Newmans Holiday Homes Reviews - www.newmansholidayhomes.com

★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
40% of users recommend this
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Newmans Holiday Homes www.newmansholidayhomes.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Newmans Holiday Homes www.newmansholidayhomes.com

Newmans Holiday Homes www.newmansholidayhomes.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“BOOK ELSEWHERE”

Written on: 27/07/2022 by MumofRoo (1 review written)

Would give 0 but not able. We booked a caravan last minute through newmans for Devon cliffs and recieved a moldy, dusty, dirty, run down caravan, they will only give us a partial refund of 15% because we didn’t want to wait around while on our holiday for them to re clean (even though they assured me it had been cleaned and checked when I first spoke to them) and to replace the mattress’s and microwave. I’m sure some caravans are lovely as they are privately owned but don’t trust newmans as they clearly don’t keep an eye on what they are managing and will let anything be rented out. Our caravan had black mold, other peoples dirty socks, eye drops (my 1 year old found on the floor as we walked in), dark brown stains, and a rusty microwave. Plus it stank of mold and dust. There was Broken furniture, broken curtains, nicotine stains, dodgey windows and just overall not what you would pay to stay in.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Wonderful Holiday”

Written on: 11/07/2022 by ChrisH_Essex (1 review written)

Just got home from devon cliffs where we spent a really lovely week in a newmans holiday home . had a fron row van . sea view was stunning ( Cedars 9 van ) the van was immaculate and spotless . newmans customer service was great . big shout out to the team for making our holiday so special , will def be booking again with them

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid ”

Written on: 08/04/2022 by Userross (1 review written)

Caravan was extremely filthy and in a poor condition, lack of apology and then stopped replying. Would not recommend this company and will not be using again! Book direct with the caravan park where they put customer satisfaction first.

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Userross's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we with dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. Please accept our apologies that the experience was not as expected. Whilst we understand that mistakes can happen, and when informed we will also strive to have that problem rectified. we are sorry this seems to be the case on this instant.

Reply to this comment

Chrish_Essex's Response to Userross's Review

Written on: 11/07/2022

just had an amazing week at devin cliffs booked through newmans , had a front row van sea view was stunning , van was immaculate and spotless. could not fault newmans customer services at all , team were brilliant . will def be booking again

Reply to this comment

Userross's reply to Chrish_Essex's Comment

Written on: 12/07/2022

Glad to hear you had a nice Holiday, Devon Cliffs will always make the holiday. My review is based on my experience in the caravan I was in and I doubt you was in the caravan I was in. Newmans are a third party that rent out private caravans and the van I was in was in a poor state not in as such be Newmans it could be due to the owners not maintaining the accommodation. We was the first people in that caravan at the start of the season and for that state of it was shocking to have to spend most of a day cleaning when you go on holiday is that acceptable? No there for my rating will stay at 1 star and will continue you book direct with Haven where they will come and clean the caravan should it not be to a clean standard.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Fantastic service as always.”

Written on: 11/10/2021 by Kellyc73 (1 review written)

I have just returned from our Devon Cliffs holiday, I started holidaying with Newman’s in 2003 and have returned to Devon Cliffs a good 8 - 10 times since, always booked with Newman’s and find them so professional, the caravans or lodges I’ve always had have always been faultless, I would never book with Haven as with Newman’s you know exactly what caravan or lodge you are getting and you also choose the location on the park. I’ve been reading some reviews and I must say, that I’m very shocked at some, as I have always received a faultless service with everything. Thank you Newman’s I’m looking for the next holiday already.

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Kellyc73's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Thank you for the amazing comments from all of the team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t book with Newman’s ”

Written on: 07/10/2021

As soon as we pulled up to our caravan at Devon Cliffs we had a sinking feeling compared to all the other caravans it was all rusty. It didn’t get any better when we got inside. I understand it was an old caravan but it was filthy. The cushions all had stains on them as did the seats. There was mould round the windows and on the curtains and the smell was terrible. The fridge was yellow inside and most of the mugs were all stained and cracked. It was a caravan that took dogs so didn’t expect perfection but there was dog hair and human hair everywhere. There was a seal on the toilet to say it had been cleaned but it was still all stained. We phoned Newman's straight away but they didn’t want to know said all they could do was send someone out to hoover the seats. It was so bad we couldn’t stay in it so we had to pay for another caravan rather than go home. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. Please accept our apologies that the experience was not as expected. Whilst we understand that mistakes can happen, and when informed we will always strive to have that problem rectified, very disappointing that you felt this was not archived on this occasion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting customer service ”

Written on: 25/09/2021 by Carolanddarrencastell (1 review written)

Do not book through this company So let’s begin we were sent a code to get keys(wrong code) great start. Finally got in to the caravan which we cleaned ourselves for 2 hours. The toilet seats were both broke- burn on the table holes in net curtains and black mould on every curtain. We left 2 days early and got a call to say they weren’t going to refund our £50 because of the burn on the burn on table which was already there. Well Newman’s holidays you are a joke of a company!!!!

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Carolanddarrencastell's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. We understand you have some issues with the key safe on check in and apologies' for any inconvenience. You advised you would be checking out early and highlighted the toilet seats were lose. Regretfully the deposit was withheld due to the table and we are sorry you felt you were let down on this occasion.

Reply to this comment

Chrish_Essex's Response to Carolanddarrencastell's Review

Written on: 11/07/2022

the customer service we had from newmans was brilliant .cannot fault them whatsoever . van was immaculate and sea view was stunning . def going to book through newmans again . outstanding

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible state ”

Written on: 06/09/2021

We arrived at Ladram Bay which we booked through Newmans, firstly we would warn anybody thinking of booking through this shambles of a company NOT to do it. We arrived beginning of July this year, we could not believe what we were seeing when we walked into the caravan, it was absolute filthy, with no exaggeration no body had been into clean, we spent two hours cleaning with disinfectant to make us feel safe staying there, as when we rang the emergency number the person we spoke to insisted it had been cleaned and there was no other caravan available and there was no one available to come out and clean. The bedroom stank because the carpets through out the caravan were filthy. When we went into one of the toilets it had a toilet and brush holder that was full of feacus.......On our return home we wrote a detailed letter of complaint which we sent by recorded delivery, still to thus day we haven't had any response or even an apology........So now we are writing this review to say to any one thinking of booking through this company.....DON'T

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. We are sorry that we cant advise fully as we don't know your booking details. Should a complaint arise we would make every effort to deal with it accordingly. We handle thousands of holiday makers bookings every year and understand that this can go wrong but would never simply ignore it.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday with Newman’s ”

Written on: 26/07/2021 by Radar112 (1 review written)

Ladram bay with Newman’s We have always gone with Newman’s for years and enjoyed lots of holidays, this is the first time going to ladram bay and the last !!! first time I have not enjoyed holiday Mould covering the top of fridge having to keep bedroom curtains drawn at all times due to next door garden table placed right outside , noise all hrs of the night worst holiday we have ever had

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Radar112's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. Its great that you have used us a number of time without problems. Please accept our apologies that the experience was not as expected as generally Ladram is such a lovely park

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude staff heartless and no understanding ”

Written on: 10/07/2021 by Andrewhenry13 (1 review written)

My mother sadly had a stroke last week. She had a holiday booked with Newman’s for August and obviously can’t travel. At the time of contacting Newman’s we wasn’t sure if the outcome as Mam was under medication to keep blood pressure down to stoke another stroke, could say 3 words at best and also obviously memory loss. I spoke to someone who was what I can describe as the most unsympathetic, heartless and not will to listen person I have ever spoke too. She was totally not grasping the gravity of the situation as all I wanted to do at this point was cancel the holiday. All I had was a robot telling me we have to have an email from your Mam. I stated again that that’s impossible as Mam has had a stroke and all I had was “well that’s what’s required “ as if we hadn’t gone through enough. Please avoid at all costs only interested in taking money!!!!. I advised her I would make a complaint but she really wasn’t bothered. Thankfully Mam is getting slightly better day by day.

Carolanddarrencastell's Response to Andrewhenry13's Review

Written on: 25/09/2021

They are disgusting I hope you mam is recovering

Reply to this comment

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Andrewhenry13's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. Glad to hear that your mother is doing better and we wish her a speedy recovery. We are a family business, not cooperate one and are sorry that you felt the handling of your situation and the processes were not acceptable.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Changed my booking and charged me”

Written on: 12/06/2021 by Simonklridout (1 review written)

My holiday caravan was 'sold' after I had made my booking. They tried to 'help' me by booking a replacement caravan on the other side of the park (away from the beach) AND CHARGE ME OVER £400 MORE EVEN THOUGH IT QAS NOT MY FAULT. They should foot the bill for what is their responsibility and recover their costs from another party.They are a disgrace. Cancelled holiday and now I am stuffed for booking my family holiday for the summer. Wrong.

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Simonklridout's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply.
It is extremely frustrating that a caravan may become unavailable once booked. With them being privately owned, unforeseen circumstances can happen, especially from the full out of covid. We can happily arrange transferring to a similar grade but if there is a grade difference, a price difference can apply. We are so sorry for the inconvenience to you and your family.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Cooker, fire, broken”

Written on: 30/10/2020 by Couldbecleaner (1 review written)

The caravan needed a deeper clean. Inside cupboards, carpet and bathroom cabinet were dirty. Gas fire didn't work. 2 rings on hob would not stay alight. Rat under caravan hard standing.

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to Couldbecleaner's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply. We apologies for any inconvenience you may had with the caravan. Considering the size of the park, vermin are very few and far between and rarely sighted.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Abysmal company, very rude staff ”

Written on: 29/10/2020 by DeshawnNorwood391 (1 review written)

Me and my family went to DevonCliffs via Newman’s in 2019 and had a pleasant experience however we have just got back from using them again and it was awful. Without any indication from Newman’s our caravan was literally next door to a Marines training camp and we could hear constant shooting throughout the day, every day. Our gas ran out after two days and I politely emailed Newman’s about it and they were extremely rude virtually blaming me! We only had a 5 day trip booked, you would think they’d check the gas bottles prior to arrivals. It took a while 24 hours for it to be changed, we had no hot water, heating and couldn’t cook that evening so we had to go out for dinner - not ideal when you have a 3 year old. We decided to leave a day early due to the poor conditions and sour taste this left and 7 days later we still haven’t received our deposit back. I chased up this morning and I receive an email saying this has been processed and will clear in my bank in 3 working days - it’s a Thursday and with the weekend this won’t clear until next Tuesday which is 12 days from departure. This company advertise that you will receive the deposit with in 7 days of leaving. Absolute disgrace.

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply.
The marines do operate next to the park from time to time. A high percentage of the park is located within ear shot.
We are sorry the gas ran out and for the inconvenience, there is normally a change over valve to help avoid these situations and the park generally deliver gas within a few hours at the latest, there may have been a supply issue.
Deposits are refunded 7 to 10 days after departure.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not recommend ”

Written on: 13/07/2020 by MartaW78 (1 review written)

It’s terrible experience from the beginning, we have extra paid for the location of the caravan (near the sea path) , two weeks before our holiday we just got email that we have been moved to different caravan . We didn’t like this caravan and wanted different one (which was available on their website at that time) but we couldn’t reach them in the phone so email them our concerns . We got a response after more than a week that no other caravan is available- of course it wasn’t at that time! Then we asked about the bedsheets and cot, we didn’t get any response we for 5 days, it was only 2 days before our journey so we called and finally reached them, the lady didn’t know answers to our questions and said she will call back - never called back , we have tried to call them but never reached them So we assumed they the bed sheets will be there (as this was a prestige caravan and took our baby cot with us. The bed sheets were not there so we called them to hear just to have a conversation with a very rude guy who told us we didn’t order the bedsheets and they probably don’t have the availability. By this time our patience was over. We paid for the caravan we never wanted and simple things as bedsheets were not even there. Finally someone delivered the bedsheets but only for main bedroom and not kids... kids had to sleep on bare beds for two nights before Monday opening hours so we could ask for bedsheets again... just to have the same rude guy telling us straight away that there is no availability... so now we have kids sleeping without bedsheets for the rest of the week... Never again we will book it with them! Caravan EL106 between 11-18th July

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to MartaW78's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

We are sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply, admittedly very late!
The booking took place just after the reopening of parks from covid, and with a shortage of team etc we did take longer to deal with things then normal and apologies for this. The caravan was changed due to a maintenance issue and your booking was upgraded. We are sorry you felt the call to the office was not handled correctly. We are pleased to say that things are getting back to normal.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No holiday refund ”

Written on: 25/05/2020 by nqTempleton477 (1 review written)

Would just like to say I hope someone who has the time and resources to take Newman holiday homes to court for the terrible way they are treating there customers by not refunding there hard earned money that they paid for there family holidays I also hope people remember companies like these when this is all over and never use them again I know I won’t

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

We are very sorry for the delay in this response as this is not a site we have dealt with. Whilst we fully understand you comments, at the time it was a very difficult situation for everyone. Comments were taken onboard and we have been offering refunds for covid from late 2020 and throughout all of 2021.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No holiday refund ”

Written on: 25/05/2020 by unRuiz162 (1 review written)

Don’t expect anything nice from the company Newman holiday homes they are refusing to refund everyone’s money who have paid for holidays and been cancelled due to Covid 19 they said you have to re book holiday I looked to rebook and it was going to cost me an extra 200 pounds I honestly think this is a awful company and will never use them again they take your money and run so much for us all being in it together

Mollymoomoo123's Comment

Written on: 25/05/2020

Also I would like to say I hope someone takes Newman holiday homes to court I also hope people remember how this company has taken peoples hard earned money without a care in the world some families can’t reschedule or afford the extra money they want for it I also hope people remember these companies when this is all over and never use them again I know I won’t

Reply to this comment

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

We are very sorry for the delay in this response as this is not a site we have dealt with. Whilst we fully understand you comments, at the time it was a very difficult situation for everyone. Comments were taken onboard and we have been offering refunds for covid from late 2020 and throughout all of 2021.

Reply to this comment

Mollymoomoo123's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

Well you would not give me a refund you made me do a rebooking for following year of which I did not go as I originally said would not have anything to do with Newman holiday homes again I would always go directly to haven Newman holiday homes in my opinion are not the slightest bit compassionate or have any cares about there customers they certainly was like that with me so I would urge anyone thinking of booking with Newman holiday homes avoid them like the plague

Reply to this comment

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2022

We fully empathize that you have felt wronged for the options offered through covid and we are very sorry it wasn't convenient for you at the time. Its disappointing that we wont be welcoming you back.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY ”

Written on: 30/04/2020 by pgDickey161 (1 review written)

I've been in contact with Newman's holidays after my holiday was cancelled by them due to corona virus,when i booked my holiday with Newman's i was sold the cancellation insurance which i thought protected me for any occasion!!! but when i asked for a full refund due to their cancellation they refused and told me i had to book another holiday and pay more money because they couldn't accommodate my dates ,silly me i paid the extra. i am a pensioner and i only have one holiday a year so please don't book with this company

Mollymoomoo123's Comment

Written on: 25/05/2020

I really do think when people consider booking a holiday with this company they should consider how they have treated hard working families who have scrimped and scraped to get the money together to pay for a holiday for there children they are using the loophole of saying it wasn’t them who shut the park down to pretty much say tough luck your not getting nothing back

Reply to this comment

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

We are very sorry for the delay in this response as this is not a site we have dealt with. Whilst we fully understand you comments, at the time it was a very difficult situation for everyone. Comments were taken onboard and we have been offering refunds for covid from late 2020 and throughout all of 2021.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful”

Written on: 15/04/2020 by MiraMunoz108 (1 review written)

During this terrible crisis Newmans Holiday Homes are refusing their customers refunds due to Haven Parks closure. They claim it is not their responsibility that the Government have instructed holiday park closures. This is customer financial exploitation during a national crisis. I suggest people contact the BBC Watchdog programme to expose them.

Newmansholidayhomes's Comment

Written on: 10/05/2022

We are very sorry for the delay in this response as this is not a site we have dealt with. Whilst we fully understand you comments, at the time it was a very difficult situation for everyone. Comments were taken onboard and we have been offering refunds for covid from late 2020 and throughout all of 2021.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Brilliant”

Written on: 22/09/2019 by brookeandcacie (1 review written)

Another fantastic holiday in a Newmans caravan on Unity Farm Brean.Caravan was excellent and the staff are so friendly and helpful.Will be going back again next year.Thank you Newmans

Newmansholidayhomes's Response to brookeandcacie's Review

Written on: 10/05/2022

Sorry for the delay in a response as its not a site we have dealt with before, and felt it appropriate to send a reply.
Thank you for the great comments.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Caravan was a absolute joke when we opened it up the...”

Written on: 14/05/2019 by Readingfc22 (1 review written)

Caravan was a absolute joke when we opened it up the smell of damp horrendous mould could be found in every room it was dirty and very dated. All the cutlery and plates cups the lot had to be scrubbed if you intend to go to Devon cliffs don’t go through Newman’s go through haven we have been there numerous times with haven didn’t have no issues with this holiday with Newman’s shame on you Newman’s you ruined our short stay

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor quality accomodation”

Written on: 28/08/2017 by Julius418 (1 review written)

Been back 9 days & the bond still hasn't been returned. Decking furniture was broken. Kitchen utensils broken, only 1 shelf in the oven (8 berth caravan). Dirty marks in caravan. Complained to newmans. Dirty cushions taken away & never returned! Other cleaning done by myself. Had correspondence with newmans & offered £25 off future holiday. Joke. Not going back. Site was nice just let down by rubbish caravan

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
overview