The Gym Group - www.thegymgroup.com

Click here if this is your business
The Gym Group - www.thegymgroup.com
★★☆☆☆
2.1
30.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Gym Group - www.thegymgroup.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Gym Group - www.thegymgroup.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“They take away membership for no reason”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jameo667 on 16/05/2024

An absolutely terrible experience with these guys, I tried applying 3 times. I had my membership canceled on three occasions. The first because they didn't tell me up front that the gym I signed up for is not open so I can't use the membership. The second time they cancelled my membership without checking to see if it's the correct one. The cancelled my 3rd membership sign up without Reason So I'm a person with severe anxiety and health issues. It took a lot of courage to try and go gym however these heartless corporations don't care about their customers Thanks Gym Group for making me give up on going to any GYM

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Removing all the classes”

★★★★★

written by McCarthywl498 on 27/04/2024

I chose this gym because of the classes. Legs bums and tums on Friday have now been removed due to staff reducing hours however the class hasn’t been replaced with the same but just dropped and another put in place. The classes I joined for and enjoyed most have gone and most just in the morning I work so the morning ones aren’t helping me do what I wanted it do or achieve the goals I wanted to mentally and fitness wise. Please bring back evening legs bums and tums and more Zumba.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fun training and friendly staff . ”

★★★★☆

written by Lou1212 on 23/04/2024

I had previously been a member of the Tottenham Hale gym group then sustained an injury needing an op. I am now back at the gym group in Tottenham Hale and it’s had a massive make over new equipment, lots of new staff all friendly and will answer anything you need and help you with anything also. I attend classes and I feel comfortable and I enjoy them , training is fun and I look forward to it every morning . I do my own workouts also and I love it . I feel great when I leave . The changing rooms are clean and have showers . I can go as many times as I please as it’s 24hours and I love it . Can’t thank the staff enough for helping me on my journey

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best to avoid”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jeremiahj468 on 29/10/2023

Barnsley Gymgroup In all the years ive been training, Never have I ever seen a badly run gym like this one, Complaints procedures dont exist, I know (ive tried) Managers, Area managers, Head office wont even respond to you, Even some of the PT's complain about how bad management is, Ive seen an exodus of people leaving because quite a few have got £100 fines for not logging their car in when visiting, (when they had). Car park at the weekend is a nightmare, Ive seen staff rolling in at 9.45am to unlock it instead of the 8am opening. Lifting is rife, a lot locker doors are bent in half from people breaking into them. The toilets ar disgusting and been out of order for weeks as the stench is terrible, Theres no music, No atmosphere and now hardly any people, as most have left and gone to the other big gym in town, (which is cheaper and much much better) The only people that are using it are not the type you would want to train alongside or associate with. I would advise anybody not to use this place OR let your kids use it, Its the most unfriendliest place ive ever come across with some very unsavory characters in it. Just look at some review sites on this place before you make your mind up and you.ll see what i mean

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No soundproofing and terrible acoustics”

★☆☆☆☆

written by CailynBentley on 30/05/2023

Residents live beneath the gym and due to poor acoustics from ceiling and walls the thuds travels upwards to resident flats which impacts their health the thuds are above WHO sound levels not sure how this premise got approved by the council at the detriment of affordable housing

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best gym out”

★★★★★

written by Shazzaod22 on 11/03/2023

The gym group Blackpool is best out relaxed spacious amazing pts the agm is the best out and classes are tough but worth every tear n sweat all instructors amazing would highly recommend this gym

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Inappropriate gym instructor behavior”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Golubika911 on 17/01/2023

I am honestly shocked at my recent experience at The Gym Group due to the aggressive behavior of the instructor called Cindya and no logic behind everything else. Actually I was asked to leave the gym, as somehow I disturbed Cindya from doing her job (I absolutely have no clue how) while I was 10 meters far from her in the corner jumping on my jumping rope. I was shouted at, I was ran at, she called a manager. I was in the gym for 20 minutes only. I did not even look at her. Shock!! Seems like I am not the first one facing issues with the stuff there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No access. All contact ignored. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RLowsley on 25/11/2022

They trick some of there customers, not all of course, but some are denied access (codes simply don't work) and all attempts to contact are ignored. Likely this is how they keep their facilities less busy than competitors, but be certain, they do indeed do this. Of course losing a months membership is not worth the hassle of pursuing the matter , which is what they count on. Any company which does this is ethically reprehensible, but the prices are okay so customers overlook it. If you are bothered by it, choose another gym.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“crowded, full of kids, dirty”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ImaniDaugherty193 on 12/03/2018

the gym's only been opened for few months (streatham), very crowded, too many young kids, changing room to small, toilets dirty most of the time, not enough lockers and quite a few are already without door or lock is broken. Although there is plenty equipment, machines are so close to each other you need to be careful when you walk. On the positive..... not expensive and lots of machines. Will I be going for long ? don't think so would I recommend it? NO

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“You can’t just go in ask a reception for information...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by reviewreader on 27/10/2014

You can’t just go in ask a reception for information or price... because there is no reception like other gyms. The entrance door looks like an airport security check in LA airport :)) you need to have special pass code to enter and when you enter the password the circle door opens and you go in to the box (only one person) then the door closes behind you and you have to wait for 5 seconds then front door will open and you are in. Ok let’s say that’s for security but the thing is you don’t expect to see another pass code right… WRONG whenever you want to go to toilet or bathroom or changing room you have to type your pass code. If you are still happy to go with The Gym Group just keep that in mind if you’re inside and forget your pass code and you really need to use a toilet you’re f****ed :)).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview