Switched On Insurance - www.switchedoninsurance.com

Click here if this is your business
Switched On Insurance - www.switchedoninsurance.com
★★☆☆☆
1.6
13.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Switched On Insurance - www.switchedoninsurance.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Don't use this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Morse104 on 16/11/2023

Tried to claim for cancelled flights outside my control and it too over a month for them to get back, to let me know that my Premium Travel insurance cancellation policy of up to 5k doesn't include cancelled flights, ridiculous!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Travel Insurance - Backpacker”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TKnight888 on 03/10/2023

My son had a medical emergency in June and we are still trying to get expenses covered, an absolute shambles, dreadful to deal with, unprofessional, unhelpful and generally making a difficult and stressful time 100% worse, the whole claim is being dealt with by CSA - Claims Settlement Agencies Limited who have the absolute worse reviews online, if I had known that by taking out a Switched on Insurance Policy - Backpackers Travel Insurance, that it would be handled by CSA I wouldn't have gone near them with a barge pole. This was not clear when checking the reviews on 'Money Saving Expert' I have no way of following up with Switched on Insurance, all contacts, telephone numbers and emails are directed to CSA, the online portal is a shambles, the 'complaints' email address does not exist and emails are not answered. I am now in contact with the Insurance Ombudsman Zero stars - do not recommend

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/04/2022

I took out holiday insurance and broke my arm while I was on my trip. It has now been 3 months since I have raised a claim and have only received a refernece number which took 4 weeks to be emailed to me. I have sent them several emails with no replies and phoned countless times only to be told no-one was available and offered a call back which obviously hasn't happened. All I am looking to do is claim the money back I have already paid out in medical bills however this joke of a company do not seem the slightest part interested in trying to help. Please do not use this company!!! I would rather break another bone than ever deal with them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do not approach them”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 31/08/2021

They will do anything to NOT TO PAY the claim and dismiss. If you’re strong and not willing to loose your money and ready to fight, then go and risk it with this…

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Claim rejected for laptop stolen from locked car”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kamildominowski on 12/08/2021

My rucksack with laptop was stolen from my car when I went to shop for few minutes to buy flowers for my girlfriend. Black rucksack was in the back of the car with tinted windows, in space between driver seat and back passenger seat so wasn't visible. Car was locked - this was new rental car so it has Keyless entry systems using remote controller. The theft was recorder by witness, it was reported to police, police confirmed that the theft took place and they are investigating. Insurance company rejected the claim saying they policy wording say that "forced and violent entry into the vehicle is required". Police has confirmed that thieves can open cars with Keyless entry systems without damaging the car. I have Ultimate Insurance Cover for 2 business laptops for more then 5 years now so I have probably paid them more for having it insured over that period of time that the laptop was worth when brand new. All new cars has got remote controllers now to open the car!!! Thieves don't use screwdrivers, hammers or crow bars to break into vehicles any more!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Discrimination against disabled people. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ZM2021 on 04/05/2021

I made a claim that my laptop was lost a few weeks ago which was in my backpack the whole time. I have informed them that I am half deaf and my back is numb and I don’t feel any sensation. I was at a park sat on a bench, there were people playing in the background, It could have been possible for someone to take out the laptop as I was always leaning forward. But they have rejected my claim on the basis that it’s impossible for a laptop just to disappear, I have clearly informed them of my disabilities. They also said they might not be dealing with the policy holder has all my iCloud and email accounts are set up with my sons name that is apparently enough reason for them to say they are not dealing with the policy holder, I am not a technical person so he helped me set up the laptop. Perhaps they should have stated that you have to be able to set up a iCloud before taking out a policy. My experience with this company has been nothing but awful, they will treat you very bad if you are making a high item claim. I have been paying this company £25 a month for 3 years and this is how you get treated. Most the positive reviews here are all about how easy it is to set up with them, and Ofcurse it is they have no issue helping to set you up and take your money. But when it comes to dealing with your case they will make you go through hell. I won’t stop here, I will reach out to all the local newspaper and share my story of this company as you can not take them to financial ombudsman since they are based in “Gibraltar”.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Horrible ”

★★☆☆☆

written by hcSnyder420 on 01/12/2020

Horrible customer service. I notice a lot of the positive reviews are from people that have never made a claim which makes sense as you'll have very little to do with Switched On/Taurus until you do. I paid for the insurance with a £50 excess as I have an iPhone and the only damage I usually get is a screen crack. When I claimed on the insurance I was charged £100 instead. This is because of a line in their terms and conditions that states that there is an early claim fee. I didn't see this and it is the responsibility of an insurer to be clear and not hide things to try and catch you out. Customer service were rude as they knew they had me in a difficult position as they were my insurer and I had a broken phone. I feel really taken advantage of and I would advise going with a more reputable insurer!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Scam of a company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by xoMerritt1987 on 26/11/2020

Approved my claim and took my excess money, to then only 30 minutes later receive an email saying the management was now reviewing the claim (after they had already approved it and sent me the documentation of approval). Like most insurance; a complete racket and moving the goalposts to suit. Also the phones you have to return for your claim get used for other replacement phone claims once repaired. So they not only taking your money they are making money of your devices for other claims. Disgusting.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“I have ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CiaraGarcia292 on 15/09/2020

I have bought a travel insurance and they covered nothing and refused to refund my money and I'm taking them to court. i gave them one star because I can't give them zero

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I give ONE star because I cant give ZERO.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Reillyg179 on 04/08/2020

I give 1 star because I cant give ZERO. They are refusing to pay my claim after a low life on a push bike has taken my Iphone off my hand in London, just because they dont want to pay, they will find anything not to pay you, no matter how much information you send them. I had 3 other friends who had past issues with holiday, etc with them and they all warned me, be careful they will make everything they can, not to pay you, I didn't want to believe it, but it happened. I am have now raised a complaint with the Financial Ombudsman and if it doesn't get resolved I will take them to court, because I know I can win. I've only just called them once, the rest of the communication was done via email. When I first called them I spoke to a guy on the 28th of July, he was the rudest and most unpleasant person you can talk to. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID even if it costs you a bit more somewhere else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Tried to avoid paying up, delayed, made a derisory offer”

★★☆☆☆

written by willihulks on 20/04/2020

Refusing to pay up, delaying claim, offering <20% of what they owe us. Flight cancelled owing to bad weather. No alternative flights for 24 hours. We took trains, Eurostar and taxi to get home. Switched On Travel Insurance firstly said that we were not covered. Then they said we had to get a letter from the airline confirming that it had been cancelled. There was a major storm that weekend and every flight was cancelled: any decent insurance company would have looked that up! Then they refused to pay. We challenged for the third time, and they said we needed another letter from the airline stating there were no other flights within 24 hours. We challenged again. They then offered us less than 20% of our claim. We’re suing them, and will win. Typical of our insurance industry.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Don't purchase useless company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by pvRichardson365 on 24/07/2019

Useless company when it comes to loss and theft they take you to a 2 month period of document request and lost of time for the end telling you that they can continue with the claim. And forget about refund even if they didn't provide any service. Stay away from this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Avoid like the plague”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kayai10 on 24/08/2018

Don't be fooled - a company with an HQ can't be good, especially when I tried to make a claim that took a week to engender a response, and for which they seem to have forgotten all of the details I had typed in when enrolling. Alarms bells went off when their claims process letter gave a non-functioning link to a Samsung website and then asked for more bank account details and an upfront £50 before I sent my expensive phone off to some address that could be a bin bag in Minorca for all I knew. Run away as fast as you can!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Heylee's Comment

Written on: 14/12/2021

The £50 is the excess you pay when you make a claim, standard practice for insurance.

And once you send it off they'll send it right back but fixed. Am not a huge fan of the company but sounds like you've been lucky with then. I've been waiting for a responce for 2 weeks.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 1

“Terrible customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KymCat on 21/01/2018

Poor service when I tried to update my policies and then when I left the UK I emailed to cancel and they never responded, charged me for another month and then refused to refund me. Useless website too, not very secure at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Worst Insurance Company!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Blakeqq346 on 01/11/2017

Save yourself and avoid joining up. I wish I had read the reviews before I did. They might be cheaper but it's not worth it. Lost my phone and am now three weeks later has my claim been approved. They require so much documentation it's unbelievable. They wouldn't accept my bank statement as proof of address and kept asking for a utility bill, even though I kept replying that I don't pay utilities where I rent. Same thing with them wanting a letter from my SIM provider confirming details of the phone, which I had bought from the supplier so they didn't know the details of my phone. Endless back and forth and unanswered emails. They finally approved my claim but now won't replace my phone and instead are giving me an Amazon voucher for £60 less than the value of the phone so I'll have to buy a second hand one. They don't have any concept of customer service. Avoid them at all costs!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Avoid!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Adelyn229 on 24/04/2017

Please avoid at all costs! Not sure how they have received any more than one star! Zero stars would be my vote if I could. The worst insurance company I have ever dealt with in my whole life. I put a claim in 6 weeks ago and they company are making it very difficult for me to claim, even though I have provided all the relevant details many times over. May I add the details they require for a claim are very excessive, and I feel not all the details should be required? Especially photo ID? I've been paying the monthly premium for nearly two years, and they are refusing to let me claim for no good reasons. I'm still paying now and feel I'm am force to pay, until my claim has been resolved. It takes at least 4 days for them to reply to your emails, and when they do they ask you for documents you have already sent. When you call them you are on hold for at least 15 mins, and then told that the person dealing with your claim is not available and the call taker doesn't work on the same team so cannot help you. Never experience anything like this, I would in customer service myself and this service is shocking. I have followed the complaints procedure, and been advised it can take up to 8 weeks to resolve? As if in this day and age anyone can live without their mobile phone for that long.(This would be a total for 4 months from the start of my claim). My phone is vital for my daily needs! I have had to upgrade my phone which was still in contract, and spend money I can't really afford to be paying out leaving me out of pocket, when I thought the whole point of insurance was peace of mind. I feel like they just want me to give up on the claim so they don't have to pay out! I will be following this through until this is resolved.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“DO NOT TAKE OUT THIS INSURANCE !!!! IT doesn't exist...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JulienMiddleton1967 on 22/04/2017

They do not reply to emails and are not contactable. They just take your money !!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Avoid - waste of money ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/03/2017

I cannot contact them by phone. The number is either unobtainable or 25 minutes to get through. The claims process is complicated. I have waited 4 days and still do not have a decision on whether my claim is accepted. I have abandoned the insurance route and I am having my phone repaired at a cost that is less than the excess

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Great Service”

★★★★★

written by benny_78_99 on 16/11/2015

I upgraded my phone, at last, and needed to swap my insurance over. I found the customer support very helpful and efficient and managed to get my new phone on my policy with only a single call lasting less than 5 minutes. Found the person I spoke to very knowledgeable and friendly. Although I've not had to make a claim on my new phone (and hope I don't have to) I did make a claim on my old one which was dealt with very quickly and I was up and running again well inside a week.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 2

“Great value and service”

★★★★★

written by MarkS1979 on 16/11/2015

Had the misfortune to claim twice for an iPhone and iPad. In both cases the device came back as new. Really pleased and certainly got value for the next few years! Customer service very good. Would be better if claims were open on a Saturday as had to wait until Monday to call them, although online claims process was slick. Overall I would definitely recommend to others.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 2

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview