Le Winters Hotel & Restaurant, Newtownards Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.5
27.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Le Winters Hotel and Restaurant, Newtownards - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Never ever again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sampson226 on 10/04/2017

Basic very expensive food and drink.The one star is for the friendly staff only.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“VERY BAD SERVICE!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Karlie1990 on 04/03/2016

Arrived ready to enjoy a nice meal after a long week at work. Our order was taken and other customers came in and were seated. Twenty minutes later those customers were served their starters and subsequently their main meals. We were left waiting for 45 MINUTES before we decided to go and check where our food was. Our order had not even reached the kitchen!! Not ONE member of staff came to check on us or where our food was in almost an hour!! We will NEVER be back!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Smelly rude horrible”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Freddie74 on 16/12/2013

Went for night out for christmas work do we didn't eat here but went for the disco. When we went in we stood in line for 15 mins to leave our coats in the cloakroom. The bar was heaving I find it hard to believe that the amount of people cramed in could be safe. The bar staff were under major pressure but were pleasant and efficient . My first run in with the door men was when they were trying to clean glass that someone had dropped. I was beside the area an ended up being pushed towards the men clearing the glass by the surge of the crowd behind me the door man was very rude and abrupt when he tolde to stay clear of the area , when I tried to explain that I was not purposely coming towards him his language was colourful at best. I bought a bottle of Moët for my staff but they had run out of champagne glasses so I had to take tumblers not very professional. When I went out to wait for my taxi to go home I asked to nip in to the toilet and was basically treated like an animal. Overall this place stinks of stale beer is to crowded and their door men and reception staff could do with some PR training. Nasty place!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Tasteless will never be back”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/05/2013

Went for lunch on sunday with 3 friends.They had burgers and garlic bits and I had caesar salad,battered mushrooms and garlic bits.The burgers were horrible,they were dry,overcooked and tasted rather strange,even the tobacco onions tasted weird. The garlic bits had absolutely no taste at all. They clearly dont know what a caesar salad is as mine consisted of lettuce,tomato,a couple of bits of peppers,grated cheddar cheese and I couldnt tell you what the tiny drop of dressing was but it definately was not caesar. My mushrooms tasted of nothing other the the oil they were fried in.We were absolutely disgusted and we really should of complained at the time but didnt want to make a whole fuss.So that was 65 pound down the drain.Think they need to get a new chef

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“hotel from hell”

★★☆☆☆

written by christinadean1 on 04/12/2011

we have been here for a few christmas dinners and sunday lunches,food is georgous but would never stay in this hotel again,a week before i asked to be put in a quiet part of the hotel as me and my friend arnt partiers we like our night to be relaxing away from kids,we went to bed at 1,30 am got to sleep at 4,then up again at 7,45 because of staff clearing away and setting up,my niece and cousin are lucky to be here as ther room stank of gas the next morning that bad you could smell it in the corrordore,i will never stay here again,on the upside the meall was lovely as long as you dont eat much veg as this was limited,i would have liked to have known that ther was no window in the room and that the clear up went on til 3,30 am

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“staff where great and friendly,the food was...”

★★★★★

written by on 20/02/2010

staff where great and friendly,the food was good,nothing was to much trouble,the craic was good and after our meal the bands started, they where where called free spirit , you cant mistake there 30foot backdrop, kinda like the ghost busters logo thing,excellent band as they play lots of 80s n 90s must right up to mordern day tho the male singer did think he was robbie williams,lol, sounded a bit like him in angels too,brilliant night,the bouncers where a bit yappy but hey arent they all but we felt safe so that was a plus,,,,,,i,ll be back 4sure,dave n gill

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“le winters is a lovley place to eat . the staff are...”

★★★★★

written by on 22/10/2009

le winters is a lovley place to eat . the staff are nice friendly and are well presented. the menu has alot to offer no1 can say they dont like anything on it. the food comes out quickly and still hot. the music is relaxing and makes you enjoy your evening there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“went on a saturday to le winters hotel and restaurant...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 08/08/2009

went on a saturday to le winters hotel and restaurant for a family dinner, my husband ordered the new surf and turf from the menu just under 20 pounds and included a side order, my husband is not a great lover of potatoes so he asked for onion rings.
the waiter told us that we couldnt have those as they were classed as an EXTRA, on the menu the chips, mash, garlic potatoes etc were all 2.50 a portion, and guess what the price of the onion rings were-2.50.
we asked what the difference was, and the waiter went to get the duty manager to solve the problem, whats the problem just give us onion rings instead of any potatoes either boiled or fried.
the duty manager came over to the table and proceeded to try to tell us that the potatoes were in fact complimentary, so were were paying nearly 20 pounds for just the steak and some garlic prawns, cant see how the spuds are complimentary, how daft is that, we are surely paying for them in that price, after all they dont set COMPLIMENTARY CHIPS on the table if you are just having a drink, you dont even get nuts nowadays, due to germs etc.
so as le winters are such a busy establishment and have not been hit by the credit crunch and dont need the business, we decided to go spend the cost of 4 starters, 4 main courses, 4 desserts and drinks and coffee to a restaurant that needed the business and believed that they should treat the customer a little better.bill in excess of 100 pounds

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Went for dinner at Le Winters Hotel and Restaurant on...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 03/05/2009

Went for dinner at Le Winters Hotel and Restaurant on a Sunday evening for a birthday treat. We requested an extremely small piece of salmon to be changed but were told that they had no larger pieces!!! Had to accept the tiny portion yet could clearly see that there were larger pieces carried past by the waiters. Food standard was not comparable to the price. We were then overcharged by £9.00!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“i will be back!! most definitley!! The staff are very...”

★★★★☆

written by on 27/03/2008

i will be back!! most definitley!! The staff are very lovely!! the atmosphere is relaxing and not boring suitable for all ages!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“All in all our meal at Le Winters recently was quite...”

★★★★☆

written by coolcat on 27/04/2006

All in all our meal at Le Winters recently was quite pleasant. Although a hotel branch, the food was quite reasonable, reasonably priced and served pleasantly and quickly.

We booked with short notice - 3pm Saturday afternoon, for a party of 15, and they managed to accommodate us. The staff were very pleasant, and the overall bill for 15 was very cheap actually, although the alcohol was purchased separately. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere with lovely big comfy chairs, which made you sit and enjoy yourself, without having a numb bum and bad back!

Only problem was, after 9pm at weekends, the bar area turns into a nightclub and becomes very loud and full of drunk people rolling about. Thankfully once back in the restaurant you were quite away from it, but going to the toilet through the bar was a bit of nightmare - please see my comments above.

All in all we had a very pleasant evening, and due to the nightclub, we were able to sit at our large table until 1.30pm, so at least we weren't rushed out because someone else wanted our table.

I would suggest if you want a quiet time though, go during the week.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview