Acorn Pet Centre, Pollokshaws Road, Shawlands, Glasgow Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
78% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“I recently went in there to buy a guinea pig but i was...”

Written on: 18/07/2010 by lilmissperfect (1 review written)

I recently went in there to buy a guinea pig but i was told that they were only ordered once a month so i decided to wait.For weeks later I went back to see if the guinea pigs were there yet but to my dissapointment there were still no guinea pigs. I asked one of the members of staff when the guinea pigs would arrive and she replied in a un-friendly "Four weeks". I was shocked, I had already waited a month and was telling me to wait another month! I do not recomend it to anyone. Everything is over priced and the staff are very rude.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I bought some fish, only to get home and find out that...”

Written on: 30/08/2009

I bought some fish, only to get home and find out that the fish i bought was not by the name the pet shop sold it to me by. cages overprices, everything is overprices. all they have is dogfood and catfood and bedding. Acorn Pet Centre have no pets but fish and a few hamsters. The staff are friendly though.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love going to Acorn because the prices are really...”

Written on: 03/03/2009

I love going to Acorn because the prices are really good. for fish you can get a bowl for £2.99 and a hamster cage for £1.99.
they also have high quality leads & collars/harnesses. and the staff are really helpful. if you ask should i get this for my puppy they will give a detailed answer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The hamsters at Acorn Pet Centre are already tamed and...”

Written on: 11/02/2009

The hamsters at Acorn Pet Centre are already tamed and are lots of fun I got a golden bannded hamster and it was freindly and got used to the cage in 5 mins. The staff are very helpfull and don't lie. The price is great as well £6-£7. The hamster I got loves to be held and the staff can give you tips on how to look after your hamster and the cage. It is a really good pet shop 10-10 from me and i hope you agree to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Acorn Pet Centre, Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow. Very good...”

Written on: 27/01/2009

Acorn Pet Centre, Pollokshaws Rd, Glasgow. Very good layout for animal food. Wide ranges of fish. Able to let pets in store. A very good pet store. Would not go into another one unless mandatory.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The shop is always clean and tidy and all the staff...”

Written on: 02/08/2008 by chrisw12339 (1 review written)

The shop is always clean and tidy and all the staff are friendly and also the shop has everything I need for my troublesome fish talk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat”

Written on: 06/12/2007

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“You should go to Acorn Pet Centre in Glasgow. They...”

Written on: 24/05/2007 by wee erin (1 review written)

You should go to Acorn Pet Centre in Glasgow. They have stuff for every animal, big or small, so give it a try.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I recently visited this Pet shop with the view to buy...”

Written on: 20/04/2006 by Madbrush (6 reviews written)

I recently visited this Pet shop with the view to buy a hamster cage and accessories before I bought an actual hamster. I knew what I was after, so I just collected everything together to pay for it as it was so reasonable, compared to some shops I visited.

I then asked if they had any Syrian hamsters in, sadly they didn't, they wouldn't be in for a few weeks, which was disappointing for my young daughter, but the guy who was serving me suggested some russian dwarf hamsters, but I was a bit dubious to this suggestion, as I know dwarf hamsters are harder to handle and young children shouldn't really handle them.

The shopworker then told me these ones were exceptional and tamed before they were brought into the shop, he demonstrated how tame, so we had a little pet and inspection, they were really healthy and bright even being woken up like that, so I agreed to buy them, as they were friendly and everything was nice and clean in the pet section. We collected them later on that day once I had set everything up at home.

We were given a hamster care advice sheet and obviously they assured us we had two females! But if we had any problems to come back and see them. We were also asked to give our details to abide by licencing laws, which not a lot of pet shops, in my experience ask you to do.

The box they were put in to travel home, was made of really strong, thick cardboard and was a decent size, which was great as it started raining. In my experience with carrying hamsters or birds home, pet shops give you a really small thin box and it is chewed up within 10 mins and you struggle to keep them inside!

The shop assistant also pointed out that there were some products that were a bit pointless too like a hamster harness! But said it was up to us if we wanted the hamster litter tray, which we laughed about, and declined! (If I wanted a cat I would have bought one, rather than treating a hamster like a mini cat, hehe!)

So a few weeks on and we still have two lovely friendly little russian dwarf hamsters that my daughter and I adore, so hopefully it stays that way for a couple of years!

This is the way a good pet shop should be run, clean animal housing, healthy livestock, advice on animals is available before making a decision, as having any pet is a big commitment, they also have a good selection of books on petcare for sale too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lilmissperfect's Response to Madbrush's Review

Written on: 18/07/2010

Yes the animals are in good condition but they don't always have full stock on animals such as Rabbits or guinea pigs

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview