Gazco Riva2 670 Built-In Gas Fire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
9% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gazco Riva2 670 Built-In Gas Fire - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Gazco Riva2 670 Built-In Gas Fire

Gazco Riva2 670 Built-In Gas Fire

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY”

Written on: 03/02/2020 by Doghousemac (1 review written)

I have a Riva 2 , it went wrong a month ago ! They said I didn’t register the warranty although I was certain I did as it’s under 5 years old. A month ago it decided to stop working. The people who fitted it couldn’t come out for over a week but recommended another gas person. He rang technical support while here as it could be the control box or it could be something else! Waited 5 days for control box , wasn’t that , he came today and tried his best to fix it. Ordered another part, What if this part doesn’t work!!!!’ This should all have been under warranty ! They won’t honour it Don’t waste your money on this!!!!the service is non existent , they are full of it until you buy one then that’s it!! Next please. Couldn’t care less, this is an expensive fire and the parts are as well, I’ve now got a control box that was £250 odd pounds which I didn’t need

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY - Find something German instead”

Written on: 07/03/2018

Agree with ALL the other reviews. Lovely fireplaces to look at but the support from this UK based company is nothing less than diabolical. DO NOT BUY!!!! Buy a German made one instead. I’m sure they are out there somewhere. We have also burned half of the Amazon rain forest changing batteries.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Doghousemac's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2020

I agree it’s not a good purchase

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Djag's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2021

I have also bought a riva 2 670. Remote control fails to operate fire. Was advised by gas fire installer that remote control has failed. Bought new remote control at cost over over £80 which also fails to operate fire. Gazco refuse to honour warranty and repair defective fire. Very disappointed with fire and service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor.”

Written on: 16/03/2017 by Maughan99 (1 review written)

I have owned the Gazco Riva2 670 since May2013. Many problems after installation,many unsatisfactory visits from engineers during guarantee period and many winter weeks without a fire. Batteries rarely last more than 6 weeks. Rechargeables cannot be used. It is NOT acceptable, as Gazco claim, that the quite heavy glass and steel frame has to be removed to access the batteries. Arthritis sufferers BEWARE. The delay in the fire igniting can sometimes be as long as a minute after pressing the remote control. I was never advised of this peculiarity! These fires cost upwards of £1500. Would not buy again, and won't use their recommended engineers. Batterylife, procedure for changing batteries, the delay in ignition must be advised before purchase.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bridgewb's Response to Maughan99's Review

Written on: 20/10/2019

We bought a Riva 2 750HL last summer (1918) and have been plagued by an awful smell when the fire is on and the glass also gets streaked and looks terrible! Already had the glass replaced under warranty but streaking on it again and our installer is coming next week to look at it again.
If this fire worked properly it would be a really nice fire but it doesn't and it has cost us about £4000. I dearly wish we had stayed with our old fire!!
Don't buy a Riva fire whatever you do!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“bad customer service”

Written on: 08/02/2017 by Piper450 (1 review written)

recieved a letter 20 12 16 about not to use fire as a risk of carbon monoxide poison after 6 weeks gave them a call to see when it was going to be fixed i was told i could do it my self and they would send the kit i have now phoned the plumber to come and do it as i feel i am not qualified to touch gas which now got to wait another week to get it done feel let down by gasco as it was there responsibility not mine to arrange it iam a pensioner and need fire i would never buy a fire from them again paid alot of money for fire that is not good as coals not enough and go brown quick

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“New Gazco Riva 2 670 (Natural gas) not working”

Written on: 10/01/2017 by Anthony.Birchall (1 review written)

It's now 10th January 2017, 4 weeks after we had a new Gazco Riva2 670 installed by our local Gazco installer Kidsgrove Gas and Electric. It was removed yesterday as in that 4 weeks it had worked for 2 days. 3 return visits from the engineer and 2 lots of new parts from Gazco have failed to get the fire working and we were left over the Christmas period without a fire. The response from Gazco has been very poor and unsympathetic to the situation they left us in. Save yourself time and money and shop elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Battery Problems Mean Don't Buy”

Written on: 30/04/2016 by Mishathecat (1 review written)

The batteries that light the pilot run down within 1 to 3 months and they are expensive to replace. You also have to lift off the front of the fire. I spoke to Gazco technical department who seem to think this is acceptable!!! Also it takes a while for the remote to connect to the main fire by Bluetooth. You feel it has failed and it sudeenly wakes up. Great looking fire which gives out good heat when working but avoid it like the plague.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Akraka's Response to Mishathecat's Review

Written on: 02/03/2017

Wholeheartedly agree. Should be able to fit a mains converter to light the fire as is the case with many of their other fires. Unfortunately there is no mention of battery powered in the brochure and not advised by the showroom.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy”

Written on: 21/03/2016 by mawilko (1 review written)

Batteries in fire last about 1 month, not easy to change batteries as the front of the fire requires lifting off. Bought fire with remote control because of advancing years and ill health, this fire does not help in any way and is extremely expensive to keep replacing batteries. We would not have bought this product if we had had full information from the retailer. Learning the hard way not to trust Gazco products.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unreliable and over priced - 0 stars!”

Written on: 17/03/2016

I had this fire installed 3 years ago and it has been nothing but trouble! When it works it looks great but it has been very problematic. The first fire that was installed never worked properly and it took a great deal of effort to get the problem rectified. Eventually the fire was condemned due to an internal leak that was found during an independant investigation I had to pay for - and Gazco finally admitted responsibility and agreed to replace it free of charge. Despite annual servicing this fire has now stopped working and I am currently talking to Gazco about how this can be addressed.. I wish I had never bought this fire! AVOID at all costs!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★☆☆

“Nice fire but batterys in fire constantly need changing ”

Written on: 27/10/2015 by Carr271 (1 review written)

Lovely looking fire, only use the fire occasionally. But batterys in fire always seem flat. No indication of batterys being flat

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very disappointing ”

Written on: 15/02/2015 by 1988Jenkins (1 review written)

Remote control never lights pilot first time and never has done, the batteries in the fire do not last more than a month and it is very expensive to run. I would not have bought this fire had the retailer given me the full information and I would certainly not recommend this appliance to anyone friend or enemy. It looks attractive

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Griddlesuk's Comment

Written on: 04/03/2017

I can only support everything you say. Am almost in tears sometimes going round and round the stupid remote control which just will not light the fire and usually gives its confirm beep minutes later. Functions are overly complicated and unnecessary. You have to remove the front to use the touch control, which does not match the instruction diagram and is equally frustrating to use. What's wrong with a good old on/off button? Dismantling it and not using for two weeks sorted it out - briefly! Only good for wall decoration

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Riva2 Battery Problems?”

Written on: 07/03/2014

Our Gazco Riva2 670 Designio2 built-in gas fire was installed in June 2013. The purpose built stone hearth and the fire are a fantastic addition to our lounge and we are very pleased with the result. HOWEVER, we have a real issue with the programmable remote control, described by Gazco as one of their “state of the art features”. The gas fire electronics are powered by 3 x C alkaline batteries. These appear to drain incredibly quickly; within 6-8 weeks the fire will not light first time; within 3-4 months the fire will not light at all. Gazco technical customer services have advised that there is now a mains adaptor which is a retro fit (hence no mention of this in May 2013 when the fire was purchased from a retailer). The very existence of this new mains adaptor seems to confirm that there is an inherent fault with the capabilities of 3 x C batteries. Thinking of this model for your own home? Quiz the retailer, buy the mains adaptor and make sure you have an electricity supply close to the new gas fire.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview