Solent Boat Training Reviews - www.solentboattraining.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
98% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Solent Boat Training - www.solentboattraining.co.uk

Solent Boat Training - www.solentboattraining.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL, STAY WELL CLEAR.”

Written on: 10/04/2022 by BurtonIsASausage (1 review written)

He cancelled my attendance on the course due to illness and promised me a refund. A month later no refund and he is refusing to respond to my emails. Avoid this company at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Autumnum's Response to BurtonIsASausage's Review

Written on: 17/07/2022

Contact your credit card provider for a chargeback.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wanttokillmatt's Response to BurtonIsASausage's Review

Written on: 29/08/2022

Lost £800 for a sailing course. Lockdown was finishing but I was not informed that course would be sleeping on the boat.
Was treated really badly. Instructor has very few social skills and got drunk every night.
5 people 3 rooms. Instructor sleeps aboard own room just for himself. Others to deal with it. Beds dirty and wet. Heaters turned off to save fuel. Life vest opened by itself causing me to hit the water. Marina stay exchanged by anchorage somewhere free.
Got so mistreated at the point of being told my family doesn't need me. And the answer to my complaints was that the course was not for me. And that I was just being horrible. Still feeling just like punching the instructors there. Someone to smack their faces if you can.
Wasted my money, that even opened an escalate over my complains over wanting other instructor that wouldn't insinuate we want to do sailing for drug smuggling.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Marina yacht skills one day course”

Written on: 20/12/2021 by Lance50 (1 review written)

Attended a one day marina skills practical course to brush up on docking skills since you can never get too much practice at this. Really enjoyed the day and came away with more knowledge and greater confidence. Highly recommended for any level of sailor. Thanks to my instructor for being an excellent instructor. December 2021.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Superb course - excellently run”

Written on: 04/08/2021 by GuyBoyd (1 review written)

I train adults for a living, in a totally different field, so am probably not the easiest participant (although I wouldn't dream of being difficult to a fellow facilitator.) So I didn't know what to expect.... However, the instructor knocked the ball out of the park on today's RYA Diesel course. Engaging, amusing, and totally credible (he even rolled up his sleeves on the first coffee break and fixed the coffee machine - not even a thought of calling "the engineers," and he had me from there on!) he made the programme a genuine pleasure. I knew virtually nothing about diesel engines at 09.29 this morning; at the end of the session, I felt so confident and energised that I put off a drive to Yorkshire until tomorrow morning, and took a 90 minute detour to my boat to start checking out the air and fuel filters, check the exhaust elbow, and run the engine up to operating speed on my pontoon before heading home a very happy chap. Next stop I'll be doing a full service on my new (to me) boat and saving myself a small fortune. 100% bravo. Will be back for more. Thank you to my instructor - you're a star fella!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic experience in Powerboat Level 2”

Written on: 28/10/2020 by AlfredoHess (1 review written)

I am a beginner in boating. The course cove basic navigation knowledge as well. Course instructor can simplify the information to let you easily understand. Even I am very fresh in sailing. And he will provide some extra information related to different student's background. Highly recommend to Solent Boat Training.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing PB2 course!”

Written on: 02/08/2020 by tomjauncey (1 review written)

Amazing PB2 course! My instructor was an amazing structure, had such a passion for what he does and so so knowledgeable. Glad we got him as an instructor! I think I have caught the bug..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No refund if cancel due to health less than 14 days...”

Written on: 17/01/2018 by Bluecolour (1 review written)

Sadly I had to cancel my VHF course shortly before the due date due to a severe infection. I was advised to get back in contact at a later date. Unfortunately I’ve developed a joint condition so I’m unable to sail. I approached Solent for a refund on the course fee paid given the circumstances. This was refused citing their terms and conditions which is that no refund can be given within 14 days of your course. So be warned - you will lose your money if you cannot attend your course due to ill health and can’t give 2 weeks notice. In the circumstances any offer to rebook was no use to me. Very disappointed in the attitude of this company. Following my honest review on Trip Advisor the manager of Solent made a complaint about me to my employer, accused me of starting a smear campaign, misrepresented what I had said and called me a liar about my health condition.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“RYA Competent Crew Course (Over 2 weekends)”

Written on: 19/11/2016 by Ships_Pervert (1 review written)

Awesome! Ok, i can't justify describing the course in one word, so i'll embelish a little further whilst trying not to wet myself with excitement. Right from the start it was clear this merry bunch are professional and more importantly, passionate about what they do. I love that, it shows this isn't just a job to these guys, it's their life, they love it and that enthusiasm and passion rubbed-off on all of us pretty much instantly. Our instructor (i'd love to name him personally, as he was a legend, but apparently i'm not allowed to) was awesome and knew his stuff. Teaching technique was spot-on, with a thorough explanation, demonstration and helping hand where needed. He made the five days of the course an absolute pleasure and we didn't want the fun to end. The boat (Janbo) was immaculate, very spacious and seriously impressive. The rest of their fleet looked equally impressive. They've made some serious investments in their choice of vessels, and this showed. The RYA Competent Crew course was great fun, very informative, packed full of hands-on sailing, both practical and theorectical. Right from the start getting everyone involved, working together to ensure the boat was managed safely, whilst showing everyone how much fun sailing is. We sailed in a few varied-conditions for November, from force 6/7 winds, to dead-calm-no-wind-just-mist-and-fog. I loved it, especially all the night sailing and mooring-up the boat at various marinas at night. Basically, everything i expected and more. Very comprehensive and great fun. The last day made it for all of us, a blast down to the Needles, quick about turn followed by a nice leisurely journey up the Solent back to base. For me, that was just the pinnacle of a perfect weekend of sailing. The worst part of the course? When it ended...... none of us (instructor included!) wanted it to end, and we all promised to return for the Day Skipper course in March (I'm not sure i can wait that long!). We all parted as great friends (i'm getting teary here!) and i hope to see all the guys again soon. What can i say? This was just the best experience ever and to quote Arnie....I'll be back (for more!). Now then.....lets get that Sea Survival, Day Skipper and VHF course booked-up.....! Change nothing guys, seriously, it was pefect.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“RYA Motor Cruising Helmsman Course”

Written on: 22/03/2016 by EColman (1 review written)

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, our instructor was keen to share his high level of knowledge, demonstrated tasks in-depth, in both the practical aspect of boat handling and introduced us to basic navigation, the boat was just superb. The company are well organised and for sure I recommend SBT. Thank you, I am looking forward to taking another RYA course with you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Powerboat Level 2 Training Review. - Jan 2014”

Written on: 27/01/2014 by Newrylands (1 review written)

My son and myself have just completed the Level 2 Power Boat Course with www.solentboattraining.co.uk. This was our first real introduction to Powerboat and I must say we were both very nervous prior to starting the course. However the moment we arrived at the training centre, the instructor put us both at ease with his confident calm manner. The course touches on all aspects of powerboating and the combination of training room and practical application of skills on the water worked really well. Our instructor clearly explained the concepts and was very patient with all the students, especially as we were new to Boating. On the second day of training the weather was foul, but we were properly kitted out with suitable clothing and headed out onto the water. It was a great experience and clearly demonstrated that you need to be prepared for any eventuality when boating and with the right equipment and training /understanding of the environment and your limits you should be fine. Our instructor focused heavily on the safety aspects of boating and made us all think about the importance of planning ahead prior to setting out on the water. I would highly recommend Solent Boat Training, the instructors, equipment and tuition are excellent. Personally I will be heading back to them in order to take the next level of training to make me a safer and competent skipper on the water.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“RYA First Aid course”

Written on: 09/11/2013

One-day First Aid course - excellent. This was my first time, all other students were updating existing First Aid qualification. Instructor went at a speed I could keep up with but without boring everyone else. Lively, memorable and good touches of humour. Also very practical in adapting first aid procedures to conditions of a boat at sea.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Informative and effective”

Written on: 29/10/2013 by Tim2328 (1 review written)

I completed the RYA level 2 powerboat course as necessary for ICC qualification and enjoyed the course. The mix of theory and practical work was very well paced and allowed for practical consolidation where appropriate. The option to stay on one of the companies larger yachts overnight on the Saturday was a real benefit. The boats are very well equipped and comfortable and make planning the stay completely trouble free. I would have no hesitation in recommending Solent Boat Training and would expect to use them in future for bare boat charter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“What a good day out”

Written on: 07/10/2013

We did the pwc course and it did what it says and more well worth the money great instructor give it a go

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best decision I ever made!”

Written on: 25/09/2013 by dannyTheCoach (1 review written)

I had been looking around the web and in person at companies to Learn with and to Charter from. Have family in Southend, Scotland and Lincoln so I did cast the net wide. Something about how easy to use the site was made me try these guys in Southampton. I pinged and email and made a call..well.. from that first contact I have felt like I have expert friends in the industry.I have met or trained with almost every member of the team but can't mention names here. I have chartered the Ribs and the larger motor Yacht as well as taken several courses and had bespoke one to one coaching. Sometimes with wife, sons or friends. The experience has always been outstanding. Key differences are: flexibility - they work hard to get you the experience you really want. Value - they often surprise me with improvements or extras. Quality - everybody seems like leading experts but stay friendly in style. Cost - I often say what I can afford and they try to give me some options. Variety- They have every type of water craft worth having. And expert in using them. I can honestly say I have opted to keep going to Solent rather than scrape cash to buy myself a boat. It's just much easier and friendlier that way.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very Good course”

Written on: 08/09/2013 by oldtown (1 review written)

Very good course, Ollie was a very knowledgable teacher and was able to answer any questions we had, very friendly and relaxed couple of days. Will certainly come back to do the intermediate course with you guys. Thanks for a great couple of days learning a new skill, and the free accommodation on your brand new luxury yacht. Tony H

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent course!”

Written on: 05/09/2013 by PipPerry (1 review written)

My husband and I completed the Powerboat Level 2 course mid August. We were very impressed with the whole set up. To have no more than 3 of us on the course and to tailor the level from a 15yr old to 44yr old was no mean feat! Our instructor Olly was brilliant and had the patience of a saint. The balance of classroom and practical was spot on for us. To do both across both days, meant we implemented what we had learned in the morning and attempted to perfect the following day too. We thoroughly enjoyed the 2 days and came away feeling infinitely more confident in our ability. How anyone can entertain the idea of not completing this course if you're new to boating and intend on buying a boat, is beyond me. Thanks Solent Boat Training :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“RYA VHF radio course”

Written on: 03/09/2013 by jaabarron (1 review written)

The course was excellent, and there was a good balance between presenting the information required to pass the examination and practical exercises involving the radio sets. Our instructor was very willing to discuss things further and to answer questions. He had expected us to have read the RYA VHF book beforehand which hadn't been mentioned in the pre-course communications - however in the end the course was sufficient to pass the short exam at the end and receive the radio licence. Overall, the course fulfilled and surpassed its objectives.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Terrific Taster Day for a Nautical Newbie!”

Written on: 30/08/2013 by Carriecot (1 review written)

I joined the guys at Solent Boat Training (SBT) at the end of June 2013 for a taster day. Although a qualified and experienced yachtswoman, my work commitments had kept me off the water for a while and the SBT taster day was just what I needed.The skipper was young and enthusiastic and quickly established a rapport with everyone. His calm manner was reassuring, ideal for the total novice, giving the impression of a safe environment for learning and enjoyment. His enthusiasm and professionalism both shone through. Although the weather was not ideal for the total novice our skipper gave us a full day on the water learning the basics from points of sail to tacking and gybing, anchoring and returning onto a pontoon, I had plenty of opportunity to brush up on my skippering technique and my helming. I'm sure the others who participated would not hesitate to recommend SBT for their RYA practical sailing courses - they also provide excellent lunches, an essential element of skipper training. I'm looking forward to returning to SBT for more practical sailing in 2014 and even chartering their Bavaria 37'. An excellent introduction to sailing for the novice who might be a bit apprehensive about what to expect.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best RYA PB2 Team by far.”

Written on: 29/08/2013 by SimonDouglas (1 review written)

A big thanks to Bo and the team at SolentBoatTraining. Could not fault the service and experience. Great kit and location. I did a lot of online research and you guys came up with the goods going above and beyond when our overnight stay broke down at the last minute. Would recommend your team to anyone considering getting on the water and look forward to seeing you at Southampton Boat Show 2013 where I will be booking for the advanced course.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Jet ski course”

Written on: 29/08/2013 by Maskrey28 (1 review written)

I recently took part in a course for jet skiing, I found the experience excellent and would strongly recommend it to any one. I found the course brilliant as I have no experience with any kind of jet ski before the instructor soon taught you the basic controls, before being aloud out on the Solent. I found the course a great mix of theory n practical time on the ski. And at the end of the day had a great final experience on the skis. Would deffonatley recommended this to any one with a light interest or someone looking to buying there own ski. An excellent course for all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“My day at Solent Training radio operators certificate...”

Written on: 29/08/2013

When i arrived the teacher was most welcoming . I found he was clear and instructive if i was not sure about something he went over it again till i was happy i understood .Without his excellent training i think i would have struggled to pass but found the test fine and successfully passed. I would recommend Solent Training to others.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview