Barras Home Improvements Reviews - www.barras.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.9 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Barras Home Improvements www.barras.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Barras Home Improvements www.barras.co.uk

Barras Home Improvements www.barras.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Revamped en suite bathroom”

written by bathroom53 on 01/12/2020

Professional, helpful and informative on every aspect of the service, from the showroom to the installation. We really appreciated the quality of advice, the products, workmanship, the attention to detail and always leaving the area clean & tidy. One particular area of thanks that we have, we asked for some additional lighting at the start of the job, Barras could not have been more helpful in finding exactly what we wanted and installing it. We had a kitchen and bathroom installed by Barras 15 years ago their level of professionalism has not altered in this time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Delighted with my new shower room”

written by YareliPollard1992 on 04/01/2018

Delighted with my new shower room. Had the bath removed, a shower cubicle installed and walls and floor tiled. All the work was done to the highest standard. My thanks to all the staff at Barras Home improvements.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bathroom Refurbishment”

written by 235RussoItalian on 25/05/2016

Not the cheapest of our quotes but the one with the most professional application and insistence on the utilisation of good quality hardware. Following discussion with regard to our precise personal requirements a detailed 3D layout, work schedule and costing was agreed and start date defined. The level of workmanship regarding all aspects of the bathroom strip-out and installation of new hardware was exemplary by all team members. In particular, the eye of the person I dealt with, to finish detail and innovation regarding plumbing layout requirement was outstanding and instrumental to the wonderful finished article. At each stage of the installation process discussion took place regarding any concerns and/or queries we had. Anything identified was quickly resolved to our satisfaction. We would be very pleased to have any future work carried out by Barras and to recommend them to friends, family and the general public.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Lovely new kitchen”

written by Helenkaye on 01/08/2015

Excellent job project managed from start to finish. Great advice, so pleased with the outcome. would recommend them, very impressed with the workmanship, so friendly, almost felt like one of the family, missed them when they left.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ensuite Bathroom Transformed”

written by ColinCRichardson on 07/07/2015

Great job, couldn't be happier with the whole process from quote to completion. Not the easiest of jobs, I'm sure, with walls to be knocked down and re-plastered, and quite a bit of rewiring and plumbing, but the finished job with the wide open shower and marble tiles looks stunning. The staff were extremely helpful and clearly knew what they were doing. Can't talk more highly of our fitter who was always thinking one step ahead, discussing the issues that he could foresee in advance and getting our input at an early stage so we could both agree with what was going to work best. Will seriously be considering them for our kitchen makeover in a few years time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great job - thank you!”

written by CandSDavis on 30/04/2015

We have just had our bathroom completely gutted and converted to a shower room and at the same time an existing shower room transformed into a bathroom. The whole job from start to finish was carried out professionally and with high quality workmanship. We were given lots of helpful advice at the design stage, the job started on the date requested and was finished on target. The two fitters worked really hard, arriving at 8.00 am each day and leaving at about 5pm or later if they were in the middle of something. They obviously take pride in their work and want the customer to be pleased with their craftsmanship. Thank you both and the rest of the Barras team, we would be happy to recommend you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Kitchen Improvement feedback”

written by IanBratton on 18/04/2015

I normally dread salesman coming to my house (as they typically overstay their welcome) however John arrived and was informative, knowledgeable and not at all pushy. John agreed to prepare some detailed plans and send them to us within a short period. The detailed plans arrived in the timescale agreed and were professionally presented. To be fair to Barras we changed our minds over the layout several times and on each occasion they were redesigned without any fuss and all the amended plans were presented promptly. The costs of the kitchen/labour were all made very clear upfront and broken down by each item so it was clear what we we were paying for. There were no hidden costs or extra charges presented at a later date. The fitters arrived promptly every day, they worked hard and were very friendly and polite throughout.They consulted with us throughout the installation and seemed to take great pride in keeping the customer happy. They constantly kept the work area very clean (they even washed their own cups after having a cup of tea). The work was all completed on time, within agreed budget and to a very high standard. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Barras to friends and family. I am not normally prone to writing reviews but felt that the service was exceptionally good from start to finish and as such felt it appropriate to mention it on this site. 10/10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent,Quality Kitchen, Value for money”

written by Hatch369 on 07/03/2015

The service was first class from getting the survey and quote to getting the kitchen fitted. Barras listened to what we wanted, then made suggestions on how our plans could be improved. Some of these suggestions we thought were great, and their years of experience shone through and decided to go with them, whilst others we realised would not fit into our lifestyles, so we stuck with original plans, which was fully understood. The staff were great and didn't mind when we kept changing our mind about certain things before the order went in and even after the order had been put through. They were able to arrange a fitting date within 3 weeks and the kitchen was fitted in a week. The fitter did an excellent job and was always polite and respectful of us and our home. All the work was project managed from start to finished, which left us with nothing to worry about. Excellent team all round, a great run family business.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Another great job”

written by MiWhi on 10/12/2014

We had no hesitation in getting Barras in to replace our kitchen worktops, having seen the excellent work they did previously for us. The quality of service, from initial discussions to the installation, came up to the very highest standards of workmanship and time-keeping that we now associate with this company. The "extras" we'd mention are 1 Through attention to detail Barras discovered that the supplier of the worktops was likely to miss the deadline they had promised which would have delayed the start of the job. Barras knew this was not an option for us. So a colleague legged it up to Derby with the van to collect the tops personally so that the job could begin when promised. 2 The promised "invisible" joints between the sections of worktop are truly undetectable and none of the existing wall tiles were damaged. This company is friendly, helpful, employs highly professional and competent tradespeople and is, in our opinion, excellent value for money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“bought a built in fridge”

written by 1948Brady on 13/07/2014

The man in the shop was very helpful and accomodating. The fridge arrived on time and the delivery man helped me unpack it and lift it into the aperture. Very pleased with the service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Kitchen Refubishment”

written by on 08/02/2014

I am very pleased with my kitchen. It took 3 weeks to complete from start to finish but with all the work required the time passed very quickly. We decided on renwewing the kitchen in August 2013. The designer called out to our home at a convenient time, took the measurements, and a few days later we went to the shop to view the design on the computer, in all I think we must have changed the designs three or four times before I settled with the final design. I would like to thank all concerned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“USE THESE GUYS!”

written by MiWhi on 18/10/2013

We have used several home improvement companies in Coventry, and Barras is undoubtedly one of the very best. At all times we felt that top priority at Barras was customer satisfaction ensured by very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff in the office and showroom, and highly skilled, reliable, honest and efficient tradesmen. Things happened when scheduled and tradesmen were receptive to suggestions for minor tweaks to the plans. We had no reservations about leaving tradesmen to get on when we went out, and we were most impressed with the efficiency and work rate shown by all those involved with the job. We used Barras as the result of recommendation by a friend and we would now similarly have no reservations in recommending this great company to anyone contemplating home improvements.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic Wetroom (2010) and Kitchen (2013)”

written by AnotherCoventryDave on 29/09/2013

Our first encounter with Barras Home Improvements (BHI) was in 2010, when we wanted to overhaul our bathroom. We did the circuit of the usual D-I-Y stores and plumber’s merchants but just found some tiles that we liked. Working through bathroom suppliers in Coventry, we visited BHI’s showrooms. There we found no hard pressure selling but simply advice and suggestions. They patiently reassured us as we finally agreed to dispense with a bath and switch to a shower room, and their range of units and fittings matched anything we had seen elsewhere. James tweaked his PC simulation as we explored various configurations until finally we were ready to proceed. We are obviously biased but the end result is stunning, thanks largely to the work of Tim the Tiler. It’s not simply his excellent workmanship but the way he aligned the three different shapes of tiles to create such pleasing results across all joints and in every corner. I have no idea how his brain works in so many dimensions at once. The project was completed smoothly, to the agreed schedule. Tim and other members of the team were always friendly, courteous, and focussed on our satisfaction. The resulting wetroom has been a pleasure to use and across the last three years BHI have shown exemplary customer care in rectifying occasional issues with fittings. http://sdrv.ms/1bhroOW In 2013 it was time to overhaul the kitchen, and BHI were an obvious choice. However, we first completed the circuit of D-I-Y stores and other kitchen specialists to assess what was available and develop our requirements. When we visited the BHI showrooms we were still changing our minds daily, but James sent us to visit the Crown showcentre where they had a boggling range of complete kitchen displays which helped identify likes and dislikes. Soon after we selected our preferred units and James again performed magic on his PC to explore different options and configurations, until again we were ready. This time I published photos on Facebook as work progressed, so I know from everyone else’s reactions that we are not alone in thinking we now have a beautiful kitchen. There are no tiles, so Tim the Tiler made way for Carm the Carpenter (we’ve yet to meet Bob the Builder but I’m sure he’s on the BHI team somewhere). One of his workmates alluded that Carm is unhappy unless he achieves perfection, which may make life harder for his colleagues but is great news for a customer. The kitchen team were all different from the craftsmen we had during the bathroom project, but workmanship was again excellent and they were again always friendly, courteous, and focussed on our satisfaction. It is still comparatively early days with the new kitchen, but it is a joy spending time in there. We would certainly use Barras Home Improvements again on future projects and recommend them to anyone else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Happy Customer Me!”

written by wobble2 on 30/07/2013

A breath of fresh air after being lead from Electrolux website to Debenhams and around the houses by Debenhams Plus - their online site. Debenhams Plus is actually Buyitdirect and they sent us an old model completely different from anything on the Electrolux website. Eventually got a refund less transport costs. Barras checked the design with Electrolux for us and arranged direct delivery within the week. (In contrast Debenhams and Electrolux both failed even to answer emails and messages about the product). Will be our first port of call for AEG / Electrolux in future!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”

written by memusicmad on 01/04/2013

The team were faced with a very difficult and challenging job, due to the angles in my room and the walls not running true. They have managed to tile the room in such a way that they have minimised any wastage of tiles and I am left with a superb job. The fitters were very friendly, professional and trustworthy and I was happy to leave them in my home when I wasn't there. I even gave them a let to let themselves in and out as required. The office support, James Spencer was very accommodating, despite me making changes along the way. Nothing was too much trouble and I always felt the most important thing to him was the end result. He always had my best interests at heart. Highly recommended!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Responsive”

written by Surrey20 on 14/11/2012

Prior to ordering an induction hob the company provided all the background data we required. The item arrived exactly as promised and the staff were friendly and efficient.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great prices...even greater service!”

written by Mattlisa on 02/11/2012

The best price on the net by miles.. The delivery was a bit later than expected but we were kept informed from the beginning and it arrived as arranged in perfect condition. Highly recommended!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“All Contact has been VERY Positive”

written by on 01/11/2012

Found an oven (just what we were looking for). Good price and although we were many miles away (nearly 200), the contact and offers of service were very positive. The oven was ex-display with all manuals etc., but with no packaging, so they offered to send it in their own van. We decided to have it fitted by them, so they delivered it by their fitter, who installed it very carefully. All contacts were very nice people - a pleasure to do business with them. Would recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great on price, great on service”

written by on 14/09/2012

I ordered an AEG Freezer. They had the best price I could find. Barras were very easy to deal with a really personal level of service for an on-line company. The freezer I wanted was out of stock at AEG, but they gave me a 2-3 week delay. This proved very accurate and it was delivered on time exactly as arranged. They also gave me a 5 year warranty free of charge and £10 off my next purchase. A really excellent service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Atag gas/induction hob”

written by oxfordpeeps on 30/08/2012

We chose Barras after spending a while looking around for the best price on this product. We weren't disappointed - telephone ordering was courteous and simple, James kept us informed about delivery dates, and the goods arrived on time exactly as advertised. This was "supply only" so we can't comment on the design and installation service from Barras, but based on this experience we would certainly deal with them again. Only four stars for "value for money" because this was a rather expensive product, chosen over other much less expensive options because it was by far the best fit for our needs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview