MG ZS 180 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
MG ZS 180 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for MG ZS 180

MG ZS 180
MG ZS 180

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Bought an MG ZS EV”

Written on: 21/09/2021 by 143Dudley (1 review written)

I bought an mgzs and the experience was great. The staff is experienced and customer handling is best. I am happy with mg motors services.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ well what can i say, the looks are only the half!”

Written on: 14/05/2013 by b15owe (1 review written)

i bought my zs 180 last may, i paid 1700 for it with 53k on the clock the moment i saw it i had to have it, xpower grey, heated front seats, standard xenon's with washers etc the first drive i had in it was like nothing else i had drove, yes bumpy ride but as previously a zr owner (twice) the handling is amazing, u can actually throw it into a corner and you will know that this thing can handle it, the pull you get when you hit 3k revs and the vis kicks in is amazing it just wants to pull. best car i have ever owned and a massively underrated car,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Albany96's Response to b15owe's Review

Written on: 28/03/2014

I HAVE OWNED A SILVER ZR 1.4 (04) SINCE 2006 ( 8 YEARS ) IT HAS BEEN A SUPERB CAR I CANNOT BELIEVE ALL THE COMPLAINS AGAINST THIS MODEL - I HAVE HAD THE CYLINDER HEAD GASKET REPLACED, BUT IT DID NOT NEED TO BE REPLACED, THE PERFORMANCE OF THIS LOVELY LITTLE HATCHBACK IS ASTONISHING - 0-60 10 SECS - ROADHOLDING IS SUPERB - IT LOOKS GREAT - I HAVE ELECTRIC SUN ROOF - ELECTRIC MIRRORS - POWER STEERING - A/C - ABS - 17" ALLOYS - BLACK LEATHER INTERIOR - I PAID £5000 FOR IT IN 2006 (7000 MILES) I WOULD HATE TO PART WITH MY SUPER LITTLE CAR.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Madmx's Response to b15owe's Review

Written on: 27/05/2014

I do agree! :-)
I've had my very dark blue ZS 180 -02 since nov 2008 nov, and it's still a joy to drive and go for a ride in. I use it daily and the clock is near 170.000 km. Here in Sweden!

In my concern the ZS is:

- Very relaible despite damp and cold conditions in Sweden during wintertime.
- Very roomerous in getting four other guys into city for lunch from work.
- Very practical in getting all stuff in for a month of holidays in the cottage 400 km up north.
- Very much a drivers a car when You turn up behind the wheel behind this little sports saloon, Corner handling is a joy and rev above 3,5k (in my car) makes it pretty quick,
- Very much a car to love. Bought it 5.5 years ago for £ 6 000 and compared to similar Audis and BMWs from same year at the time this was a bargain of a price.

There's no reason to sell these right now, if You have one. But if they're free of rutt - these will be coming classics compared with Golf GTi MkI, Peugeot 205 GTi, 405 mi16 and Clio Sports maybe?

There are quality detail concerns regarding some noises and irritating manufacturing errors during time - but I agree:

The MG ZS 180 is a massively underrated car!

:-) / mx

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I have had my mg zs180 for two years now. I've spent...”

Written on: 27/03/2012 by Vernspeed (1 review written)

I have had my mg zs180 for two years now. I've spent 1000 pound to make it quicker and by god I have. My mg started off. On my rolling road with a 178bh. After fitting a full induction kit straight throw eshast and this has been de cated. Chipped and also remapped. Plus much more. With my mg now reading 247bh its kills my mates wrx impresa. Its an amazing. Car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought the facelift zs 180 saloon in black a year...”

Written on: 12/03/2011

I bought the facelift zs 180 saloon in black a year ago and it is the best car I have ever had. I had a Saab 9000 aero b4 this car, and although the Saab was muc faster it was no were near as fun to drive as this car. In the year I have had it all I have had to do is get a new back box which was only £64, and 2 new headlight blubs. The car Is a real head turner, and great value for money. I payed £3500 for my one it had 43k miles on the clock full mg service history and 12 mounths mot and 6 months tax. Great car love it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought mine new in 2003 in solar red with 7 miles...”

Written on: 02/03/2011

Bought mine new in 2003 in solar red with 7 miles showing - sweet. Nice engine / exhaust note when extended - great handling - fair economy. 7.5 half years later showing 20.8k miles on the clock - as you can guess i dont drive it much now, less than a 1k a year since 2006 - (job change) but decided to keep it. Problems? well in 7.5 years ive bought 1 wiper blade and a battery...thats it!! i doubt though it would have been quite that reliable with it showing average mileage. It does have the stat leak - but you top it up - viz rattle? heard it once or twice - still has the original contisport 2 tyres though fronts down to about 3-4 mil - original exhaust pads/ discs - again all due to not much driving - oh i dont take it out in the wet either - no point as i then have to clean it - and i can drive another car - oh my other car? my wifes 1.25 fiesta -cheesr

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Can i just say that its a great car and for the money...”

Written on: 11/01/2011 by chazclark (10 reviews written)

Can i just say that its a great car and for the money there is nothing with equel performance. That being said this car has a huge 2.5 v6 with a relativly low bhp for its size, it will still beat its competetors such as the st 170 or the gti 180 but that being said it will be walked over by other cars such as seat leon cupra, astra gsi and even the clio sport. I have been reading a lot of reviews around mentioning this car in the same bracket as evos and imprezas, let me just say that this car is not in same performance leage the only thing this car is on par with them is fuel consumption.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Zsowner's Response to chazclark's Review

Written on: 09/02/2011

I'd agree on the low BHP for its size from the engine nearly 180 is ok but not fantastic when i had mine it never felt all that quick unless you reved the nuts out off it and also very little torque compared to a 2.5l vauxhall or ford engine so your always up and down the gear box Having said that what a car! Holds roads brilliantly plenty of cabin space for 4 peaople (5 at a push)servicing is exxpensive but its the price you pay for the complex cam drive system

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Wow!!!. I had just killed my red 620GSi and had to...”

Written on: 06/11/2010 by Douggym (1 review written)

Wow!!!. I had just killed my red 620GSi and had to find another, but when my son told me I couldn't get another 'old mans car' I started to look for something a little sportyer. Saw an ad' for a Yellow MG ZS 180 2.5 and had to have one. Bought it for a steal on E-bay £1400. 52k miles. I love it to bits. A bit dissapointed at low speed acceleration but everything else is superb. Roadholding and handling are brilliant. We love cornering at speed and the tighter, the better (where have I heard that before?). The G force is exhillarating when you hit the floor at above 50MPH. It is a real head turner and I know I am known in the village as 'the bloke with the yellow MG'. And MG ZS drivers still acknowledge each other. Perhaps its because we know we are an elite breed.LOL.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Just to say I have had my Mk2 ZS 180 for 3 years now...”

Written on: 12/08/2010

Just to say I have had my Mk2 ZS 180 for 3 years now and the benefits far out way the few niggles. The 180 has a 2.5 V6 engine which is detuned in standard format for many reasons I will not go into here. Slight, sensible modifications (that could be originally specified with the MG dealer at point of purchase) transform an already fast car into a 200BHP stunner with the low revs flat spot removed. Basically this is done through a simple cold air induction kit and sports cat exhaust like the BMC/XPower/Piper type. The ECU is built to cope with these variations so there is no technical stuff to adjust - the cars brain will reset itself to the new air flow releasing more power and torque (just like it does if you out high octane fuel in there - it runs smoother).

Incidentily, the car is built on a Honda platform with double wishbone suspension front and back - go for the saloon which doesn't flex (as much as a hatch) and you will have the best handling small saloon car available (Tif Needell's words not mine). The turn in and stickiness on the standard 17" rims is awesome at this level and the brakes are very good with big discs all round vented at the front.

There are a few common problems in terms of build quality (this was a Rover LOL) but these are well known with relatively easy fixes - don't be put off by this. Basically a weak seal on the clutch, and intake valves (VIS) which fail at about 40,000 - any MG forum (there are a few) will point you to a cheap, well known and thorough fix for these. The horn is cheap and can fail (£25 for an air horn), the alarm sounder box can fill with water causing it to act up (bit of gasket/silicone seal fixes this). The cam belts can be a bit expensive but not even near £900 as stated by one reviewer (you were done mate) and you will only do these at around 70,000 - so its a reasonable price to pay for all that V6 goodness you will enjoy every day.

Highly recommended and almost as much fun as sex.

P

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tonipilbrow's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2010

I found this review very helpful because...Comes from a guy that has been driving around in the car for 3 years. Obviously experience counts for a lot...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“I bought my ZS 180 hatchback on looks alone, it looked...”

Written on: 14/04/2010

I bought my ZS 180 hatchback on looks alone, it looked really mean in bright yellow with a full stainless steel exhaust system the sound of it matched the looks. compared to other v6 cars ive driven (ex mechanic) i thought it performance was slightly a let down as the engine lacked any low down torque so u had to rev the nuts off it, once moving it was a lovely car to drive midrange far better than low down, handled well only let down by overly firm ride, more noticeable in towns i sooned learned to avoid speed humps and cobbled streets,really easy to park although rear visability restricted due to large spoiler but you get used to it.i managed around 35 mpg so it wasnt unaffordable to run either.
Reliabity was a problem with mine fuel pump that only worked when it wanted windows that wouldnt close, subframe problems on the front. Unfortunatly the previous owner had modified the engines internals (badley)which lead to a seized engine and these start from £750 and thats without fitting costs and are VERY hard to find. Despite all the niggles it was a lovely car to own and i sorely miss it and am in the process of looking for another 1 but dont bother with modified ones or try to run one on a shoe string as cam belt changes are around £900 as its an engine out job!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tonipilbrow's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2010

I found this review somewhat helpful because...Just shows what CAN happen if you don't do your research and impulse buy on 'looks alone'. They must have seen him coming... FSHistories only... even if you are a mechanic.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Zsowner's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2010

i was the original writer of the review and former owner of the car in response to the comment the car was bought second hand from a main nissan dealer with full service history in the manual with receipts for services , i did not go in blind and i know what to look for when viewing a car, after the engine seized i had an engineer examin the remains of it and i was told that it had aftermarket camshafts and a lightened crankshaft it was found that the crankshaft had been fitted with poor quality bearings when it was rebuilt, and it was these that lead to the seizure neither of which could of been expected as it would of required a engine strip to find out as there was no paper work other than the service history reciepts to give anmy indication that it had been modified

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“i have recently brought my MG ZS 180 and wow. my...”

Written on: 12/09/2009

i have recently brought my MG ZS 180 and wow. my experiance with this car has been very pleasing. the 180 version is realy good for mpg averaging about 42 on my day to day runs, not bad for a 2.5 v6. practicality is there in every way, i have two children and both feel comfortable in back, the boot is great as my wife finds that she can get the shopping in and out with ease. performance wise ive gone from a 106gti to a 2.5 v6 and the feel is noticable straight away. the car is very torquey mid range of the gears so you find that you dont have to drop a gear to get the power out. MG ZS is a beautiful car both in looks a driving and i would recommend this car to anyone. on a plus i am 22 and my insurance is good to supprisingly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“well, what can say!.... iv had my MG ZS180 mkII now...”

Written on: 22/08/2009

well, what can say!.... iv had my MG ZS180 mkII now for a year, and still love it! iv alway been a fan of MG/rover, (this is my 4th). Dispite there bad rep, i love them!... and have never had any problems. But this one breaks the mold! The mean, angry look of the body, with wide arches, front side vents, sharp corners and that HUGE Evo style spoiler! which always turns heads, helped by being a rare car. The performance is great too, loads of power with a beautiful roar from that V6 what no 4 cylinder car can match!..... beats so many "sports models"....... dont think ill ever tire of this car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Owned my mg zs 180 for 1/2 a day, just finished...”

Written on: 05/08/2009

Owned my mg zs 180 for 1/2 a day, just finished polishing it from top to bottom. I bought this as a family car with the wife expecting. Love the looks and the V6 power, handles superb, looking forward to getting to know the car better!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bougth this MG ZS 180 car brand new in 2006 2.5 v6...”

Written on: 01/07/2009

I bougth this MG ZS 180 car brand new in 2006 2.5 v6 saloon with the vented wings in orange. totally amazed lovely car girls love it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“bought a MG ZS 180 December 2008, 72,000 miles full...”

Written on: 06/04/2009 by scott the pimp (1 review written)

bought a MG ZS 180 December 2008, 72,000 miles full service history, 12mths mot, 6mths tax, £1100, trophy blue. don't see many around, parts prices aren't to bad and there are several main mg dealers around aswell, quick car to drive, very fun and handling and brakes are the best bits

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The MG ZS 180is a fantastic car that can be had very...”

Written on: 03/03/2009 by Dougal McGuire (1 review written)

The MG ZS 180is a fantastic car that can be had very cheaply. If you're after a quick car which handles well you would be hard-pushed to find anything which gives you the bang for buck that the 180 does. Handling is the car's best feature. The 2.5 kv6 engine is reasonably powerful (180ps) but the chasis is so good it could cope with far more. Goes around corners like it's on rails. Double wishbones front and rear are class-leading. The cars are priced ridiculously low and are a real bargain for people wanting a fast, good handling car which looks great. themgzs is a good owners site.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very fast car, great handling and great looks, looks...”

Written on: 12/09/2008 by MGJKD (1 review written)

Very fast car, great handling and great looks, looks classier than a Subaru in my opinion.
Comfortable ride, sticks to the road like glue.
Brilliant car for the money of around £4500 - £5000
Fuel not too bad considering its a 2.5v6 with 180bhp. 24 valves so its nice and rev happy too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This car is so underestimated. They are rare so they...”

Written on: 26/07/2008 by cuslund (1 review written)

This car is so underestimated. They are rare so they look unique. They are fast, especially the 2.5 which I own, and I mean fast. They mould to the road. I hate boy racers and there "add ons" but the big spoiler works well and you feel great when you look out your rear view mirror and see it, because you know an MG engineer designed and fitted it. Love this car, £2750 for a 180 bhp beast with 36k on the clock, fsh and a warrenty and rips a focus st170 everywhere and they cost £5000 plus, says it all really. These lovely mg cars will defo become collectors items. and remember, there BRITISH cars, designed and made in BRITAIN. where else can you buy that! And it makes me laugh because tthere based on the 400 rover (so part are cheap and common), oh my god, they drive like a porshe. IN your face audi and bmw owners! If your reading this and thinking about buying one, just go and buy one, the 2,5 v6 24v. Yes its thirsty, but worth every penny!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Handling, value for money, its sporty looks, british...”

Written on: 20/07/2008 by dj russell (1 review written)

Handling, value for money, its sporty looks, british origin, petrol consumption for such a big engines suprisingly great if you dont floor bit. Fantastic car that cant be matched for the money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“One thing that should of had a lot more effort put...”

Written on: 03/07/2008

One thing that should of had a lot more effort put into it is the dash board and the driving position although you get used to it. Brilliant car!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have got a MG ZS 180. I am 24 and wanted something a...”

Written on: 23/05/2008 by bigcarl (1 review written)

I have got a MG ZS 180. I am 24 and wanted something a bit special. A couple of mates have got Subaru Impreza WRX and Evo 4's and I just wanted something that's says something about me. Well this car delivers every time. I have added some 18" deep dish TSW and a scorpion exhaust. I have had this car for 1 and a half years and was looking to swap it but cant find anything that comes close to the handling of this monster. I am looking to put an induction kit in to it or a pipercross system which should boost the performence a little.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview