Mackays of Cambridge Reviews - www.mackay.co.uk

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
94% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mackays of Cambridge www.mackay.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Good price and quickly dispatched”

Written on: 30/07/2022 by ZaidHenry120 (1 review written)

Very happy, found a Darlac tool for a good price, and various more useful pieces on the website. Was quickly dispatched and arrived safely

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“customer servive”

Written on: 30/05/2022 by MarisaPatterson (1 review written)

Exilent website great delivery on time and was kept informed of my orders progress

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Customer Service”

Written on: 05/04/2022 by GentleAmbler (1 review written)

I received very prompt delivery but my purchase arrived clearly badly damaged by the courier. I sent an email with photos including the packaging and received a replacement in two working days. Excellent service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Replacement mattock handle - top quality”

Written on: 25/09/2021 by Geecologist (1 review written)

This is a traditional company doing a specific thing very well. What's surprising is if you set a basic standard of quality for your tools, you'll be hard pressed to find them cheaper than here.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Reliable supplier, good prices, good range of products.”

Written on: 30/08/2021 by Alan7777777 (1 review written)

Have bought from Mackay's on several occasions. Good products. Good prices and now home delivery too. Will purchase again in future.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Perfect Service All Round”

Written on: 30/06/2021 by Dave09061958 (1 review written)

A great online service with Mackay's easy to use and find items, dispatch was super fast as well, well recommended Thank You.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bucket Hookloo”

Written on: 27/06/2021

Looked for ages to find replacement Abru Bucket Ladder Hook. Finally found on Mackays! Ordered online - prompt email response to confirm. Great despatch -arrived Sat morning in time for outside decorating with the good weather! Will definitely order again - extremely pleased!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Fast service and good customer support”

Written on: 14/06/2021 by tcaxle (1 review written)

Ordered some aluminium angle on line. Initially sent the wrong length but after a quick phone call was resolved and right length sent at no extra cost. Reasonable prices as ever and good advice always given when asked for.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Well done ”

Written on: 13/06/2021 by Bronsonu1956 (1 review written)

I found the ordering process really easy and I was able to find what I needed quickly. The order process was also very efficient and my order was delivered in two days. Well done to McKays

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Black & Decker circular saw blade”

Written on: 16/05/2021

Excellent service, price and fast delivery. What else could you want. Will use again and I would recommend this company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Completely lost it, why use a family business?”

Written on: 11/05/2021 by Parsons97 (1 review written)

I have been using this company off and on for the best part of 50 years, mostly because of the depth of stock, but also because one or two of the people serving have expertise. It's never been particularly friendly, but yesterday they reached new heights of customer disservice; I went in intending to spend about £400 on a good new Trend router and some bits. Problem: the bits were behind the counter (as are much of the goods) and customers not allowed in. Not allowed, that is, except accompanied by a member of staff. Why? Health and Safety. Covid. So how is that different from us all being in the shop together? And is browsing with someone else supervising you safe, or helpful? While another customer might be needing service? Eventually, having come up with this absurd explanation, and after a big sigh, a server agreed to go and look for another item I wanted. I saw him looking (he clearly didn't know exactly where it might be or if you stocked it), and after a time I got fed up with waiting and walked. If you are not offering expertise or friendliness or helpfulness, why would we use you when there is Toolstation, Screwfix, and the other large well run but impersonal organisations? The general impression you give is that customers are an annoying interruption to your normal daily business.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Losing it's charm - fading star”

Written on: 25/01/2021 by CantuItalian217 (1 review written)

One of the last places where you have to wait while the blokes finish their pointless chat before serving you. Then not knowing what you want and going off to ask someone else. Then returning and saying no mate we don't do those. Strange, I've bought them here before and can see them behind you. Ah well, off to Clifton Road where TLC, Toolstation, Screwfix etc will have what I want.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Coronavirus lockdown”

Written on: 10/04/2020

Thanks to Mackays I have been able to unblock my kitchen sink on Good Friday during the lockdown. Thank you!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Profiteering during a National Emergency.”

Written on: 15/03/2020 by louisemac123 (1 review written)

Price Gouging on Amazon.co.uk as the company "tools247" with an 800% markup on toilet paper. Selling 35p per roll toilet paper for £3.70. Morally wrong, yes, but also currently illegal under the Uk Anti-profiteering Act. What kind of company takes at advantage at a time like this? Shame on you Makay. Shame on you.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wouldn't Shop There Again”

Written on: 09/01/2020 by 422Crouch (1 review written)

Bought a product from there. Arrived with manufacturing defect & broke on first test. Other faults present. Originally, Mackay's sounded as though they didn't want me to return the product, but to have myself repair it. When they agreed to have it returned, they then sounded as though they would rather repair or replace than refund me. I wanted a refund. It took about 3 weeks to refund after numerous phones calls and emails. Needless to say I won't be buying from them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Helpful”

Written on: 12/09/2019 by 61Beasley (1 review written)

Called in needing some more fasteners. The type I needed were obsolete it turned out, but armed only with my naff description of usage and a specimen, the staff sourced a perfectly serviceable replacement, brilliant!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Fixtures and fittings”

Written on: 24/04/2019 by sjfawcett (1 review written)

Makays are the must-go-to location to find replacements for all those missing or damaged fiddly fixtures and fittings. They have never failed to find what I need and have been incredibly helpful. Always so knowledgeable and helpful too. Nothing is too much bother including digging out a glued in jammed up fitting that needed replacing. Lots of elbow grease and a new fitting for the princely sum of 86p!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent products and advice”

Written on: 12/09/2017 by fgsltechman (1 review written)

I regularly buy metals (from MacKays Metals Warehouse) and tools, fasteners and a wide range of random items from the main shop in Cambridge. These are for creation of bespoke apparatus for work. Because of the wide range of different items I need I'm certainly no expert in the properties of all the materials or how to get the best from certain tools etc. However, not only can I be assured of the quality of the stuff I buy from MacKays but also the quality and relevance of the advice I'm given - which is priceless. Improvements in their website over the years have also helped when scouting out parts before a visit. I'm delighted MacKays have held their own against the big chains and it's got to be down to all-round high quality of service and sensible prices. Keep it up!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“I bought a number of drills which came in plastic...”

Written on: 11/02/2015 by wwicksteed (1 review written)

I bought a number of drills which came in plastic tubes. Three sizes 2.5mm,2.0mm and 1.5mm were supposed to each contain two drills. In fact, when I reached home I found that two of the tubes (1.5mm and 2.5mm) had already been opened and contained only 1 drill. The petrol for coming back to the shop will cost me more than the price of the drills so I will not do so. However I think that you should give an e mail address so that I can send a scan of the receipt as evidence.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Quick delivery and a good price”

Written on: 18/09/2014 by elReeves326 (1 review written)

My tin of Patina arrived quickly, was very well packaged, and at an excellent price.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview