Fowlers Finance - www.fowlersfinance.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Mariezull on 13th July 2016 Report this content
Does anyone know where I stand about just giving my car back to Fowlers? I've had it for a year and a half now but need to give it back. Thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content nathan1978 Written on: 14/07/2016
Good luck with this ive tried giving my faulty car back after one month, im having hell with them, if it is with finance then you need to speak with the finance company as they technically own the car until you finish paying for it, if it isnt on finance all i can say is good luck your going to need it
Report this content Seth2010 Written on: 14/07/2016
Well it is no wonder you want to give it back, they are an awful company. In short, I suspect the only option may be to do what I did. I gave my car back to the finance company under what is called the half rule. In essence, you can hand it back and walk away if you have paid half f the total finance. I wasnt at the half way point so I paid as a one off up to half way and they collect the useless bucket of bolts tomorrow. Thats all I know, my friend, but I wish you luck.
Asked by Jax1987 on 20th September 2015 Report this content
Am just going through the process of getting a Zafira as need a 7 seater due to be a family of 6, in holding out for a diesel as they only have petrol at the minute been waiting 3 weeks now, I had a different worker phone me (not the one who normally deals with me) and he was pushing me to accept the petrol life model which I stuck to my guns and said no, I'm paying so much so I want what I want and he called me ridiculous! I'm still waiting on a diesel but unsure now as I've read a few reviews, but I've poor credit history and am receiving benefits and this company seem to have accepted this. What should I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content samriley67 Written on: 21/09/2015
Stick to your guns or even try concept car credit
Report this content Trueblueowl Written on: 21/09/2015
Hi there having owned zafiras since 2000 they are a great car when they are looked after but my experience with Fowlers is terrible they really do push you to take the cheaper 1.6 petrol models and they really are very poorly maintained and there after sales are even worse . Once it goes wrong they pretty much wash there hands of you . Quite honestly i would avoid them or go to the finance company directly and get a car from elsewhere. What ever you decide i wish you the best of luck.
Report this content laststand Written on: 21/09/2015
Do not buy from Fowlers, we had a zafira, it was smelling of petrol and gave everyone who travelled in it headaches etc, it was put in a garage of their choosing 2 times and they could find nothing wrong with it. Also never received the documents for it, in the end gave it back to them, they sold it at auctions (ha ha) did not get enough money to pay off the finance on it even though we only had it about 6 weeks, and am still paying the balance of the finance and will be for the forseeable future, and have no car to show for it. DO NOT BUT A CAR FROM THESE.EVER.
Report this content Fiona1987 Written on: 21/09/2015
I actually got accepted by the car finance company they are he ones who put the money up . Try and get a loan off then and go to most garages to get a car . Hope this helps
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 22/09/2015
There are much better car credit for bad credit companies out there. ...Fowlers shouldn't even be considered. As for the car, don't take it....not even the petrol one! They buy their cars at rock bottom prices from auctions, they are mostly MOT failures, accident cases or write offs. Fowlers will do NO work on it and stick a dodgy MOT on it. They'll also make you pay THEM for tax before you drive away on the promise they'll tax your vehicle that same day.....it NEVER happens! This company preys on people like us with bad credit. They'll rip you off....sell you a death trap (don't forget to think of your babies who are going to be travelling in this car)! Please read ALL the reviews.....you'll hear the same things over and over again. I'm busy compiling a list of other, more reputable, bad credit car finance companies which I'll post on this thread in the very near future. I hope this helps?
See All Answers
Asked by Laurenlou on 8th August 2015 Report this content
I've purchased a car from Fowlers I've had it 8 months, but are now on sick leave due to knee operation. Will the finance company for Fowlers let me defer one months payment until I'm back on my feet and at work?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 10/08/2015
You have a legal right to have at least one payment deferred providing you can prove what you say but i highly doubt Fowlers will oblige. Good luck though.
Report this content samriley67 Written on: 10/08/2015
You would have to ask the finance company
Asked by hayleycollins on 27th May 2015 Report this content
Should i take Fowlers to financial obnesman as i have had nothing but problems with my car?  I have also heard that the main man in all this should not be trading - does anyone know anything about that?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content samriley67 Written on: 28/05/2015
fowlers and the finance company to the financial ombudsman under the sale of goods act implied terms as the car is not fit for the purpose for which it was bought
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 28/05/2015
YES YES YES.....the Financial Ombudsman is your first port of call. They will tell you Fowlers were forced to cease trading due to bankruptcy in 2009 & the owner.... IS NOT ALLOWED......BY LAW...to operate or be a part of any other company but he still is and is still going under the guise of Fowlers Car Finance! Rogue Traders have recently done a programme on Fowlers....still yet to be aired on BBC1. Hope this helps?
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 10/08/2015
Tim Fowler who i believe owns Fowlers and other businesses trading as Fowlers.com etc went bankrupt in 2009 along with his companies which went into administration. I was told directly from the financial ombudsman that those businesses and mr fowler were not allowed to trade. I have reported them numerous times for still trading but mostly for ripping people off with there vehicles.
See All Answers
Asked by karlee on 15th May 2015 Report this content
I got a car from Fowlers Finance in July last year. The car came with all the wrong paperwork, the head gasket went within 3 weeks. It hasn't even made it to the first MOT the timing belt snapped the water tank collapsed, bolts snapped off into engine. The coil spring has snapped off abs sensors don't work. It's just one thing after another. Fowlers are so hard to get hold of and they are so rude when you do get through to them. They really couldn't care less about anybody. The cars 2007 corsa and had done 120,000. They are charging me altogether over £6,000 for it over 3 years. I cannot believe how stupid I was to get it. They just fill you with lies to get you to sign the papers. They told me it would only be over 18 months then they would change the car and give me a better one a lot cheaper. Hah I feel such a fool, biggest mistake of my life. I really don't know what to do. The cars costing me £173 a month and I can't even drive it. What should I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content samriley67 Written on: 19/05/2015
You should of rang the finance company and trading standerds stating you reject the car as it is not fit for purpose
Report this content scottdthornhill Written on: 19/05/2015
Hello sorry to hear about your problem with fowlers.I didnt take out finance with these because of the reviews and the messing around (very glad) If I were you I would phone citizen advise and also goggle sell of goods act . I am sure under the sell of goods act you have to expect the car to be of satisfactory condition and not to have any defects that you wouldn't expect from a car of the age and miles. Also the fact it went wrong in the first three weeks means the car was not worth the price you paid and not of satisfactory condition also maybe look in to the fact you got the wrong paperwork as the contract you sign could be void so you may not be tied to them anymore.
Report this content Shaun233 Written on: 19/05/2015
I would contact trading standards with a view to reject the car as it's not fit for purpose
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 19/05/2015
Please please please contact the Financial Ombudsman AND Trading Standards who will take care of this for you. I had horrendous problems with this company but thanks to letters to them from both these government bodies i managed to get the car taken back plus get a full refund on my deposit. My dealings with Fowlers were never good. I was even threatened by a male member of staff over the phone telling me he was 'coming for me'! I called 999 and reported him and as far as i know he was sacked immediately? Please people STOP using this company. There are other reputable companies to use. ...do your research. I don't know how or why Fowlers are still trading as they actually went into administration in 2009? This information came directly from the Financial Ombudsman when dealing with my case. Good luck and if you need any help. ..message me on here and I'll see what i can do.
See All Answers
Asked by trigg86 on 25th September 2014 Report this content
I have purchased a car from Fowlers Finance and after going over the agreement I noticed it is a conditional bill of sale and the agreement is for 130 weeks. Can you tell me if I will own the car after I have made the final payment on the 130th week?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Fiona1987 Written on: 26/09/2014
Hi you have the agreement with the finance company its a hire purchase vehicle (if it's with the car finance company ) you own the car after the last payment is made . But good luck if you have bought a car off fowlers finance your gonna need it !!
Report this content alantnorman Written on: 26/09/2014
if it says this is a hire purchase agreement then when you make that final payment the car is yours if it don't what it means is after you make the 130th payment there will be a one off amount you have to pay or you can give the car back just like a lease agreement
Report this content trigg86 Written on: 26/09/2014
Hi guys and thank you for your comments iv since spoke to fowlers and they say the car is mine after the 130th payment its a condition bill of sale it's similar to a hire purchase agreement many thanks
Report this content scottdthornhill Written on: 19/05/2015
no you wont
See All Answers
Asked by AmyBenjamin on 9th September 2014 Report this content
I've had so many problems with this company too. Isn't there anything we could do about it collectively? They're clearly not providing the service any consumer would normally expect, and it's so frustrating to know that there are so many of us who are clearly getting a rubbish deal from them.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 09/09/2014
Firstly. ..report them to the Financial Ombudsman. Most of their spin off companies went into liquidation in 2009 and legally they're not allowed to trade but are using Fowlersfinance to get round it. Secondly report them to trading standards for selling a vehicle not fit for purpose. Thirdly....write to them and tell them you want your finance rescinded. ... Your full deposit returned in full and the car taken back or you'll sue them in court. If you need any more help let me know. I succeeded with getting Fowlers to do just that. ...it took about 6 months but believe me. ...was worth it in the end!
Report this content samriley67 Written on: 11/09/2014
it depends if fowlers financed the car or an outside company like car finance company contact the finance company first and make them aware of the problem
Report this content AmyBenjamin Written on: 11/09/2014
Thank you so much for your help. We have a contract with a separate finance company, so not with Fowlers. Finance are aware of the issue and have said that Fowlers will fix the car in their own garage. It's now been 4 days since they said they would pick up the car.. So I have sent finance a formal letter stating that they have 14 days to resolve the problem. No answer as of yet and citizens advice have advised me to just wait for an answer. It's now been 6 days without a car and the more days go by the more worried I am that at the end of all of this I'll have to pay £800 to get my car fixed.. Thanks for your help xx
Report this content Fiona1987 Written on: 26/09/2014
I'm in despute with financial ombudsman myself .
Report this content Fiona1987 Written on: 26/09/2014
You have 14 days to get out of the contract get out whilst you can .. They don't pick the car up when they say I took mine to wilson& co and they paid but refused every othe repair including instrument clusters and cim unit but had to have alternator changed and also a new EcU so that's over £2000 worth of work on a car which is costing me over £8000 but I'm in a despute . Financial ombidsman are dealing with this now x
Report this content alantnorman Written on: 26/09/2014
You can do what i have done don't pay another penny and tell them to come and pick the car up I even phoned the car finance company to tell them to pick the car up and not even they want to know fowlers they are a scrap yard cause all they do is sell unroadworthy cars
Report this content alantnorman Written on: 26/09/2014
i bought a Mazda in may had nothing but trouble with fowlers trying to get money back of them that i had to pay out and for them to pay a garage that did work on my car got that all sorted after about 2months of emails and still not got rest of work done on car that i was told to get quotes for and also after taking the finance agreement to my solicitor and letting him read it he as told me give them the car back stop all payment's as the agreement is worthless as its not legal binding so that's what if done i stopped paying in June its been 3 months iv contacted fowlers and the finance company and none of them have collected the car so what do that tell you
See All Answers
Asked by stuart.lancashire.5 on 22nd July 2014 Report this content
The engine management light is staying on and the ignition is not working all the time. The car is under warranty. Do Fowlers Finance have to put this right?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content gonnastopfowlers Written on: 11/08/2014
Fowlers will say they have 8 weeks to deal with it, not want you want to hear when the car is in bits due to a massive mechanical failure and taking up space in your local garage, is it a Ford Focus by anychance? Fowlers will tell you to wait and wait and wait until you do it yourself, then say you paid too much, not reimburse you, jump on their horses and ride off into the wild west to rip someone else off!!! Try ringing the woman on the warranty side of it, she is a hoot!!! she is trained to say that nobody is there to authorize any work and they have 8 weeks to decide if they are going to fix anything!! Probably also worth doing a bit of research into the millage the car had when it went to the auction house, and what it had when it left fowlers, i did and it was very intresting!!!So intresting that when i mentioned it, they came in the dead of night and took the car lol, best thing you could do is try your hardest to get the car back to them and cut all ties with them!!
Report this content ripoffbritain2014 Written on: 09/09/2014
I also found out that the garage they used to give my car a clean mot had lost its mot licence back in 2010 and the mot wasn't worth the paper it was written on..... Neither by the way is there credit agreement you sign....it means nothing!
Report this content alantnorman Written on: 26/09/2014
Yes they do but getting them to put it right is going to be a long haul I bought a Mazda of them in may within a week it needed a clutch they let me take that car from there garage in Bristol knowing I was putting my 2yr old grandaughter in that car it had a very bad buckled alloy wheel on the front which was found by a tyre company in Cwmbran when i went to have the wheels balanced also the day i picked the car up it was absolutely tipping down so the car looked great in the wet but a day or two later when it had stopped raining i looked at the car and all I seen was dents 5 on the roof and 2 on the bonnet I sent them a email and they told me to go and get quotes so i sent these quotes to fowlers then they started Getting a bit heavy with me on the I did get the clutch done which it took fowlers a month to pay the garage that did the clutch but as far as the other work is concerned it as not been done so I'm giving the car back
See All Answers
questionAnswer