Maries Cross Stitch Reviews - www.mariescrossstitch.co.uk

★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
44% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Maries Cross Stitch - www.mariescrossstitch.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Maries Cross Stitch - www.mariescrossstitch.co.uk

Maries Cross Stitch - www.mariescrossstitch.co.uk
Maries Cross Stitch - www.mariescrossstitch.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Wouldn't use again.”

Written on: 03/08/2021 by Nathanael107 (1 review written)

I ordered several cross stitch kits online. After a long wait, I received an email to say that they would not be able to get hold of one of the items. I said that was okay and they refunded me for that item. I continued to wait for the other items to be dispatched. I then received another email to say that there was a delay with one of the items, and that this was highly unusual for them. I continued to be patient and waited. Today I sent an email asking for an update, and I received a rather brusque reply saying that they had told me one item was not available and they were waiting for another item. They said they would sent out the items that were available. I haven't received anything yet, and I don't have much faith that I will receive anything. And after the terse response to my email asking for an update, it has completely put me off this company. I would not order from this company again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“EXCELLENT SERVICE ”

Written on: 29/04/2021 by SantosMunoz (1 review written)

I have placed several orders with this company in 2020/2021 and have nothing but praise for them. I was waiting for one specific tapestry wool for 6 months (all remaining order received) and it still hadn't come (not made in UK I assume)so i asked them to swap for the equivalent in another make - they have done so no problem at all even though the replacement is actually slightly more expensive. Placed a large order for more tapestry wool's and 2 were missing - emailed customer service - both arrived the next day. It is called human error and certainly does not warrant this business being slated! I have ordered cross stitch kits - all received. Yes, some of their orders may be delayed slightly due to COVID but i have found their customer service has been excellent (even answering on a Sunday evening within 2 minutes of me sending an email!) especially as they have been so busy during this pandemic. I will be placing more orders in the future and will certainly recommend to others to use. Have a little patience. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Customer service rubbish”

Written on: 30/03/2021 by Ulises176 (1 review written)

I ordered my mum a cross stitch pre printed tablecloth, arrived very promptly, could not fault how fast it came. Kit was intact with everything needed. Took the tablecloth and the chart out of the package, chart does not match tablecloth preprinted crosses. Subsequently we found out if you hold the chart up to the mirror it’s the right way round and matches the crosses, I’ve tried taking photos of the chart and flipping it so it’s the right way round, but sadly I failed. My sister has worked out which colours go where, but my mum has to keep asking her to check the cross stitch and the colours are in the right places. I emailed customer services but they haven’t replied to my phone number or my email, reading some of the reviews on this forum has really put me off this firm. I wish I had chosen another website. Don’t bother getting in touch, we have worked it out for ourselves.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Buyer beware!”

Written on: 10/03/2021 by onLove26 (1 review written)

Ordered some items over the phone with a very helpful member of staff. I was very clear about what I wanted and appreciate that telephone ordering without a picture of the product can be difficult. Items arrived and were unsuitable. I returned them at my own expense. So far, so good. Then discovered that the refund did not include the postage I HAD PAID already, even though Consumer Law says it should. Make sure you 100% know what you are ordering!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“lost wool”

Written on: 17/09/2020

In Sept of 2015 I began tapestry, but a house move intervened and some of my wools went missing. Friends gave me bits and pieces, I acquired new tapestries, but I want to finish one I started in 2017....could I find the wool, NO. This March, semi shielding because.. Doctors, shopping. I tried again to finish my Leghorn Cockerel only to find in August I had no pink for the border or the the cockerels plume. I searched the internet and found my tapestry..but it was along time ago..what hope of the right colour..and worse... how much! I rang and spoke to a kind understanding lady who called the supplier who in turn sent me enough wool to finish my work. In this day and age I didn't expect such kindness. A sincerely felt Thank You to The lady I spoke too and to the lady at the suppliers. You made an old lady very happy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Good service ”

Written on: 20/07/2020 by SewingQueen5 (1 review written)

I’ve used this business before and been pleased with the service. Ordered a kit, waited 4 weeks, didn’t receive, contacted them to query, was sent an email informing supply problem I could wait or change order. I opted to change. After almost two weeks I got impatient and emailed. Received a prompt reply informing me item already posted. It arrived today, 3 days later. The supply problem and delay was out of their hands. I am very pleased at how they handled my purchase and have found them polite and helpful when I’ve phoned and prompt in response to emails. I shall certainly be shopping with them again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“7 weeks and still waiting...”

Written on: 09/07/2020

Placed an order on 20th May. Received incorrect item. Emailed them and was told it was "a simple pulling mistake " and the right item would be sent out immediately. Heard nothing more until 12th June when I emailed again. Apparently item was out of stock. Emailed on 8th July asking for refund as I have been waiting 7 weeks for them to fulfil my order! Have had no response to my refund request. Will definitely avoid this company. Customer service is appalling.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Still waiting on order”

Written on: 24/06/2020 by Telbel1 (1 review written)

I placed my order 23/5/20. My order was partially despatched over 3 weeks later. It has now been 33 days since I placed my order and I have not received a single item I ordered yet. I will not order from this company again

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally disappointing ”

Written on: 19/06/2020 by Bunion56 (1 review written)

I too wish I had found this site before ordering. I ordered my item on 19/3/20 and paid. I have rang them no reply and they haven’t replied to my email asking for a full refund. It said it was in stock for immediate delivery obviously it wasn’t I think nearly five weeks is ridiculous they don’t deserve any customers at all. I am taking this further as I don’t think what they are doing is legal in anyway. If you are thinking of usIng this company DONT Thank goodness I only spent a small amount.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★★☆☆☆

“Still waiting for order”

Written on: 02/06/2020 by Joff (24 reviews written)

I wish I had read these reviews before placing an order. Order placed and allegedly de patched the same day according to emails. 10 days later, I contact the customer services. The reply, without any apology, states that Royal Mail are taking Slightly longer and h op efilly I will get the items soon. Firstly, slightly longer is untrue as still not arrived, especially as all other orders coming by Royal Mail are perhaps 2-3 days longer and lastly, thus company chose Royal Mail and charged for the P&P. Therefore, they should act immediately by refunding postage as a minimum. They could have posted by Hermes with tracking for less! I just take exception to a company where the customer service is so flippant and unapologetic. If time was not of the essence, I would have ordered from China for half the price! Support UK businesses, but not this one!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“In the past I have spent hundreds and hundreds of...”

Written on: 16/04/2020 by Ejm84 (1 review written)

In the past I have spent hundreds and hundreds of pounds with this company and I’m never really had a complaint about them, i received excellent service and I was happy with their services, until recently even with this pandemic that’s been going on I tried to be as patient as possible but a few weeks ago I had made an order and I still haven’t received it so I sent various messages through The message centre on the website, the reason why I was sending messages this way was because I suffer from chronic pain due to osteoarthritis and A hip deformity, and on that particular day I couldn’t get up out of bed so my only form of communication was to send messages through her website to which she kept calling and made horrible remarksThat’s just because I can’t get out of bed does not mean I cannot answer the phone, she asked me to stop sending messages and to answer the phone even after I explained I could not get to the phone that Particular time, We managed to resolve that situation, I have made some orders since and spent quite a considerable amount of money, I understand that services are slow due to COVID-19, there was one particular order where I had to send several emails And messages to get replies, I’ve got a few replies but none of them detailing of when my order will be in stock or dispatched, I then commented that I’m losing patience, I then got a message saying that all my ongoing orders have been cancelled, she left the phone number so I called her and I spoke to her and could not get much of a word in edgeways as she was screaming and shouting down the phone making disgusting noises that only severely disabled people can make, she called me names, she insulted me, she intimidated me,But most of all she bullied me, she spoke to me and treated me like I was worthless and nothing more than a piece of rubbish for her to bully, because of my social phobia and anxiety is caused extreme stress and upset that it reduced me to tears to the point I had a panic attack, she also stated she has thousands of more important customers to attend to, making me feel that I did not matter, I have never been treated in such a disgusting manner, She has a lack of empathy for disabled people and People with health issues whether they are mental or physical health issues such as EUPD, depression, social anxiety, anxiety, panic attacks,She treated me with a complete lack of human decency, Even after I tried to explain why my preferred method of contact via messages because of my social phobia and anxiety she then called me names Such as a keyboard warrior because I cannot deal or function with talking on the phone, I hope that one day this woman Gains some common human decency and learns how to deal with her customers with disabilities in a more appropriate manner and learn to be more understanding of these said disabilities instead of bullying and name-calling and intimidating people with these disabilities, I hope that no one ever has to go through what I have been through with them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish service ”

Written on: 01/03/2020 by Cat3110 (1 review written)

I went to look for a specific lanarte sewing kit I wanted so looked at various UK based companies, as I didn't want the hassle of buying overseas. The website made out the kit was in stock so I ordered it from Marie's. I ordered Wednesday and by Friday the order was still not dispatched. So I rung them up (which was not easy as they hardly answer!). They said they had to order it in, which was not shown on the site like it is on other websites. They said to expect it by Monday. Not only was it not there by Monday, but they hadn' t even processed my payment and this is 1 day off a week since ordering. So I cancelled my order and got from arts and crafts online. Ordered Monday and came Tuesday AND it was cheaper! Take a cue from other sites Marie's because your customer service is not up to scratch. You need to be more transparent around stock quantities to prevent customer disappointment.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Service not good enough”

Written on: 23/02/2019 by Madcrosstitcher (1 review written)

Seen in a magazine a Shih tzu cross stitch thought it would be great for my friend for her birthday so purchased it so then I could stitch it for her and get it professionally framed ordered item on 11th February still no cross stitch kit say they have problem with supply and none available and don't know when it will be delivered. This is not good enough I've asked for a full refund and cancelled the order and will now have to find something else for friends birthday certainty will not be buying from these again!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★☆☆☆

“Very disappointing. There are plenty of better suppliers.”

Written on: 08/01/2019 by EvangelineForbes (1 review written)

My order was accepted and my money was taken but Maries Cross Stitch did not have item in stock neither did their supplier. I was not told of this at time of ordering. I was sent an email advising me that my order status was 'being shipped' then a week later I received another email advising me that my item was not in stock at the suppliers. I emailed Maries Cross Stitch and advised them that I was seeking advice from a solicitor as to whether accepting payment without being able to fulfil an order was legal. A few days later I received my order. It took from 13 December to 5 January to arrive. I will not be ordering from them again. Very disappointing.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Still awaiting my order, not happy.”

Written on: 26/11/2015 by DavinBaird (1 review written)

Ordered from here because it promises a personal service from a family run business, but have been messed about, told my order was posted when it was not, and at this point am still waiting. I will certainly not be returning for any more orders.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Cannot complete order”

Written on: 07/03/2015 by Nonen (1 review written)

I have placed an order but cannot pay for it..... Website will not complete. Transaction I hope I have not ordered 10 times! Very disappointing

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★☆

“ordering”

Written on: 26/08/2014 by sgrhoades (1 review written)

I want to order gl5092. I filled out the information required and wanted to pay by debit/credit but could not fill out the information. I want this kit very much. can you help me?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★★

“Service”

Written on: 15/05/2014 by McCain348 (1 review written)

Great Service ! Brill communication Great product Arrived super quick Thank you

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“good price, terrible delivery”

Written on: 29/03/2014 by paulevansdirect (1 review written)

Three weeks to deliver, not good enough.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Can't fault your service.”

Written on: 27/03/2014 by joseph16 (1 review written)

Can't fault service or the variety of stock. Excellent. I keep coming back for more as I can always find exactly what I want. Thank you!!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview