Volunteer Initiative Nepal Reviews - www.volunteeringnepal.org

★★★★★
4.9 / 5
100% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Volunteer Initiative Nepal www.volunteeringnepal.org

Volunteer Initiative Nepal www.volunteeringnepal.org

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Physiotherapy Mission with VIN”

Written on: 05/02/2022 by BamboOsteo (1 review written)

We are Aurore & Enzo, founders of the association BamboOsteo. We both went as osteopath for the physiotherapy mission with VIN's association. We stayed 4 weeks to NaraTika Community Learning Center of Thulachhap in Okhaldhunga. Our activies were various during our stay. We mainly carried out osteopathy's sessions for the local population. As well, we took care of the children throught activities that allowed them to learn or improve their English. It was an incredible experience for our first humanitarian mission ! We have been as close as possible to the communities, sharing their daily life, their way of life and their values. Unforgettable moments near these people. We would like to thank Bhupi and the entire VIN team for their welcome and support throughout the project. They were responsive and very attentive and listening to our ambitions and needs. It was a real pleasure to team up with them ! We hope that we can continue our involvement with VIN by sending regularly osteopaths to follow up with patients and improve their quality of life in the long term.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“VIN Medical Program”

Written on: 31/12/2021 by MailysB (1 review written)

I had the chance to be part of a VIN volunteering medical program in the end of 2021. As a medical worker, it has been one of the most rewarding and meaningful experience! I learned so much from this community, this country both professionally and personally. I was lucky to meet so many wonderful people, our mission in the village was extremely interesting and we felt useful! Thank you Bhupi for your kindness, and the VIN team too, this is an experience I won’t forget!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Enriching Internship from a Journalist student”

Written on: 17/04/2020 by HelenkaCupak (1 review written)

I am Bachelor student in Journalism from Belgium. I did a 5 week long internship in the Women Empowerment and Film and Documentary making project. I loved every moment of it! I have the feeling that I not only experienced a professional but also a personal grow. I was able to practice my journalistic skills but also my human skills were tested. Everyday I engaged with new women by listening to their stories and taking pictures of them and their products. The project I worked on gives women from marginalised backgrounds the opportunity to set up their own online business. This amazing time is also thanks to the amazing staff of VIN. There are beyond friendly and helpful. If I had any questions while arranging my internship and during the internship itself, I always got help very quickly. I would love to return in the future and work on another project because what VIN does, they do it withe heart and soul. Through the projects you can do valuable work together with them. I loved that I could contribute to this is a way. So if you have the opportunity to do an internship abroad, if you're doing a gap year or if you really want to volunteer with a warmhearted, generous and motivated organisation, I would strongly recommend to do it with VIN!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great international volunteer experience”

Written on: 11/04/2020 by cassiedong (1 review written)

I did a 2-week work camp with VIN. It was a great learning experience. VIN staff are very friendly and helpful. VIN has plenty of projects to choose from. I got to meet many volunteers from all around the world. There is not really something I didn't like about my experience, although I would make a recommendation that VIN should provide a more detailed work schedule for volunteers before their arrival in Nepal. Some volunteers may want to come explore Nepal prior to the project start date.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I did 12 weeks volunteering at a nunnery,to developpe...”

Written on: 14/07/2019 by Anaispaul (1 review written)

I did 12 weeks volunteering at a nunnery,to developpe the physique and mental for childrens from 3 to 6 years. Was a very good first experience. The VIN employee are friendly, smiling and helpfull if you have anu questions or problems I recommend totaly volunteering with VIN!…

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Lifetime experience”

Written on: 12/07/2019 by nagykat (1 review written)

I am very glad that my first volunteering experience was with VIN. Everyone is friendly and always available for the volunteers. The induction was great, I got to meet other volunteers and learned everything about my project. At the VIN hostel I felt home. It was an amazing 2 weeks. I can only recommend VIN, great team!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Facinating experience”

Written on: 29/11/2018 by rcHealy411 (1 review written)

I did a 6 weeks program teaching English at a monastery/nunnery, which was a facinating experience! VIN made sure that all went smothly and their friendly staff was always aproachable. During the induction it was easy to get to know other volunteers, which contributed to the overall brilliant experience. I would totaly recommend volunteering with VIN!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best Volunteering Experience Ever”

Written on: 04/11/2018 by lgGalbraith102 (1 review written)

I worked with VIN on a 4 week teacher training volunteer programme in summer 2018 in conjunction with Limited Resource Teacher Training (LRTT). They were incredibly hospitable and, perhaps more importantly, incredibly well organised. They went out of there way to ensure that every volunteer remained safe and healthy (they benefit from having a practising doctor working within the organisation). The accommodation is clean however it is quite cramped and there is not much storage space. Be prepared for the vibe of a good but basic hostel. The food prepared on site was delicious and very healthy. I strongly recommend anyone interested in doing a volunteering programme to work with VIN.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Perfect Volunteering Experience”

Written on: 24/04/2018 by KonchokRinchen (1 review written)

I did a program teaching English at a monastery over 4 months, it was the most enriching experience of my life. VIN made sure it all ran smoothly. I short, it was comfortable and easy with them. I recommend them to all who would like to volunteer, whether for the first-timers or veterans. The friendly and open staff offered a brief but relevant Induction course and visited the project site frequently. I was happy to support them with the modest fee, since VIN is growing, their leader is very competent and visionary, thus they are making an impact in the development and well-being of Nepal and I believe they will do so even more in the future.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Volunteer Opportunities for Professors”

Written on: 31/10/2017 by Lachris (1 review written)

I am a professor of early childhood education. VIN used my skill set to conduct teacher trying for 16 teachers from 8 rural schools. It was a wonderful experience that I would recommend to professors in any field. The typical VIN volunteer is a 20 or 30 something and that is great. However, VIN could benefit from people with a depth of experience in their field of expertise to build on their mission. Vin will set the stage for you and then you can make this opportunity what you would like it to be. Nepal is an interesting and safe country to visit. The people are amazing.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“VIN changes lives”

Written on: 16/07/2016 by Malloyxg409 (1 review written)

Before coming to Nepal I was very concerned about where my money was going and also whether or not I was actually making any sort of difference by volunteering with VIN, but I can honestly say that throughout the time that I spent with VIN, I saw the community change little by little through empowerment and greater opportunity. I was placed in a beautiful project with beautiful people who I taught me more than I could have ever imagines. VIN encourages and provides opportunities for volunteers to create friends in other programs and I can say that this is one of the best program features because when things get hard or when you miss home or need somebody to talk to, you have a friend. I can honestly say that I have made friendships that will last a lifetime. VIN encourages volunteers to grow and be independent and problem solve. I am not the same person I was when i came to Nepal, and I have VIN and my placement family to thank for that.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My cheerful Nepali monks!”

Written on: 18/02/2016 by Serenablanca (1 review written)

I taught English 4 hours a day to children in a Tibetan Buddhist Monastery in the outskirts of Kathmandu. It was a lovely experience, where I learnt a lot about Buddhism, spirituality, Nepali culture, children and last but least myself! I loved watching the kids falling asleep during the morning prayer, I loved playing with them with a roll of rubber band they called ball and I loved that they touched my hair and asked what it was! Thanks to VIN's staff and their support before and during my stay, they made my Nepal experience wonderful!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Completely Satisfied!”

Written on: 05/12/2015 by travelgirl4771 (1 review written)

As a former U.S. Peace Corps Volunteer (Namibia '14-'15), I really can’t say enough good things about VIN and my experience in Nepal. I think what set Volunteers Initiative Nepal (VIN) apart from my prior international volunteer experiences is that they are a local organization with staff members who are also locals. As such, they have a unique perspective and insight as to what and where the genuine needs are. This knowledge is critical in determining the success of an organization’s efforts. The staff was amazing. Not only are they available 24 hours a day, but they are competent and effective in their roles, and are a very engaged group. My placement exceeded my expectations in regard to my accommodations, integration, comfort and personal satisfaction. I was fortunate enough to have been placed in a small nunnery near the Bouddhanath area. In addition to the nunnery being relatively small, my class was also small – 4 students. Considering I was the first volunteer to work with them, this allowed me the ability to dedicate attention to any student who was struggling with a concept. This resulted in us having an accelerated class with the young nuns learning more than they likely would have in a large class setting. My host family, and everyone at the monastery was friendly and welcoming, and were quick to share whatever resources they had. They also helped to explain cross-cultural differences and ceremonial activities as well as to direct me where to find various things in the neighborhood. They also took me on a sight-seeing adventure to Swayambhunath, as well as to visit an HIV Orphanage that had been destroyed by the earthquakes. I can say with absolute certainty, that when it is time for me to do another volunteer trip to Nepal, I will definitely be contacting VIN.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing experience ”

Written on: 15/07/2014 by 450Greenwood (1 review written)

My experience working with VIN was great. I chose to volunteer with VIN because I was able to find good reviews, and it seemed like the most reliable organization. I am glad I volunteered with VIN because they were very reliable and organized. From the emails, to the airport pick up, to the VIN introduction in the first couple of days I was very pleased and felt very safe in a very unfamiliar place. The VIN staff was very kind! My volunteer experience teaching English at the monastery was incredible. At first the monks were very shy, but they warmed up and made volunteering such a great experience. My only regret was not staying longer! Something that I had not thought I would get out of volunteering but certainly happy I did was meeting and making friendships with the other volunteers from all over the world. I would definitely recommend VIN to anyone who wants to volunteer in Nepal.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Volunteering Nepal”

Written on: 03/07/2013 by pmkvt14 (1 review written)

In the spring i was looking for a volunteering opportunity for the summer, Nepal caught my eye because of the unique culture along with how foreign the country is to me. I decided then to go to Nepal through Volunteer Initiative Nepal, the reason why i decided to join this program was because of the opportunity they give you to trek, along with living with a host family. They mission of VIN is to empower marginalized communities by empowering women and youth of Nepal. This did not seem as significant until i lived her for an extended period of time. Where you realize that education to women and children is they way to advance Nepal into the twenty first century. It was one of the best experiences of my life, and would highly recommend this program to anyone. http://volunteeringnepal.org/

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Travel with a Purpose”

Written on: 21/06/2012 by deechapon (1 review written)

As a seasoned traveler, I was ready to have a different experience when I chose to travel to Nepal and work with Volunteers Initiative Nepal (VIN). In previous travels, I found that viewing different cultures from the perspective of a nice comfy hotel and air conditioned tour bus, left me wanting a more quality experience and connection with the people who's land I was visiting. I found with VIN the ideal combination of being able to experience living with a local family in a rural area of Nepal, of having a sense of contribution by teaching English in an elementary school and being blessed with working with some really dedicated Nepalese operating sustainable projects. I choose VIN out of all the other possible volunteer organizations working in Nepal because I knew my volunteer fees would stay in country and help support programs for this beautiful, but struggling country. I was impressed with the welcome, orientation and on-going support by VIN's staff. But mostly I was impressed by the wisdom of their approach to community development with their comprehensive programs that included education, women's empowerment, agricultural and cottage industry advancement. I would hope others, especially boomers and working professionals, would consider giving a small period of their lives to make a meaningful contribution to this worthy organization and country.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Volunteer In Nepal through VIN!”

Written on: 11/06/2012 by suszoe (0 reviews written)

I spent a summer Volunteering in Kathmandu through VIN. It was, hands down, a life changing experience. The area I worked in was Technology Education - Bhupi, the director, made sure that all the details were taken care of: in terms of who I would be volunteering with, the times etc...I worked with teachers, students and youth groups - and it was truly an exchange of knowledge. Besides volunteering, VIN helped me to organize a short trip to Chitwan. Vin helped other volunteers arrange trips to Everest Base Camp, as well as other areas around Nepal. My experience was top notch for sure, I met other wonderful volunteers at the same time, and will for sure, return to Nepal. VIN is extremely reputable and affordable, and can tailor a program to match the skills you have that will best benefit the people of Nepal. Just go for it!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview