The-Saleroom.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
7% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The-Saleroom.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The-Saleroom.com

The-Saleroom.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Be super cautious before buying from auctions on his site”

written by rolg1 on 29/11/2022

Be extremely cautious before trying to buy from some of the auction sales represented by The Sale Room. Allegedly The Sale Room is open 24 hours. Unfortunately this number only wasted my time with recorded messages. The Sale Room also pretends to have a live chat but in my case that did not work either. I tried to get help because I had become involved with Eastbourne Auctions via thesaleroom.com. It was impossible to get any information about anything before bidding, even a simple question whether a Korean made electrical item they had barely described is 240V UK voltage. I bid on an amplifier shown with one poor quality picture and poorly described but at least offered with it's original shipping box. They then added a £14 charge for the "service" of taping the shipping label to the box. They refused to give weight and box dimensions until after I paid. The messages I received are very rude, absolutely unprofessional and some are outright illiterate. One of Eastbourne Auctions' replies to my question about the operating voltage reads: "Sir what is absurd is you have failed to pay and are asking ridiculous questions. Moreove you seem intent on compalinging for no reason. We will pack and weigh when you have paid, is this absurd?" The company's attitude is shockingly unprofessional.. A response from the managing director was requested to no avail. I wonder if The Saleroom has anything to say about these type of business practices by auction rooms that are on their site. I had sent several emails to The Saleroom. All of their replies were super slow and completely evasive. "Thank you for contacting the-saleroom, your request has been received. We are currently experiencing higher than normal volumes and we will get back to you as soon as we're able. You can expect a response within the next 72 hours."

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero customer service ”

written by riMeyer286 on 27/04/2022

I have used the website for a number of purchases. I missed an email notifying me of a successful bid as it appeared like a Saleroom marketing email. I was then contacted by email by ATG Media 2 weeks after the auction saying that the auction house had contacted them about non-payment of a bid. I contacted the auction house the same day and paid for the items. In the meantime my Saleroom account was suspended. I contacted the Saleroom to ask them to remove the suspension as I’d paid for and received my goods. They replied by saying that I had to ask the auction house to contact them. The auction house clearly contacted them to suspend the account in the first place after only 2 weeks - they clearly have no process for removing the suspension in the same manner! I have since sent through email Evidence and the invoice showing items were paid for and I have had no response and my account remains suspended. I have no intention of dealing with them again. There are plenty of online alternatives.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“banned with no reason”

written by pjmask on 16/05/2020

I left not best review on there website after very annoing ,rude talk to a customer service gentleman and few minutes after my account been suspended ... just unbelievable and sad after 5 years of my loyality. One customer less.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Banned for complaining ”

written by Baldwinny151 on 14/12/2018

Website latency issues meant that we had bid on the wrong item, clicked on one item and won two down the line. Complained, awful customer service we then got banned, then partner was banned then a work colleague because we use the same ip address. After reading all the bad reviews about the salerooms huge price increase i think we will take our company business else where, they simply cannot warrant charging that much for a lousy web service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I recently placed a winning bid of £120 through The...”

written by 153Porter on 25/11/2017

I recently placed a winning bid of £120 through The Salerooms on a item with auctionneer STRIDE & SON, I saw the auction ended and I was confirm to be the winning bidder. I rechecked the item after the auction was over and it state that biddng has passed and the amount I bidded £120 is the highest. 24 hrs later the status remains the same but sometime in the afternoon the next day, a day after the auction has closed, the item had an increased bid of £130 and my account says I lostthe bid. STRIDE & SON have lost my trust as a reputable auctionneer and I would now avoid their auction. Also The Salesroom comes in for criticism for allowing auctionneers do what they like and fail to bring them to task because they must have known something very wrong has occur but did not act which makes them complicit to what is going on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE”

written by IsabelaMaldonado204 on 19/07/2017

Used The Salreoom website to bid on item from Gerrards Auction Rooms Lancashire who overcharged for my shipment by 115%. An agent from The Saleroom discussed the issue with me, but ultimately did nothing to prevent this from happening again to their unsuspecting customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“UNFAIRLY BANS ANY MEMBER WHO HAS A DISPUTE WITH AUCTIONEER”

written by Crockett111 on 29/04/2017

The Salesroom will soon not have any members left if it bans every member who has a dispute with an auctioneer, even when the auctioneer is at fault. Every ebay member who has bought 100 or so items on Ebay has at least had a few disputes with sellers, its inevitable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad rules”

written by harrythedog111 on 22/04/2017

Had an argument with an obnoxious auctioneer he placed a public ban on me that stopped me bidding on other sites. that good business isn't it. Pretty useless bunch to be honest.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Highly incompetent staff that have no regard nor value...”

written by Defylogic on 16/08/2016

Highly incompetent staff that have no regard nor value of their existing customers. Expect customer loyalty? Well I can be certain that you can forget that! The staff are rude and obnoxious and couldn't care less about any issue you may have. They also seem very quick to ban you for no reason whatsoever, which says as much in their t&c's. Not sure how this company makes money with how it operates actually and wouldn't surprise me if it went down. Rule of business is to value customers and treat them well. The site was laggy leading you to bid wrong amount and the audio and video was out of sync. Bidding on this site caused way more problems than it was worth and I just wish I had someone inform me of just what it was like on there before I signed up because I can tell you. I never would have! They don't even bother to respond to emails half of the time. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere. They charge far higher premiums than other sites also.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“unprofessional site”

written by wzPritchard3 on 03/01/2016

unprofessional service I have been a member of this website`s on-line bidding service for several years and although I have experienced few issues, when the odd issue does arise it seems , as an on-line bidder one is not recognized by the saleroom support staff that one is an important customer and they are very quick to suspend your account without providing any reasons for such action. They are very quick to support the auction houses who use the saleroom website to the point where there is a substantive imbalance. Here are a couple of issues both of which have resulted in the saleroom block my account... 1. Having bid on 2 lots with a London based auction house, I followed through to add shipping costs, only to find that the auction house stated that i had only won one of the lots....despite both lots appearing in my lots won list and appearing in the auction window that i had won that lot---needless to say the most valuable lot was the one that the auctioneer stated i didn't win, rather a floor bidder won it (absolute tosh in my book as i am quite sure that a member of the auction house staff had cherry picked the lot). Consequently, i was infuriated at their unprofessional conduct especially when they sent me an invoice for the remaining lot, I suggested they pop their invoice sharply where the sun does not shine. This then prompted the auction house to complain to the saleroom and to suspend my saleroom account---the saleroom would not consider my views or my experience of this auction house, preferring to keep my account blocked...All this because the auction house cherry picked a valuable lot from my win list...very unprofessional from the auction house and appalling treatment by the saleroom. Finally, if a dispute does arise between a given Auction House and a Bidder then if the auction house complains to the saleroom, the action the saleroom might consider is blocking any further approvals for future auctions for that one specific auction house not, as is current saleroom practice, completely blocking the bidders account so that he cannot even login to thesaleroom , thus banning him completely from their website.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No Point in Bidding!”

written by NiallCotterhill on 06/10/2015

I bid on an item on Saturday as the auction was due to take place on the Sunday thus giving plenty of time to register the bid. I had bid £80 maximum bid on this item, the auction ended and the item sold for £65 therefore one would think i would have won! unfortunately not the item was sold to another online bidder. All the sale room had to say was there had been a glitch and there was nothing they could do! basically Unlucky!! Advice to anyone thinking about using this service don't bother wasting your time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★☆

“Allows you to bid on auctions worldwide”

written by EliseTerry on 18/03/2015

I have found this service very useful as being disabled and a non driver it is difficult for me to travel. I run an online antiques business with several shops and have aquired many collections in this way. It has enabled me to bid on auctions worldwide although I mainly use the service for the UK. I have has a few "issues" with my bids going through when bidding live but thats the nature of the interbet and various computers not talking to one another. For occasions where I am very interested in the lots I always place a commission bid before hand so that I dont have to rely on live bidding.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Expensive postage, high fees. Not a good deal at all.”

written by McManus173 on 28/02/2015

If you are trying to find a good deal on hammer auctions don't waste your time and don't use that site. After auction fees and delivery fees which are very high you will not be happy. I'm not going to use that service anymore.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Saleroom.com is open to fraud.”

written by geolab on 13/06/2014

I signed up to bid at Chalkwell Auctions in Southend on Wednesday 11th June 2014. I did not bid on any items but on the 12th June 2014 I received an email thanking me for my payment. The email was not an invoice, it did not state what I had purchased, it came from Chalkwell Auctions, not the-saleroom.com. I telephoned Chalkwell and they initially said I must have bid by mistake on a miniature chest which they had already taken the money for, out of my account which was held by the-saleroom.com. The girl phoned me five minutes later telling me it was a mistake, my number had been assigned to the item in error and they had refunded my money. So..... what if I hadn't received the email from Chalkwell thanking me for the payment? I am in business and have a lot of transactions and in a year, when I do my accounts and see money has come out of my account for an auction item, am I going to check what it was for, no, cos I buy from auctions all the time. Let's be the devil's advocate and assume there are some dodgy auction houses that may assign your number to unsold items my 'mistake' then have an admin hiccough and forget to send you a 'thanks for your payment' email. You would know nothing about it because the-saleroom.com do not notify you that your card has been debited. I have phoned the-saleroom.com and they agreed that under extreme circumstances, fraud can take place. The girl said she would pass on my comments after agreeing that the-saleroom.com should notify you of a card payment, as they are the agents of the auction house and are the holders of your card details. Signing up to bid on any auction on the-saleroom.com is extremely dangerous and until they have some safety measures in place to protect your card from being fraudulently debited, I would steer clear.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Shamasaziz's Response to geolab's Review

Written on: 08/09/2014

Hi,

Having checked Chalkwell Auctions’s records with us, we are satisfied that this was a genuine mistake. You were sent an email which alerted you to the error. I am glad this wasn’t fraud and that the mistake was rectified for you.

Your suggestion for payment notifications has been passed to the relevant team in the business.

Kind regards

Shamas

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Seeyouthen's Response to geolab's Review

Written on: 03/01/2016

totally agree spot on

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview