Yucatan peninsular Club Hotel RIU Tequila Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4
75.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yucatan peninsular Club Hotel RIU Tequila - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“worst from all riu resorts”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 01/01/2015

don't care who likes that resort but not on my list any more food have no taste and room is not clean and cant get reed of the smell. room service need improvements.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“When we complained to the reps about the unruly...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 15/04/2008

When we complained to the reps about the unruly American teenagers, the reps told us they were having big problems with them. We were regularly woken up in the middle of the night by drunken people shouting and swearing around the hotel grounds. Rooms were grubby, dingy and dark. Certainly not 4 star standard, more 2 stars!! Very rowdy, drunk and noisy American teenagers on their Spring Break. No sun loungers available after 8am. Beach area, very dangerous undercurrents and people nearly drowning every day. Shuttle to the beach (old golf buggy) breaking down all the time, so very unreliable. A very disappointing holiday and would not go back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We would both thoroughly recommend the hotel and the...”

★★★★★

written by Sue Pye on 24/02/2007

We would both thoroughly recommend the hotel and the resort, one of the best holidays I have ever had. Never been all inclusive before, I would certainly do it again, no need to spend any more money than the price you paid for your holiday if you don't want to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“After spending weeks reading reviews about the...”

★★★★★

written by LESLIV on 07/03/2006

After spending weeks reading reviews about the Tequila, worrying about comments regarding quality of rooms this is to reassure anyone who has made the great choice of Riu Tequila for their holiday.
We booked our holiday with Portland and paid only a little more than we usually have for holidays to Greece and Spain, and we have never had an all inclusive holiday before, always done self catering - never again, after this experience we will always go all inclusive at RIU if possible!!

We were checked in on the coach from the airport which we thought a good idea, no waiting at reception just tell them your room number you have been allocated then collect room keys, safe key and towel cards

The rooms are lovely, huge beds and very clean. The walk to the beach is lovely, and the buggy is good fun if you can't be bothered to walk! The food, bars, buildings and pools at the hotel are all lovely but what made our holiday was the staff, they all really never stop, even the manageress was on duty from 8am (when we had breakfast) till around 11pm.

Each morning, we'd make a beeline for the juice bar and then had the tough decision of whether it would be fresh Banana, Melon, and Pineapple, Grapefruit or Orange juice that we would start the morning off with, Then onto Doughnuts, pancakes. EGGS - fried - scrambled - poached - boiled, even on toast then onto mushrooms tomatoes beans a toasting machine and different types of bread and lots of other goodies sometimes steak? They seem to cater for any nationality. The week was FULL of tough choices like that!!

As others have mentioned, for dinner we "had" to be at the Tequila, but this was a pleasure as the food was again superb!! Any other meal can be taken at either the Yucatan or the Playacar. You do get an assigned seat on your first night using the buffet, but this is flexible. One of the real benefits of the assigned seating is that you get to know your waiter. Our waiter got to know us and what we liked, he had our glasses refilled almost before we could ask. We weren't expecting this kind of service at a buffet, so we were very impressed! We also made reservations for 1 night at the poolside Steakhouse Choice of steak chicken or some sort of kebab, we chose steak. The meal we had was very nice, the wine took a while to get used to, they have red, ros and white, but it does clear out the palette.
But perhaps the only downside to the a-lacarte restaurant is that you miss the massive choice of the buffet restaurant.


BEACH: How do you describe heaven? Glorious wide white sand beaches, swaying palm trees, cooling ocean breezes, and the sparkling many-colored waters of the Caribbean!! You can't touch this!!! The swimming is safe and very enjoyable. The Caribbean is relatively warm for ocean water, and letting the soft breakers bob you up and down is so relaxing.

POOLS:
We found pools to be really nice and were always being cleaned by the staff the pool bar was our favorite and the bar staff never stopped if they were not serving they were cleaning the bar down they even steam cleaned all the bar area every morning before opening.

ROOMS:
We found the rooms clean, cool and very well maintained. The air-conditioning kept the rooms from getting warm, and the ceiling fan was a godsend after a hot day in the sun! The musty smell mentioned in other reports is evident but you get use to it, after all you don't spend your holiday your room, a smelly is a good idea, but we didn't bother

We always find that being polite and saying HOLA and a few words in Spanish goes a long way. One thing that really impressed us was how clean everywhere was. The staff seem to be cleaning all day.

The only let-down would be the Corona beer during the day this was served in plastic tumblers, and I appreciate that around pools its safer but was a bit flat, but in glasses at dinner it was ok, but what the heck, during the day have cocktails instead.

OVERALL: This is definitely a 5-Star resort experience!! The Riu staff and management seem to go out of their way to make the experience a treat and seem genuinely interested in seeing you come again. We would return to this resort in a flash

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend anyone to this hotel

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview