Swale Heating www.swaleheating.com Reviews

★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
65% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Swale Heating www.swaleheating.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Swale Heating www.swaleheating.com

Swale Heating www.swaleheating.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“No heating or hot water since before Christmas ”

Written on: 12/03/2022 by Mark5404 (1 review written)

Lovely staff, awful company. Run to the hills

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“engineers don't turn up to appointments.”

Written on: 29/05/2021 by timothymynett (1 review written)

My boiler has been broken for over a month now they have been over 3 times to try and fix it but on Wednesday someone was supposed to come over so i waited in for them all day and he never arrived so booked it in for Friday guess what , he doesn't turn up again and told those at the office he tried to call me and left a message but he didn't do anything of the sort. a very unprofessional company very unreliable, i would advise going elsewhere.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid”

Written on: 01/11/2020 by Flowerrose (1 review written)

We arranged to have a new boiler, new larger pipes and hot water tank installed in Oct 2019. The sales representative was very helpful but as soon as we agreed with the sale the customer service was atrocious. On the day of installation (should have been 2 - 3 days) the engineer turned up and immediately tried to put us off having larger pipes as it would be too much work for him. We were shocked as we had already paid for the service but he said it would be taken off our bill. We refused of course. The parts turned up on the day but many were missing so a few hours work was completed and the engineer left. The next day we had a different engineer turn up to carry on with the work. Parts turned up but still some were missing. A few hours work was done again putting the boiler in place and the engineer left. The next day (Friday) another different engineer turned up to carry on with the work. The hot water tank was now installed. As we had a new boiler installed we had to have a power flush. They ran out of time to do this on the Friday so said they would come back the following Tuesday to do this. The engineer turned up on Tuesday to do the flush without the equipment. The equipment was then delivered to him in bits so he had to build the machine then realised there was parts missing so couldn't do the flush. I had taken time off work for this so was extremely frustrated bear in mind the job was only meant to take 3 days maximum. We were now on day 5! The power flush was arranged for another day so I had to take more time off work. This time it was done successfully. By this time it was December 2019. Because of all the problems we had, we were given 12 months free cover. 1 year later (October 2020) and our new boiler was leaking. We called Swale who said that we were no longer their customer as our cover had expired. We looked at the paperwork with regard to the cover and although they agreed to this in Dec 2019, it expired in October (2 days before the leak). They were meant to write to us as a reminder to renew our cover but this didn't happen. We wish we had never gone with Swale. We have never experienced such bad and rude customer service from a Company. The reason why we have taken a year to write this review is because we gave them the benefit of the doubt due to receiving a free years cover but when this was not renewed and we received no notification, we decided enough was enough and we would call them out for the terrible company they are.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Elderly left cold. Again !”

Written on: 06/01/2020 by KimBowers (1 review written)

This is the third winter in a row that Swale Heating have left my elderly in-laws without working heating for a lengthy period. Despite them fitting a new boiler this year they have quoted a 6 day delay in coming to even look at the fault. I've had enough of Swales and will move my parents in law to an alternative. Probably British Gas. I really can't recommend then from a customer service point of view.

Donna1958's Response to KimBowers's Review

Written on: 25/01/2020

I wish I had read this prior to calling Swale heating out to my 92 year old mother. They did a service back in June 2019. She has just come out of hospital with severe lung infection, her radiators needed bleeding as the rooms were cold, we called them out for Tuesday, 28th January but decided to upgrade as emergency call out and pay a £100, they came Friday, 24th. The engineer bled the radiator in the bedroom but had to adjust the pressure and told my niece he would leave the valves undone loosely as he was afraid they would break and he didn’t have spares, reckoned they don’t make parts anymore for an 8 year old boiler Gloworm. The pressure started to raise so my niece did what the guy showed her, she literally did half a turn and water came gushing out. They were advised to turn the mains and gas off until someone could get there. So they can’t flush the toilet, make a drink etc all day they have been promising someone is on their way. I have just been told the engineer has just arrived 8.45pm absolutely disgusting. Will let you know the outcome.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Swale Heating do not care about their customers!”

Written on: 13/12/2019 by GCramer (1 review written)

I am completely appalled once again by Swale Heating. My advice to any person considering using this company is please DO NOT USE SWALE HEATING. From the simple installation of a new boiler and radiators there has been nothing but incompetency from start to finish. And now in less than a year since installation my boiler is losing pressure, and I am now looking to replace the 3rd thermostat as I am told it could be a "bad batch" - completely and utterly unacceptable!!! On requesting a new thermostat to be fitted as still under guarantee and broken on two previous occasions (the last one only fitted 5 weeks ago) I specifically requested the engineer arrived with the part and of course on two occasions they didn't, I have now been told that the next available appointment is in January 2020. Added to which because the brand new boiler has been losing pressure since installation the Swale Heating Engineer requested a leak sealant be added without consulting me or having the courtesy to say that I would be charged for this and I have now been invoiced £91 for something I did not request. Swale Heating now tell me that they will not fit the 3rd faulty thermostat without me paying for the leak sealant that was ordered by their engineer without my consent. How is this company actually functioning? Ultimately I am now left still under guarantee with no functioning heating system and staff that do not communicate with each other. I will not accept somebody on the end of the phone (having waited in a queue once again for 50 minutes) saying sorry. This company need to be held responsible for the way they treat their customers.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Swale Heating left a gaping hole in the wall ”

Written on: 09/11/2019 by PaulHarman (1 review written)

Swale Heating recently supplied a replacement boiler for us. However the vent on the new boiler is both much smaller and exits higher up through the wall than the previous vent. Swale Heating were supposed to brick up the hole in the external wall left over after the old vent was removed and use breeze blocks and plaster to repair the whole in the internal wall. However their engineer appears to have made a decision to take a shortcut and simply fit the boiler over the large hole in the internal wall. Since finding this out I have looked at reviews of Swale Heating and discovered that this is not the first time they have done this. If you have had a boiler fitted by Swale Heating to an external wall try looking behind it to see if they have done the job properly. I cannot see how the job they have done for us meets Building Regulations

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“No problems at all”

Written on: 16/05/2019 by eddduck1948 (45 reviews written)

I used them 6 years ago...put in a new boiler. Done in a day. My existing radiators were cleaned out etc. Electrician came to fit new point for the boiler...a manager popped in to check the work during the day.... manager popped in to sign off the various cerificates...Boiler has been serviced yearly since - no problems -(get a phone call or letter asking if service date is OK?.. no missed appointments........pleasant technicians. Can`t really see how there are a lot of negative reviews.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“SSE sends out Swale engineers how to complain”

Written on: 11/04/2019 by Kaitlynt443 (1 review written)

sse USES Swale for breakdown services. If you encounter problems like not showing up on time, you have taken a day off. Wrong parts over and over again.Have been without heating/hot water for certain time which is unreasonable. Switching your boiler off/at risk label unreasonably because they are trying to sell you a new boiler.DON'T Take engineer's word for it, get another opinion from gas safety registered guy. It has happened to me twice at different properties and both times they were wrong in switching our boilers off due to slight corrosion on the casing. complain to SSE first, wait for 6 weeks lock out period. Then take it to financial ombudsmen you will get compensation for your loss including calling the 2nd engineer.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Would rate less than 1”

Written on: 02/03/2019

Would give them less than 1 if I could. Worst company I have ever encountered. I had only heating upstairs they took a look and left saying I needed a pump. Fitted pump still no proper heating came back and did a power flush. Had no heating or hot water!! Basically flushed it incorrectly all the sludge blocked the pipes between the immersion & boiler. Came back again cut out some pipes. Still nothing I need new parts for boiler and apparently another power flush! 4 weeks later now and 2 missed appointments. And waiting avoid at all costs unless you don't want any heating or hot water!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sharp Sales Practise”

Written on: 25/02/2019 by McDaniel315 (1 review written)

A sales agent was only in my area today for another 6 weeks, so I booked in between 8-12. I was at work, but as this was the only day they could do I shuffled things. I was told I would be called at 8.am to let me know when they would be here. I called Swale to be left on hold for ages and hung up (if you select any option other than a new quote you are left on hold for ages) I called again after 12pm and the no show and no call I was told that I must be mistaken and that actually it was between 12-4pm. I explained that it was defo between 8-12pm as I had to change things around and worked hard to fit this in to my schedule, the lady that booked the appointment had told me this was the only time they could do on the whole week and that swale must have changed it later. To suddenly be told it was a 'a clerical error' (amazing!!!!) a it had been between 8-12pm but this error had meant that it was now between 12-4pm. I said I have taken the day off work and now had things to do that I needed to do on my day off this week - had I been informed earlier I could have done what I needed to do in the morning. The lady said she would call the rep to see what time it would be. (now bearing in mind I had accepted todays appointment as the rep was 'in my area') I was told he would be here in the next 3 hours (ie between 1pm-4pm) he was currently in Wolverhampton (some 3 hours away from my address!!) I said oh that's funny as I was told he was in my area today.  I said you can cancel it as I have things to do and would not want to hear what excuses come out when the installation team fails to turn up. It strikes me this is a sales company trying to pretend they are busy to force people into signing for over priced goods and pry on the weak. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company AVOID AVOID AVOID ”

Written on: 30/11/2018 by Adriena355 (1 review written)

Terrible company. Three times this week they have failed to turn up to an appointment. First appointment: excuse- too many emergency calls. Second appointment: excuse- they went to the wrong address, and believe it or not serviced the boiler and issued a certificate! (Someone got a free service) I waited in all day with heating off as requested! Third appointment: excuse- our engineer can’t make it due to an emergency! Enough said. They wouldn’t arrange another engineer and were totally unhelpful. Joke company. AVOID AVOID AVOID

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A joke of a Company”

Written on: 12/11/2018 by pyParrish339 (1 review written)

I don't really know where to start! A central heating system which has worked on and off for the passed 12 years - engineers who say they can come out after 6pm but then when you try to book an appointment are told that it's only between 8 and 5 - great if you don't have to work! I've lost count of the amount of annual leave I have to take to accommodate them, only for them to show up, poke around for 10 minutes and then leave saying "oh if anything goes wrong someone will come out after 6pm!" er, they don't!! Don't waste your time, energy or stress levels - go to British Gas or a reputable company who can fix a boiler, won't leave mud on your carpet and actually know what they're doing. Ombudsman being contacted - it's about time this company own up to their mistakes and take ownership of such.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bolier Installation and after sales service.”

Written on: 10/11/2018 by Annalise1977 (1 review written)

I have had numerous problems with the Company. Initially the electrician who was assigned to complete the installation of the boiler did not keep 6 appointments. Since then I took up their Premium Warrant Care which includes a service . Appimtments made for 7th November and 8 th November were cancelled with explanations which stretched credulity. Another appointment was made for 10th of November . I got a text message that the engineer could not gain access and was sent a photograph of a door by way of evidence. This photograph must be a library photograph since it did not match with the front door to my house. He supposedly called on me on my landline but was not able to reach me. Since I had the handset by me since the morning and it is connected to an answering machine which was not triggered a doubt as to veracity arises and one is left to draw his/her own conclusion. The installation carries a 10 year warranty but in trying to arrange a service through Worcester Bosch approved engineer I discovered that Swale Heating had only registered it as carrying a standard 5 year warranty. After much correspondence and an ultimate threat to intervene for it to be registered correctly it was done. So the threat worked. Incidentally I discovered that a 10 year warranty can only be given by Worcester Bosch upon payment of a premium by the installer. This had obviously not been done immediately after the installation had been completed. ALL IN ALL I WOULD AVOID THE COMPANY LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE”

Written on: 24/08/2018 by Tonyodonnell88 (1 review written)

I booked a boiler service with them and after 3 appointments with me waiting in for hours have given up and gone elsewhere. No apologies from them. Take my advice and avoid. They wasted two days of my annual leave and once had me in between 16:00 - 22:00 only not to show up. I think that last one was just a joke to wind me up.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely terrible service”

Written on: 17/03/2018 by customerqwerty (1 review written)

Swale came to service my boiler in September. The engineer did very little. He asked to inspect the outflow pipe. When I showed him he said it was too high up on the outside wall and that he would need a stepladder. I offered to get one then he said he didn't need to because he could see from there. Simply couldn't be bothered to properly inspect it. He told me that the boiler was losing pressure and I must have a leaky radiator. He showed me how to increase the pressure if it dropped below 1 which he then told me he was not supposed to do. I gave this negative feedback online to Swale following the visit. I called Swale recently after a friend who is training in this field looked at the boiler and told me that there are at least 3 reasons why boiler would lose pressure and a leaky radiator would only be one of them. Incidentally none of my radiators is leaking. I checked all of them after the spell of cold weather when I thought it would be evident. When I phoned Swale to complain about this very poor service they told me that they had nothing documented regarding my dissatisfaction with the service and had no intention of sending another engineer round. When I protested they told me that and I quote "the service was in any case simply to check the safety of the system not for any other reason" Obviously this is absolute rubbish I've been having boilers serviced for over 40 years. I would definitely not recommend this company. They should be ashamed of themselves

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Engineer came for annual safety check on sat 10th, ...”

Written on: 14/03/2018 by sharonswan (1 review written)

Engineer came for annual safety check on sat 10th, claims we have gas leak but can't find it. Turns off gas checks emersion which don't work and tripped power in house! Does offer electric heaters. Vulnerable household with disabled person so law states fix in 1 day between october-may. After me ringing 3 days in a row now told will fix on 22nd (if they turn up) so 10th-22nd. No wonder old people die of the cold prob waiting on swale heating! Shame on you swale heating. They have blocked me on there facebook page now so brand damage day it is for me!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“worst customer service ”

Written on: 01/03/2018 by Taniyah135 (1 review written)

Promises of call backs to make appointments never received. Three visits and counting to fix boiler. Over three weeks with no heating. Was told that they now have to wait over a week for a part. Tried to make a complaint was told someone from customer services would call me back . Never happened.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“service & breakdown”

Written on: 03/01/2018 by donpeterspain (1 review written)

what a rubbish firm take your money but no back up i have been a customer of swale heating but on the day before christmas eve my boiler which was serviced by swaleheaying did not fire up so i phoned swaleheating and explained what had happened only to be told that the earliest they could fix my heating would be after boxing day and this was at 8.20 am i and wife are registered with them me at 84 years of age and my wife who is also disabled,with no heating and hot water at our age is not funny,i explained all this to a male who was on the phone but he said that no one was available till after xmas !!!!!! not what it said on swaleheating web site 24|7 365 days of the year what callender do they use . I then phoned british gas a fitter came round two hours later fixed the problem and informed me that the boiler had not been service correctly hense the breakdown which was caused by swaleheating not doing the job right in the first place ???? i am now with british gas

Kajoro's Response to donpeterspain's Review

Written on: 01/03/2018

Am having similar problems with Swale Heating would not recommend

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Service ”

Written on: 22/12/2017 by jasonimpey (1 review written)

Worst service ever. Left my mum and nan, two pensioners with no heating, hot water or a flushing toilet for weeks over the coldest days of the year and Xmas. The repair man did more damage - broke the cylinder causing a crack in the ceiling and water damage and blowing all the electrics leaving no water, no heating and no electricity. Was rude about it and left. Great duty of care, what vile and disgusting service! I would avoid this company at all costs!

Swaleheatingltd's Response to jasonimpey's Review

Written on: 29/12/2017

Hello, we have located your address on our system and have discussed this issue with you. Our engineer did not damage the cylinder, it was noted by our engineer to be split after changing a part to the boiler which is unrelated to the cylinder therefore the leak was not caused by Swale Heating. Kind regards.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Traumatic experience - stay away”

Written on: 20/12/2017 by Benedictus (1 review written)

Dealing with this firm has been a traumatic experience, filled with missed appointments and wasted time off work waiting for engineers who didn't show up. My central system is not working as a result of faulty work carried out nearly two weeks ago by Swale and the firm is unable to schedule an engineer to come in to correct its own mistakes. This firm has taken on far too much work and I would recommend staying well away from it.

Swaleheatingltd's Response to Benedictus's Review

Written on: 20/12/2017

We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us, we would like to investigate further. Please email the Customer Experience Team with your address details, kind regards.

Reply to this comment

Benedictus's reply to Swaleheatingltd's Comment

Written on: 20/12/2017

I did email the team and have heard nothing more. Unfortunately, typical of previous performance.

Reply to this comment

Swaleheatingltd's reply to Benedictus's Comment

Written on: 28/12/2017

I understand that you have been speaking with a manager regarding your issues, apologies if you did not receive an immediate phone call however we require time to investigate the matter beforehand to best assist you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
Read 3 Comments
overview