Hostel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
90% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hostel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Hostel

Hostel
Hostel
Hostel
Hostel

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Very good movie.”

written by ZofiaLucas on 17/03/2021

This movie reminds me of the Saw movies. It is very intense, bloody, gorrey, frightening and does have a descent plot. As with the Saw movies, there were times in this movie that I covered my eyes with my fingers (peeking thru) so I could pretend to hide what I was seeing. Overall - good movie.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Best horror movies out there.”

written by CostaAmiee on 19/02/2021

This is one of the best horror movies out there. I saw Hostel when it first came out. My first thought was, here we go...another b**bie movie. But the story line blew my mind. This story actually made me stop and think about what wealthy people really do when they get bored.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This is one of the best horror movie”

written by PeterJackson12 on 20/01/2021

Eli Roth is a genius. This is one of the best horror movies out there. I saw Hostel when it first came out. My first thought was, here we go...another b**bie movie. But the story line blew my mind. This story actually made me stop and think about what wealthy people really do when they get bored. There is no shortage of gore. This movie will be great forever. Eli Roth takes you on a thrilling ride that you hope you never end up on in real life.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Hostel movie is really scary.”

written by Qwerty3 on 24/02/2019

The film was filmed in Slovakia and just horror takes what was happening there. The film is full of disgusting moments. There is violence and mockery at people. However, the plot of the film is breathtaking and holds in suspense from beginning to end.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Gross. Gruesome. Great”

written by DShot on 06/11/2013

This movie is definitely not for the squeamish. It is gross and scared me from traveling to certain countries, but man it should be on the top of everyone's "Gross Horror Movies that show an abundance of disgusting things"

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hostel is one of the worst films I have ever seen in...”

written by janka17 on 23/01/2008

Hostel is one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life.The actors' performances were nothing much,the story plot could have been interesting,however the screenplay didn't succeed in moving on and from the second half of the film I really felt bored. The setting is said to be in Slovakia but after seeing the film I was really wondering how the director could have been thinking about depicting this country like that and not even putting it into a film.The whole film was very disappointing and of no film value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“After the flesh-eating horror of 'Cabin Fever',...”

written by Michelle Moore on 25/05/2007

After the flesh-eating horror of 'Cabin Fever', writer-director Eli Roth now brings us a gruesome tale of abduction and torture. Hostel is one of the most brutal films you will have ever seen since Leatherface and the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. With scenes of torture, violence, strong sexual content, language, and drug and alcohol abuse, this is not a film for the light-hearted If you hate blood, violence or travellers; this is not a film for you. The movie is set in locations across Europe; but mainly based in Slovakia. We meet three backpacking buddies: Paxton and Josh from the US and li, a traveller from Iceland. The trio enjoy experiencing drugs and prostitution in Amsterdam and look for cheap thrills instead of culture and art. After being locked out of their hotel, they meet Alex, a man who tells them of a Slovak hostel that is filled with women only interested in one thing; no guy can resist the opportunity and these three are no exception. They take a train, meeting a bizarre man on the way. Once they arrive at the hostel, they meet Natalia and Svetlana, who invite them to a nude spa. Soon after, li and a Japanese woman also staying at the hostel go missing, leaving Paxton and Josh to wander about searching for him. They receive a picture message from li with the caption "I go home." Unknown to them, their friend has been taken to an abandoned factory and used for torture. If you're squeamish; turn away now so you don't see li being decapitated or a young girl having her toe chopped off. The two hit the disco with their room mates, which ends in Josh getting sick and returning to the hostel and Paxton accidentally getting locked in the storage room and passing out.

The next morning, Josh wakes up handcuffed and in his underwear in a room similar to the one li's was decapitated in, with a man explaining how he had "always wanted to be a surgeon" - it is the strange man from the train. Josh tries payment as a method to free himself, but the "Dr" replies, "I am the one who is paying them." This turns into a sick joke where Josh gets drilled in both legs and below the collarbone, followed by the torturer cutting the back of his ankles removing his handcuffs and allowing him freedom. Josh discovers the sick joke when he tries to escape only to fall onto the floor - the torturer kills Josh off-screen so not much blood at this point. In the storage room, Paxton is unaware of what has become of his travelling companion, and wanders the streets looking for him. He finds his roommates at a non-tourist bar, and after pressing them for information on the whereabouts of his friends and they tell him that Josh and li have gone to an art show - he demands they show him where; I bet he wish he hadn't.

Natalia takes Paxton to the torture factory where he witnesses the bizarre man from the train sewing up Josh's life-less body, before he is dragged to a cell. The entire hostel situation with the girls seems to have been a fix to lure men into partying with them, and then handing them over for cash - what happens to the victims they do not care. In the room he is handcuffed to a chair until a torturer shows up to kill him. The torturer grabs a chainsaw and taunts him with it, accidentally cutting through the handcuffs and taking off two of Paxton's fingers. The torturer charges forward, slips on the blood and falls, bringing the chainsaw down on his right leg, gruesomely severing it. Paxton breaks free, kills the torturer with a shot to the head with a pistol from the torturer, then calls in a guard and shoots him. From there, he begins his escape from the factory, taking his severed fingers with him in his pocket.

To escape from the house of madness, Paxton must first hide within a pile of body parts that are being taken to the incinerator. The most disturbing factor being when he spots Josh's corpse being disposed of. With this push of anger, fright and wanting to get the hell out of the country, Paxton escapes the room, then sees police officers talking to torturers and realising they are part of the murder factory. He disguises himself as a torturer, in a suit and leather gloves to hide his mangled hand. In the pocket he finds a business card for "Elite Hunting" with three prices on the back: American $25,000, European $10,000, Russian $5,000. Paxton is able to escape the building, before hearing the screams of a businessman's victim, who turns out to be a girl he knew from the hostel. Even though he is terrified, he re-enters the building and locates her. The sights he and the audience are about to witness are ultimately disastrous and breathtakingly shocking. He finds the businessman melting the young girls eye with a blowtorch causing it to hang out of the socket. He shoots the businessman and in an act of sympathy, cuts out the girls eye before they are able to steal a car and get out of the building.

On the way to the train station, Paxton runs across, and then runs over the girls from the Hostel and Alex who told them about the place; they were luring people to their deaths. In a fit of anger and revenge he runs them over. Upon arriving at the train station, the young girl is horrified to see her disfigured reflection and jumps in front of a passing train. This creates a diversion, allows Paxton to get on the train and escape. What is ever more startling is when he hears the voice of Josh's torturer talking to more travellers. In a fit of rage he pursues him off the train and into a public restroom where he takes the man by surprise, cuts off two of his fingers as had been done to him and half drowns him in the toilet before giving him a glimpse of his killer before slitting his throat. The film ends with Paxton getting well out of dodge.

With drug references, sexual content, violence, guns, and not to mention blood, I can definitely see why this film has an 18 certificate. The film opened to amazing reviews, especially for a horror film considering the amount of shocking images present. One of the more disturbing aspects of the film was the way the brutality and violence explored the twisted side of human fantasy and curiosity. There are only two facts in this film that I cant get over: first how Paxton can drive a car, rescue a young girl and kill someone after having his fingers sawed off how did he not bleed to death, and secondly how was the young woman not screaming in agony or dead after having her eye removed. There wasn't even a drop of blood in sight. With a sequel in the works and due for release, I am hoping the second can be just a terrifically shocking and emotionally disturbing as the first. This time maybe a little more concern can be put into remembering injuries like this would kill in the real world, so they should portray this on the big screen

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Hostel is based upon two friends who go backpacking in...”

written by emza2511 on 10/08/2006

Hostel is based upon two friends who go backpacking in western Europe, in search of sex, drugs and adventure, to provide them with a holiday of a lifetime and some unforgettable experiences. During their travels they are informed about a Hostel in Bratislava where the women are beautiful and promiscuous. They set off to the Hostel, with their Icelandic friend they met on they way. However, soon after they arrive, they slowly start to realize that this hostel is hiding a terrible and dark secret, and definitely more than they bargained for.

I enjoyed Hostel, and for a horror film it was gory, bloody and presented a dark side of humanity, which was beyond the imagination. However, I was at the same time slightly disappointed. As gory as it evidently was, this film in its advertising was presented by Quentin Tarantino. Therefore, for what the film was and from what I was expecting of it, I was disappointed. Tarantino films go notoriously one step further from the rest with their unimaginable horror and gore. However, this film can be quite easily compared to the gore that the "saw" films offer, sickening yes, but not Tarantino style. A good horror film nonetheless, just don't watch it with expectations of Tarantino's usual standard though, as it fails to deliver.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Hostel is the best thing I've seen at the cinema in...”

written by sf on 21/04/2006

Hostel is the best thing I've seen at the cinema in ages. The storyline has almost a double meaning as it is a metaphor for the guys lives. There are lots of subtle, ironic movements which you don't really notice until the film has ended and you are running through it in your mind.
Really gruesome and had me twisting in my seat- a number of people walked out. Do not see if you are easily scared/shocked and don't like plenty of blood, guts and sex.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Hostel is excellent, it develops as a movie and the...”

written by sammyeire on 01/04/2006

Hostel is excellent, it develops as a movie and the acting is strong. Gory in parts yea, but that's what you expect given the trailers and the director involved (also nudge to Tarantino).

Overall, great movie, obviously not for the faint-hearted movie-goer. It takes a while to get going, but when it does it builds up nicely. The scene with Josh in the cellar is mental. Shock-fest so you've been warned, but if it's what you like, which I do, you'll absolutely love Hostel

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview