SellSmartForCash.co.uk Reviews - www.sellsmartforcash.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
13% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for SellSmartForCash.co.uk - www.sellsmartforcash.co.uk

SellSmartForCash.co.uk - www.sellsmartforcash.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“My phone has always been in a case and looked after....”

written by tonksdyer on 21/05/2018

My phone has always been in a case and looked after. They said it had marks beyond normal wear and tear which is rubbish and that the Lcd was blurry again which was rubbish. I have asked for my phone back and in the condition and case that I sent it in. The one thing I know what was wrong with the phone was the battery port, you had to wiggle it a bit till it came on but would charge fully fine. They never picked up on that. I wonder how many people they do this to and get 6.99 out of every phone? Has put me off even trying another company. How they sleep at night I don't know. 

Jmm3434's Response to tonksdyer's Review

Written on: 25/02/2019

Attempted to sell my Iphone - which although it was used it was 3 months old it was in perfect condition.Sent as requested to them. Nothing. Tried to call them. No answer. Emailed and given some odd response stating their 'tech. guys' had a some fault in the casing of my phone and they then offered me £7 for the practically brand new phone. I requested they return my phone and am still waiting for a response to that request or my phone returned. Sadly i am not holding my breath. Beware

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“They take your phone and then claim that it is not...”

written by Maliyah174 on 14/05/2018

They take your phone and then claim that it is not working. Then ask you to pay them £6.99 to return the phone to you or they will recycle it. Nothing wrong with the phone sent, I was using it the day it went off in the envelope, and it was well packaged.  If I pay the money into their bank account, I leave myself exposed by sharing my bank details. I have reported to the police and await an outcome.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I got a competitive quote from them and as my phone...”

written by Jilly1103 on 17/04/2018

I got a competitive quote from them and as my phone had been kept in a case with a screen protector on it had not a single mark on it... I waited a few days after sending it back in its original undamaged box and still hadn't had any payment. When they replied they told me their technician had found scuffs and several deep scratches on the casing and screen so would offer me only half the quoted price. It I have photos of the phone as was going to sell it on eBay. They won't budge and are charging 6.99 to send it back to me. I am utterly disgusted NEVER USE this company !!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A swindle! They offered the largest amount fit my...”

written by JammyDodger_18_1999 on 07/04/2018

A swindle! They offered the largest amount fit my phone, even though it was stipulated as broken - this was just a software problem on a high-end phone; the parts could / should have been useable. After they received it, the messaged me to say they couldn't do anything with the phone as it was broken - no way, even though that was what was declared! - but that they would be happy to dispose of it for me (yeah, I'm bet they would) OR i could pay £6.99 to have it returned. Don't go near them!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never use this company”

written by Billyb123 on 22/03/2018

Never use this company, they will claim the phone is scratched and offer you a considerably lower price than first offered or ask you to pay £7 to return the phone. If you ask for the return how do you know they won't scratch it and say that was how it was. Offered my £211 initially, said it was scratched and offered £160. Always argue with them as I managed to get £180 but then had to wait days for payment and send numerous emails.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not be tempted by the high offer. AVOID AT ALL COSTS ”

written by snibble17 on 01/03/2018

So I went with this company because it offered me the highest amount for my galaxy S6 (£137). My phone was received the next day after posting and I received an email confirming this with an account login so I could check the progress of my order. My phone was received at 10am so I thought I would receive payment at the end of the day. This did not happen, neither did I receive an offer of payment. Basically a condensed version of the hellish 10 days went something along the lines of this... no contact from them for days at a time and when they did it was very much a cut and paste job from the previous emails. Being offered £100 for my phone that was in near perfect condition as it had been in a case from when I purchased it because of slight scruff marks, no evidence provided of this when I asked for it. Finally getting a revised offer for £120 which I accepted as this was how much I could receive from other companies. After accepting the offer, received another cut and paste email telling me they had revised my offer. The final glimmer of hope of being paid on time squashed after 3 days from me accepting the revised offer. Finally received payment on the 10th day. My ordeal might be short compared to others but it was still incredibly stressful. AVOID AT ALL COSTS and if you do fall into the same trap of the lure of the highest offer like I did, do not wait to get in touch with them, use the email address and don't bother with the costly 0871 number and email them EVERY day, do not let up, do not accept the inevitable low first offer and keep at them! I doubt that if I did not email them every day that my ordeal would still be going on to this day. I wish anyone using this company the best of luck because you're going to need it!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID YOUR PHONES FROM THIS COMPANY!!!”

written by marasli46 on 01/03/2018

I have sent them phone as faulty not working / damaged condition, they offered me £24, after week, they have sent me email, they wants to keep the phone for free, OR asking me to pay £6.99 for return postage!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service ever ”

written by Ellieccc on 13/02/2018

This company promote same day payment. I sent them my phone over 10 days ago now which I had an email saying they had received. They originally quoted me £320 for my phone in 'OK' condition. I heard nothing.. 4 days later I contacted them myself for them to get back to me to say they only would give me £230 for my phone because of the condition which my phone is 1000% in good condition, even if my phone was in awful condition I would get more than £230 for it. For some reason I still decided to go ahead with the ridiculous offer and still now 1 week later waiting on payment. I have tried to call several times and they don't answer my calls and also tried to email numerous times and no answer. Awful service

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling company, wish I'd read the reviews first!”

written by on 23/12/2017

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS - Told me they were devaluing my phone by over 25% because it had excessive wear and tear - absolute nonsense, my phone had been in a case and kept immaculately, no way at all there was any excessive wear and tear to my phone. I wish I'd read the reviews before I used this disgraceful company!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never honor their quotes even when sending a new”

written by christianjoseph on 18/12/2017

I read a lot of reviews that this company was dishonest and unrepeatable and I was quite disappointed to learn that those claims are true. I had my phone replaced by my insurance company just days before sending it to SellSmartForCash so I essentially sent them a brand new phone with all of the accessories included (2 of 3 were brand new as well). Even after all of this, they devalued my phone £100 from the quote. EVEN WHEN YOU PROVIDE THEM WITH A BRAND NEW DEVICE, THEY HAVE NO INTENTION OF HONORING THEIR QUOTE.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sent them a great condition phone which had been...”

written by ceebee01 on 15/12/2017

Sent them a great condition phone which had been protected since new with a military grade cover. Id been offered £115 from CPW who said the phone was like new. I sent the phone to this company as they were offering £133. However, on receipt, they claimed that the screen and back cover were scratched "beyond normal wear and tear" and offered me £33 less than the price initially quoted. I requested photographic evidence but as yet it is not forthcoming. I eventually settled on £110 as I had already paid £6 to send the phone and the company wanted another £6 to send it back if I wasn't happly wit the offer price. So I decided to cut my losses. I've used different recycle companies in the past with no problems as my phones are always will maintained. I could not recommend them to anyone.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't believe they are going to pay what they say”

written by gpCasey344 on 30/11/2017

I had my phone checked before I sent to this company. Not a mark on my phone even the screen has been fully protected. Website said £131 but surprise surprise they tell me that the casing has several dents and scratches which is rubbish and needs a new LCD. Now they only want to pay £47. Or £6.99 to return it. Don't be fooled people and it's not same day, they have had it 6 days. Fuming

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I was offered a certain amount of money for a a...”

written by Kyliewood on 12/10/2017

I was offered a certain amount of money for a a damaged iPhone 5, I didn't lie about any faults with the phone. They came back to me and offered £0.00 but then expected me to pay £6.99 for the phone back.... I have reported this & will do everything in my power to shut this company down!!! I don't care about my loss but I do care that this company of taking the absolute p out of customers!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shady and they underpay you. (If they even pay)”

written by Teagan84 on 13/07/2017

I have only just managed to resolve my issues with this company. I sent them my iPhone 6S 64GB and I had an email confirming they had received my phone not long after. The iPhone had a cracked camera lens but besides that it was in perfect working condition and the only reason I wasn't using it myself was because I had just recently had a new phone on contract. Regardless, I still stated the phone as "faulty" because it must be claimed as faulty if there are any cracks. I didn't hear anything from this company for several days so I sent an email asking what they have determined about the phone. I heard nothing back. A day or two later I sent another email but this time through a query on their website. I still heard nothing from them. A week passes since I got their email telling me they received my phone and I became impatient. I email them again and say I need to know what is happening (phonecalls were also unsuccessful as they don't answer). I let another day pass and by then I was furious. I said if nothing was resolved soon I would be taking it up with trading standards and low and behold they responded relatively quickly. They took some time but quoted me £80 instead of the £122 they originally said. They told me the phone is "beyond economic repair" which is not true as the only thing that was wrong was a cracked camera lens. Plus if a phone is registered as faulty then you should know that it has some issues. If I had wanted £80 then I would have went with the better known and more reliable companies. I declined and said I wanted the full amount paid by the end of the week or they can just send it back to me (which they were charging me £6.99 for!) They got back to me the day later with another offer, this time for £100, saying that they have bumped up the offer "as part of a one time customer satisfaction" which I don't buy at all because it seems like everyone is getting the same treatment. I have agreed to this price but I am still not happy and almost didn't agree out of principal. I let them know I will warn anyone about them and leave negative reviews so others can know what I went through. Over a week and a half of silence, misquoting, changing offers and just all out lies. Do not use this company to sell off your old phone. They use their high quoted prices in comparison to other websites to entice you to sell to them. But when it comes down to it they will actually offer you less and take way more time than any other company out there. If these people are con-artists then they are the worst con-artists I have ever seen. I just believe they are incompetent, shady and they try to chance underpaying by using methods like "the phone is broken beyond repair" or "there are damaged pixels on the screen" as a way to fool some customers who might be none the wiser. Again, avoid this company at all costs.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Lies ”

written by Dannie10101 on 01/07/2017

I was offered £156 for my S6, which was above the odds than other companies hence why I chose this company. I sent it off and got a reply that the phone had pixel damage and scratches on the phone. This was not true it had a case on and I knew 100% it was fine and no damage to the screen, I asked for photos of damage to which my request was ignored. They offered me £30!! I then declined and stated I had to pay £6.99 for it to be returned to me. I paid the money and I got an email back and a new offer of £50, to which I declined again and requested a return. I then got a new offer of £80 which I declined again. Then an offer of £90. There was clearly no damage to the phone otherwise they wouldn't be able to offer this 'extra' money. I stated the minimum I would take was £100 plus my £6.99 I paid for the return. They went ahead and transferred me a mesely £90! I'm now battling to have the phone returned two weeks later and after sending the £90 back. Do not use this company, they ignore your declines for a return of your phone.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Quick service ”

written by Englandxf485 on 17/06/2017

Great quick service money went in straight away.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible”

written by 357Vega on 10/05/2017

Do not waste your time with these people. Got 'offered" £156 for my phone. Paid for special delivery.. After 2 weeks of having it they email to offer £45.. my phone is mint condition and asked me to pay 6.99 to have it back DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS COMPANY!!!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They still have my phone in minted condition cut ther...”

written by Jamienosurrender on 30/03/2017

They still have my phone in minted condition cut ther offer two days later still waiting on bank transfer don't sell anything to this company

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible - avoid like the plague ”

written by ValentinPike on 12/01/2017

I went with this company as they offered £106 for my samsung galaxy s5.they sent me a small paper envelope to send my phone in. Who would send an expensive phone in an ordinary envelope?? I then got an email saying they'd only offer me £60 as it was scratched and scuffed and had pixel damage. I told them they were lying, and the phone had been in a thick case since purchase, and there was no damage anywhere. I asked if they would like to see the pictures and video I'd taken before sending it in case they tried anything like this. I received an email offering me £80. I accepted this as I thought that they would probably damage the phone before returning it so I would be unable to sell it elsewhere. I broke my own rule by not checking out these sites first, but I would definitely urge anybody to stay well away from this outfit!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE!!”

written by Lee50 on 07/12/2016

As per the other reviewers, I wish I had researched before using this company. Quoted £79 for a phone that I had been given brand new, and literally used in the house for a week. The phone was as new. Sent off and heard nothing at all. Checked my account on the off chance, and there was a revised offer for £35. I sent 2 messages via the website and had no reply. I left a voice message and had no reply to that either. Today, over a week later I have received a email telling me that I had still not replied to the revised offer.I replied stating that I had, and received a response advising me the phone was in poor working order and if I pay £6.99 they will return my phone. This is a clear attempt at shamming myself and other individuals. They still have my phone. Avoid this company at all costs.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview