Mountfield SP470

Click here if this is your business
Mountfield SP470
★★☆☆☆
2.4
42.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mountfield SP470 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mountfield SP470

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

“I paid what I consider a premium to purchase this...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by Gaz7 on 19/07/2008

I paid what I consider a premium to purchase this Mountfield SP470 mower from B&Q for peace of mind - what a mistake. After 12 weeks the starter broke (destroyed); the cheap and nasty plastic wheel bearings always squeak and the grass box is terrible. It is held together at the front with little plastic clips that always come undone - totally unsuitable. Both B&Q and Mountfield don't want to know - I have wasted my money and the two year warranty appears to be useless. I now have to buy a Honda and wish I'd bought one in the first place.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The guarantee on my Mountfield SP470 was for three...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/07/2008

The guarantee on my Mountfield SP470 was for three years but I gave up on it after 2.
Even if I got it fixed it would have been hassle. I lost money on it but it was a good move buying another one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bought Mountfield SP470 at B & Q . Wheel dropped off...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/07/2008

Bought Mountfield SP470 at B & Q . Wheel dropped off at first use. Tried to get refund. B & Q refused. Managed to fix wheel on but grass and dirt got in between wheel case and clogged up eventually stopping wheels from going round. Back wheel height adjusters broke. Ended up sledging mower round garden. Don't buy a mower from B & Q and don't buy a Mountfield. Total rubbish!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As a landscaper, I have frequently purchased...”

★★★★☆

written by trelawney73 on 02/07/2008

As a landscaper, I have frequently purchased Mountfield mowers, including the SP470. They are cheap and you get what you pay for. We use them constantly for about 2-3 years until they are fit for spares or a skip! Reliable engines and relatively cheap parts (dont go to B&Q- a waste of time).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“One of the wheels has now come off so often I always...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by lauren123 on 01/07/2008

One of the wheels has now come off so often I always carry spanners around with me when I mow. Every time I now mow at least one screw will work its way loose and I get to spend many happy hours rummaging in the garden looking for them.
Its latest trick is to sound like a wailing banshee and cut out while I am mowing. It also has the standard feature of the throttle cable (which i assume must be made out of kryptonite) managing to wear through the high quality plastic.
I decided that maybe a good service would help but the cost of this is around £80 plus any parts that are needed ( bound to be at least 1 or 2).
I wish i had either spent less and not worried about when it doesn't work or spent more and bought one that does work.
Next stop ebay to see if someone else is willing to relieve me of this useless piece of kit.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Mountfield SP470 is a good if basic mower with a...”

★★★★☆

written by tjohndavies on 15/05/2008

The Mountfield SP470 is a good if basic mower with a straightforward and proven Briggs engine. The main drawback on these is that the carburettor diaphragms need replacing every few years - less if you completely empty the tank each winter!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't think for a moment that paying a premium for a...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bayleaf on 04/05/2008

Don't think for a moment that paying a premium for a Mountfield gets you a better quality machine than the bargain priced brands from China. Grass box seems designed to last 5 minutes. It's held together with brittle plastic clips and the customer has to finish the building process. It took me an hour just to save Mountfield a couple of pence in logistic costs.
Instructions are poor- a bit like the whole Mountfield experience really. Save up and buy a Honda.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The SP470 is not good value for money, money would be...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 16/04/2008

The SP470 is not good value for money, money would be better spent on a more expensive brand, not mountfield.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Overall, good value for money, not as good as my other...”

★★★★☆

written by on 19/02/2008

Overall, good value for money, not as good as my other Mountfield, easy to use, economical, a bit slow on revs, fixed speed. Awful to service.
Can any one tell me how to adjust the clutch?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It cuts well. Cuts out a lot quicker then you would...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 10/12/2007

It cuts well. Cuts out a lot quicker then you would expect.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would not recommend this make of mower to anyone...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by roy peebles on 10/10/2007

I would not recommend this make of mower to anyone based on my experience. I bought the machine from B&Q and would have expected to have no problem on any subsequent spares needed. This is not the case and prospective purchasers need to be aware that the machine itself (not the engine) is manufactured in Italy. The supply chain from my experience is hopeless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Save your money, buy something other than the...”

★★☆☆☆

written by anthonyjoyes on 08/09/2007

Save your money, buy something other than the Mountfield SP470 lawn mower.

Every 4 to 6 months a new belt cover will be needed, along with the screws that go with it. Watch out - pattern parts don't fit, so it's OEM only! The belt wears rapidly, the wheel height adjustment is not robust at all at the rear, the grass box fills too fast, in so much as it doesn't have the go to pack backwards, this causes grass to fill the passage from the blade housing to the box. The handle assembly is not the strongest, and after 2 years is likely to shear through at the bottom. The dead man's handle is far too keen to close, meaning your left hand aches hugely, so you will end up securing it open - defeating the object. The butterfly on the carb is weak and will fail. Otherwise, enjoy!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Mountfield SP470 with a Briggs & Stratton engine...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by markoconnor on 02/09/2007

The Mountfield SP470 with a Briggs & Stratton engine is meant to be one of the best makes of lawn mower you can buy. This model, however, comes with a strong recommendation not to buy. Used less than twenty times, it looks as if it's been in service since the last century. The push bars buckle, one of the wheels continues to fall off, and the pull cord rips through the flimsy plastic engine cover. I don't think I will have much luck trying to get this back to B&Q, so the next step is the skip. It really looks a mess, despite having to only cut a 120 foot residential garden; not a rolling meadow.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I bought the Mountfield SP470-ES electric start...”

★★★★★

written by appletreefarm on 26/08/2007

I bought the Mountfield SP470-ES electric start version 4 years ago and it still starts first time every time. It has got so much use I now need a new blade and new wheels which have started to skid. It has been great however I just bought a 4 stroke Honda brush cutter and will probably go Honda next time for my lawnmower, but my Mountfield is still going strong.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I wish I'd spent a little more and bought something...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by michaelrhodes on 09/08/2007

I wish I'd spent a little more and bought something more reliable than the Mountfield SP470 lawn mower.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I bought this mower as i have always bought...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by bigraz on 09/07/2007

I bought this mower as i have always bought "Mountfield." (Not anymore!!!). The build quality used to be superb! Now i don't know what has happened but (1). the grassbox falls apart. (2). The engine cuts out! (3). Sometimes will not Start at all! (4). Very flimsy build. (5). It will not go low enough to actually Cut. I am actually taking it back to B&Q so i will tell you how i get on?.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The pull starter lead on the Mountfield SP470 is...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by StevenG on 30/10/2006

The pull starter lead on the Mountfield SP470 is connected to a week plastic clip that broke on the 5th usage. Took it back to B&Q for a refund as not fit for purpose. Refused to give money back saying I knew what I was buying!

Last time I buy a Mountfield product or a product from B&Q. Customer care of B&Q is the worst I have come across. Lesson learnt! You only need to touch a fire once and get burnt to learn never to do it again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“On the subject of after-sales at B&Q, they are awful!...”

★★★★★

written by bulkdozer on 09/06/2006

On the subject of after-sales at B&Q, they are awful! I had a performance power mower which packed up 35 days after I bought it. They wanted to send it back to China, as it was out of their 28 day return policy. I complained, and in the end they agreed to swap this for a Mountfield SP470, and so far it is an excellent mower!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Mountfield SP460 lawn mower is without doubt the...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ridgeback on 17/04/2006

The Mountfield SP460 lawn mower is without doubt the worst buy I have ever experienced in the lawnmower department. I've had Qualcast's and Flymo's, and I have never had a problem, and I got 5-7 years out of them. I only got 18 months out of the Mountfield. Needless to say I will never buy another Mountfield

Oh yes, and the 2 year guarantee that it was sold with is pretty much worthless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My Mountfield SP470 Lawn Mower works well as a simple...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by michael eaton on 07/09/2005

My Mountfield SP470 Lawn Mower works well as a simple domestic unit, but it won't take the battering of busy and regular use of local gardening.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Michael Eaton's Response to michael eaton's Review

Written on: 11/10/2005

And the control handle has now sheared from its mounts...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

215919_L G Ross's Response to michael eaton's Review

Written on: 03/11/2005

Same problems - seems to only last about a year before everything loosening up. Had to strip it down and replace some of the mounting bolts. Also seeing running problems mentioned elsewhere. And Grass collection box has deformed at the attachment points so falls off continuously. Clutch cable fraying. Apart from that it is pretty good

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by cornwallblackcat on 21st August 2019 Report this content
I have been given a second hand Mountfield SP470 motor mower. Does this need 2 or 4 stroke oil, please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview