Pure Gym Reviews - www.puregym.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pure Gym www.puregym.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pure Gym www.puregym.com

Pure Gym www.puregym.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“ Autistic person discriminated under The Equality Act 2010”

Written on: 13/07/2022 by Paterno (1 review written)

Autistic person discriminated under The Equality Act 2010 I am the carer for an autistic young adult and the payer of his PureGym membership. This company proceeded with a number of unlawful procedures without my acknowledgement, such as a formal meeting in a locked room by three managers in which he ended crying. Anyone would have realised he is a fragile individual, scared, and unable to defend himself and contacted me instead. Since he was not able to understand, he was not able to act accordingly. After a few weeks of this full membership, they told him to leave the gym under the false accusation claim of antisocial behaviour grounds. It took me weeks to manage to speak to someone, as no one wanted to take responsibility, the gym manager ignored my emails (this company has no phone number and you can’t get in touch or find details of the staff club anywhere). When I confronted them with the truth, evidence and facts, they replied taking no responsibility, showing no sympathy and no apologies were given. Instead, they lied, changed facts and manipulated the truth, so that they portray themselves and the company as being innocent and exceptm of any wrongdoing. My friend now is badly affected by this experience and he is finding it even harder to face the world, I am devastated and I have to pick up the pieces all alone. I want to give my friend a voice and the truth to be heard, so that we can improve everyone's life and put powerful, profitable and abusive companies in their place. Please feel free to get in touch if you are sensitive to this matter or can support us in any way. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Lack of Cleaning Stations”

Written on: 05/04/2022 by Unhappyteddy1234 (1 review written)

At my local PureGym (Spring Wharf, Bath), they have now removed the cleaning station from the upstairs fitness suite. This has not apparently been moved elsewhere, just disappeared. In these COVID times when we are all being reminded to keep things clean and sanitised, this seems a ludicrous decision. Especially in light of the fact that all the advertising blurb likes to highlight how clean and sanitised the gyms are! It was difficult enough with the cleaning station present to get EVERYBODY to wipe down their kit after use, but it will now be impossible, as I am certain that the majority of people will not be willing to walk downstairs to get some paper towel! Last year they removed (gone forever?) the cleaning station from the weight resistance machines area inside the front door, which meant that you now had to walk across the gym to the free weights area to get paper towel./sanitiser. Is this some sort of cut back to save money, or have the missing items gone into the new PureGym that has opened up about 400m away???

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancellation of class within four hours or you get banned”

Written on: 21/03/2022 by Dazt66 (1 review written)

So they have the stupid rules if you don’t cancel class within four hours and you do it on three occasions you get an eight day ban. I don’t know about you but my life is busy enough where I can’t give four hours notice things change from hour to hour. And when I look on the app the classes are nowhere near full anyway so would make no difference for them Now I’ve had an 8 day ban I will not be attending any more classes in future This need to change

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Edgware Pure Gym Staff Swore at Me for No Reason”

Written on: 09/11/2021 by shakil.mohammad (1 review written)

A staff member at the Edgware branch verbally abused me for no reason why I was working out peacefully. At 10:28 pm on a Sunday, 2 mins before close time, he said "Get the F out of here". I complaint to Head Office and senior management. My story adds up very well but they were unable to verify that there staff did something like that. Pure Gym pride themselves as a company that provides a "SAFE PLACE" for all members. This is certainly not the case here. Staff left the gym unmanned and then swore at me when coming in. If you like being sworn at while working out then please join PURE GYM!! As it is a cheaper gym, there customer service standards reflect that.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Alright”

Written on: 06/09/2021 by 491O'Hara (1 review written)

I love the gym itself! Feel so comfortable and confident working out. But recently, I got a 3 day pass for a friend to try it out with me, they said nothing about the pass having to be used during the 3 days from activating. We thought it had to be used 3 days within the 30 from activating. So I wasted £12.99, because they didn't make it clear on the site.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“PureGym Lichfield”

Written on: 26/07/2021 by Johnx284 (1 review written)

There are a few problems with PureGym Lichfield: Classes have been cancelled at short notice. We don't always get the instructor we're expecting (because they haven't turned up and someone else has had to cover) and half the time only a few people turn up to a class. The instructor could be there but there aren't many people to teach. Trainers have told me they're fed up of covering for someone else, and people in classes have said the workouts aren't very good. To be honest I've done workout DVD's at home and had more results. PureGym could be greatly improved.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Customers service is terrible! ”

Written on: 08/06/2021 by Munoz208 (1 review written)

They took money out of my account when I couldn't cancel my membership online. I gave them ample time to get back to me when I had issues cancelling my membership online. There is no way you can speak to someone to discuss your issues. Horrible horrible service!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible and disgusting gym ”

Written on: 23/05/2021 by Aifaneb (1 review written)

I was member of this gym till getting 2 penalties for £200 from the car park Which I paid. I asked the manager and staff to cancel the penalties but no ways for cancelling they said we can't do nothing because covid19 and you are not allowed to stay in the park for more than 2:30 hours. Bad situation and bad gym

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unethical business, avoid like the plague”

Written on: 02/01/2021 by MakaiLindsey313 (1 review written)

Disgusted at Pure Gym's policy of taking Direct Debits out during the pandemic when they said they'd frozen everything and cancelled memberships. They won't refund even when requested twice, just say "terms and conditions" as if anyone reads those and it isn't even true when you do read them. says nothing about corona lockdown. Shame on you for abusing customer trust and keeping money you got by deception. Hope you get investigated, fined and have to refund everyone. At a time when people are struggling you try to keep your business going down the toilet by secretly taking money from people who trusted you and I hope it severely backfires on you. Avoid this company. Also looking at other reivews their hygiene standards sound about as reliable as their ethics so you're better off without them either way.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Gym”

Written on: 21/10/2020 by 412Nelson (1 review written)

Extremely poor, do not recommend this gym whatsoever. Also when memberships have been frozen you get charged without warning again. Avoid!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Short term, short-sighted strategy which will cost...”

Written on: 30/09/2020 by Isabel.Santos (1 review written)

This just goes to show how Puregym is desperate to take any money they can, to compensate for the losses caused by Covid-19, regardless of whether it is lawful to do so and the bad reputation they are earning. It is a short term, short-sighted strategy which will cost many customers due to bad publicity. I have tried to call the Puregym team during the month of May to cancel my membership; however, due to the furlough of many, if not all of the team members during this period, having been unable to reach them over the phone after several attempts, I then sent an email on the 4th of May where I expressly stated that this was completely unrelated to the Covid-19 epidemic and that I did not wish to freeze, but to end the membership: This administrative act was never processed when normality was resumed at the gym, and I have been debited the membership fees for the months of August and September. Not only were they debited, but the membership fee was raised as well, from £ 17.41 on the 5th of August (DIRECT DEBIT PAYMENT TO PURE GYM LTD) to the direct debit on the 7th of September (DIRECT DEBIT PAYMENT TO PURE GYM LTD) in the amount of £ 19.99. I have been in contact with Puregym team members ever since, always a different one, never a manager or anyone with responsibility to process the refund, always with excuses. I have emailed them on the 14/09 (replied on the 20/09!) , 20/09 (replied on the 28/09!) and 28/09 (replied today, the 30/09 – at least in emailing speed they seem to be getting better!) According to their contract terms, the customers CAN cancel their membership at any time by cancelling their direct debit AND/OR by contacting Member Services, which is what I did; however, no one was available to take the call and I forwarded the request via email. The contract terms are quite explicit in this, as per below: MONTHLY DIRECT DEBIT MEMBERSHIPS 1. You may terminate your membership at any point by cancelling your direct debit with your bank, allowing 4 working days for the bank to action this. Please call Member Services for options available to you or for any further information. 2. In the above circumstances your membership will remain in force until the day before your next payment is due, at which point it will automatically terminate. I have already threatened to take the matter further with CMA, but this seemed to make no difference to them, so trying to stop other people from making the same mistake I did and joining them seems to be the only way forward. Don’t!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Membership renewals”

Written on: 30/01/2020 by winniebuck (1 review written)

I would like to thank the assistant manager at Rochdale gym for sorting out my annual membership renewal.He was far more mature than the totally young and inexperienced call centre staff at Leeds who haven't got a clue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good value gym”

Written on: 07/01/2020 by 1969Whitaker (1 review written)

Great value gym with all the facilities I need, staff are always friendly & helpful. I have been going to this gym for over 25 years & I must say although PureGym has been the cheapest membership at this premises it doesn’t lack quality of service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Noise levels at Bentley bridge pure gym”

Written on: 01/10/2019 by KaileyMcDonough337 (1 review written)

Absolutely Disappointed and annoyed at the loudness of the music Being played in the spin class this morning. Only two people attending the class so why the need for the volume to be so high. I had to remove my ear phones as their was no point having them in due to not being able to hear what I was playing. I did speak to a member of staff who was polite and said that the music was probably set at that level from the night before . Obviously no volume controls on the system then. It might sound like I am being grumpy but trust me it was loud ,I Also noticed a couple in front of me remove their ear phones too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Pure Poor!”

Written on: 01/07/2019 by Treatmewell (1 review written)

One star is too high! Absolutely shocking customer service! Visited the Regent Street site to see what the setup was like, as was hoping to register. (Visited the Puregym on Call Lane where staff were helpful and friendly and showed us the facilities). At the Regent Street site, had to wait approx 20 mins for someone to answer the buzzer. A young, ?bleached-haired girl eventually came to the door (obviously after customers had been kind enough to let them know there were people waiting). Her attitude and her tone and whole manner was rude, disrespectful and unprofessional and I told her so. She said she wasn't working and was waiting for a client - client that turned up on the point of us at last being shown facilities and were about to leave the premises. She seemed to miss the vital point that we were potentially new customers. I told her to stop with the attitude and we would wait to see someone else. What is seriously clear is the lack of staff! A few minutes later a short black guy apears, obviously intent on supporting his colleague and came out and stood way too close to me trying to intimidate me. He backed up her excuse but added that usually a sign is put up on the door to let people know if ?staff around etc. Oh dear! Customer Service non-existent. I signed on on the electronic form and was shown the facilities. Totally disgusted with the treatment here and something needs to be done about the poor level of customer service - the stafF clearly have no clue. I have to say that the customer service and general management of the PureGyms needs an overhaul and needs seriously to be investigated as it's clear staff have become comfortable working to very low standards

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Showers , Hunslet leeds”

Written on: 21/06/2019 by Bbm52 (1 review written)

The showers need sorting , when your having a shower they flood, and you have to wait for than to drain, I mentioned it in the last couple time , but still nothing done , some of the lockers need replacing as they look like they been forced open in the past,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Classes ALWAYS late or cancelled”

Written on: 13/05/2019 by VivianaShaw262 (1 review written)

I joined Puregym because they always mention their 50+ classes per week in all of their advertisements. After 3 months of trying to attend 4 to 5 classes a week, I can safely say there have been just TWO occasions where the class has started at the scheduled time. Not to mention at least one a week has been canceled last minute. Puregym Camden has a complete disregard for their customers and their lives when it comes to their schedules, the classes are booked back to back so there is no way for them to begin on time. This is extremely frustrating when you are planning your day/evening/lunch break. Surely anyone with any sense of logic would leave at least 5 minutes between scheduled classes to allow for change over?! It's quite disheartening standing with a group of people who have been waiting like mugs outside a studio for 10-15 minutes, complaining about how this ALWAYS happens before the beginning of nearly every single class. I understand it's a no-frills gym, but no matter how cheap something is - surely it's not too much to ask for a gym to somewhat stick to the schedule THEY create...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting, Pointless Booking System”

Written on: 06/04/2019 by What3ver (1 review written)

Recently joined the new Lichfield branch. Tried for TWO DAYS to attend class only to be constantly told that the class was not able to be booked. then the class was full! Those on a "standard" membership have NO chance to book a class as those on a higher membership take all of the places. Wouldn't recommend, ever.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Greenwich gym dirty + careless trainers”

Written on: 28/03/2019 by Aubrey223 (1 review written)

I had been attending Greenwich PureGym regularly, and for more than 18 months happily under the guidance of a trainer I met there. Then he started putting pressure on me to do more, (I was already training 4-5 times a week on various things) making clear that the standard I was at wasn't good enough, especially on squats. One wonders why he didn't make this clear at the BEGINNING, when I was in much worse shape. Unfortunately, I listened, upped my training intensity (a move he was well aware of) - now beyond what my body could handle, and I got a serious injury. When we was aware of my injury, he only made negligent remarks like 'You can still use your upper body'. 6 months later, I'm still on a total layoff, and in physio every 2 weeks. The gym itself is dirty, with broken plates etc. Go if you want to, but don't listen to the trainers there - or you'll regret it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE: Offer a "free" month, but charge you immediately ”

Written on: 05/04/2018

BEWARE: Offer you a free month, but then charge you immediately! Got an email offer for Pure Gym, boasting of offering "1st Month Completely Free, Plus £0 Joining Fee, No Catch!" Understandably, I thought it was a good deal, so I went to their site, filled out all the necessary info & signed up. I get to a confirmation page, it tells me I won't need to pay anything, and that the 1st monthly payment won't be until the next month, if I choose to continue. So I use the gym as normal, quite new & modern, but it's very busy even at non peak times, and there's not many machines. Though everything seems to be ok so far... But then a few weeks later, I get my bank statement, and see that Pure Gym have gone and billed me on the very DAY that I SIGNED UP; for BOTH the supposedly free 1st month, and also the joining fee! (which neither should've been charged). Now I know that mistakes happen, and I'm willing to be lenient, so I phone their customer support, assuming to swiftly receive an apology & a refund... ... but nope! The guy on the other end continues to state "we don't offer refunds" - Regardless, I'm not even asking for a refund!; I'm merely asking for an erroneous payment you made to be removed - but nope he doesn't listen to that, and continues to repeat the same for 20+ minutes, until I give up & put the phone down. I genuinely can't believe a business as large as Pure Gym is running frauds at this scale. Not only is it unethical to defraud customers, by promising you'll give a free trial, when in fact you go ahead and charge them straight away, I'm sure this must be in violation of some laws? I don't normally post on these review sites, but I just want to avoid other people falling for their fake deals, as I'm sure I can't be the only one who've they've emailed promising free trials

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
overview