ITV Player Reviews

Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
ITV Player - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for ITV Player

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“pitiful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Finchcm299 on 26/02/2022

Just given up trying to stream England v Wales in the rugby. More stop starts than on the pitch. When is someone going to fix this? ITV hub would be better off hiring a court artist to draw pictures of the match, and shove copies through our letterboxes. Who's running this shambles? Homer Simpson?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Melany344 on 30/11/2015

I am getting really annoyed by how bad the service is. I paid to skip ads and still have. I constantly get a message regards excess buffering, it constantly freezes and of course they do not have a download facility. Why can they not get their act together and provide a service as good as BBC iPlayer?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No search, no summaries, few programs, lots of ads”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Wentworth1946 on 19/09/2015

- No search feature, just an A-Z by title. - No summary text to see the programme details. - Program playback limited to last day or so. - 3 minutes of adverts before you see the programme. - In general, no thought about how people actually use the app. This proves why ITV has become a "filler" broadcaster, propped up by advertising and carbon copy programmes like X Factor and Downton Abbey.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Crowsdross on 24/03/2015

Useless. Couldn't find the programme I wanted.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gavincrdible's Response to Crowsdross's Review

Written on: 13/04/2015

Thanks for the article. For those who live outside UK and want to access iTV, you can use UnoTelly as I do to get around the geo block.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shamar442 on 15/03/2015

No HD option... In 2015! The sliding scroll on the videos is just confusing, if you want to rewind expect half the time to have to watch more minutes of unskippable adverts, just useless. They should shut it down and ask us what we want.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ITV player and Apple TV”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Parks371 on 08/02/2015

Whereas BBC iPlayer work extremely well from both my iPhone and iPad using Apple TV. I was very disappointed to discover that ITV cannot achieve this. I loaded the ITV app on my iPhone and iPad expecting it to function only to find that I only got the sound through my TV.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Avoid ITV player”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 30/12/2014

Very disappointing - unlike BBC Iplayer, which is much, much better, it doesn't allow many of the programmes (or any of the films) that you would want to watch to be streamed live on pc. You also have to log in (again unlike BBC iplayer). Just a frustrating waste of time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Silk”

★★★☆☆

written by qmBurns1948 on 01/04/2014

Avid Silk fan! Martha is the star and of course Billy, not forgetting Clive. I hated Clive getting off with Harriot. I know Martha carnt win them all but a very poor rushed ending.Right your wrongs,bring martha back and let Billy get one over harriot!it was rushed in the end and such a disappointment - Silk Fan, Co Durham

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“ITV Player/Samsung Smart TV”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/02/2014

ITV Player on Samsung Smart TV stops after the adverts and will not continue the programme. Using 'resume'just means more adverts and then it stops again on the next advert break. The only way to get the programme back is to restart and fast forward to the next advert break, wait for the programme to start(after more adverts of course) and then 'rewind'to the point where it stopped. Even this does not always work. Virtually useless and unwatchable. Samsung are trying to sort it out. John Lewis where we bought the TV are very helpful but no answer yet.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Can't watch anything at all”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GrumB on 28/12/2013

Doesn't recognise valid email address so doesn't work at all!! It's bad enough having to give personal details, but to be willing to do so, and then to be rejected..... this is simply rubbish. The advertisers should please take note that they are wasting their money as far as I'm concerned if I never see the ads.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Itv iplayer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 05/10/2013

Itv I player is absolute rubbish. All I got was adverts (lots of!!) and buffering Come on itv, sort it out!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Frustrating”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 28/04/2013

no customer service to walk you through the setup or menu. Every time you change channels you have to sign in with user name and password very annoying will be asking for my money back--wasted two hours of my day screwing around with it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Itv player the most annoying”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 11/04/2013

It's awful. Try watching a thriller and it stopping every 10 mins as it sticks and having to watch constant adverts while its try to get back to where we were. Having to try and jump ahead just to be able to watch and every time you make a movement 2-3 adverts come on!! With the amount of money they get with advertising, surely they can afford to upgrade this dinosaur! What a Shame. We could watch 2 episodes a night but can't because by the time we gave messed about its too late. Very annoying!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ITV Player live on IPad: back to the Drawing board”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 06/11/2012

Unlike iPlayer, trying to use an iPad as a backup device for watching live tv is not a viable option with the itv player IOS app. Firstly, stupid adverts, which you can't skip: I don't have to watch these if I'm watching on TV, so why should I need to watch them just because I'm using a differrent medium? Next! the resolution is really poor: it's lie watching an animation painted in the style of Constable. But then there Is the final coupe d'état; the bloody thing crashes and live streaming just disappears from the options when you reboot the app. My highly comical evening of watching Man City getting turned over in Europe again ruined. Come on ITV, the BBC are p!ssing all over you here: it's like the X-Factor vs Striclty all over.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sarahitvplayer's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2013

Totally agree!! It's awful. Try watching a thriller and it stopping every 10 mins and having to watch constant adverts while its try to get well. With the amount of money they get with advertising, surely they can afford to upgrade this dinosaur!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ITV player is useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/04/2012

BBCiPlayer streams silky smooth uninterrupted HD content to my PS3 every time I ask for it. Sound definition isn't HD which is a shame as the picture is so good. It also works seamlessly on 2 of my android devices and on both my pc and laptop. So why is it that ITV player doesn't work on any of them? It repeatedly stops playback then replays adverts over and over again. I have never actually managed to watch a whole program in one go. So it probably doesn't matter that the picture quality is unacceptable in this day and age of high resolutions or that the sound and picture always drifts out if synch. How is it possible for a multi million pound organisation to be so inept? I guess they don't care, why should they? They get paid for advertising regardless of the poor terrestrial digital signal or the even worse online experience. Us, the end users don't actually count for anything, so don't expect any improvements any time soon.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unfinished apathy”

★★☆☆☆

written by multicheerios on 16/01/2012

I just knew someone else was out there ready and willing to bash the ITV player. What is it about ITV that they just seem to do everything half-assed. The website relied on some stupid plugin (silverlight ?), the iphone app consistently fails and the one on my set top box has all of about 10 shows on it. When you have the BBC iplayer to compare with (and it ain't perfect) and you have the naughty torrent sites there too offering a better and easier experience, ITV just need to get their act together. This thing is a shambles of poor code and dropout. It's not hard to get right. At worst, they could just ripoff (or join forces) with the beeb and job done. But no, go it alone on some tragic ride into obscurity.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ITV and problems with Rugby World Cup (RWC)”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 24/09/2011

I suspect I'm not the only one who has trouble with ITV and its attempts to cope with the demand on its website for England matches. I've managed to watch all the 'lesser' games at RWC with little problem, live and streaming. But England matches? Forget it. Clearly England games will be the ones that put the most stress on ITV's servers and they manage to fail perfectly. The coverage is constantly interrupted by a refreshing icon, so much that I end up watching in four second bites. It'll freeze just as a penalty kicker is making contact with the ball, and resume with a scrum 80 metres away. Either that, or I constantly get the message "the internet connection has failed. Please try again". Or something similar. Granted, the commentary is generally appalling anyway, so I actually woldn't miss the audio feed. Of course I emailed ITV to complain, only to get the standard "we've passed your complaint to our technical team" reply almost a week later. Sadly, like its attempts with the 2010 football World Cup, ITV can just get away with it. They're under no obligation to spend money on their online output, and yet can claim all manner of promises, like the internet companies who lie about their broadband speed. Sadly, that's modern day British business...promise huge things first, ignore the complaints when they fail. Cheers ITV.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview