Taste of Italy, Stratford-upon-Avon - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sorrento - A Taste of Italy, Stratford-upon-Avon

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“We were glad Pizza Express was fully booked! ”

★★★★★

written by on 31/08/2009

We were glad Pizza Express was fully booked!

Sorrento attracted our attention initially because they offered online booking, and we were delighted when our request for a pre-show table was accepted. We were further impressed when a confirmation text arrived shortly afterwards. Welcome to the 21st century!

When we turned up, we had no real idea what to expect, but it is fair to say that in every respect (except perhaps decor) Sorrento exceeded our expectations and we undoubtedly had a better meal than we would've had at Pizza Express, albeit that it was perhaps £10 per person more expensive overall. We found that Sorrento was literally next-door-but-one to Pizza Express, however, Sorrento is an intimate, traditionally decorated, family run affair.

The food was excellent quality. The Garlic Ciabatta herby and delicious. My Chicken Penne Arrabiata was comprised of perfect al-dente pasta, the tenderest melt-in-the-mouth chicken pieces and a masterfully judged chilli heat. My Mediterrano salad was perhaps a little Parmesan light, but the other contents were fresh and delicious. My wife's Chicken in creamy white-wine sauce was equally succulent, and although she liked the chips, I found that the light olive oil left a slight aftertaste. For dessert we shared a Tiramisu, which was light and creamy. The service was attentive, swift, efficient and polite throughout.

Sorrento turned "just somewhere to eat before the play" into a highlight of our day trip. Many Thanks!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2012


The staff were attentive without being in your face. The food was first class and even the wine was fantastic. We would highly recommend yyou to eat there.
N

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“An enjoyable dining evening. The cooking aroma from...”

★★★★★

written by Dino De Angelis on 12/11/2008

An enjoyable dining evening. The cooking aroma from the kitchen at Sorrento, Stratford-upon-Avon made the choice of what to eat a challenge. We will go back to enjoy the choices again. Well cooked food, fresh and tasty, very proffesional staff.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The food at the Sorrento Restaurant is definitely a...”

★★★★★

written by bombardieri on 14/04/2008

The food at the Sorrento Restaurant is definitely a taste of Italy. We were recommended to go and we were not disappointed. My fillet steak was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. My friend had the King prawns and scallops, again cooked to perfection. It is a family run traditional restaurant with proper tablecloths and napkins. It is beautifully decorated making the ambiance warm and cosy. Everyone was friendly and nothing was too much trouble, very professional staff. We will be returning in two months and hopefully will be able to sit outside on their Italian terrace. Well worth a visit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sorrento's was quite old fashioned in style but the...”

★★★★☆

written by Dan Scott on 16/03/2008

Sorrento's was quite old fashioned in style but the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The menu was not vast but there was a bit of something for everyone. Would recommend the Guinea Fowl. However all of the meal didn't live up to expectations with bland salad and under cooked steak. Overall the food was better than average but not excellent. But the service was.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adriano4's Response to 352127_Dan Scott's Review

Written on: 14/04/2008

I disagree with this review because...Sorrento Restaurant is not old fashioned. It is decorated in a classic and elegant style. It is not a bistro, they have proper table cloths and napkins. We visit Sorrento when we go to the Theatre and we find the food very interesting and tasty.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

405659_Adriano492's Response to 352127_Dan Scott's Review

Written on: 29/09/2008

I disagree with this review because... we have eaten here and enjoyed every aspect of 'eating out'. freshly cooked food, good value, friendly staff, a good combination for a lovely night out!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This is a lovely restaurant, with fresh home cooked...”

★★★★★

written by Adriano4 on 06/01/2008

This is a lovely restaurant, with fresh home cooked food. A popular locals place to eat, everyone knows everyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sorrento... A Taste of Italy in Stratford-upon-Avon is...”

★★★★★

written by Adriano4 on 12/05/2006

Sorrento... A Taste of Italy in Stratford-upon-Avon is a beautiful restaurant. The food is freshly cooked. They offer an after theatre late dinner, and they have a lovely Italian terrace.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview