Tastecard Reviews - www.tastecard.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
13% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tastecard - www.tastecard.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Tastecard - www.tastecard.co.uk

Tastecard - www.tastecard.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Beware taste card are after your money a very shady...”

written by Mangokey on 19/08/2019

Beware taste card are after your money a very shady business if you ask me most of the discounts obtained through your subscription can in reality be obtained anyway plus the auto renewal is there cash cow no customer care here. I can’t believe this company has not been investigated I’ve done some poking around and it seems this is not an isolated few but pretty much a whole host of people are feeling this way and the company will not even entertain you this company’s revenue is mostly made up of there auto renewal thus company needs to investigated but fair trading

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID TASTECARD THEY ARE DISHONEST.”

written by Johnhutchinsonuk on 05/06/2017

AVOID THIS COMPANY. THEY HAVE NO INTEREST IN ANYTHING BUT YOUR MONEY AND THEY ARE DISHONEST. Two years ago I got two tastecards on a short introductory offer - we are a family of 4 so needed 2 cards to get most of the deals. The card didn't work for us because of the limited choice of restaurants on the scheme. I phoned and cancelled the cards - they admit that they have a record of this. In 2016 they billed my CC without my authorisation for the full yearly price of £39.99 x 2 cards = £79.98. I called them up and they refused to reverse the transaction and said I would have to keep the new cards but they would cancel them for next year. Two weeks ago they have charged my CC for a second unauthorised year. I have now paid them £159.96 and they refuse to discuss a refund. I now have an email confirming the cancellation of the card so they will not get away with it again but remain out of pocket. Customer service awful. They are untrustworthy and they don't cancel when they say they will. I threatened a CC chargeback but the girl said that she knew that this would not be successful. I take it from that response that I am not the only one to find myself in this situation! PLEASE AVOID DEALING WITH THIS COMPANY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid - better free and faster options out there”

written by isjulesj on 04/07/2016

Similar issue to another reviewer below, Took payment of £39.99 before renewal date. I'd not bother, apps like 'voucher codes' have exactly the same offers out there with no initial cost to gain access. I was given a 3month free trial and I think I used the app once for the above reason. The software is slow and very out of date. Their tactics are on a par with someone like Ryanair. Avoid the unnecessary hassle of using them. Would definitely not recommend the service to friends and Family.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID - RIP OFF!”

written by Warner426 on 09/05/2016

Took payment of £39.99 before renewal date, despite the fact that I'd emailed to cancel and also had automated acknowledgement back from them. Will not budge on refunding - have now got Credit Card company to intervene - hopefully they'll have more joy than me. Constantly emailing Tastecard and they reply with copied text, which doesn't answer my questions to them, they're just going round and round in circles with excused.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“They don't allow negative reviews.”

written by Mlipman4 on 17/04/2016

Whilst the card is good value and has allowed us to gain very good discounts, I have a problem when it comes to writing negative reviews on their site. They won't print them!! I've tried twice and both times they haven't been printed. I tweeted them and they gave me some rubbish about why they don't print negative reviews, but the real reason is that they don't want to upset the restaurants that pay to use their service. This kind of practice is pathetic because if you only use Tastecards reviews then you can end up spending money on a load of rubbish as we did last week. I ended up leaving my negative review on TripAdvisor which the owners saw and offered me a full refund which I duly accepted and received. There is no point in asking for a review to be left if the only ones you will print are the positive ones. In short...don't rely on Tastecards bias reviews.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful code of practice”

written by zmCrawford353 on 19/03/2016

Cancelled my membership in writing two weeks prior to cancellation citing lack of choice and inability to use it in my local area and they claim they didn't receive it (funny how this didn't happen with the other correspondence I sent the same day!!). Then they took £39.99 almost a week before my membership ran out. When I complained I was told that it was my problem and there would be no refund. So I'm out £39.99 for a service I can't use. Further to this my welcome pack only arrived a few days ago, some 4 weeks since they took my payment. So I couldn't have used the card even if I wanted to for the first month of my membership. DISGRACEFUL CONDUCT!!! Be warned!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Exploits customer through loop holes in consumer act 2015”

written by Andersenak487 on 01/03/2016

I was charged an amount of money, I contacted them to discover why they said it was a renewal cost. I informed them I did not want this service but they refused to give me a refund. They mentioned that they notified me via email (which is a lie, I check my emails daily and I have not received an email from them). They told me I do not have rights and will not be given me a refund. Be careful guys I would avoid using this company altogether.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hoax ! ”

written by Ashalondon on 17/12/2015

I signed up for the 3 months free subscription expiring on 21 Dec 2015. I received an email saying the rolling subscription of 12 months and £39.99 was credited from my bank account on 17 Dec 2015. Upon calling customer service to cancel it, they claim that a reminder was sent which clearly was not sent to me. Technically, I called 4 days before the expiry date and still calling them was like hitting a brick wall. The whole means of explaining customers regarding the subscriptions is misleading and aiming to bypass customers without their knowledge. Don't be fooled and do not sign up!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling”

written by on 19/09/2014

We joined because of free tablet,which they then decided they could not supply,trying g to get refund was a nasty experience,they kept telling me it had been paid,it had not,had to get bank involved. After I did that the refund miraculously appeared in bank account. And they advertise "friendly"staff,I certainly did not come across ANY friendly or helpful staff. Do not waste your money.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Onerous Terms of Auto Renewal”

written by totallypeedoff on 27/03/2014

BEWARE - If you sign up for this card and don't use it like me, you naturally delete all emails from them as you're not going to renew it. BIG JOKE - YOU WILL BE AUTOMATICALLY RENEWED unless you cancel before the renewal date which is printed only on the card you threw away!!! Once renewed you cannot get a penny back - not anything. The 7 day coling off period doesn't apply either as it's a renewal not new! Also this card isn't that popular - DO NOT BUY IT - BUY GOURMET CARD INSTEAD if you eat out regularly at the cheaper chains (Tabletable, vintage inns, Beefeater, etc) where it is accepted unlike Tastecard which isn't. STILL BEWARE - Gourmet card is also self renewing so make sure you cancel in time if you don't wish to continue with it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware Auto Renewal”

written by on 11/02/2014

Beware, Beware, Beware. Sharpe practice at best. When you sign up you are agreeing to automatic payment renewal in the dreaded Terms and Conditions. Worse still you are told you can cancel up to the day before your membership ends but they put an expiry date on your card a week after your membership end date. Companies who have a product worth selling don't need to employ sharp practice to get repeat business. Avoid. Membership costs between £25 and £60 a year dependant on the offer you take and there are many usage restrictions and normally excludes all restaurant special offers and set menus.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“small print mislead customers - so not a good deal...”

written by on 06/01/2014

The terms at different restaurants are misleading - causing embarrassment at time of use for the member. Just see the waitor's face when you present the card. Like begging for the discount. Items on the menus being excluded at their will. Overall have had very embarrassing experiences nearly 50% of the time. When I add the saving, barely cover the membership amount. Who wants to have the embarrassment attached to using it for bonus? I don't!

Agileservices's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2015

You have hit the nail on the head.

Restaurants do sometimes fully honour the Tastecard terms. But only some.

A serious case is the Alexander the Great in NW1. They exclude all the fish and grills!

But Tastecard in their own writeup list all the fish dishes!

If you complain to Tastecard, they wait three weeks and give a non committal reply but don't make any changes to their writeup or post your review!

Simply they don't care!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“very difficult to cancel”

written by julieem on 31/10/2013

If you have one of these cards and you want to end your membership - THE EXPIRY DATE ON YOUR CARD IS NOT THE DATE THAT THEY AUTO RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP. The memberships is renewed, if you havent already cancelled ,about 6 days BEFORE the date on your card and there is NOTHING you can do about it. BEWARE!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Hasn't yet paid for itself.”

written by Peetle on 02/07/2013

I got one of these in a half price deal through work, though it turns out this "deal" is readily available and no one pays the full £70. I've not managed to use it enough to recoup even my reduced outlay. Participating restaurants won't accept it on popular days and our local Pizza Express only accepts it on telephone bookings - so we stood in the nearly empty restaurant and rang them up to book a table. They didn't like that but we got the discount. On another occasion in a different place we got a discount but it didn't seem very much and later I worked it out to be 7%. Whoop-de-do. As recommended in the blurb, I've presented the card on numerous occasions in various restaurants and have had responsed varying from "What's that ?" to "Not today" or "not any more". In short, like many so called discounts, it really isn't worth it. I shan't be renewing in November.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of money- Many restaurants do not accept ”

written by on 25/06/2013

Had it for a year and noticed that many restaurants on the taste card app do not offer the discount when you phone. Others change the offer and place restrictions on them. Other also change their offer, saying maximum 2 people when the app says 4. I have also had one say no tap water for taste card customers. Also the reviews of many restaurants on the app are very inaccurate. Example was one restaurant had 4/5 stars I would have given it 1. I posted a review but it never for published. In fact non of my negative reviews got published . Most of the restaurants on the taste card are not worth it even after the discount, except some of the big chains but they have similar offers available on their websites (eg pizza express). In short not worth the £35 annual membership (full price is £70 but they always have offers).

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Problem with Reviews ”

written by on 28/04/2013

Although I recommend getting this card (Tastecard) if you like eating out a lot but unfortunately have found that the reviews shown on their sites are censored and inaccurate, I left a few bad feedbacks for some awful restaurants and they were just omitted/not shown which I found disappointing. I did complain to them but they didn't reply. I thought that the whole process of a feedback system is to be honest with customers and inform people of the good/bad and ugly but obviously not in the case of Tastecard as they take the side of "THEIR" customer which is the merchant! so if you leave a bad review it will not be put up on the site

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview